Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Crown Hotel, Harrogate

Crown Place, Harrogate, HG1 2RZ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Dawn Lowery said...

64%
80%
40%
70%

Stayed 15th July 2021

Nice stay. Very central so easy access to everything in Harrogate. Service in the dining room was slow for evening meal but food was lovely! Breakfast service was extremely slow. I did feel for the staff as they were all very young and there seemed to be no supervision. Breakfast wasn't great. Had to ask for toast and it came after we'd finished our full English and actually looked as if they'd just shown the bread the toaster.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th July 2021

Great stay, beautiful place, step back in time. Staf lovely nothing too much bother. Bed great and rooms not too hot in this heatwave! Not for city slickers who want high gloss and same old modern facade. More for those who appreciate what has been. Hope to return next year and parking on street from 6pm easy.

Helen Peel said...

14%
10%
10%
20%

Stayed 3rd July 2021

I paid £159 for BB and £25 each towards dinner. When I checked in I said we did not want to have dinner and asked if we could spend on snacks or room service they said yes and that’s what I expected so when I got back after our evening out I asked for room service the guy behind the bar said there wasn’t room service and he had some nuts available which I was very disappointed with. The next morning we were booked in for breakfast at 9.45am we shared a table with my brother and his wife who had made a separate booking. We did not get our breakfast until 10.45am. The service was appalling and some of the cutlery side plates were dirty. The room was very disappointing a double bed pushed up against the wall. The sink was cracked and the walls in the room had a lot of holes in. I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and had a pleasant stay. I feel like I have lost out as could not benefit from the £25 each for my self and partners food allowance also having to wait until 10.45 for food the next morning. Will not return to this hotel will try another.

Angela Kelly said...

50%
80%
20%
50%

Stayed 30th May 2021

Check in staff lovely waiting staff in restaurant shocking service in restaurant terrible waited over 1 hour for 1st course to arrive stay 5 times previously never had service like it check out girl lovely again as was at check in

A guest said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th May 2021

Great location. An old hotel with some lovely features, but could do with a refresh. Room and landings quite dark, needs brightening up. Also very cold, but put that down to covid and being closed for so long? However the bed more than made up for it so comfortable I I wanted to take it home. And a lovely heavy cosy duvet, great nights sleep. Bathroom was more modern and very clean with big fluffy white towels. Food in restaurant was excellent and a good choice at breakfast. Staff polite and helpful. Great value for money and a great break

Mark Turner said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th September 2020

Really enjoyed our recent 2 night stay at the Crown, Harrogate. All COVID measures were in place and 100% adhered to by staff and guests alike. Dinner on first night was good and value for money. Only (very minor) was the floor in the room where the floorboards were very noisy when walked upon - so you could hear guests in nearby rooms walking about (especially at night) Was a bit surprised to learn that parking was charged at £12.00 per night. We couldn't find a space so parked in nearby car park and saved £8 by doing so. Hotel location was excellent with 2 min walk to shops and pubs and restaurants We will return to the Crown

J Gibson said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th August 2020

Beautiful meal, lovely waiters, nice foyer reception , lousy room. Floor boards creaked, never had a room before with no view, at all! Very basic, reflected, I suppose, in what we paid for it. Good deal over all Did I mention the car park, I had to park 20 minutes away up a steep hill.

susan kilpatrick said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th August 2020

Hotel ideally situated, lovely & welcoming entrance. Staff friendly & helpful during our stay, explaining all changes due to Covid. Room comfortable & clean. Had a evening meal here, very nice & cooked well. Breakfast waitress service & again staff very pleasant. Would stay here again.?

vslerie gilbert said...

90%
80%
100%
N/A

Stayed 20th August 2020

Great location!! The crown hotel Is a step back in time but that’s the beauty of it.our room 242 was really spacious and spotlessly clean and the bed was Very comfortable . The staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and welcoming!! Chris and Dan were two fantastic members of management very friendly and efficient.. Will dately be staying here again!!

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th March 2020

Lovely hotel, rooms very clean couldn't pick fault with anything. Reccomend room 221 very large twin on the front of the hotel. Evening meal and breakfast were both delicious plenty of choice.

Jane Whitehead said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st February 2020

Lovely stay once again. Third visit in 6 months. Staff very friendly and accommdating. One room smelled very strongly of paint. We complained to the manager, who apologised and moved us straight away and waived the cost of our lunch for the inconvenience. Very central in harrogate town centre Would highly recommend to others

Amanda Trezise Lawrence said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th February 2020

Had a wonderful 2 night stay. Amanda on reception was excellent and even reunited me with my lost shopping. Hotel food was great, although wish they had a different choice of starters for the evening menu. Great breakfast. Was a little chilly in the evening but brought a fluffy blanket which was just perfect. Our 3rd visit and won't be our last

John Cowell said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th February 2020

Very nice friendly Hotel with friendly staff as well.

Alison Hawley said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 18th January 2020

Bottle of wine not in room on arrival should have been part our Black Friday offer deal - given a glass of wine per person with dinner Breakfast has changed since my last visit here, not as good, do not like self service coffee from machine

Ronald Maskell said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st December 2019

Hotel was very nice, afternoon tea delicious and the New Years Eve dinner/dance was excellent the only recommendation I would give is for tables to be larger so couples on their own can meet and chat with others, spoke to a few people who also felt the same

Susan Godden said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th December 2019

The Hotel was lovely, but the creaky floors was annoying. Excellent breakfast 10 out of 10.

Janice Davidson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 19th December 2019

Most enjoyable stay at The Crown once again! Great location, friendly staff and good breakfast.

Anne Ashe said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th December 2019

Fabulous stay again at The Crown as always - the suite we were in was amazing, so spacious.

John Salt said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2019

Lovely hotel .Staff very nice .Good food .Friendly atmosphere.Will stay again.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th November 2019

2nd visit to this hotel. Well situated in the heart of Harrogate. Although a little dated the hotel is excellent. Clean, nice friendly staff and could not fault the food. Looking forward to our next visi.

A guest said...

60%
70%
40%
70%

Stayed 27th October 2019

Very disappointed as this happened previously having to wait another hour for room .It is already a late check in at 3 and having to wait until after 4 not good enough . This is the second time now .

linda alder said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 20th October 2019

Stay here regularly , lovely hotel but once again spoilt by very noisey works outside hotel ( the same when we visited in summer but different company digging up roads) , certainly not the relaxing break we hoped for, we always book a suite which should of included mini bar only to find they have been removed , but still advertised on myhotelbreak site as having mini bar ... really disappointing as we love Harrogate and normally this hotel .

Jane Whitehead said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2019

Very enjoyable good value stay with friends

David Leslie said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 15th September 2019

Nice stay at the hotel at a reasonable price.Only minor complaints were there was a clear problem with the plumbing every time we flushed the loo..the noise was horrendous.Also I left my I phone charger and was promised a call back ...this never happened

Lesley Liddle said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 25th August 2019

Have stayed before so knew what to expect, rooms dated but spotless and comfy. Was on a DBB deal and both eve meal and breakfast offered good selection. Only drawback was room - overlooking kitchen extractor fans, so meant it was very noisy early morning and late evening as open window a necessity during hot Aug bank holiday weekend. Would stay again though as central for everything