Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Crown Hotel, Harrogate

Crown Place, Harrogate, HG1 2RZ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Mark Turner said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th September 2020

Really enjoyed our recent 2 night stay at the Crown, Harrogate. All COVID measures were in place and 100% adhered to by staff and guests alike. Dinner on first night was good and value for money. Only (very minor) was the floor in the room where the floorboards were very noisy when walked upon - so you could hear guests in nearby rooms walking about (especially at night) Was a bit surprised to learn that parking was charged at £12.00 per night. We couldn't find a space so parked in nearby car park and saved £8 by doing so. Hotel location was excellent with 2 min walk to shops and pubs and restaurants We will return to the Crown

J Gibson said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th August 2020

Beautiful meal, lovely waiters, nice foyer reception , lousy room. Floor boards creaked, never had a room before with no view, at all! Very basic, reflected, I suppose, in what we paid for it. Good deal over all Did I mention the car park, I had to park 20 minutes away up a steep hill.

Angela Kelly said...

60%
60%
50%
70%

Stayed 30th August 2020

Enjoy our stay here been previously breakfast and evening meal both nice but limited choice Hard working walking up staircase wasn’t aware no lift was advised of this

susan kilpatrick said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th August 2020

Hotel ideally situated, lovely & welcoming entrance. Staff friendly & helpful during our stay, explaining all changes due to Covid. Room comfortable & clean. Had a evening meal here, very nice & cooked well. Breakfast waitress service & again staff very pleasant. Would stay here again.?

Amber McCullough said...

24%
30%
40%
0%

Stayed 23rd August 2020

The Crown Hotel is a lovely building. The entry hall and bar were nicely decorated. However our room was very tired and in desperate need of an update. There was a ck missing from the back of the bathroom door where there had previously been a door hook, and a rather off-putting brown stain on the ceiling above the bed. The carpet also had some staining. Our room wasn't turned over during our two-night stay, which resulted in us running out of toilet roll. We requested one from the front desk, which we then had to carry through the hotel back to our room with us. We were provided with tea and coffee in our room but no milk. We booked for breakfast both mornings, but decided to go elsewhere on the second day. We both had a cooked breakfast on the first morning, which was absolutely disgusting. All around us, other tables were complaining about their own disgusting breakfasts. The bacon and sausage were both of very poor quality, and the scrambled egg was more like mashed egg. If breakfast is offered then is should at least be edible. We also has a three-course evening meal on our first night, so as to use our meal vouchers. We both had chicken liver pate which was fine. My partner had the burger, which was served in a bun twice its size. I had chicken in tarragon sauce, which was unpleasant. We both had rhubarb crumble for dessert, which was okay. Overall the meal wasn't great, but palatable. I would have been very unhappy had I been expected to pay for breakfast, or full-price for the evening meal. All the staff at the hotel seemed nice, but overworked. There only seemed to be a couple of staff members for a full dinner/breakfast, and service suffered as a result. Absolutely not the fault of the staff - I'm sure of there were more of them, the service would improve. Overall there are a lot of issues with the hotel. Having said that, we did enjoy our stay.

vslerie gilbert said...

90%
80%
100%
N/A

Stayed 20th August 2020

Great location!! The crown hotel Is a step back in time but that’s the beauty of it.our room 242 was really spacious and spotlessly clean and the bed was Very comfortable . The staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and welcoming!! Chris and Dan were two fantastic members of management very friendly and efficient.. Will dately be staying here again!!

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th March 2020

Lovely hotel, rooms very clean couldn't pick fault with anything. Reccomend room 221 very large twin on the front of the hotel. Evening meal and breakfast were both delicious plenty of choice.

Jane Whitehead said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st February 2020

Lovely stay once again. Third visit in 6 months. Staff very friendly and accommdating. One room smelled very strongly of paint. We complained to the manager, who apologised and moved us straight away and waived the cost of our lunch for the inconvenience. Very central in harrogate town centre Would highly recommend to others

Amanda Trezise Lawrence said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th February 2020

Had a wonderful 2 night stay. Amanda on reception was excellent and even reunited me with my lost shopping. Hotel food was great, although wish they had a different choice of starters for the evening menu. Great breakfast. Was a little chilly in the evening but brought a fluffy blanket which was just perfect. Our 3rd visit and won't be our last

John Cowell said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th February 2020

Very nice friendly Hotel with friendly staff as well.

A guest said...

60%
40%
50%
90%

Stayed 31st January 2020

Stayed at this hotel many times, rooms clean but need updating evening meal wasn't to normal, standard .really good breakfast .would recommend. But why is a Saturday night double or more the price of any other night.

Alison Hawley said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 18th January 2020

Bottle of wine not in room on arrival should have been part our Black Friday offer deal - given a glass of wine per person with dinner Breakfast has changed since my last visit here, not as good, do not like self service coffee from machine

Ronald Maskell said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st December 2019

Hotel was very nice, afternoon tea delicious and the New Years Eve dinner/dance was excellent the only recommendation I would give is for tables to be larger so couples on their own can meet and chat with others, spoke to a few people who also felt the same

Susan Godden said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th December 2019

The Hotel was lovely, but the creaky floors was annoying. Excellent breakfast 10 out of 10.

Janice Davidson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 19th December 2019

Most enjoyable stay at The Crown once again! Great location, friendly staff and good breakfast.

Anne Ashe said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th December 2019

Fabulous stay again at The Crown as always - the suite we were in was amazing, so spacious.

John Salt said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2019

Lovely hotel .Staff very nice .Good food .Friendly atmosphere.Will stay again.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th November 2019

2nd visit to this hotel. Well situated in the heart of Harrogate. Although a little dated the hotel is excellent. Clean, nice friendly staff and could not fault the food. Looking forward to our next visi.

A guest said...

60%
70%
40%
70%

Stayed 27th October 2019

Very disappointed as this happened previously having to wait another hour for room .It is already a late check in at 3 and having to wait until after 4 not good enough . This is the second time now .

linda alder said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 20th October 2019

Stay here regularly , lovely hotel but once again spoilt by very noisey works outside hotel ( the same when we visited in summer but different company digging up roads) , certainly not the relaxing break we hoped for, we always book a suite which should of included mini bar only to find they have been removed , but still advertised on myhotelbreak site as having mini bar ... really disappointing as we love Harrogate and normally this hotel .

Jane Whitehead said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2019

Very enjoyable good value stay with friends

David Leslie said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 15th September 2019

Nice stay at the hotel at a reasonable price.Only minor complaints were there was a clear problem with the plumbing every time we flushed the loo..the noise was horrendous.Also I left my I phone charger and was promised a call back ...this never happened

Lesley Liddle said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 25th August 2019

Have stayed before so knew what to expect, rooms dated but spotless and comfy. Was on a DBB deal and both eve meal and breakfast offered good selection. Only drawback was room - overlooking kitchen extractor fans, so meant it was very noisy early morning and late evening as open window a necessity during hot Aug bank holiday weekend. Would stay again though as central for everything

Gillian Edgell said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2019

Another lovely stay at the Crown Hotel. The staff are always so welcoming and the food in the restaurant was delicious. My only critisism is that we were unable to stay in our room for more than a couple of hours in the afternoon because of the overpowering smell of paint fumes, i can only assume the woodwork in our room had been very recently gloss painted, the room looked lovely but resulted in us both suffering a headache, this wouldn't stop us returning to this lovely hotel in the future.

A guest said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 2nd August 2019

Room was dated. One particular reception staff was abrupt and unfriendly on check in. Evening meal and staff in restaurant were very attentive. Breakfast has deteriorated, asked for a fried egg it looked like someone had kicked it around the kitchen. Wouldn’t stay again now.