Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Glenburn Hotel, Rothesay

Glenburn Road, Rothesay, PA20 9JP, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

John Irving said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd August 2022

Easy 10 minute walk from the ferry terminal and town centre. A grand old building, friendly staff, good standard of reasonably priced food, rooms clean, comfortable bed. Only criticism would be the size our standard double room (no.317), which was narrow at the bedhead end (only space for one bedside table, so would have been more suited as a single room rather than a double). And the WiFi signal was practically non-existent in that room. Large bathroom, clean but a little dated, and shower rather poor. Overall, a pleasant stay, and would return if could be guaranteed a larger room.

sally schofield said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd August 2022

My husband, my four year son and myself spent two nights at the Glenburn Hotel. I have to say it was the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff were excellent, friendly and so helpful and made you feel so welcome. The rooms were exceptional and immaculate and the beds were so comfortable. The food was brillant and everything was so well organised really first class service. The Hotel had so much charm and history it was a very impressive building nestled into the hill of Rothesay. Really a huge thank you to the Glenburn staff and hotel for making our stay so wonderful we will definitely be back to stay.

Jean Eastty said...

60%
10%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd July 2022

We had a lovely stay at this hotel although some of the decor is a bit tired and dated, staff were very efficient and food was good. Would go back to this hotel

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th July 2022

The hotel was nice and clean and the room was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would go back

Ian Fraser said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th July 2022

Friendly helpful pleasant staff Food was good, room clean and spacious Lovely character of hotel

A guest said...

60%
50%
90%
40%

Stayed 30th June 2022

Splendid building in prime location with fantastic views overlooking Rothesay Bay. Staff very friendly, helpful and hard-working. Bedroom very clean but decor and bathroom very dated. Limited food menu served in bar only.

Robert Gibson said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 27th June 2022

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Glenburn. The staff were helpful and friendly which made for a good atmosphere.

Mrs Martin said...

50%
60%
50%
40%

Stayed 27th June 2022

Hotel in need of more refurbishment. Advertised as dog friendly but dogs only allowed in room and veranda! Food not great and bill wrong as tried to over charge us! Lots of character in hotel and stunning views but unfortunately wouldn’t stay here again.

Cecilia Mackie said...

80%
80%
100%
60%

Stayed 17th June 2022

Excellent service, lovely room, good meal choices. I was surprised that the only potatoes offered were chips. Roast potatoes, jacket, etc, would have been only two of many alternatives. Also, there were too many chips, not nearly enough vegetables on the plate, and everything was a little bit too salty. However, the food was not too expensive.

Derek Davie said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th June 2022

Easy access from ferry, nice place staff ? very helpful

Carolann Bannigan said...

70%
80%
100%
30%

Stayed 4th June 2022

We had a beautiful time @ the Hotel The only downfall was the breakfast Was far to dry probably due to being precooked and left for service when asked for, Couldn’t eat it and had to go for something @ a nearby cafe . Also had to ask for toast n coffee after sitting around for 15 mins. Such a shame as it’s a beautiful place otherwise. Mrs Bann and family

Steven Glass said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd June 2022

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Glenburn however I felt that the 10am check out time is a bit on the early side.

robert keegan said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd June 2022

Views from hotel are great...staff so helpful and cheerful....food was great...we had a lovely time at the glenburn hotel.

Ian Gilmour said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 2nd June 2022

Nice hotel good sea view room meals nice

Myra Martin said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th May 2022

Lovely stay at hotel and staff were excellent. Only thing lacking with stay was no music or entertainment at night which was a shame. Even a bit of background music in bar would have been a bonus? The hotel is very classic and the beds were so comfy. Shower not much power. Have been to this hotel and will go back again.

Matthew Palmer said... Hotel has replied

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th May 2022

Staff and management were very good .hotel was nice ,quite due to it being 50%capacity hourly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully see you again in the future.

Paul Larkins said...

40%
40%
80%
0%

Stayed 7th May 2022

The staff were lovely and very friendly. The room was OK, but slightly tired. The food was absolutely terrible.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th March 0022

This hotel has been closed since March 2020 and has only recently reopened in 2022. 2019 is the most recent review of this hotel. Reviews will be updated once guests are welcomed back to the hotel.

Coreen Irvine said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd November 2019

Lovely hotel, meal was great, entertainment was great, room was emaculate. Staff friendly and very helpful.

Mrs Shelbourn said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

Excellent location with lovely staff. Rooms were spotless but there was a problem with very limited on the third floor. I also had a problem with the booking. I had booked for a walking group and requested a twin room for two friends who are happy to share a room but not a bed. I phoned two days before our visit to confirm that all was OK ( I always do this when booking for others) and was told they couldn't provide a twin, only doubles were available. I had booked 6 months previously. I went on line after this call and found several twin rooms available at this hotel. I was told a lie by a senior manager and consequently I will never go back to this hotel.

William Griffin said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 18th March 2019

Having just spent 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast at the Glenburn, we were allocated room 336, side view towards the bay, room was so hot we asked to have the heating turned down, the only problem with the room was that it took an absolute age for the to come through, having brought this to the attention of reception, we were told that the hotel had only just reopened after a winters break, also the fact that the hotel was very quiet it was taking longer for the to get to our room as the hotel boiler was at the opposite end of the hotel, we were offered a change of room, but decided as we only had another 2 days, we would pvere, the room was spotlessly clean with plenty of tea and coffee making facilities, which were replenished each day. in the restaurant we were served by kyle and Joanne both of whom were very friendly and attentive, only complaint would be that the food was not as hot as I like, but would put this down to the fact that the plates were not heated, a big Faux - Pas, this was our second time at the Glenburn and would return especially as we got a very good deal.

Iain Harding said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th March 2019

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Deal included evening meal both Wednesday and Thursday & Full Scottish Breakfast Thursday & Friday. Outstanding value food very good, hotel in ideal location & would definitely stay here again.

neil rodgers said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st March 2019

great value

K Bowie said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 9th October 2018

Pleasantly surprised by the Glenburn Hotel. Room was so cosy and bed super comfortable and both room and bathroom spotlessly clean. Although I marked the food lower it was never- the-less very good value for money. We were blessed by a beautiful day on the Wednesday of our stay, and sat out on the veranda in the evening, enjoying glass of wine/beer whilsching the ferries sail in and out of Rothesay harbour. Very enjoyable couple of days on the Isle of Bute.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th October 2018

Spacious clean rooms with the comfiest bed I've ever slept on, friendly helpful staff & the food was outstanding.