Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Glenburn Hotel, Rothesay

Glenburn Road, Rothesay, PA20 9JP, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

Coreen Irvine said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd November 2019

Lovely hotel, meal was great, entertainment was great, room was emaculate. Staff friendly and very helpful.

Eileen Smith said...

67%
80%
80%
40%

Stayed 9th April 2019

This is the second time within 12 months that we have booked this hotel, we could not fault the rooms, service or food on our first visit but on this visit we were very disappointed with the food we were served,

Mrs Shelbourn said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

Excellent location with lovely staff. Rooms were spotless but there was a problem with very limited on the third floor. I also had a problem with the booking. I had booked for a walking group and requested a twin room for two friends who are happy to share a room but not a bed. I phoned two days before our visit to confirm that all was OK ( I always do this when booking for others) and was told they couldn't provide a twin, only doubles were available. I had booked 6 months previously. I went on line after this call and found several twin rooms available at this hotel. I was told a lie by a senior manager and consequently I will never go back to this hotel.

William Griffin said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 18th March 2019

Having just spent 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast at the Glenburn, we were allocated room 336, side view towards the bay, room was so hot we asked to have the heating turned down, the only problem with the room was that it took an absolute age for the to come through, having brought this to the attention of reception, we were told that the hotel had only just reopened after a winters break, also the fact that the hotel was very quiet it was taking longer for the to get to our room as the hotel boiler was at the opposite end of the hotel, we were offered a change of room, but decided as we only had another 2 days, we would pvere, the room was spotlessly clean with plenty of tea and coffee making facilities, which were replenished each day. in the restaurant we were served by kyle and Joanne both of whom were very friendly and attentive, only complaint would be that the food was not as hot as I like, but would put this down to the fact that the plates were not heated, a big Faux - Pas, this was our second time at the Glenburn and would return especially as we got a very good deal.

A guest said...

44%
70%
50%
10%

Stayed 16th March 2019

Hotel was very dated. Room was nice but cold. Food was awful! We ate out the second night as food was so bad!

Iain Harding said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th March 2019

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Deal included evening meal both Wednesday and Thursday & Full Scottish Breakfast Thursday & Friday. Outstanding value food very good, hotel in ideal location & would definitely stay here again.

neil rodgers said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st March 2019

great value

Lee Terris said...

50%
70%
50%
30%

Stayed 16th November 2018

Hotel and rooms were nice but food was pretty poor , all seemed reheated

K Bowie said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 9th October 2018

Pleasantly surprised by the Glenburn Hotel. Room was so cosy and bed super comfortable and both room and bathroom spotlessly clean. Although I marked the food lower it was never- the-less very good value for money. We were blessed by a beautiful day on the Wednesday of our stay, and sat out on the veranda in the evening, enjoying glass of wine/beer whilsching the ferries sail in and out of Rothesay harbour. Very enjoyable couple of days on the Isle of Bute.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th October 2018

Spacious clean rooms with the comfiest bed I've ever slept on, friendly helpful staff & the food was outstanding.

Mrs Shelbourn said...

84%
90%
100%
60%

Stayed 15th October 2018

Wonderful staff who did all they could to make us comfortable. Good sized bedroom with lovely views. Excellent location for walking into town. The food was good but service was sometimes very slow because of the system. I feel that some self service at breakfast would help.

J Webster said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2018

This was the first time we’ve been to Rothesay and it was to celebrate our sisters 70th Birthday. On arrival we were so impressed by the granduer of the hotel itself but once we went to our rooms they were luxurious bright roomy and very clean. We got such a good deal with a bottle of wine in the room and 2 complementary mugs showing the hotel in all its splendour.

A guest said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th October 2018

Great 2 night stay. Fantastic location and a beautiful hotel. We had a sea view which was stunning. Food was lovely. Cost of drink let's hotel down when you can get same for almost £4 cheaper in local pubs

Michelle Madden said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 5th October 2018

Room was beautiful, especially with the view and the facilities and extras in the room were great . The staff were lovely and very accommodating but did seem under pressure in restaurant- they did well to cope with a large group of intoxicated men, especially the girls. The food was probably what let it down the most, it’s wasnt terrible but it did worry me how quickly it was made and I couldn’t eat my chicken as I was worried it wasn’t cooked properly. Maybe a wider selection of choice and food a little warmer ? I would return as we did enjoy our stay.

Sandra Porter said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th October 2018

Just had a really great time over 2 nights with 3 friends. Good points are the lovely staff. Efficient and helpful in every department. Also the entertainment programme. Our party has temporary mobility problems and the lift and the entertainment in the ballroom really added fun and value to the weekend. Our own Elvis was a star as well as James and limited edition. Only slight downs were the tired bathrooms in need of upgrade but fully in keeping with 3 star Victorian building. Beds and bedroomsrefurbed and so comfortable if a little warm and rooms kept beautifully by housekeeping. Another possible point would be to have a communal gratuity box at reception as I like to reward the whole staff for good teamwork and efficiency not just front facing members. One anomaly at breakfast too would be why can i not choose my own cereal from buffet as this could relieve the waiting staff to concentrate on hot? All in all a great weekend was had. Thanks team. Sandra

A guest said...

64%
70%
70%
50%

Stayed 1st October 2018

not impressed by front desk staff. hotel nice but needs updating in a few places

Douglas Armstrong said...

90%
90%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 17th September 2018

Very comfortable and welcoming. Esp the evening entertainment! We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Jennifer McDermid said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 14th September 2018

Had a great weekend here with a friend. Room was lovely and clean, but a bit dark, which was an issue as my friend has sight problems. Did not affect our stay though. Food was OK, but the meat was a bit dry on the first night. Staff were lovely and friendly.

A guest said...

54%
80%
60%
20%

Stayed 4th September 2018

Hotel in great position nicely decorated rooms very clean great beds great views if you upgrade but was disappointed at the service of upgrades and had to cmplain ok no a few issues but in the end was given back my money BB we paid for upgrade

richard mcewan said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 1st September 2018

In particular 1 member of stafff stood out from the rest her name was fiona on the bar her customer service skills were exceptional

John Ian Stewart said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 29th August 2018

Just back from a two night break at the Glenburn Hotel Rothesay. Paid a little extra to stay in a renovated room with a sea view. Beautiful view. Hotel is old and windows do need replacing but no problem with heat in room. We had dinner both nights in the restaurant as there was plenty of choice with at least three options for each course. Plain food which was fine. Staff in reception bar and restaurant were very friendly and helpful. There is an A La Carte menu available if you require something different. In the morning breakfast is served at the table. This includes fruit juice cereal etc. together with a good choice of hot breakfast. There is entertainment every night although we did not bother with this.

Jayne Stewart said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th August 2018

Great hotel and the waiting service is 2nd to none xx Loved this hotel and I will return xx

Irene Kinnaird said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 17th August 2018

Enjoyed our stay albeit the bathroom required updating the hotel staff fixed our broken shower as soon as we informed them. Enjoyed the food and entertainment. Great value and will definitely return

Irene Kinnaird said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 17th August 2018

Enjoyed our stay albeit the bathroom required updating the hotel staff fixed our broken shower as soon as we informed them. Enjoyed the food and entertainment. Great value and will definitely return

A guest said...

74%
80%
90%
50%

Stayed 6th August 2018

A grand hotel with beautiful views.