Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Glenburn Hotel, Rothesay

Glenburn Road, Rothesay, PA20 9JP, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

A guest said...

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd April 2024

A very pleasant stay in a Grand Victorian hotel. The staff are very attentive , especially the young man at the Bar.

Lorna Wilson said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th March 2024

First time staying at the Glenburn, lovely welcome for lady in reception, checked in at 3.00pm, room on the 3rd floor, corridors to room, needing a wee bit of attention, room was at the back, good size, and clean, bed very comfortable, bathroom also very clean. Being at the back of the hotel, there was little noise. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night which was part of the deal, and could not fault the meal and the staff serving, getting a table was on a first come first served bases, but just being the 2 of us, it wasn't a problem. Breakfast both mornings, was great, plenty choices, only draw back was the continental selection only 1 cheese and 1 ham, cooked items were plentiful. Husband is coeliac, so could not have the sausage's, but plenty choice of other items, Hotel also provided GF bread. Will definitely be returning to this old, but beautiful hotel.

Shona Yule said...

84 %
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd March 2024

Last minute short stay booking for 2 nights. Staff very pleasant and welcoming. Room upgraded and not many guests in hotel as apparently just opened after the winter. Hotel was clean and warm. Gardens looked superb even though start of March as gardeners already st and tidying up. Views from Dining room superb across the water to the hills beyond. We had a deluxe room and the bathroom though clean was a bit dated. It was functional. Beds rather firm so no long lies! It is a stately old building which must have been superb in its day. A lot of money would need to be invested but we agree its a great place for a short stay if visiting Isle of Bute. The town is 10 mins walk down a fairly steep small road to main road or if adventurous tackle many steps down to the main road. Unfortunately most shops were closed Sun to Wed winter hours and only open longer from 1st April. Be warned. We drove around the island and were blessed with sunny but chilly days. The hotel bar is a pleasant area to sit at the end of the day, relaxing and enjoying the superb views across the bay. I'd definitely return to the Glenburn.

Lesley Goodwin said...

77 %
50%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th November 2023

Hotel food was great. I would disagree to rooms being superior ....and just sold as sea view rooms. The bed was very comfortable and room clean. The bathroom however was not great...alrhoygh clean nothing matched tthere was a crack on the sink and the shower was awful...once they tightened it back onto rail....bit disappointing as have stayed before and room was very good.

marilyn hollinsworth said...

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th November 2023

Great weekend here in Rothesay . This is a great historical building which is being updated bit by bit. Our room was great. We had a sea view room. Beautiful gardens. Its a 10 minute walk in to town but we had the car . The breakfasts were great. We found evening meal to be large oortions but everything came with chips. The staff were great especially Thomas. Great value for money weekend.

Derek Buntin said...

100 %
100%
100%
N/A

Stayed 4th November 2023

Love this hotel, bit dated but excellent staff, location and comfy rooms

Patricia Cook said...

87 %
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2023

This was our second visit to this hotel and it didn't disappoint. The staff were friendly, welcoming and courteous. Our room was spacious and comfortable with good quality furniture. The public areas are nicely furnished with leather sofas and chairs. Along with the swagged curtains and wood panelling there is a feeling of grandeur. Although we were only there for 2 nights I would have liked the room to be serviced each day but this seems to be the norm everywhere now.

Margaret Kennedy said...

77 %
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 15th October 2023

Basic but comfortable room although carpet badly stained in places. A pleasant stay though.

James Hamilton said...

77 %
90%
70%
70%

Stayed 2nd October 2023

Staff very attentive but overworked at breakfast. Dinner food all excellently prepared but very pub grub (chips) choices. Nothing that resembled salads or vegetables.

A guest said...

50 %
10%
100%
40%

Stayed 3rd October 2023

Room was to the back of the hotel and looked up to garden. It was a large twin and was nicely decorated with lovely curtains and carpets. The only problems I had was working the shower in particular the hot side and getting the shower head to stay up We ate in the hotel but I found it difficult being gluten free. There was GF choices but on the first evening I asked for fish and chips in batter but was told I could only have grilled fish so I chose a chicken burger in a brioche roll but then was no rolls and it came with a slice of bread at the top and one at the bottom with the chicken in the middle the bread was dry and unappetising so I put it to the side and was left with the burger a few bits of salad and some chips while my friend sat opposite with a big chicken and leek pie and chips. On night two I had fish and chips in batter which was fine. Night three I could have fish and chips, chicken burger or chicken in batter. I asked if I could have the salmon on the menu with chips and as I cannot eat risotto as it does not agree with me and asked with peas with it. I was told there was no peas but my friend had the chicken pie again with mixed veg ( there is peas in that?) Gluten Free is not an option like vegan or vegetarian and most chefs can put something together. The breakfast had plenty choice GF choice but I took my own rolls and gf muesli down to breakfast no bread / cereal was offered

Helen Brady said...

84 %
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th September 2023

Rooms comfortable,staff pleasant and helpful.Good value

Christine Rankin said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th September 2023

Spent 2 nights at the hotel. Very pleasantly surprised. Beautiful big building and lovely landscaped gardens. We booked as it was advertised as dog friendly which it was. Only place dogs can’t go is in the breakfast restaurant but you can sit in the opposite restaurant so not a problem. Room was spacious and nicely decorated, in keeping with the building and was very clean other than a couple of wee stains on the carpet. Bathroom was a bit dated but fully functional and spotlessly clean. Bar area again decorated in keeping with the age and style of the building. We ate in the hotel both nights and the food was lovely. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. All in all a pleasant stay and would definitely return.

A guest said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th September 2023

Had a lovely time and would go back again

Brenda Stott said...

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th September 2023

Beautiful grand old hotel,felt like stepping back in time. We were very lucky and able to pay for an upgrade allowing us to stay in a sea view room. The bed was very comfortable and our views were amazing. The room was a bit tired,paintwork and wallpaper needed doing,but it didn’t spoil our stay. The bath was huge and felt like a treat as we no longer have one,my husband wasn’t impressed by shower,water temperature was a bit erratic. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on a beautiful island,just a quick ferry away.

audrey kelly said...

87 %
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th August 2023

We had a lovely stay at the Glenburn hotel. Staff were excellent and helpful. Hotel interior is lovely and is about a ten minute walk to centre of Rosthey. Buffet breakfast was plentiful and hot. We had dinner both nights we stayed and it was excellent

colin maguire said...

50 %
10%
70%
70%

Stayed 3rd September 2023

Enjoyed my recent stay in the Glenburn Hotel. Found everything to be at a decent level. Room 106 was comfortable with cracking views. Food in the restaurant was decent enough for the night we ate in the restaurant likewise the breakfast. Nice old fashioned hotel.

A guest said...

94 %
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 25th August 2023

We had a nice stay at hotel room very comfortable as wete sitting & dining area's, hotel let down by main entrance carpet really awful & filthy looking, especially as you can see original carpet colour when new round skirting boards.

Mark Mitchell said...

87 %
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th August 2023

Loved this hotel. It was amazing. Staff weee fantastic and it was great to see so many young, local people working here. Big shout out to Thomas who was extremely pleasant and friendly. Only negative was the view from Room 118. Very small window with the kitchen generator being the only thing to look at - very noisy too.

A guest said...

94 %
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 21st August 2023

Great location and lovely hotel Food options were good but, as a matter of personal taste, I wasn't too keen on the risotto served with the salmon. Otherwise 10/10 for a very enjoyable short break

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th August 2023

Very relaxing will definitely be going back lovely view when sitting out enjoy a drink staff 10 out of 10 breakfast 10 out if 10 lots of choice for breakfast room was very nice loved the decor had a good night sleep bed where so comfortable not far to walk into town bus stop is just down the steeps on the main road

Billy McGrouther said...

84 %
90%
70%
90%

Stayed 16th August 2023

Really liked this hotel, grand looking building in a great location. Check in was easy. Room was spotless with extremely comfortable bed. Only issue was wifi only worked if you sat by the room door. Sat outside for dinner, great views. Food was excellent but asked 2 different staff members for desert menu but neither returned. Ended up getting my own and had to approach a member of staff to place order. Same at breakfast, great food but not enough staff, who remained very pleasant despite been overworked. Overall good stay and Would return and recommend

A guest said...

87 %
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th July 2023

Great location and fabulous views of the sun setting across the bay. The hotel itself was spotless, the outside and main corridor carpets could maybe do with updating but didn't detract from our stay. Super comfy beds and again spotless. Dinner was good and fast service. Breakfast was excellent. All the staff were also very efficient and friendly. Would stay again

Sharron Minto said...

90 %
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th July 2023

Forgot how beautiful rothsay is. great wee break would definitely recommend to anyone.

Margaret MacDonald said...

84 %
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 24th June 2023

Hotel was lovely quite close to sea front room was very nice drinks/food excellent x

Karen Cassidy said...

84 %
100%
90%
60%

Stayed 16th June 2023

Stayed for 2 night and room was front facing with beautiful views, hotel is lovely and staff are polite and friendly, food needs to be looked at as very limited and not available between 2pm and 5pm . Breakfast was good and we both had a lovely stay