Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Castle Inn Hotel, Bassenthwaite

Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite, CA124RG, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Stewart Bell said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th November 2018

On the whole the hotel was OK. The room was ok and bedding was clean but everything was dusty and cobwebs in every corner of the room. The public toilets window sills were covered in dreds of flies and look like they had not been cleaned for some time. The pool area and gym were in good order and staff were very helpful making it a pleasant stay.

B Anderson said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 29th July 2018

at dinner and breakfast we had flys around the food we did advise hotel on leaving and I think more effort could be made to combat this

Charles Currie said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2018

Staff were excellent and very helpful. Bedroom was adequate but had only one chair and some of the fittings in the shower room needed attention. Breakfast was excellent but evening meal menu could have been more adventurous. Facilities were also excellent. We would use this hotel again.

michael blessing said...

70%
90%
80%
40%

Stayed 13th July 2018

We had a really nice stay with a lovely room but not nfortunately the food really let the hotel down. I have to mention the duty manager that was on Friday night and Saturday morning tall chap with a beard his Customrvice was outstanding and very friendly. Would book to stay again but possibly eat elsewhere.

J Sweeting said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 31st December 2017

Great night and service from the staff. We all had a great time.

Guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2017

We had a lovely couple of nights stay at the Castle Inn Hotel, Bassenthwaite. The hotel staff were all very friendly, especially the manager who also served at the bar. We had a bit of banter over the Scottish £20 notes which the hotel didn't accept due to forgeries. The staff took time for a quick chat even although they seemed to be short staffed. Our deal included a 2 course meal each evening from a wide choice on the menu and there were NO supplements for the steak, which is very unusual on getaway deals. The food was delicious. We had heard a conversation regarding lack of space in the dining room (as the main dining room had been closed due to the time of year), so we opted just to eat in the bar, so we didn't have to wait for a table. Usual hot and cold selection of food for breakfast including haddock, eggs Benedict and croissants and pastries. The bedroom was a good size and both the bedroom and bathroom were very clean. We had a great night's sleep. Usual tv, coffee making facil, ironing board etc in the bedroom. Welcome book with idea's of places to visit in the area. We had a wander round Keswick and Amleside. Very pretty areas, nice shops and cafes to wander around, but take plenty of change for parking! We also used the pool on our arrival. Lovely warm temperature both in the pool and surrounding area. A few chairs and loungers around for those that wanted to read books and chill. The jacuzzi was covered at the time, so I didn't get a chance to try it out. Pool towels available at the pool. I thought the complimentary plastic bags for wet swimwear was a good idea, since both myself and my husband hadn't brought any! We would certainly go back to this hotel again if we were staying in the area.

Catherine McClintock said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2017

Good location very helpful staff excellent food.

Margaret Arksey said...

64%
40%
70%
80%

Stayed 11th June 2017

Not dog friendly, confined to the room or top end of bar only! Room not welcoming and very sparce. We had to ask for chairs and table to be put in room (there were conference chairs only). Room cleaning not really up to standard - bed hardly made on first morning! However staff were friendly enough and food nice, although disappointed overall. Will not return.

A guest said...

50%
70%
30%
50%

Stayed 4th July 2017

The reason for attending this hotel was to spend a voucher bought for us at Christmas. There was confusion at both check in and check out over the voucher and the extra payment to cover the full cost of the bed breakfast and evening dinner. The staff need re training in this aspect as we would have paid twice had I not insisted that the bill had been paid in full by myHotel.com. It was embarrassing to say the least. Evening dinner service was very slow service, up to 40 mins between courses . Food portions were small and the starters were ridiculously small, the main course was a little better. Lunch time brvice was again very slow due to the fact of one poor overworked barman who was having to double up as food waiter . The room was quite small and overcrowded with furniture. Overall not worth the money and will not go again. The bar area was being used as an office by businesses on Skype and we don't wish to listen to big business when we are having a short vacation.

A guest said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 30th May 2017

Food and accommodation were very good and hotel had a nice ambience. There was no shower gel in our room (extra shampoos had been provided, not really what we wanted). We were told there was none available (late delivery) and therefore we said we would need to buy some and seek reimbursement, but we were told this would not be possible and they would have a further search. Later, shower gel was found! It may sound a little petty, but such things make a difference, especially as we had paid extra for an executive room, which is usually supplied with superior toiletries. Also, we were disappointed our executive room was on the ground floor adjacent to the entrance and facing the courtyard without any view - usually more highly-priced rooms have a better position and view. Despite this, we enjoyed our stay. Plus points were that the hotel was well heated despite it being early June (but chilly in the evening) and the food was excellent, staff were friendly and the room itself was fine. The price was reasonable for the overall standard. We would probably stay here again despite the above points.

John English said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th May 2017

Hotel rather dated, but clean and staff very helpful. Food was excellent, overall a good place to stay. Postcode takes sat nav to Sun Inn Bassenthwaite Village, easily directed to Castle Inn from locals.

Anna Makepeace said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th May 2017

Lovely hotel lovely staff good food beautiful area no complaints

Arlene Davies said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th May 2017

Staff at the hotel are fantastic and deliver excellent service, couldn't have been more helpful. Food was excellent and our whole stay was excellent value for money. Will definitely stay here again.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th March 2017

Very pleasant and helpful staff throughout the hotel, providing a first class service in all areas, including reception, housekeeping, spa/pool, restaurant and bar. Our room had been recently refurbished to a high standard and was spotlessly clean. Hotel in a lovely location with views of mountains and lake.

Michael Matuszak said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th January 2017

Excellent one night stay. Meal in restaurant was of a really high standard. Service was good and professional. Will return.

A guest said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th January 2017

Decent hotel lovely location stayed on a DBB deal good service good food only criticism was the location of the room overlooking a car park for the location of the hotel we could of been anywhere but for what we paid it was ok.

ALAN RAMSAY said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th November 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our break, wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

Malcolm Perry said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st November 2016

Excellent. Good hotel, extremely pleasant and efficient staff, food exceeding all expectations. We had a wonderful and memorable break.

ALASDAIR INGRAM said... Hotel has replied

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th October 2016

I have used your site to book hotels on a fairly regular basis and this time I made two bookings Ref. No.s 175394 and 175396 to stay at the Castle Inn Hotel near Keswick for 2 rooms for 4 Adults. On arrival at the Hotel they could only find part of the booking and none in my name. Unfortunately this was the third time that this has happened- 2 5 September 2015 at the Blue Bell Belford and 5 April, 2015 at the Gretna Hall Hotel Gretna. Luckily they all were able to accomodate us however it is now getting embarassing and I dread to think of the consequences if no rooms were available. As this has happened three times the Fault would appear to be at your end when two rooms are booked I would appreciate any comments you wish to make

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to send this review. I apologize that the reservation was not in the system. Hopefully the reception team sorted this out quickly for you and you enjoyed the rest of you stay. Kind Regards The Castle Inn Hotel

A guest said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2016

Enjoyed a lovely clean twin room with en suite with bath and shower . Felt pool was ok but smal lsauna and steam room not hot enough. Jacuzzi was not in use. The Ritzon restaurant was not to our taste but enjoyed lovely meal in bar. Breakfast was outstanding. All staff very helpful and polite.

A guest said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2016

Enjoyed a lovely clean twin room with en suite with bath and shower . Felt pool was ok but smal lsauna and steam room not hot enough. Jacuzzi was not in use. The Ritzon restaurant was not to our taste but enjoyed lovely meal in bar. Breakfast was outstanding. All staff very helpful and polite.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th May 2011

Great location and really enjoyed visit. Breakfast was great and plenty of choice for evening meal.

C Kenney said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th September 2014

Had to come home a day early due to personal reasons. Gave the hotel about a days notice but was charged for the last night. Thought this was a bit hard. Everything else was great.

RONA JANET GILMOUR said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 18th May 2014

THIS HOTEL EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS AND WE WERE DISAPPOINTED WE WERE ONLY STAYING 1 NIGHT WE WOULD LIKE TO RETURN TO IT IN THE FUTURE. THE FOOD WAS FANTASTIC AND I WOULD CERTAINLY RECOMMEND TO OUR FRIENDS

Mrs Poulson said...

34%
60%
20%
20%

Stayed 15th May 2014

The rooms were fine. Nice & clean, warm, lovely bathroom. Hotel itself was of a good standard with plenty of drinks choices. We were on the whole unhappy with the service provided. On our 1st night in the Lakers bar there was one bar staff who was serving drinks, taking food orders, wiping tables & bringing out the food. It took over 2hours & 20 mins to get our 3 courses from when we ordered them. Food was only average at best, mash with anything should come with gravy but didnt which made the main course dry. On the 2nd evening we dined at Ritsons restaurant. We waited 45mins for our dessert to come. I ordered WHITE CHOCOLATE cheesecake and they brought me the exact same VANILLA cheesecake that I had eaten on my 1st night in the Lakers Bar. I think they may have run out & probably thought I would not notice but I did. Also in the lakers bar the poor man that was left alone to serve ALL the guests even brought us the wrong deserts then brought the right ones before he had cleared the table of our empty main meal plates. It wasnt his fault as he was clearly trying hard to get his jobs done whilst he had a chance. For one breakfast I ordered eggs benedict & the muffins were rock hard as if they had been microwaved for too long....could not cut them with a knife. For another breakfast the kippers came with rice & peas!!! Not good. Also the serving staff in Ritsons restaurant were all eastern european & could not understand us & vice versa as they spoke very poor english, this resulted in a few mix ups over breakfast. I would not stay at this hotel again due to these problems. On a possitive note the leasure facilities were very good...its a pity that we had to wait 10 mins before a member of staff appeared to tell us where to go/change etc.....