Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa, Craignure, Isle of Mull

, Craignure, Isle of Mull, PA656BB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Kevin McCann said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

We have stayed at this hotel before, but we did not enjoy the food as much this time. Unfortunately a couple of staff members were having an argument in their native tongue at breakfast, which was not very professional at all. We asked if we could eat in the bar on the second night and use our allowance that we had already paid for, we were told this could not be done and we would have to pay. We were grateful to the staff for having a change of heart on this, we did enjoy the meal we had that night, but I had just finished my soup as a starter and then the main course arrived leaving me unable to finish my main course. The chips which were listed as proper chips were, very poor quality frozen chips that were tasteless, or as I cannot prove this then this is what they tasted like to me, proper chips means real potatoes peeled and cooked properly, apologies for my dismay but standards seemed to have dropped especially with the food.

Lorraine Todd said...

74%
40%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th October 2018

Need new mattress and breakfast was cold each morning everything else was fab loved it.

Jane Rodgers said...

67%
50%
60%
90%

Stayed 3rd October 2017

Overall, we had a nice break in Mull. However, since returning home we can’t help but feel a little disheartened about our experience and value for money etc. We booked the overnight spa package, both thoroughly looking forward to a relaxing break from the daily grind but in all honesty it was anything but. Our room was pleasant enough, view was outstanding but cleanliness wise not so great. Bathroom dirty, lampshades stained etc two single beds pushed together to make our double (which is fine) but partner almost fell down the gap each time he moved. The pictures on the site are a little misleading re: the spa. When we arrived the young man on the desk was nice enough but not overly helpful. The steam room was broken, experience shower had only two lights working and a dribble when activated. Outdoor hot tub covered over and no offer of using it. The foot spas were either ice cold or boiling hot but luckily the sauna was functioning so we managed to relax a little in there. The pool was basic but nice enough. The changing facil were not so enjoyable, lockers for “hotel guests” didn’t lock, towel provided was rather small, we were provided with robes as part of our package but no footwear, so using our own wasn’t so nice as floors were rather wet etc. As most facil were out of service we requested to use the mud room and had this added to our bill. The asked if we had used a mud room before which we had and she said you will know what to do then, I requested that she go over the steps anyway incase we done it wrong. We were told to apply mud over our bodies then press button on wall prior to sitting in the steam room and that the whole process lasts 45 minutes, it took quite some time for any steam to appear, there was some lighting changes which were nice and we noticed a speaker but no music. Also no scent being diffused like we have experienced in other places. We both chose hot stone massage as our treatment on the day we were checking out. The was extremely pleasant however, admitted that another staff member had switched stones on too hot and they were extremely hot causing my treatment to be delayed 10-15mins which I didn’t mind so much. Technique during treatment was great and the took time to ensure she understood what I needed from treatment and what areas required more work etc. However, I felt I was unable to completely relax and get the benefit of my treatment as my the spoke constantly throughout the hour, I don’t mean to sound harsh as she was genuinely lovely but I didn’t feel there was a moment to ask for some quiet to allow me to switch off. When it came to my partners turn for the massage after me, the the informed me that stones now wouldn’t heat up at all and he could no longer have hot stones so he opted for a general full body massage which he was happy enough with. His experience was much the same as mine he was unable to fully switch off and relax during the treatment although again would like to stress that the was lovely and attentive with us both we would just have appreciated the option to have some quiet and listen to the lovely music playing during our treatment. The the who carried out our massages had asked how we got on with facil at the spa and mud room and I was honest with her and told her I was disappointed, she’ believed we were given the wrong information and should have been told to press button on wall immediately and then apply mud, she admitted there was some gaps in staff knowledge etc and whilst I appreciated her honesty that didn’t help us out much after the event, we only wish she was on shift around that time. She did offer to set up mud room again free of charge which I declined as I didn’t want to use it a second time and we were checking out that day. We can not fault the food and service from staff att bar and dining room. Everything was perfect and we both were happily full both at dinner and breakfast. Overall, we left feeling a little underwhelmed as we had been looking forward to this spa break for some time. Not sure we would return again.

C Bonnar said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th September 2017

Booked a lower ground sea view room and paid an extra £20 for the addition and when we arrived at 3pm check ini it was a twin and they could do nothing about it until the night house keeping came in around 6.30pm. The view from the room was at least half obscured by over grown bushes gone wild.. Most of the staff were excellent and the food was wonderful. The whole weekend was marred by starting point. First impressions are hard to erase. Pity as were hoping to return in a couple of weeks. We were only after what we paid for. Disappointed

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th September 2017

Vey nice hotel with great food. Only setback was distance from room to anywhere else in the hotel as it was so far away. Very good pool and spa area and view from hot-tub was spectacular.

Margaret Fallon said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st July 2017

Great break. Excellent service and wonderful food. Gorgeous views from all the rooms. Our second time here and nit disappointed. Although the hotel probably needs a bit of tlc the warmth of the welcome makes up for it. Good leisure facil but disappointed the hot tub was out of order.

Derek Horne said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 12th July 2017

I stayed at the hotel with three of my friends and we all enjoyed it greatly. Although the rooms were a little basic, the food was excellent and overall we all enjoyed our time there and thought the deal we got was a real bargain. Staff were very nice and attentive. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Mull.

Irene Mackay said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th May 2017

Excellent stay at this hotel. Welcoming helpful staff, fabulous spa, room with a view and good food.

Irene Mackay said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th May 2017

Excellent stay at this hotel. Welcoming helpful staff, fabulous spa, room with a view and good food.

j nicholson said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th April 2017

Great hotel, delicious food, comfortable rooms and good service, all in all a wonderful stay on a beautiful island. Would definitely stay again, also pet friendly.

A guest said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 27th February 2017

Lovely views, friendly staff. Excellent leisure facil. Downside the hotel need a revamp, draughty single glaze windows, threadbare carpets and peeling paint. Would give excellent if some money was spent on ti

A guest said...

57%
60%
60%
50%

Stayed 18th January 2017

Think the chef had a day off and gave the menus to the gardener and said "see what you can do". Don't look at the menus on the hotel website, they sound amazing but reality is very disappointing for breakfast and dinner. Service is polite but very impersonal as if they are reading from a script. If a hotel is going to open "out of season" it should not drop it's standards and excuse itself by using "out of season" as an excuse - unless this was the usual standard in which case give it a miss.

james warden said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th August 2016

Excellent stay...staff great, very helpful and friendly. Food delicious, comfortable lounge , great views from lounge windows.?....wee bit tlc needed in certain aspects of decor, but that's purely cosmetic.??Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

RICHARD MALLOY said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st August 2016

Had a lovely stay on the isle of mull, the hotel is looking a bit tired in places, our room was very far away from restaurant and spa it's a bit like a rabbit warren we were actually down two flights of stairs and there are no lifts they do have rooms that are on the same level as reception but unfortunately there were none available, so I would suggest contacting the hotel before your stay if you would like one. The room was fine bed very comfortable view would have been better in the upper floor rooms, food was also very good and the staff were very nice and also efficient. The spa was very good nice outdoor hot tub as well had a couple of treatments. I would return to the hotel great for touring lovely Isle of Mull

Lesley-Anne Walker said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th July 2016

Had a great stay at this hotel even stayed for an extra night because it was so good! Hotel and spa spotless and the food was first class have stayed at more expensive hotels than this and the food and facil have been nowhere near as good. Would recommend this hotel.

Mrs Campbell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th July 2016

Our stay at the Isle of Mull Hotel ,Craignure was very enjoyable. Our accommodation with sea view was marvellous. The swimming pool was lovely. We were overwhelmed with the fantastic "Taster dinner Menu" and breakfast selection. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.We certainly got a tremendous price for our break from Classic Britain for our stay and loved our stay at the Isle of Mull Hotel.

Charles McGill said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th July 2016

Accommodation and food excellent as always. Service and staff in the restaurant first class, staff front of house very efficient and friendly. Enjoyed our stay yet again and would recommend this hotel to couples o ages and families. Leisure Centre accessable and accommodating.More than adequate car parking. Small criticism ... it was a big sporting day with Andy Murray winning Wimbledon and European football final, yet public rooms lacked a television set. Most people watched in their rooms although we rigged up a connection through Kindle which was very popular with guests in the public rooms. Good way to make friends!

Evelyn Bennett said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th April 2016

It was the first time we had been to mull but it won't be the last! The hotel looked a bit dreary from the outside, but as soon as we entered we were really impressed! The staff were extremely friendly and the room we had was lovely! We had a six course taster menu for our meal, which was delicious. Can't compliment the staff enough, they really made up feel very welcome. Would highly recommend this lovely hotel!

Robin Macpherson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th April 2016

Great stay superb views pool warm food good ,good service staff friendly lovey stay

Grant McGeachie said...

57%
30%
60%
80%

Stayed 9th April 2016

Good hotel , food great , staff very pleasant and leisure facil great apart from no private showers for washing only poolside showers , general decor of the hotel in need of upgrade , would go back and I also recommend a visit to others .

Norval Easson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th March 2016

Had a most enjoyable stay the staff were very friendly and helpful food was very good and service very efficient. Would stay at the hotel again.

David Hill said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2016

A very enjoyable stay. Food excellent and staff friendly and welcoming.

Jan Hargreaves said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th February 2016

Fantastic location, great food, brilliant staff. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Would definitely stay there again.

David Thomson said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 12th March 2015

Great hotel in brilliant location for exploring mull. Room very nice with great view of the ferry terminal and craignure bay.dinner at night was a 6 course taster menu which changes every night and is very well done.we had a bit of a mix up as they thought we only had dinner for the first night but after ordering something from the main menu they sorted this out but we still missed the 6 courses that night. The spa attached to the hotel is good and is free to use for guests.never had any treatments but used the spa every day hot tub steam room solarium and pool hot tub is outside with nice views of the sound of mull.over all great stay and felt rested when we left and looking to return soon

John Proudfoot said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th November 2015

Very pleasant stay