Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, Appleby in Westmorland

Roman Road, Appleby in Westmorland, CA166JB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

Mrs L Nicoll said...

55%
30%
N/A
80%

Stayed 28th September 2022

All staff were very helpful

Catherine Thomson said...

80%
80%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 23rd September 2022

The Hotel was lovely and met all our needs the room was very warm but was able to open windows the only thing that I could not understand is when we checked in we were told we had been upgraded But we were. Unable to see how we had been upgraded as it was the room we had booked a bit of a puzzle

Elaine Allison said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th September 2022

Very relaxed and comfortable stay, loved the spa area.

A guest said...

74%
20%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th August 2022

We had a fantastic relaxing time at this hotel. The food and service were excellent and the staff were always friendly and helpful. The Spa was fantastic and very relaxing. The room we were allocated (room 12) really let the hotel down. The room is in the attic of the main building and to get there you have to go up the main staircase of the hotel to the first then through a door and then up a very narrow winding staircase. Once up that staircase you walk along a narrow corridor with sloping ceiling to reach room 12. The room itself was clean and a decent size. It faces out the back of the hotel so has no view and if you have window open you can hear the traffic from the dial carriageway. On further inspection we noticed the wallpaper was peeling from the ceiling above the bathroom door. The bathroom itself was very dated. The sink has hairline cracks on the enamel and had small black marks on the sealant on top. The tiles around the bath/ shower have mould in between them. We did ask if that was only room available and were told that the hotel was full. We were celebrating a birthday and our anniversary that weekend so decided just to stay and make the most of it. Also when we arrived at 3pm the room wasn't ready and we had to sit and wait until 4pm before getting the keys. This made us late for our 4pm SPA booking giving us less time for our two hour slot. The hotel itself is lovely and has fantastic views out the front. We did have a good time. Room 12 was the let down

Angela Orr said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th August 2022

This was our second visit to the hotel . I booked in on line prior to arrival so getting our key was a swift process at reception . We were given a quick tour of dining area and meal arrangements were explained to us . We were in the actual house itself in Room 11 . A lot of narrow stairs in the final stage to get to the room. This is not a room suitable for people who struggle with breath or steep stairs. We wondered if it had been servants' quarters in years gone by. The house is set in beautiful surrounding so to find we only had a view of the main entrance gate and other buildings waa a little disappointing .The A66 runs parallel so with the window open due to the heat it was quite noisy through the night. The room itself was quite spacious with a fair sized en suite bathroom ,flat screen TV and tea / coffee making facilities. Down side..the tap on the bath had a continual drip. This was reported in an email after we left as I forgot to mention it as we left. We had booked a two day gin and spa break. Our room had miniature gin and a voucher awaiting us for a free gin fizz drink each in the bar . Our spa session was on the day of arrival . The staff in the spa were friendly and efficient . Our time in the spa area was quite pleasant Meals in the restaurant were gourmet in style with a moderate range to choose from vegetarian included. There was a wider range in the bistro. Our night scheduled for the bistro found it to be over booked and we were moved into the restaurant but given the bistro menu. The staff were apologetic for the change All of the staff were always very efficient,polite, friendly but run off their feet working long shifts as the hotel was busy . Breakfast on the second day was a little of a downside . We had been allocated a table with a beautiful view but I believe it had been double booked in error and we were regretfully asked to choose a different table. However this did not detract from the variety of food offered for breakfast ...buffet of various cereals and juices, cooked breakfast ,toast, tea and coffee were all available. I think we will return for further visits and believe overall we had value for money . The final bill included a discretionary service charge. Thank you to all the staff present during our visit

Brian Smail said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 5th August 2022

Visited as a couple on a DB and B package but upgraded to a garden view room. The package also included a gin fizz from the bar, a small bottle of Prosecco with tail miniature in the room, small jar of nuts and a small jar of jellybeans. 2 hour Aqua thermal journey between 16.00 and 20.00. Reception however were happy to “fit you in” if the spa wasn’t busy. We didn’t use the spa so can’t comment. In addition you could book a Lakes Distillery tour (about 40 minutes away by car) at no cost (for two) - this currently cost £18pp - we did this tour and it was really interesting and informative. I’m not reviewing the distillery but will say it’s a really nice place to visit with a super bistro on the premises. Arrival - nice warm greeting and the receptionist explained about spa facilities and showed us to our room. The room - on the ground floor with patio area with seating for two just outside the bedroom. This area gets sunshine (when it’s out?) for a big part of the day. Large room, large double bed, nicely decorated with tea/coffee making facilities. Decent sized wardrobe and plenty of drawer space. Bathroom was large with a great shower area, Elemis toiletries provided and a bathroom cabinet for all your stuff? Great towels with heated towel rail. Restaurants/food - we had pre booked breakfast and dinner times before arrival. There are two places to eat - main restaurant and the Bistro. Ate dinner in the restaurant once and Bistro twice. Food in both places was very good. Restaurant was a bit more formal but not overbearing. Reasonable selection of dishes - you’re sure to find something you like. Breakfast was also very good - usual cereals etc and good selection of cooked to order food. One of the best things - the toast arrived at the table hot! Bar/lounge/conservatory areas - bar was open most of the time but not always with a server - no worries bell by the door to get someone along. The lounge (outside the Bistro) was large with comfy looking sofas - we didn’t use this area. The bar had a few seats but most folk gravitated to adjoining conservatory. Nice area to sit - bright and airy. Only issue for me was the little tables between the seats - they were filled in on all sides and you couldn’t get your feet under - not the most comfy? Great place to chat with other hotel guests. No beer on tap - all bottles. Good selection of wines and spirits. Outside space - great outdoor space (just outside the bar) with a number of wooden bench seats with tables and a few round tables with chairs. This area gets quite a lot of sunshine. No cushions so sore bum after a while. Locating - Appleby is probably a ten to fifteen minutes walk away - downhill. There are a couple of pubs doing food and a few shops. Most of the shops seemed to be shut on a Sunday. The location means the hotel is not bothered with outside noise. Overall - nice hotel, great food, nice seating areas inside and out and good staff. Downsides - if you are not on a deal like ours you could be paying £25 weekdays or £35 (at weekends - I think) for spa access. The patio area outside the room needed some TLC - lots of weeds and for some reason only some of the tables had a brolly? The hotel now add (albeit discretionary) a service charge to your final bill - 5%. Pool table - 50p a game - come on it’s a 4* hotel surely you can build your table rental cost into the room rate? Hotel says WiFi throughout hotel - sorry but it’s not. Very very patchy - connects, drops out, connects etc etc. don’t try to download pictures/video. Only place I found to get a decent connection was near reception. Been at this hotel before and there were lots of tubs/pots of flowers around the outside seating area - sadly they are not there now. The real test - would I go back - yes I would.

Ann Forrest said...

60%
10%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd August 2022

Excellent spa. Polite and helpful staff.Meals good.Room upgrade much appreciated.

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st July 2022

We booked a Gin & Spa Break for our wedding anniversary and were thrilled with the experience. The hotel is lovely, the staff were wonderful and the food was amazing. The Thermal Spa Journey was a great way to start our stay, very relaxing in high quality facilities.

J Pratt said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2022

Hotel was absolutely amazing. Spa was very relaxing. Room was very spacious as we had booked a garden room. Food was delicious both nights of our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful

Shona Howie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th July 2022

This is a beautiful hotel set in beautiful gardens. Our room was fantastic, we paid a little extra to get a room with a patio & garden view, definitely worth the extra. The garden spa is fantastic, we had a 2 hour visit in our deal. Very relaxing. I loved the foot spa. The food in this hotel is outstanding. We had a meal in the Bistro on our first night & it was very good. On our 2nd night we had a meal in restaurant which was totally outstanding & the service to match. All the staff are very pleasant & helpful. This is a fantastic hotel which I would highly recommend.A word of warning, we were charged for bottled tap water with our dinner plus we were charged for a glass of ice to take to our room. Both charges had vat added. We were pretty shocked at this & not once did anyone tell us we would be charged for the water when we were asked if we wanted it at our dinning table. This did leave a bit of a sour taste. It does seem very mean. Other than this, everything was perfect.

Colin Spence said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 25th June 2022

Restaurants food was lovely on the first night but the bistro food could have been a lot better. The spa was very nice.and the distillery tour. The rooms just need updating but the staff were friendly

George Garland said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st June 2022

Great Manor hotel with views over the valley. Room was very comfortable and we had a great Spa. Staff very friendly and great dining experience

A guest said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th June 2022

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, really nice food (although portions in Bistro were really big), but it was very tasty. Also managed an upgrade on site, thanks to the staff for doing this. Only minor issue was spa was very limited in times you could use it, you could not even pay for additional time in it.

Angela Orr said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th May 2022

This was our visit to this hotel .Everything was well organised with meal times and spa times booked in advance We arrived early and were made to feel welcome though our room was not ready. The decor was slightly jaded in our room within the main house with one wall showing signs of repair work to the emulsioned wall ...in a different shade ! We had a flat screen TV on the wall but it was quite small . We were on a spa deal but had no voucher or miniature in our room . This was quickly rectified when queried Food in the restaurant on the first evening was served efficiently and was presented beautifully . The bistro was more relaxed with a greater range of food to choose from . Breakfasts were a mixture of self serve buffet and staff service . A discretionary service charge of 5% was added to the bill. It is shared at the end of each month between the staff . Though this was not mentioned at the time of booking the staff were so friendly and hard working we felt it was well deserved Overall we had a pleasant time and we have booked to return

audrey cameron said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th April 2022

Most enjoyable stay . Spa was tremendous. Staff were superb , always helpful and made you feel very welcome . A bit of old fashioned hospitality but can I say on behalf of my sister and myself we would like to thank you for lovely stay . We hope to return ????

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th May 2022

Great 2 night gin spa break would highly recommend.

Elizabeth Airnes said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th May 2022

This was our first visit to the Hotel and we thoroughly loved it. It has fabulous views over the Eden Valley. Although an old building all the rooms are spacious and well looked after. The food was excellent quality with very good friendly staff. The Spa experience was lovely and relaxing.

Sandra Troy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th May 2022

Lovely hotel in great location with lovely views. Rooms excellent and very clean. Friendly staff who gave excellent service. Thoroughly enjoyed the thermal spa experience. Would highly recommend for a relaxing break.

Narinjan Singh said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 8th May 2022

Great stay, room was clean tidy, bed was big and comfortable. Staff were great very helpful curtious and friendly. Just wasn’t impressed with the food in the Bistro the Parmozan was awful, also no draugtht beer & larger.

Lynn Brown said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th April 2022

We had a great stay room was great we had a room just along from main rooms in hotel which we liked food was great as well staff were very helpful we didn't end up doing the distillery tour because we didn't realize it was a 45 min drive from hotel and wouldn't have made it back for our spa date wasn't that bothered anyway we thought that the price of drinks was a bit steep but we would return we went as it was our ruby anniversary and had a very chilled time

Mrs M Durnin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th April 2022

After reading some previous reviews we were a little apprehensive, but I honestly can say we had a great time. All Staff were very friendly and helpful, from reception to David in the bar and restaurant, susan and all restaurant staff. We liked how the hotel was still respectful of peoples 'space' and tables are wiped down after use very quickly. The deal with distillery visit and spa is well worth it, would recommend it. Food was very good and plenty of choices, both in restaurant and bistro.. Overall 10/10 for staff, food and room.

helen smith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th April 2022

I would highly recommend this hotel. We stayed on a gin spa offer and it was fantastic. Staff were so friendly and food was delicious. Spa was very high quality and we loved sitting in jacuzzi looking at the sky. The trip to the distillery was great. Bought lots of gin too.

Anne Atkins said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th April 2022

All staff very polite & helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our 2nd stay at Appleby Manor. Would recommend it. ??

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th April 2022

Had a brilliant time again. Staff amazing, aqua thermal journey wonderful. Only issue we had was they closed early on the Sunday night even though the hotel was busy. When we came beginning of Dec it was still all open at 23.30. The steak we had in the bistro wasn't very nice. My partner had steak in the restaurant on the Sat night and said it was beautiful?? Need to light entertainment or change the music to a bit upbeat which I think people would like. But we will be back again.

A guest said...

44%
40%
40%
50%

Stayed 15th April 2022

The hotel was ok, but very expensive for what it was, service in restaurant was poor, breakfast on day 2 was undercooked but luckily there was a good choice of tinned fruit to have with natural yogurt and granola. The spa is Tiny but staff were attentive and it was clean. The rooms and decor are tired but bed was very comfortable. Shower unfortunately had a constant drip and kept us awake. The pool table was a plus!! Overall I wouldn’t recommend or stay here again.