Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, Appleby in Westmorland

Roman Road, Appleby in Westmorland, CA166JB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th September 2021

Very enjoyable couple of days staff worked very hard

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th September 2021

Very enjoyable couple of days staff worked very hard

Anne Atkins said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 10th September 2021

Wonderful stay. Really enjoyed the 2 hour Spa session and the lovely complimentary items in the room. We had a garden view room which was lovely & spacious and was fabulous sitting out on our terrace. All staff very polite & helpful. Particulary enjoyed our evening meal in the Restaurant. Will definitely go again. Constructive criticism is that the Lounge needs updating as tired furniture & not very welcoming. ?

Anne Atkins said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 10th September 2021

Wonderful stay. Really enjoyed the 2 hour Spa session and the lovely complimentary items in the room. We had a garden view room which was lovely & spacious and was fabulous sitting out on our terrace. All staff very polite & helpful. Particulary enjoyed our evening meal in the Restaurant. Will definitely go again. Constructive criticism is that the Lounge needs updating as tired furniture & not very welcoming. ?

Angelina Mitchell said...

87%
100%
60%
100%

Stayed 8th September 2021

The food in both the Bistro and Restaurant was excellent, the best we’ve ever had in a hotel. The staff were very polite but could do with a lot more training as their experience didn’t match the standard of the food.

Angelina Mitchell said...

87%
100%
60%
100%

Stayed 8th September 2021

The food in both the Bistro and Restaurant was excellent, the best we’ve ever had in a hotel. The staff were very polite but could do with a lot more training as their experience didn’t match the standard of the food.

P Witherwick said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th September 2021

What a wonderful place-staff excellent and food first class.

Michelle Weatherston said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th August 2021

What a stunning place to place, the hotel surroundings and all the staff were excellent. From the minute we arrived we were warmly welcomed and given a tour o the facilities. The staff were so friendly and accomodating, the second day they remembered each of us from the first day which was special. The views and surroundings were beautiful and the Spa facilities are the best we have experienced. We have agreed to make Appleby Manor Hotel a yearly trip, can not wait to come back next year.

John Smithson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd August 2021

We had an absolutely amazing time here,great food and drinks,amazing time in the spa, and the staff couldn't do enough for us,we will definitely be coming back

vivien reddie said...

84%
60%
90%
100%

Stayed 17th August 2021

We had a fabulous stay , Hotel surrounds, spa , food & staff great . Slight disappointment in room which I think was a classic room in the coach house building . I am not sure if this advertises as being refurbished but didn’t appear to be . On entering the room it did have a stale smell , we put this down to hotel rooms not being used for so long due to Covid . We did not report this just opened the window as often as we could but this was open on to a noisy road so not good to do at night . Also the shower on first night was not great , the water cut out from shower and bath taps for a good 5 mins ( bit inconvenient as I had a head covered in shampoo) I did report this . This did not spoil our visit though as the hotel , surrounds, food & staff lovely . I would like to return but to a better room . The deal we had was good value . Db&b both nights , spa for 2 hrs , free tail, mini gin in room and appetisers , nibbles served before dinner in restaurant .

Diane Giller said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2021

Fabulous hotel, we would return!

Diane Giller said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2021

Fabulous hotel, we would return!

Mr Haslam said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd August 2021

The Hotel is set in a beautiful location. The hotel is advertised as a 4star. The room could at best be classed as 2 star. We had to ask for the curtains to be changes as they were falling off and didn't fit the window. We also asked for the 2 tub chairs to be removed as they were absolutely filthy. Room 11 is at the top of the main house and is in desperate need of an update. The shower is a dirty cream colour that has faded beyond recovery, also some of the oldest fixtures and fittings I've seen in years. The rest of the hotel especially in the main house is lovely if tired in places. The redeeming feature is the staff and the food. Both were amazing.

Annie Wood said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd August 2021

Fabulous place to chill out in the hotel and in and around the beautiful countryside.

Karen Farrell said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 1st August 2021

Beautiful hotel could pay a little more detail to cleanliness dust in cupboards and makeup stains on bedding. Food was amazing and plenty of choice. Spa was fantastic got to use all the facilities in the spa.staff pleasant and attentive.

Pamela Anderson said...

60%
20%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th July 2021

Room 25 was dark, noisey from the road, problems with flushing wc and running cold water into the wash basin, and in need of updating. Wouldn’t stay in the Coach House again

Pamela Anderson said...

60%
20%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th July 2021

Room 25 was dark, noisey from the road, problems with flushing wc and running cold water into the wash basin, and in need of updating. Wouldn’t stay in the Coach House again

Raymond Palmer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th July 2021

This was a great value break and we had a very good room in the courtyard.Ground floor rooms are quite a bit quieter at night than upstairs. Everything was spotless and COVID-19 restrictions were well adhered to.The food in both restaurant and bistro were enjoyable.

Kathryn Maggs said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 11th July 2021

Excellent value for money throughly enjoyed our stay would definitely recommend ?

catherine bianchi said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th July 2021

First time at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it . Staff were very friendly and COVID rules in place . Food was amazing in both bistro and restaurant . The spa deal is excellent value . Spa facilities were brill and staff great . We did not manage the distillery visit as it was an hour from hotel and weather was so nice we were out and about all day . Views from hotel stunning . Would def return

Beverley Copland said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th July 2021

Great value. A lovely setting, very comfortable room with lots of lovely extras. The spa was a real treat after our drive. Very friendly staff.

Neil MACLEOD said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th July 2021

Lovely garden room with access to a terrace. Spacious bedrooms and exceptionally well appointed. Breakfast and dinner was excellent.

paul graham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th July 2021

A very relaxing hotel. The spa was excellent

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th July 2021

Great relaxing stay Very good food Relaxing spa Great few hours and the lakes distillary Will come again just not in the court yard room to hot and near a busy Rd so windows had to be shut. Thanks A*

Sheila Blyth said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd June 2021

From start to end this was one of the best hotels we have stayed in with the spa being outstanding. Our deal gave us 2 hours in there, which was just heaven, and I would definitely recommend using it. The staff were so friendly and couldnt do enough for us and the food was so tasty. We were very sad to leave