Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, Appleby in Westmorland

Roman Road, Appleby in Westmorland, CA166JB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Leslie James Teasdale said...

70 %
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 5th May 2024

Very nice hotel, nice room and staff very friendly and helpful.

andrew ballantyne said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th May 2024

Staff and spa and food outstanding

marlene monaghan said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th May 2024

Cannot praise this Hotel enough.We got an upgraded room/ Tea and scone on arrival/Decided to eat in Bistro and food was delicious.Breakfast was lovely also in a lovely setting.Our deal also included entry into Gin Factory.Staff were all helpful with a special mention to Dave who is a fellow Scotsman.Will definitely be returning

William Houston said...

80 %
50%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd May 2024

On the the whole we enjoyed our stay, staff were lovely and meals were very good. The downside was our accommodation: 1) The room was very warm and stuffy. The old sash window was very difficult to open and would not stay open, we had to prop it open using a book. 2) The bathroom was up a 4 or 5 steep stair from the bedroom. Anyone unsteady on their feet would have an issue with this, also it could be potentially dangerous for anyone trying to navigated with lights out if using the toilet through the night!

Angela Orr said...

90 %
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st April 2024

This was our fifth gin and spa break at Appleby Manor . As always we were greeted in friendly manner . We had booked a garden room which was spacious with a walk in shower en suite and lovely view of the village from the wondow . It had a small TV plus bottled water alongside tea and coffee making facilities available too. . We had our meal in restaurant on the first night and bistro the second . I ordered cod and my husband ordered the steak both very nice . In the bistro I had the vegan burger and my husband had the goulash which he thoroughly enjoyed . I have to be honest and say I did not enjoy the burger unfortunately We had two hours to use the spa facilities on the second day . The pool temperature was nice and warm likewise the out door jacuzzi . Rain had caused lots of dampness on the rendering of the outside walls which detracted from the surroundings but obviously at tne minute with the weather cannot be helped I thoroughly enjoy my breaks here and would like to say big thank you to all the hard working staff there .

Tracey Davis said...

87 %
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th March 2024

Wonderful hotel, friendly staff and delicious food

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2023

The most amazing stay from start to finish. Beautiful hotel in a stunning place. Room was immaculate, food was amazing, and staff were so friendly and accommodating. The luxurious spa was the cherry on top.

lynne Surtees said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th October 2023

We had amazing time and the food was first class we also used the spa which was very relaxing we will definitely be back soon

Roseann McGee said...

74 %
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 15th September 2023

Just back from a 2 night DBB Gin Spa break at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa. Never took many pictures but had a lovely stay on great MHB deal for £219 pp that includes the £10 pppn weekend supplement. Hotel is in lovely quiet rural location. We had the Garden Spa experience booked on Friday afternoon 4-6. However we were running a wee bit late due to traffic but was no problem when I called hotel. Quickly went to our room as robes n flip flops were already in room. We were allocated Room 23 in the Coach House accommodation outside the main hotel. Room was small but adequate for our stay although bit dated and tired compared to other parts of hotel. However this is why the deal was such good value. Garden Spa time was nice n chilled with staff bringing us glass of fizz out to the hot tub on request at £6 a glass. All facilities we used here were enjoyable and areas clean. Dinner on first night was in the Bistro with a good sized menu to choose from. You can choose 2 courses of a starter n main or main n dessert. We opted for the burger and goulash followed by sticky toffee pudding and banoffee pie Breakfast on both mornings was tasty with enough to choose from and made to order so was hot. Our dining on the Saturday night was in the Restaurant which included canapés in the Conservatory area just off the bar. Consisting of mixed olives a mini chicken terrine on crisp bread with prune gel and cheese twists. Just bite size appetizers while deciding on our mains in nice relaxed atmosphere. The hotel requests that mobile phones are not used in the Restaurant area but are not strict as there were some diners still using phones. Our amuse bouche was tasty tomato and coconut soup with balsamic drizzle. We both opted for the Sirloin Steak with Dauphinoise potatoes, served with mushroom and tomato. Any side of sauce is extra but all food hot and tasty. Again we both opted for same dessert of dark chocolate and rose tort with lavender ice cream. Lovely evening was finished off in the chilled lounge area with a nice gin. The stay includes a gin miniature in your room along with a voucher for a gin fizz tail each. Also tickets to the Lakes Distillery which you have to book separately but worth the visit. Good tour with our guide Mandy and very interesting, finished off with a taster each of the whisky, vodka & gin. Thoroughly recommend the distillery bistro, food is delicious in nice surroundings. So overall an enjoyable stay and location is close enough to walk into Appleby village,which had few lovely gift shops worth a visit . All hotel staff were polite and very helpful nothing was too much trouble. Thanks

A guest said...

67 %
20%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th July 2023

Lovely spa. Good food. Lovely scenery. Rooms are rather dated and worn.

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th July 2023

A hidden gem. Absolutely fantastic stay. Staff, accommodation & food first class

Beth Dey said...

64 %
100%
80%
10%

Stayed 24th July 2023

Was a lovely hotel but overpriced didn't know about the tax service charges etc that was added on extortionate, tails out a box and food not great.

Angela Orr said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd July 2023

We opted for the two day gin fizz spa break It was our 4th visit and we went there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary . We booked a garden room with a patio for the occasion. Family had ordered flowers champagne and chocolates for us which were all ready and waiting in the room It was a large spacious room with a powerful walk in shower in the en suite . Two single beds had been put together to make on large bed . There were two chairs , storage space and wardrobes . The TV was q bit on the small side for the size of the room we felt The restaurant and bistro food was very nice and the service provided by the staff was professional , efficient and friendly We also had a two hour spa slot which we opted for on the second day . The facilities were clean and attractive . The staff helpful and friendly. Check out was done via email for the bill initially and then at the desk prior to leaving . Again the staff were lovely. The only thing that spoilt our stay for us was the weather unfortunately . I have no problem recommending the hotel based on our experience.

A guest said...

94 %
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th July 2023

overall a good hotel. we have stayed on two occassions and book a garden room - big walk in shower, comfortable easy chairs in the room and a patio .

Natalie Peary said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th June 2023

Amazing stay for our minimoon! Everything was perfect, the staff were very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be staying again.

Keith Miller said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th June 2023

Could not fault anything about the break. Excellent rooms and meals, the spa was excellent. Staff particularly friendly and helpful, especially Dave, Beverly and lady on main reception.

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th April 2023

Absolute brilliant stay, staff so attentive, menu for restaurant had some great flavours, blue cheese ice cream dish with a vegetarian style tart as a starter was amazing. Ate from the Bistro menu which again was lovely. Will definitely be revisiting the hotel. Grounds lovely to stroll around or if like us you can go walking further into Appleby or surrounding countryside. Garden spa was great too Thank you too all the lovely staff and big thank you to the amazing chefs , wonderful stay

A guest said...

74 %
40%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th April 2023

What a fabulous gin and spa weekend. Hotel and facilities were great. Food excellent as was the spa - we will definitely be returning.

Wendy Andrews said...

70 %
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 28th December 2022

All in all our stay here was great, however we booked in to have afternoon tea when we arrived, the food was really nice but we couldn't finish it so asked if we could have the remainder boxed up,no problem, he then came back with deserts & sandwiches all wrapped together in foil & no trifles, when asked he said he threw them away because we were not allowed to take them in glasses,we were only going to our room & had he gave said this we would have eaten them..really bad people skills from this man!

Angela Orr said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th November 2022

This was our third visit for a Gin Spa 2 night stay . We were greeted promptly in a friendly, professional way . We had already registered on line which speeded up the process . We were told we had been given an upgrade to our room which was a lovely surprise ! The room was lovely ,roomy and airy . It also had a large walk on shower . The view over Appleby was fantastic Food for the evening meals and breakfast was delicious as before with prompt efficient fridndly service .it was lovely to see staff still there from previous visits and the fact they remembered us was a nice touch ..made us feel special . Nothing was a problem to the staff Time booked in the spa was most enjoyable with the pool being lovely and warm We are happy to recommend this hotel to our family and friends as we are sure they would enjoy their stay

A guest said...

87 %
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th November 2022

Very satisfactory stay. Food excellent service in restaurant also excellent. Spa excellent.

A guest said...

87 %
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th November 2022

Very satisfactory stay. Food excellent service in restaurant also excellent. Spa excellent.

Vicki Bradley said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th November 2022

We stayed for 2 nights, it was amazing!! The staff were so friendly, the food was great, so many areas to sit and be cosy at the fire, the spa facilities were great. Highly recommended to recharge the battery. Can't wait to come back xx

Mrs L Nicoll said...

55 %
30%
N/A
80%

Stayed 28th September 2022

All staff were very helpful

Catherine Thomson said...

80 %
80%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 23rd September 2022

The Hotel was lovely and met all our needs the room was very warm but was able to open windows the only thing that I could not understand is when we checked in we were told we had been upgraded But we were. Unable to see how we had been upgraded as it was the room we had booked a bit of a puzzle