Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, Appleby in Westmorland

Roman Road, Appleby in Westmorland, CA166JB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Karl Rogers said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

We stayed for 2 nights DBB, what a lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly, big smiles when we arrived, the food and service brilliant. Very quaint inside and nice gardens outside. Our room was spotless with everything you need. The pillows slightly flat and hard maybe they could do with an upgrade but that’s personal preference, other than that we had a fab stay would definitely recommend and we will stay again.

patricia crawford said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2019

Thi s was a very nice hotel.very friendly staff and the food and service were excellent.

L Armstrong said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th September 2019

From arriving to leaving; the service was 100%. The staff are so helpful and friendly. The food was delicious. We fine dined the first night and even though beautiful it is not something we would do often :). The bistro has such a great selection of foods and what we had tasted amazing. The Garden Spa was lovely, just what we needed; the outside jacuzzi was so relaxing. The gardens are beautiful. When the weather is nice it is lovely to sit outside and watch the sun go down. The room was spacious and we picked a downstairs room with garden patio. Although the patio is not private it was still a nice add-on. My only issue was with the pillows / bed: I like a firmish bed with a soft top and soft'ish pillows. The pillows were hard and the bed felt hard. I fully understand the beds need to be a certain material so they are easily cleaned but would have been nice to have a softer topper and the option to have softer pillows. But saying that we are definitely going again... we will just take our own pillows :):) Thanks to all the staff for making our stay special.

GINA GIUBARELLI said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th April 2019

Fantastic stay, a warm welcome from all staff members combined with great service and food. Garden Spa is amazing, spent a few hours there each day - perfect for relaxing and felt completely rejuvenated. Special requirements dealt with minimum fuss as, somehow, these were not passed on by Myhotelbreak.

John Shaw-Pollard said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th September 2018

Nice hotel friendly staff. Good breakfast, choice of restaurant meals or bistro, food good if having meat dish lamb or venison ask for well done otherwise comes out a bit to rare. When booking ask for rooms in the hotel otherwise you are in the coachhouse rooms, they are of a good standard and clean and you can park your car outside, the A66 main trunk road is close by so have to keep your windows closed if a light sleeper, but a window can be tilted open in the entrance door for fresh air. Lovely views from hotel in a nice conservatory room drinks are of average price but no draught beer.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th September 2018

Disappointed to learn room was in annexe which was outside the hotel and we had to climb19 steps! Thankful weather was dry!

Duncan Ayton said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd October 2017

Friendly staff who worked hard to please. It appeared as if there was only one member of staff who was charged with the responsibility of taking the cooked breakfast order and this tended to slow the service at breakfast sitting. Room was comfortable and clean.

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2017

Bar poor ,prices and no draught ales. Or lager

Joan Dawson said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2017

We enjoyed our stay the only downside was having to pay extra to use the Spa facil. I understand maybe for treatment but to just relax.

Joan Dawson said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2017

We enjoyed our stay the only downside was having to pay extra to use the Spa facil. I understand maybe for treatment but to just relax.

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2017

only disappointment was the duck I had for dinner. I had been told it would be served pink and that was ok but it was very tough. I mentioned this to the waiter who spoke to chef who said he would tell his supplier! That was the only thing which marred a very enjoyable stay. Beautiful surroundings and excellent cheery staff!

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th June 2017

Very nice break at a great hotel.Food excellent & staff very friendly.Only negative was the very steep stairs to the bedroom we were allocated.Should have requested a low room.

LORAINE DODDS said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd June 2017

A fine Hotel with friendly staff I would highly recommend Appleby Manor to any one.

David Bennett said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 27th May 2017

The coach house rooms could do with an upgrade. More draft ales and larger not 90% bottled beer. Spa area very good and service first class including treatments. Grounds and views lovely and well kept gardens. Would return in the future

Steven Rafferty said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th May 2017

Great location, lovely hotel. Friendly staff and food was amazing.

Iain Lindsay said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 15th April 2017

I thought this was a nice hotel, but not to te standard we thought that we would be getting. The staff were very helpful and the views great.

A guest said...

67%
60%
50%
90%

Stayed 1st November 2016

The hotel is advertised as a 4 star establishment. Such is not the case. The standard of food is excellent but it is a pity that the overall atmosphere and ambiance does not match. It is as though the establishment is there to squeeze as much money from the guests as possible. This was epitomised by our final morning. At 8.30 a.m. there was a power cut. Not the hotels fault but it meant that the only hot breeakfast they could offer was a luke warm, partially cooked bacon sandwich .One would have expected most establishments to have adjusted their bill accordingly but this was not even offered at checkout.Vastly overpriced for what was in essence a 2 or 3 star hotel.

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th July 2016

Nice "country hotel" and only a 10 - 15 minute walk from Appleby where there are a few local shops (a real butcher (or two) and bakers) and pubs if you fancy a lunch out. Staff are great - friendly and helpful. Prices in the bar/restaurant are ok. We ate in the restaurant and Bistro and all the food was very good - a bit less expensive in the Bistro. Spa area looked great (we didn't go in) but thought the £35 (or was it £25) entry fee was a bit steep - treatments on top. Outside space is really nice if you get the weather. We were in the coach house and the rooms could do with a bit of TLC but how long are you in your room - you're on holiday:-)

S Lamont said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th July 2016

we spent a very pleasant 3 nights in a delux room. The staff were very friendly and efficient and couldn't do enough for us.The food is brilliant both in the restaurant and Bistro. A pity there was a bit of a hiccup with the bill. However when the mistake was pointed out all was sorted out immediately

M Watson said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th June 2016

Enjoyed our stay I very much. Reception staff excellent - so helpful and nothing too much trouble. Staff in bar and restaurant also were excellent and food was absolutely wonderful. Only slightly negative comment I would have is that I would not choose to stay in Coach House room again. While well furnished and very clean the room was very dark and requires lights on at all times to add some brightness to accommodation. Overall excellent.

Michael Gee said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th May 2016

Took my parents away for the weekend and they loved their stay as we did too. The staff were all very attentive and helpful. The food was fabulous. The decor and all the hotel facil were great. Did not use the spa facil but will next time when we return. A fantastic weekend enjoyed by all ?

valerie sloan said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th April 2016

Staff very friendly. Food of good standard bistro menu but could have had more choice. Hotel in lovely setting. Would visit again.

Raymond Palmer said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th April 2016

We were very happy with our stay here.Staff were very friendly and service was great. Our room was large and overlooked Appleby. Bed was one of the best we've ever slept in away from home. Food was of a very high standard. Only fault was most of the whisky bottles on the shelf were empty. We would definitely stay there again

Robert Coltart said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd March 2016

Very well run Hotel with friendly staff and excellent food. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

jean adele smith said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th October 2015

The hotel was lovely in a beautiful setting and the staff friendly and helpful,the food was wonderful. We had a great break.