Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, Appleby in Westmorland

Roman Road, Appleby in Westmorland, CA166JB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

Elizabeth Airnes said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th May 2022

This was our first visit to the Hotel and we thoroughly loved it. It has fabulous views over the Eden Valley. Although an old building all the rooms are spacious and well looked after. The food was excellent quality with very good friendly staff. The Spa experience was lovely and relaxing.

Sandra Troy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th May 2022

Lovely hotel in great location with lovely views. Rooms excellent and very clean. Friendly staff who gave excellent service. Thoroughly enjoyed the thermal spa experience. Would highly recommend for a relaxing break.

Narinjan Singh said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 8th May 2022

Great stay, room was clean tidy, bed was big and comfortable. Staff were great very helpful curtious and friendly. Just wasn’t impressed with the food in the Bistro the Parmozan was awful, also no draugtht beer & larger.

Lynn Brown said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th April 2022

We had a great stay room was great we had a room just along from main rooms in hotel which we liked food was great as well staff were very helpful we didn't end up doing the distillery tour because we didn't realize it was a 45 min drive from hotel and wouldn't have made it back for our spa date wasn't that bothered anyway we thought that the price of drinks was a bit steep but we would return we went as it was our ruby anniversary and had a very chilled time

Mrs M Durnin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th April 2022

After reading some previous reviews we were a little apprehensive, but I honestly can say we had a great time. All Staff were very friendly and helpful, from reception to David in the bar and restaurant, susan and all restaurant staff. We liked how the hotel was still respectful of peoples 'space' and tables are wiped down after use very quickly. The deal with distillery visit and spa is well worth it, would recommend it. Food was very good and plenty of choices, both in restaurant and bistro.. Overall 10/10 for staff, food and room.

helen smith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th April 2022

I would highly recommend this hotel. We stayed on a gin spa offer and it was fantastic. Staff were so friendly and food was delicious. Spa was very high quality and we loved sitting in jacuzzi looking at the sky. The trip to the distillery was great. Bought lots of gin too.

Anne Atkins said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th April 2022

All staff very polite & helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our 2nd stay at Appleby Manor. Would recommend it. ??

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th April 2022

Had a brilliant time again. Staff amazing, aqua thermal journey wonderful. Only issue we had was they closed early on the Sunday night even though the hotel was busy. When we came beginning of Dec it was still all open at 23.30. The steak we had in the bistro wasn't very nice. My partner had steak in the restaurant on the Sat night and said it was beautiful?? Need to light entertainment or change the music to a bit upbeat which I think people would like. But we will be back again.

A guest said...

44%
40%
40%
50%

Stayed 15th April 2022

The hotel was ok, but very expensive for what it was, service in restaurant was poor, breakfast on day 2 was undercooked but luckily there was a good choice of tinned fruit to have with natural yogurt and granola. The spa is Tiny but staff were attentive and it was clean. The rooms and decor are tired but bed was very comfortable. Shower unfortunately had a constant drip and kept us awake. The pool table was a plus!! Overall I wouldn’t recommend or stay here again.

Janette Chalmers said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th April 2022

Fantastic 2 day break at Appleby Manor we’re already planning our next stay. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Amazing food. Spa which was part of the deal was lovely.

audrey cameron said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th April 2022

Most enjoyable stay . Spa was tremendous. Staff were superb , always helpful and made you feel very welcome . A bit of old fashioned hospitality but can I say on behalf of my sister and myself we would like to thank you for lovely stay . We hope to return ????

Ruth James Moore said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th April 2022

Fantastic hotel and service,food, spa were excellent, hotel is old so furniture is old to go with this quirky hotel, the lakes distillery was great and for everything we got for the price was outstanding 5*

Edward Dorward said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th March 2022

This wee break was awesome. Would highly recommend and the staff were all lovely.

Helen Jackson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th March 2022

Fantastic short break, lovely hotel with beautiful views of the castle and hills beyond. Food excellent, staff very friendly, lovely room with comfy beds and large walk in shower in bathroom.

Lee Bowers said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 4th March 2022

The room we stopped in could do with a revamp, it was clean and ok but just a bitty tatty in places, new carpet and a lick of paint, for the money you pay I was expecting a bit better on the food side, food was ok but nothing special, we enjoyed the spa and the staff and service all round was good

JEAN NEILL said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st February 2022

Had a lovely time at this hotel. Staff terrific, food excellent, spa lovely. Would return quite happily.

Michelle Mccormick said...

57%
20%
70%
80%

Stayed 14th January 2022

Room wasn’t the best got upgraded jets in the bath didn’t work, behind tv was so dirty, shower fell apart in my hand. Went down to complain and the manager just said we will have to move us. Cut long story short got move and the jets in that bath didn’t work to. Heard a lot people complaining about rooms. On plus side food was lovely

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th December 2021

The Appleby Manor Hotel was amazing. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were amazing and friendly too. Nothing was too much for them. The food was outstanding and the aqua thermal journey was to die for. Cannot wait to hi back.

Tracy Street said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th November 2021

Lovely 2 night stay in the snow

Wendy Barnes said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th November 2021

Very nice hotel, staff very friendly and helpful! Had a lovely relaxing time in the spa and very much enjoyed my treatment ? Had evening meal in the bistro one night and the restaurant the 2nd night both very nice, also breakfast was very good!! Would reccomend

Robert Dixon said...

57%
50%
50%
70%

Stayed 25th November 2021

On arrival at the hotel we were allocated room 14 with the room being fine, however access to it was via one or two, depending on the route chosen, very steep, narrow staircases with tight bends in both. Very difficult to negotiate with a case. Unfortunately the view was none existent too as we looked out onto the roof. Food was very good, however service on the first night was very poor and we had ask for our plates from the main course to be removed after waiting for over 40 minutes. We did mention this to a senior member of staff and we were given a free bottle of wine with our meal on the second night. Overall staff were friendly, food was of a high standard but if returning I’d certainly ask for a room on a lower floor.

Norma Peebles said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2021

Had an amazing stay at Appleby Manor. Room was lovely and warm and plenty of . Food was great. Hydrotherapy was so relaxing as were the treatments that both myself and my husband had. Staff were pleasant and they went that extra mile when my husband asked then to organise flowers for our wedding anniversary. Would definitely recommend this deal.

Kirsty Earl said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th November 2021

Lovely family owned hotel with great tasting food and really friendly and helpful staff. Came away feeling relaxed and would definitely stay again.

Jane Bevis said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd November 2021

Appleby Manor Hotel was so beautiful. Our room was lovely. The food was tasty and the staff were so attentive. We absolutely loved our stay.

Philip Bradley said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2021

What a wonderful hotel. Rooms were big and spotlessly clean. Food at the hotel was first class would recommend this deal .