Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Inn at Lathones, St Andrews

Largoward,, St Andrews, KY9 1JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

92%

Martin Mccandless said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 24th July 2021

After paying £160 per night for our room and breakfast at this hotel we were expecting something special. Unfortunately we were disappointed. The hotel completely lacked kerb appeal, to the extent we almost drove past as we thought we must be mistaken. The pictures show the hotel as white and with beautifully maintained gardens. This is not the case. It was half painted in a disgusting yellow colour and not a flower in sight. There were flower pots but they just had weeds in them and the grass was sorely needing cut. One of the sash windows was literally falling apart. We were told when we checked in that we had been upgraded to a superior room but that was what we had booked anyway. The room was okay but nothing special. The staff were definitely an asset to the hotel as they were lovely and friendly. The food was delicious and plentiful. There were many good things that just need tweaked but I kind of felt robbed.

Valerie Manson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th July 2021

This hotel is about a 5-10 minute drive outside StAndrews with nothing round about it but the hotel is lovely and the staff very attentive and helpful the food was also very enjoyable really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back next time am up that way

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th July 2021

Had a great stay at this gem of a hotel with lots of character. Mike the owner was very friendly and welcoming and took us to our room. Rooms are round a courtyard and most have outdoor seating areas which was great as weather was lovely. Room was comfortable and had everything we needed. Our room overlooked a main road but did not hear any noise at night. Dinner was amazing- cooked to order/piping hot with lots of fresh vegetables. Best meal we have had in a while. Also a great choice of cooked food for breakfast. Great location for exploring the East Neuk of Fife-5 miles from St Andrews and 6 miles from Crail. Will be definitely be back!

Alan Kelly said...

80%
60%
80%
100%

Stayed 8th July 2021

The room was okay ,clean , bathroom a bit clinical The room we stayed in was on the front so traffic noise was bad,slept okay .beds very comfortable The owners of hotel Mike and Yvonne were very friendly to us Overall enjoyed our stay and would go back but To a quieter room.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2020

A most enjoyable weekend stay at the characterful Inn at Lathones, well-situated for exploring St. Andrews and the East Neuk. This was a second visit, albeit this time around with stringent restrictions in place due to Covid. Nevertheless, Keith the manager and his staff had clearly taken every detail into consideration in order to ensure imum guest comfort and welcome in balance with high standards of hygiene - all at a time of great complexity and no little challenge to our hospitality industry. This attention to detail, taken together with a spacious, modern, comfortable en-suite room with a view; excellent choice and quality of menu; plus friendly and efficient service, clearly demonstrates how it is possible for hotels to rise to the (extremely testing!) occasion magnificently, exhibiting professional grace-under-pressure. Our many fantastic Scottish hotels and their hard-working staff deserve everyone's support: we will happily return to Inn at Lathones when it once again becomes possible. We wish all the very best to Keith and his team meanwhile!

Alison McElroy said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th September 2020

Lovely food and friendly service

Doris Heron said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th July 2020

Very nice and very clean.

Alexander Bruce said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th February 2020

We were well looked after by the staff at hotel and pleased with the free upgrade given by Lee, Food was excellent with a good choice.

Monica Smeaton said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th January 2020

Lovely wee coach house just off the main road. Welcoming friendly staff, clean tidy rooms, log fire, eclectic menu. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Despite being at the side of the raid and hearing the traffic during the day, it was very quiet and peaceful at night so don’t let that put you off.

Therese Smaill said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd December 2019

Fantastic place ....from the friendly greeting on arrival to the cheery goodbye when leaving. As the Inn was quiet we were upgraded to a suite which was extremely comfortable , large and fitted out to a very high speck. The dinner menu was such it was difficult to make choices as all sounded so 'yummy' and was indeed so! Atmosphere very cosy and made more so with fire and woodburning stove. A good selection of wine and not over priced. Breakfast next morning was also a treat with loads of choice.

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th December 2019

An enjoyable weekend stay at Inn at Lathones. Our room was spacious and comfortable with everything necessary; dinner on both evenings, by the fireside in the Inn's cosy restaurant, was tasty and satisfying with decent menu choice; the full cooked breakfast was particularly good - generous and featuring quality local produce. Above all, the service was excellent - genuinely helpful and welcoming. Thank you to Lee, Dean and Lesley for making our stay a pleasant one. We will happily return in future!

Evelyn Bennett said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th November 2019

We went for one night dinner bed and breakfast. We were upgraded to a fantastic room. Everything was perfect. Our meal was delicious as was our breakfast. Couldn't fault either. All the staff were left lovely too. Very attentive and friendly. We will be returning soon. ?

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th November 2019

Excellent overnight stay at the inn at lathones. Upgrade room was clean and spacious, dinner was very tasty and breakfast did not disappoint.

Anne Morton said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st June 2019

Staff excellent. Food delicious. Room clean

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th June 2019

I asked for assistance with my wife having Parkinson's and has difficulty walking, bathing etc. when I booked. I got my answer with a Disabled Accessible Room, walk in shower etc. 15 yards from the entrance to the Restaurant. The food was outstanding and served by very hard working, knowledgeable, and competent staff. It does not have a great kerbside look, (a coat of white paint would go far) and its a 3 star hotel getting refresher treatment as I type, but, the lounge and the restaurant were well done. Oh! and I will be back and that's a certainty.

Christine Couper said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th June 2019

The two members of staff on duty the two nights we stayed were outstanding. We can't praise them highly enough and we were sorry they were not on duty the morning we left so we could thank them.

A guest said...

70%
70%
60%
80%

Stayed 19th May 2019

Hotel in an ideal location for touring the area, however the whole hotel is in need of some TLC. Outside areas need tidying and all of the exterior paintwork is in dire need of work. On entering the car park, a large pot hole has to be avoided, a quick fix, of this, would give a better impression when entering the hotel. There seemed to be a lack of staff, as one person covered all areas, when checking in at the, I must say very uninspiring reception area, the staff member was alone to deal with check in, and other areas, and we were pointed in the general direction of our room, not his fault as again there was no one else around. Our room was very nice on the ground floor large, and the beds comfortable, good wardrobe and drawer space with kettle coffee machine and complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits. But it was again, a bit scruffy, needing a paint, although spotlessly clean, except for the outside window frame, which as we couldn't close the window completely, as it was stuck, you couldn't help but notice the state of the frames. Again maintenance needed urgently! There was a lovely large bathroom, with a Jacuzzi Bath and separate shower which was great, but the shower area silicon seal was black mouldy in the corner, which let down the room, again a quick fix to improve the overall appearance of the room. We did not have dinner but did go into bar area, again one member of staff dealing with, reception, bar, and dinner service, which led to a sometimes long wait for a drink. Bar not very well stocked with limited beer on offer. Those dining that evening were heard asking for steak, any kind, but there was no steak available, this was a Sunday evening, just seemed a bit strange not to have a "staple" available! The member of staff couldn't have been nicer, he was very friendly and was doing his best, Whoever, owns the hotel, should be very grateful to their multi tasking staff, all three of them! We had an enjoyable breakfast, which consisted of usual, cereals, some fruit, yogurt and fruit juice. Cooked breakfast was buffet style, except for eggs which were cooked to order, great idea. Chef was the the multi tasker from the evening before, but he did a lovely job of the eggs, best scrambled I have had for a long time and the fried egg, perfection! five stars to him. As the hotel is in such a great area, there is great potential to make this a place you would want to return to, but there is a lot of money and work needed to bring this place up to the standard expected of a three star inn.

Annie Cooper ravenscroft said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th April 2019

Had a lovely 2 nite stay food amazing and service from Duncan and Jillian was fantastic went out their way to help and make myself and hubbie feel so welcome they are an asset to their employers xx

James McPherson said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th April 2019

First impression from the outside was dubious however public areas inside i.e. lounge bar & restaurant were cosy & comfortable with a nice ambience. Our bedroom was very nice. Food was very good.The staff were very efficient & friendly. Our deal was great value for money. Good location for touring this area of Scotland.

Lynda Murray said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th April 2019

Food was great, staff very friendly and helpful. Quiet location, very peaceful, a car is needed. Rooms need a good bit of TLC. Dining room and bar were cool, even with the fire and heating on.

Angela McGoran said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd March 2019

Fabulous stay at this establishment. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Would highly recommend. We will definitely be returning.

David O'Rourke said...

57%
40%
70%
60%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

When we drove up to this place we thought it was closed down a number of years very tired not what we were expecting very basic cups in room all tea stained same in restaurant also sat in really cold for our evening meals staff wete friendly think they tried their best to make everyone feel welcome food was ok. Think more investment needed to bring this place up to an better standard.

Mrs Phillips said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th March 2019

Greatly enjoyed our stay at "The Inn at Lathones". Room lovely, staff lovely, food lovely. We'll definitely return for meals and stays ?

G Galloway said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th March 2019

Nice wee country inn. Would recommend for a short break.

roderick morrison said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th March 2019

wonderful stay - cosy warm atmosphere - fabulous food and great friendly service. we will book again.