Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Inn at Lathones, St Andrews

Largoward,, St Andrews, KY9 1JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

78%

Anne Morton said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st June 2019

Staff excellent. Food delicious. Room clean

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th June 2019

I asked for assistance with my wife having Parkinson's and has difficulty walking, bathing etc. when I booked. I got my answer with a Disabled Accessible Room, walk in shower etc. 15 yards from the entrance to the Restaurant. The food was outstanding and served by very hard working, knowledgeable, and competent staff. It does not have a great kerbside look, (a coat of white paint would go far) and its a 3 star hotel getting refresher treatment as I type, but, the lounge and the restaurant were well done. Oh! and I will be back and that's a certainty.

Christine Couper said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th June 2019

The two members of staff on duty the two nights we stayed were outstanding. We can't praise them highly enough and we were sorry they were not on duty the morning we left so we could thank them.

A guest said...

70%
70%
60%
80%

Stayed 19th May 2019

Hotel in an ideal location for touring the area, however the whole hotel is in need of some TLC. Outside areas need tidying and all of the exterior paintwork is in dire need of work. On entering the car park, a large pot hole has to be avoided, a quick fix, of this, would give a better impression when entering the hotel. There seemed to be a lack of staff, as one person covered all areas, when checking in at the, I must say very uninspiring reception area, the staff member was alone to deal with check in, and other areas, and we were pointed in the general direction of our room, not his fault as again there was no one else around. Our room was very nice on the ground floor large, and the beds comfortable, good wardrobe and drawer space with kettle coffee machine and complimentary tea/coffee and biscuits. But it was again, a bit scruffy, needing a paint, although spotlessly clean, except for the outside window frame, which as we couldn't close the window completely, as it was stuck, you couldn't help but notice the state of the frames. Again maintenance needed urgently! There was a lovely large bathroom, with a Jacuzzi Bath and separate shower which was great, but the shower area silicon seal was black mouldy in the corner, which let down the room, again a quick fix to improve the overall appearance of the room. We did not have dinner but did go into bar area, again one member of staff dealing with, reception, bar, and dinner service, which led to a sometimes long wait for a drink. Bar not very well stocked with limited beer on offer. Those dining that evening were heard asking for steak, any kind, but there was no steak available, this was a Sunday evening, just seemed a bit strange not to have a "staple" available! The member of staff couldn't have been nicer, he was very friendly and was doing his best, Whoever, owns the hotel, should be very grateful to their multi tasking staff, all three of them! We had an enjoyable breakfast, which consisted of usual, cereals, some fruit, yogurt and fruit juice. Cooked breakfast was buffet style, except for eggs which were cooked to order, great idea. Chef was the the multi tasker from the evening before, but he did a lovely job of the eggs, best scrambled I have had for a long time and the fried egg, perfection! five stars to him. As the hotel is in such a great area, there is great potential to make this a place you would want to return to, but there is a lot of money and work needed to bring this place up to the standard expected of a three star inn.

Annie Cooper ravenscroft said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th April 2019

Had a lovely 2 nite stay food amazing and service from Duncan and Jillian was fantastic went out their way to help and make myself and hubbie feel so welcome they are an asset to their employers xx

James McPherson said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th April 2019

First impression from the outside was dubious however public areas inside i.e. lounge bar & restaurant were cosy & comfortable with a nice ambience. Our bedroom was very nice. Food was very good.The staff were very efficient & friendly. Our deal was great value for money. Good location for touring this area of Scotland.

Lynda Murray said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th April 2019

Food was great, staff very friendly and helpful. Quiet location, very peaceful, a car is needed. Rooms need a good bit of TLC. Dining room and bar were cool, even with the fire and heating on.

Angela McGoran said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd March 2019

Fabulous stay at this establishment. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Would highly recommend. We will definitely be returning.

David O'Rourke said...

57%
40%
70%
60%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

When we drove up to this place we thought it was closed down a number of years very tired not what we were expecting very basic cups in room all tea stained same in restaurant also sat in really cold for our evening meals staff wete friendly think they tried their best to make everyone feel welcome food was ok. Think more investment needed to bring this place up to an better standard.

Mrs Phillips said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th March 2019

Greatly enjoyed our stay at "The Inn at Lathones". Room lovely, staff lovely, food lovely. We'll definitely return for meals and stays ?

G Galloway said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th March 2019

Nice wee country inn. Would recommend for a short break.

roderick morrison said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th March 2019

wonderful stay - cosy warm atmosphere - fabulous food and great friendly service. we will book again.

Joan Buchanan said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 1st March 2019

On arrival, we were quite disappointed by the exterior view of the Inn, which didn’t quite match the images portrayed on various sites. It would benefit from a good coat of paint. However, the interior was comfortable and the staff very friendly. The Hayloft room was comfortable and cosy with the wood burning stove lit. The restaurant worked well in providing well presented food prepared by their new chef. Food prices were a bit on the high side. We had a very relaxing visit to the Inn whose staff were very friendly and hardworking. The grill at breakfast needs to be re-thought as the well cooked breakfast items were not kept warm enough, resulting in the items being cold - apart from the eggs which were freshly prepared on request. I consider this hotel to be more of a 3 star rating than a 4 star.

A guest said...

57%
30%
70%
70%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

The hotel was quite remote and not the standard I was expecting. Could do with refurb. Staff were very accommodating and friendly but lacked luxury home comforts. Very basic room. Would not recommend. Unfortunately stuck there so made the best of it.

A guest said...

64%
70%
60%
60%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

Had a lovely relaxed long weekend at the hotel. Gave upgraded room on arrival which was a pleasant surprise. Large spacious room and bathroom. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Evening meal and breakfast were excellent. Overall very glad picked this hotel and excellent value for money compared to hotels in St Andrews. Only slight negative was the outside of hotel could do with a fresh coat of paint but wouldn't stop me going again.

Mark Nesbitt said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

Great value , would recommended this hotel.

A guest said...

17%
10%
40%
0%

Stayed 18th February 2019

Would not recommend this hotel and am surprised that my hotel break has this hotel on its radar. Any hotel we have used historically with my hotel break has been great. Don't know how they managed to get any star rating. Faults in the room, food not cooked correctly or should I say microwaved properly. Bar prices ridiculously high. Anywhere else would have been better than this. The only reason we stayed was that we had travelled a distance.

A guest said...

30%
30%
40%
20%

Stayed 17th February 2019

Poor menu evening meal the better of the both we had room was very cold and basic we was booked in for 2 nights but left after 1

Gerry Gemmell said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th February 2019

Very tired wee hotel. I'm informed that it's about to be refurbished soon. Rooms were big, clean and basic. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Food was excellent, the breakfast excelled! Had a really good night, well worth the £29!

Angela Clarkson said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th February 2019

Lovely wee place and staff are lovely

denise lowther said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th February 2019

Very spacious room at back of hotel looking onto fields. Breakfast was good and there was plenty to choose from on menu. Dinner was also good but quite expensive if not included in deal. Drinks also expensive. Hotel is quite remote but there is a bus service to St. Andrews. Staff are fab.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th February 2019

Great two night break

Alan Kemp said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th February 2019

The staff were very attentive and extremely pleasant. The room was clean, spacious and pleasantly decorated with an excellent view. The dinner menu was well balanced and the food was very enjoyable. Worth going to this hotel.

William mcLean said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st February 2019

Don't be put off by the front of this hotel. The rooms have all that you need, decor wise they are a bit tired looking. Comfy beds, lovely staff & great food. It is a bit outside of St Andrews so you would need to take a taxi if you don't drive. The hotel is in a peaceful location with lovely views across the fields.

Paul MacMichael said...

60%
90%
30%
60%

Stayed 31st January 2019

Co-incidentally this request for a review arrived in my mailbox while I was typing a detailed amount of feedback which I am sending to Inspired Hotels direct. I am sure that they will share the contents with you if you request same.