Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

York Pavilion Hotel, York

45 Main Street, York, YO10 4PJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Thomas Martin said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th September 2019

Excellent in Every way

alan olsen said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd September 2019

pleasant stay room was fine, food was good (excellent breakfast menu) staff friendly and helpful .

Peter Williams said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st September 2019

Very enjoyable stay. Very old building so rooms restricted to be outstanding but very comfortable. All staff very friendly and helpful and both breakfast and dinner very good quality. Definitely stay here again if visiting York.

Tracey Simpson said...

40%
90%
20%
10%

Stayed 25th August 2019

This is the email i have sent twice to Dean Bell at the hotel and i also left my issues on the comments form at the hotel yet ody has contacted me! morning Dean With reference to our stay on Sunday 25th august to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.  We had a lovely check in experience when we arrived but as we already knew our room wouldnt be available as check in is from 3pm we paid our bill and said we woukd collect our keys later after we had been in to York to celebrate with friends. On our return we collected our luggage from the car and got our keys, the scarborough room was lovely. A quick wash and change and we headed for our prepaid evening meal booked for 7.30pm and to finish off drinks in the lovely out door seating areas(one of the reasons we chose to book this hotel over others in York). This is where the problems started...the whole meal situation was awful.... time scales of serving, our starter plates were taken just before 8pm then it was 50 minutes before we got our main meal (3 other tables were served before us even tho we were finished starter before them & plates cleared before them. A n Jug of iced water was placed on the table by one of the watresses...oblivious to the fact we had no glasses to drink it from, so we never got to drink it.The main meal.... was just to say warm, yorkshire pudding was so dry and crunchy (obviously been under the heated lamps too long) the beef was very chewy and cold.  By the time we ordered dessert the waiter Pierre did apologise for the long serving time(even tho we hadnt mentioned it as im not one to complain) he did offer us a complimentary drink.  The icing on the cake was upon eventually leaving the dining room at 9.30..2 hours later we couldnt enjoy drinks in the outdoor seating areas as it was dark outside. Dont get me wrong i am not complaining about the staff as they were working hard but there obviously wasnt enough staff on to serve the amount of guests dining.  This has ruined our stay, we love the hotel & would have definatley been returning every time we visit York but after the dining experience we are having second thoughts. I look forward to your reply and hopefully there is a satisfactory conclusion. Many thanks  Mrs Tracey Simpson

Steven Douglas Benson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th August 2019

The room was clean but hot we could have done with a fan but it was ok. the food was good &the sevice was friendly & efficient

Jayne Porter said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th August 2019

lovely hotel, everyone friendly. food was great. we really enjoyed our overnight stya here.

Karen Grover said...

60%
80%
50%
50%

Stayed 1st August 2019

We were looking forward to staying here, and due to my husbands dietary requirements I emailed ahead to make sure he could be catered for. I was assured that it would not be a problem and Chief was aware too. On check in i confirmed this with reception, and again assured. On coming down to dinner there was not a main course my husband could eat and we were told changes could not be made! The waiting staff tried hard but were thwarted by the kitchen. We were told he could not have any olives and bread for a starter, we found two starters for his main. That was it. No extra bread was offered. So one unhappy and gry husband. Not good. This was all mentioned on check out , and I was told someone would be in touch, Nothing. I emailed then a week later, Still nothing. Hence this review. They do not care, as long as you have paid and that it is. We also were not offered the Scone and tea on arrival. Room was ok, a bit small and dated. The waiting staff tried but no one else. My food was nice. So hence the 5 /10. As long as you have no food intolerances fine. If you have beware.!

Jane Larnder-Cox said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th August 2019

Beautiful old building that has been tastefully extended. Lovely courtyard with lush greenery. We stayed in the Head Gardener's Office, it was a lovely spacious room. Our wee dog loved it too. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent. (The omelette was huge.) All of the staff were very friendly and gave the impression that they were happy to be working there. Even though the place was busy with weddings it was not noisy and we were able to have a quiet drink in the brasserie bar. The hotel is only a few minutes by service bus to the centre of York and the bus stop is right outside the entrance. For a random last minute choice it proved to be a good choice and we would be very happy to stay again.

john snelling said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th August 2019

From the time of arrival to leaving you are made welcome by all of the management and the staff. The food selection for all meals is excellent,well presented and service is second to none.Thank you.The Hotel is an old building,quaint and interesting,very clean and inviting. It is situated ideally for York and attractions.

Bernard McLaughlin said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 4th August 2019

A really nice hotel just a short distance from York(2mls). Staff polite,efficient and helpful. Restaurant food excellent and comprehensive menu. Room very good, hotel environment and appearance really nice. Would have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending ir revisiting.

Marian Barker said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 4th August 2019

What a quirky hotel. Loved the breakfast buffet layout.

jacqueline dean said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd August 2019

the public rooms and bar area are lovely. Staff very helpful Food lovely. The only downside is the bedrooms which are dull and dark - need updating Service is good and you can walk into town along the river - great value for money and would stay here again

Christina Short said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd August 2019

What a fantastic deal this was! Great hotel, very quaint with lovely rooms, ours was particularly nice with double doors leading out into a courtyard. The dinner and breakfast was fantastic value for money, really could t complain about anything at all! We will be back!

angela makepeace said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st July 2019

Lovely place to stay, fantastic value for money, within walking distance of York, superb evening meal and breakfast the next day. Staff very pleasant and efficient. Definitely recommend it.

angela makepeace said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st July 2019

Lovely place to stay, fantastic value for money, within walking distance of York, superb evening meal and breakfast the next day. Staff very pleasant and efficient. Definitely recommend it.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th June 2019

Good hotel situated on the outskirts of York, easily accessed by bus from nearby bus stop £2.70 return (easier than parking in centre of York). Friendly staff and good service from check in to breakfast. Stayed in room 4 which was very large with comfy king-size bed

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th May 2019

What a beautiful hotel and grounds, breakfast was amazing. Staff lovely and super helpful. Either get a taxi into York or a bus stop is across the street and the staff can tell you which one to get. Would highly recommend

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th June 2019

Enjoyed our stay in this lovely, charming Hotel. Great location just outside York. Hospitality is great here...all staff are really helpful & friendly. Food was really good. We had afternoon tea in the sunny courtyard which was lovely. Plenty of choice at breakfast with a continental buffet & hot breakfast cooked to order. Great service. Our room was full of character, with a comfy 4 poster bed & huge bathroom. Bathroom was a little dated, but it was clean with a good shower & nice fluffy towels. A free standing bath would look great in it! We enjoyed a walk into York by the river which took about 39 mins. Lots of people were enjoying the sunshine so it was busy & a good atmosphere. We enjoyed a lovely relaxed evening in York, lots of bars to choose from & a great atmosphere

A guest said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 18th June 2019

Excellent breakfast. Quiet hotel. Good service. Friendly helpful staff.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th June 2019

Cosy themed bedroom. Good size and good facilities. Very helpful friendly staff. Excellent breakfast and dinners. Always for showers at busy times

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd June 2019

Beautiful place, full of character