Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

York Pavilion Hotel, York

45 Main Street, York, YO10 4PJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

kenneth smith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th March 2020

Fantastic hotel , 3 course evening meal very good breakfast also very good, Enjoyed our stay ?? Bath alittle slippy could do with slip mat Every saying that 10/10

Susan Long said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th January 2020

We booked a break for something to look forward to after Christmas and we were not disappointed. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was lovely and the food was delicious. There was ample free parking and we were allowed to leave our car after check out to get the local bus into the centre of York. We had a lovely leisurely walk back from York instead of waiting for the bus to return to the hotel as it was not as far away as we had expected. We highly recommend this hotel

John Birkett said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th February 2020

Brilliant hotel, attentive and lovely staff, great valentine's meal ..would highly recommend this hotel , cant wait to go back !

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th February 2020

Great venue. Staff very friendly and helpful. The food was beautiful. We couldn't fault it. Only shame is that we can't book to go again to this hotel as Best Western York are no longer on this website ?

Marilyn Cunningham said...

47%
40%
50%
50%

Stayed 11th February 2020

We had a delightful stay in this hotel which was ideally placed for visiting York. There was plentiful parking, excellent food, and the staff were welcoming and very professional. We would not hesitate to stay here again when we are next in the area.

terry oneill said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th January 2020

Great stay, great food and very helpful staff will definitely return

John Thexton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th January 2020

Lovely hotel with friendly and efficient staff. It's the detail that counts!

Reg Smith said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th January 2020

Excellent, friendly staff, good value, nice meals well served in pleasant restaurant. Particularly enjoyed residents lounge with roaring log fire for post-prandial relax and read of the supplied papers.Incidentally, that's where we also enjoyed our tea and cream scones on arrival.

Michael Rutter said...

67%
80%
70%
50%

Stayed 11th January 2020

Had a great, relaxing time in a fantastic environment. Only disappointing aspect was that there were several options in the evening meal menu that were unavailable meaning that first choice options could not be met for the majority of our party.

Tracy Whittle said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 3rd January 2020

Had a lovely stay couldn’t fault it

A guest said...

70%
80%
70%
60%

Stayed 21st December 2019

was lovely but not as lovely as first time we came , breakfast was from a help yourself buffet and eggs were scrambled and no beans , black pudding or mushrooms left , however setting eas lovely as usual and i realise it was a busy time

Tina Pike said...

67%
20%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th December 2019

I booked 2 rooms for a Christmas get together with family. We received a warm welcome from the lady on reception & enjoyed our cream tea. Our evening meal was later than our reservation time but the staff kept us informed & looked after us very well. The meal was very good & our young waiter was exceptional. Would definitely stay again

Martin Bielby said...

70%
20%
90%
100%

Stayed 14th December 2019

Warm welcome from lady on reception, Room comfortable, Friendly staff nothing too much trouble even though they had a wedding with over 100 guests and a Christmas party with another 60 guests

Lesley Alderton said...

67%
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 9th December 2019

Initially could not fault our 2 night stay at the York Pavillion. Was greeted by a friendly receptionist. Explained everything we needed to know about the hotel. Plus where to catch a bus into the city. Food at hotel. Absolutely lovely. Served by young waiters trying there best to accommodate our requests. Room was dated. Needed a lick of paint but very clean. Now for the downside. On our 2nd night the hotel was hosting a wedding and a works xmas party night. We were informed during our meal the General Manager had sanctioned an extension to the xmas party from midnight to 0130 hrs. Here lies the problem for the non partying guests. The noise of the music was shockingly loud. We felt the G.M. had no consideration of the non partying guests but only the extra money the bar would have made extending the drinking time. We got no sleep. Also woken up early (0600 hrs) with the guest next door using a hairdryer. In total had 4 hrs sleep. We had a long drive home that day and we were very concerned of our lack of sleep. Perhaps in future the G.M. should take this into consideration when extending party hours -- other than filling the bar till with money.

Amanda Ludlow Holland said...

74%
90%
70%
60%

Stayed 30th November 2019

Found hotel very cold.parking was hard no spaces left when we arrived.we were on a deal that included scones & coffee on arrival but weren't offered it. On the whole though was good for the money and would stay again we walked into York about half hour each way

Sian Walker said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st December 2019

What can I say. Really enjoyed our stay. Cant fault anything. Excellent value for money. We would definitely stay again.

holly siddons said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2019

Love this hotel. Very friendly, very clean, lovely stroll into York. Excellent value

A guest said...

54%
40%
80%
40%

Stayed 14th November 2019

I booked Pavilion Hotel in York for myself and 3 friends for a much needed break. From arrival to departure it was an unmitigated disaster. We were given rooms 65&66. We booked 1 double & 1 twin. Both were doubles. Room 65 smelt like someone had been sick & not cleaned properly, so when 2 friends were relocated to a twin room, I bagged room 66. The room had cobwebs hanging from walls, fittings, toe nail clippings at the head of the bed skirting boards, general detritus everywhere. The filth between the headboard & mattress, yuk, the bathroom had mould around the bath, the showed curtain was foisty. I found a pair of jeans still hanging in the wardrobe from previous occupant. We were on a dinner/bed & breakfast deal. Going down to dinner, the staff couldn't advise initially what was available to us on this offer. We had to ask twice. One friend who had the mussels, vomited from 9.30pm to 5.30am in the morning, during which the fire alarms sounded 4 times, we had to assist her vacating the building in the pouring rain whilst being ill from the mussels. I endured a member of staff show a couple to room 65 at 2.45am at full volume. Cooked breakfast wasn't going to happen following our poorly friend. But, no cornflakes as they'd ran out, so a slice of toast it was. We stayed one night instead of the two, allowed the poorly friend time to recover before heading home. We were charged for both nights DB&B for our troubles. Would I recommend this hotel, absolutely not. I usually think if bad reviews are posted its because local competition is trying to scupper reputations. I read some bad reviews before I booked & thought it sour gs, oh how I wish I had taken heed. Truly horrible experience, one I pray my friends and I never have again.

Katie Farndale-James said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd November 2019

Amazing value for money. Great service from all staff and the food was fantastic. Will definately return.

John Williams said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

very good hotel staff very good enjoyed our night will do it again thank you

kellie dixon said...

90%
90%
80%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2019

Beautiful hotel the room was lovely everything there you could want. Just 2 things when checked in we was never offered the afternoon tea that was included and i had to ask later about the evening meal that was included also. The meal at night and the breakfast was great and again had lots of choices.

kellie dixon said...

90%
90%
80%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2019

Beautiful hotel the room was lovely everything there you could want. Just 2 things when checked in we was never offered the afternoon tea that was included and i had to ask later about the evening meal that was included also. The meal at night and the breakfast was great and again had lots of choices.

jordan mills said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th November 2019

Very good value excellent service from reception to waiting staff and bar staff, our meals were very nice couldn't fault it, we were given a small double to start with whicfortunately would have been too small we asked reception if they had any other rooms available with a bigger bed or twin which was resolved with no fuss, we would highly recommend and looking forward to our return.

Michael Woodward said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st November 2019

Excellent from arriving to departing

Sandra Beasley said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st November 2019

Fantastic everything from the welcoming of the staff , To the food outstanding Lovely clean Fantastic room Helpful if needed anything