Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

York Pavilion Hotel, York

45 Main Street, York, YO10 4PJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

Alan Fantom said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 22nd May 2022

A lovely hotel, in a good location and easy to find on A19 giving good access to the centre of York either by walking or use of frequent bus service. It has a good size car park. A well renovated and beautiful building, with pleasant staff engaged in your well being. The room was reasonably spacious, comfortable and had everything we needed but despite the heating not being on, it was too warm and the window had to be left open. Very nice dining room and lounge. We enjoyed the food. Plus there are other good options for drinking and eating within a couple of minutes walk which the hotel team will readily advise on. We would definitely consider staying here again should we find ourselves back in York. We would stay again

Jeanette Wright said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd April 2022

The hotel and staff were lovely. I only have 2 concerns: The duvet was too small for the bed, and when there's 2 in a bed, one goes cold! Secondly, it was a good job that I checked my hotel account before leaving. The deal was 2 nights bed and breakfast with 1 evening meal included in the package. When I checked out, I asked the receptionist to confirm that nothing had been taken from my credit card. The hotel only tried to charge me for the 2nd night's dinner ( I ate out!), the 2nd day's breakfast ( included in the deal!), and car parking ( we parked on the road as parking was £7.50 a night!) So future customers.........please check your bill before checking out. Apart from that...... I had a lovely time in York

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th March 2022

My husband and I are back from a nice stay at York Pavilion Hotel. We were there for a two night stay with a lovely two course meal included on the first night.

A guest said...

14%
20%
10%
10%

Stayed 23rd March 2022

Felt we were being conned 10 50 a night to park I don't think so

Annette Mattingley said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th December 2021

A very enjoyable stay. Great staff. Great food. Very comfortable and would book again thank you

Ann Pagan said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th December 2021

Read a few negative reviews before booking however we decided to book (as had been at the hotel previously). On arrival we were allocated a double room on the ground floor. Room was clean, bed was really comfy and bathroom was fine (a little tired but met our needs). Had a drink in the hotel bar before dinner. Bar area is not the most inviting area to have a pre/post dinner drink. Its in the need of a bit of a revamp and clear out (its a bit of a clutter with a piano and wooden chest preventing more comfortable seating. Drink was fine and barmaid very polite. Restaraunt was busy. Food and service were excellent. Nice 3 course set menu on offer. Unfortunately the bar area did not entice us to stay up longer and spend money. Overall we thought the value for money on offer was excellent and would book again (don't always go with a few negative reviews). With some upgrading this would be an excellent 3 star hotel perfrect for a short York break.

A guest said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 6th December 2021

Excellent food and friendly staff and an ideal location for a visit to york

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th December 2021

Our room was in the main building at the top of 2.5 sets of stairs which is a long way with luggage and no lift! Once over the first set of stairs the hotel starts to look in need of a little TLC. Our room was small, clean but it was well lit. The hotel is at the side of the A19 going into York so if you are near the front expect traffic noise all night! However it is handy for the 2 bus stops outside to get you into and out of the city centre. They seem to be short staffed but do warn you, however the waiting staff never stop racing around serving all the customers so full marks to them. They are also quite cheerful and helpful so are a credit to the hotel. The second night we tried to book a table to eat that evening (tried before breakfast) to be told they were fully booked! We instead booked a table at The Plough which is 3 - 4 minutes walk away and had a lovely meal but the pub was VERY BUSY with only us wearing masks. The food we did eat in the hotel was good. We would stay again for it's location but would ask for a lower and quieter room!

Paul Scargill said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 5th December 2021

Very enjoyable pre Christmas experience warm comfortable bedroom attentive staff.

francis scott said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th December 2021

A very pleasant, great value 2 night stay which included dinner. 30 minute walk into the centre but there is a bus stop outside the hotel or a short taxi ride is around £8 each way. The hotel was extremely busy and admitted to being short staffed but despite minor delays, waiting for what was an excellent breakfast, we found the service to be courteous and efficient

John Doyle said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st December 2021

Our stay at this hotel was really nice. A lovely comfortable bedroom A warm welcome from all the lovely staff . The food from the restaurant was delicious. The only down side was our package said evening meal included only to be charged an extra £14 . Usually any other stay we have had stipulate a food allowance or supplement to be paid. I think you need to add this to the advert for the stay. We would definitely stay at this hotel again Yvonne Doyle

G Mahon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th November 2021

We had a lovely time at this hotel, it was really good value for money and was really welcoming. Lovely clean rooms, food was beautiful and the staff were really attentive.we would definitely go here again.

Maureen Frost said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2021

Had a lovely 2 night stay. All staff made you feel welcome. Although this is an old hotel the room was comfortable and well presented. Had breakfast both mornings, and dinner on first night. Good choice on menus. Food was lovely. Would stay again.

Lisa Hyde said...

84%
60%
90%
100%

Stayed 12th November 2021

Good value for money overall. However rooms are dated and tired and need money spent on it as a lovely old Georgian building. Food was great and staff seemed attentive. Car parking a bit of a squeeze. Walk into york only 30 mins. Pub across the road nice if needed. Check your bill though as they forgot to take the food off that was included in our deal.

IAN LUCARZ said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th November 2021

Overall a good experience. Room was fine and check in very smooth and the receptionist was very helpful. The hotel is struggling to get reliable staff at the moment but the ones that served us in the bar and restaurant were very helpful and courteous. We had booked this last Christmas as a gift voucher and I have to say it was very good value

samantha moir said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th November 2021

Had a lovely we mini break in this hotel. Good food, friendly staff. Would defo recomend it

pam seller said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st October 2021

Fantastic staff, fabulous food and comfy, well equipped rooms. Couldn’t have been better. We will definitely be back!

pam seller said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st October 2021

Fantastic staff, fabulous food and comfy, well equipped rooms. Couldn’t have been better. We will definitely be back!

John Wellings said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th October 2021

Excellent value for money.Convenient location due to bus stop almost outside front door.Good food and pleasant and attentive staff.Nothing to complain about really.

Simone Stewart said...

74%
20%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2021

Lovely hotel, rooms comfortable and food was excellent, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return

N Vincent said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th October 2021

This was our second visit to The Pavilion, and we thoroughlly enjoyed our visit again. The hotel has a very homely feel to it, and the rooms are comfortable. Staff are very pleasant and always very helpful. We will definitely return sometime in the future.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th October 2021

We stayed at The Pavilion Hotel in York on 10th and 11th October, such a lovely hotel. A little dated, but very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful and food was fabulous. The hotel is well located close the centre of town , with a regular bus service close by.

Ian Appleyard said...

67%
70%
60%
70%

Stayed 7th October 2021

Disappointed with the room (39) furthest away from reception on second floor - My Hotel ( Best room allocated?), not acknowledged by reception Room was fine, clean etc Breakfast on the second morning was not good, some members of staff didn't seem to understand their role. Had to stand waiting for food dishes to be topped up while my fried egg was sat getting cold

Alex Roxburgh said...

50%
60%
40%
50%

Stayed 6th October 2021

Hotel was ok the room was acceptable the towels not changed for the 2nights breakfast was good but the dinner menu was not a lot off choice

Alex Roxburgh said...

50%
60%
40%
50%

Stayed 6th October 2021

Hotel was ok the room was acceptable the towels not changed for the 2nights breakfast was good but the dinner menu was not a lot off choice