Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Columba Hotel by Compass Hospitality , Inverness

Ness Walk, Inverness, IV35NF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

76%

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 14th September 2020

Hotel was very good clean tidy food was good but couldn’t get fried egg although we didn’t ask we were due a free bottle of wine in our room but we only got 1 bottle between 2 rooms but luckily our friends don’t like wine but all in all we enjoyed our stay

Gordon Weir said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th September 2020

You won't get any closer to the centre of Inverness than the columba. For the price we paid for 2 nights b&b with dinner on the first night AND a bottle of wine in the room, fantastic value for money. Corridors around the hotel a little dated but suppose it goes with the character of the building. Rooms were great and the food was excellent. Great trip and would definitely return.

Stephen Land said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th September 2020

Had a great time, room needed a lick of paint but that wouldn’t stop me from coming back again, great sleep, service brilliant, all staff were really helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.??

Margaret McClune said...

54%
60%
40%
60%

Stayed 11th September 2020

Hotel needs freshening up in corridors and bedrooms. The service in the restaurant was poor on the night that we ate there, after an hour we still only had our starter, and we didn’t have time to order a dessert as we were meeting friends and wouldn’t have time to eat it. The service in the bar was also very slow. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable and had everything we needed.

Elizabeth Watson said...

27%
20%
40%
20%

Stayed 8th September 2020

The rooms we were allocated on the 1st floor were clean but extremely small and above the service entrance. They were very noisy from 5.00am onwards with bin collections, deliveries etc and sleep was impossible after that. The breakfast was pre ordered but had no choice of eggs, scrambled or nothing. The staff in the restaurant seemed harassed and not sure what they should be doing. The hotel itself is tired and in need of refurbishment and definitely not 4* standard. We had stayed in this hotel 13 years ago and I don't think any thing has been done to it since we were last here. We were very disappointed as this was a birthday treat for both of the women in the party and our 1st break away since lockdown. The location of the hotel however is very good. I wondered if because we booked through a discount website if perhaps we were given inferior accommodation. We did complain to the hotel and we were refunded half of the cost which was satisfactory but we were still disappointed with the experience overall.

Mr Ross said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th September 2020

Reception staff very supportive, warm and welcoming. Great direct check-in and out. Waiting staff extremely busy but equally warm and hard working. Short on staff but worked well to really look after guests. Quality staf-round Also loved bar man (Irish) who put his heart and soul into looking after us all. Great salesman too! We always had large wine and big beers! Good work. So warm, friendly and great with public. Quality of food in kitchen was stunning. Great meal on Sunday; lamb shank melting. Gorgeous roasted vegetables and potatoes divine. Beautiful gravy. Ham Haugh terrine, brilliant. Lemon tart Zingy, fresh and tasty. Well done great chef!! Thoroughly recommend Columba hotel for food, friendly staff and hard working team welcoming us public at a scary difficult time. Loved Columba and have stayed before. And will do again! Also good value for cost Rose xxxx

Elaine Dickson said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th September 2020

We enjoyed our stay at the Columba Hotel, staff were polite and friendly at check in, room was bit dated decor wise but warm , very clean and bed comfortable. We appreciated the kettle, tea, coffee and biscuit in the room and refilled daily. Dinner was hot and tasty, staff provided a great service and dining room very clean and spacious. Breakfast was also spot on, my husband had porridge to start, I had yogurt, we both had full Scottish breakfast , toast and pot of coffee each . The Hotel is in a central location close to bus/rail stations , shops, pubs and restaurants with the River Ness running alongside providing lovely walks during the day or night as the trees have lights on them . I would recommend this Hotel to family and friends for a holiday or city break .

James McKean said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 7th September 2020

We were allowed to upgrade with an additional payment to an executive room prior to arriving that gave us a river view. The hotel allowed us to leave are luggage prior to checking in which was a bonus. Food excellent and staff very friendly. Room was very clean and well stock with tea and coffee

K Nicolson said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 4th September 2020

The hotel was fine, excellent location for the centre of Inverness. No car parking was disappointing although there's a small public car park a few dred yards down the road at £5 for 24 hours.

Jean Tennant said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th September 2020

Fantastic weekend away, lovely hotel with all precautions in place. Friendly staff and great food .

Andrew Richarardson said...

64%
10%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th August 2020

Good choice for breakfast,served to your table. Fixed evening menu cooked to order. Room not cleaned until you leave then sanitised, understandable in pandemic world. Enjoyed our stay will be back!

maureen nelson said...

60%
50%
80%
50%

Stayed 21st August 2020

Definitely wasn’t 4star room could do with update curtain rail hanging with black tape and in need of redecorating - food wasn’t good on first night but did seem better second just a shame they didn’t have restaurant open in evening and had to eat in bar though breakfast was there. Staff were good and helpful and hotel was handy for centre of Inverness

A guest said...

40%
40%
40%
40%

Stayed 31st July 2020

Very basic room - disappointed

linda stenhouse said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th February 2020

The stay was lovely friendly staff comfortable rooms the only thing I had problem was was the bathroom was frozen and run out really early in the morning but a good price for s good stay .

fiona fettes said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th January 2020

Friendly and helpful staff. Porter is a star nothing any bother. Food tasty had lovely chef made steak burger. Convenient spot for town, really quiet and beautiful spot by the river. Would use again

Jack Mccombie said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th October 2019

Having stayed many times at the Columba it was no surprise that everything this time round was fine .might be new owners but still good service and friendly staff.

A guest said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th October 2019

This was our second time here and was not happy with the room. Very noisy from outside yard. Window running with condensation, small heater on the wall has seen better days.noise in the corridor all night banging doors. Food was lovely, but was glad to get home for a decent night sleep.

Pauline Shearer said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 28th June 2019

Perfect location, clean and comfortable. Staff were lovely. Inclusive dinner on set menu was ok but service was a bit hit and miss. Breakfast was delicious. Would definitely book again as it was an ideal location.

Brian Simpson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th March 2019

Superb hotel

Thomas Booth said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th March 2019

2 nights in the columba inverness 9 twin rooms 18 guys no complaints from anybody,the rooms and the service was great,adele the duty manager and staff were realy good and walter the night porter needs a mention as he could not help us enough a definite 10 /10 from us wish we could of tried this hotel before as we have been going to inverness annually for 14 years now so we will be back thats for sure Thomas Booth

Melvin Walker said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 9th February 2019

Enjoyed our stay at Columba Hotel. Thought the evening meal was much better than previous visits. Breakfast buffet could be warmer

Andy Hay said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th January 2019

Great hotel and staff

norman lillie said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 16th March 2018

The location of the hotel could not be better. The staff in the dining room were efficient and friendly and are to be commended. The bedroom had excellent bed and lighting and bathroom but the furniture was past its sell by date.The dinner was fine but breakfast disappointing. All in all we would return as good value for money.

A Macgillivray said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 10th March 2018

View from room was great. Main heating in room must of had a fault as oil radiator on in room. We were not cold. Evening meal was great breakfast not so good. Would defiantly go back

A guest said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 27th October 2017

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Columba,we had a comfortable room and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.We will certainly return.