Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Columba Hotel by Compass Hospitality , Inverness

Ness Walk, Inverness, IV35NF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

Melvin Walker said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 9th February 2019

Enjoyed our stay at Columba Hotel. Thought the evening meal was much better than previous visits. Breakfast buffet could be warmer

Andy Hay said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th January 2019

Great hotel and staff

Robert Donald said...

70%
80%
60%
70%

Stayed 13th November 2018

Service for evening meal was terrible and slow , we specifically informed waiting staff my partner was vegetarian and she was served chicken pasta. But otherwise hotel was okay

Stuart Arnott said...

75%
70%
N/A
80%

Stayed 20th April 2018

We were given a disabled persons bedroom but that was OK the room was large. We had a meal on the first night and that was OK. The bar is very big and does not have a lot of atmosphere in it. The main problem is the lack of parking space around the Hotel. Al in all it was a good weekend and we would use the Hotel again.

caroline maxwell said...

74%
80%
90%
50%

Stayed 12th April 2018

Hotel comfortable and clean. Staff very pleasant and helpful

norman lillie said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 16th March 2018

The location of the hotel could not be better. The staff in the dining room were efficient and friendly and are to be commended. The bedroom had excellent bed and lighting and bathroom but the furniture was past its sell by date.The dinner was fine but breakfast disappointing. All in all we would return as good value for money.

A Macgillivray said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 10th March 2018

View from room was great. Main heating in room must of had a fault as oil radiator on in room. We were not cold. Evening meal was great breakfast not so good. Would defiantly go back

A guest said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 27th October 2017

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Columba,we had a comfortable room and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.We will certainly return.

Linda Duncan said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2017

Had a lovely stay as always at the Columba, the food was excellent and the service was great. We had a river view which was very nice too.

Elaine Roarty said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th October 2017

My friend and I spent a lovely 2 nights at this hotel. Staff are welcoming and helpful. Our twin room was comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. Tea, coffee etc provided, also hairdryer, iron and ironing board in room. Nicely tiled bathroom with bath and shower overhead. We had dinner on first night from table d'hote menu. Food was lovely and plentiful. Breakfast had great selection of hot and cold food. The location is ideal. Right on riverside and across bridge from city centre. A very enjoyable stay!

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st August 2017

Friendly staff. Busy with bus tours but we waited till they had been for breakfast before we went down. Very good breakfast. Room was fine but we could not shut the window. Bathroom was clean and modern.

Richard Robertson said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 7th August 2017

Excellent location,right on the River Ness. Nice authentic old hotel. Full of coach parties of foreign tourists, but then that's Inverness in August ! Restaurant was a bit "loud". Good"flash" price from myhotelbreak in comparison to other crazy prices for Inverness in August. Evening meals a let down though. Veg was boiled into a bland nothingness, meat/fish portions small, bought in cold desserts ( no hot dessert ) !! ( don't think the Americans were too impressed ). Bit like a works canteen ! No windows in the restaurant. Breakfasts were reasonable, buffet style. Again another Scottish hotel with no haggis !!!!. Would go back if a good deal, but only on B&B as there are loads of restaurants around.

A guest said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th July 2017

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Only downside was our bed room overlooking bin store. I realise bins have to be stored somewhere, however this area badly required a tidy up. one bin was never emptied and rubbish was overflowing . Had obviously not been emptied for months.

A guest said...

50%
50%
70%
30%

Stayed 21st July 2017

The hotel has only been with Compass for two years and apart from the bar/bistro little else has been done to bring it back to four star status.. Perhaps understandable as there is a lot to do. However what could, and should be done is to employ chefs who are capable of producing food worthy of a four star establishment. Everything was overcooked . The vegetable curry consisted of carrots cut in the style of chips , and the mushroom stroganof was mainly pickled beetroot!!!!

A guest said...

50%
50%
60%
40%

Stayed 17th July 2017

Disappointed, no red wine on Monday night! Room clean but noisy as above kitchen exit! Bin and delivery lorries very early in the morning Got bottle of wine second night, paid bill in the morning no receipt and apparently cost £22.50 for an average bottle of wine!

Kay Muir said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 26th June 2017

After having booked our break to Columba Hotel, I read some trip advisor reviews and was tempted to cancel. However I didn't. Our room was clean and perfectly adequate for our needs. We had a view over the river which was nice. We ate our included meal in MacNabs bar. The food was good and served timeously. Breakfast on the first morning was good. Plenty of choice and the hot food was hot. Unfortunately on the second morning, the hot food was only warm! I do not consider this hotel to be 4 star however I would stay there again ass it is in an excellent location.

Stewart Shaw said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 26th June 2017

This is a hotel with lots of character located conveniently by the river and in the centre. Staff are friendly and helpful and deal well with the bus tour groups which use this hotel. We enjoyed our stay there and hope to return some day.

A guest said...

60%
60%
80%
40%

Stayed 19th June 2017

Nice location - room decor a bit `uninteresting` - good breakfast, dinner less so - nice staff.

Julie Richmond said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st May 2017

Lovely hotel with really friendly staff. Well situated and great value for money. Lovely room, great breakfast and nice dinner in the bar too.

Alex Hunter said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th May 2017

Pleasant stay, friendly staff, lovely short break, would go back again.

James Mitchell said...

67%
90%
40%
70%

Stayed 18th May 2017

Our room was spacious and comfortable. The dining room was busy for dinner so we opted for the bistro next door where there was one person on the bar and a very long queue. That was just to get a menu as there were none on the tables. We then had to rejoin the queue to order and were told there would be a half-hour wait for food. When the food arrived it was good.

BRIAN CAMPBELL said...

64%
60%
70%
60%

Stayed 19th May 2017

Stayed at Columba whilst having weekend in Inverness to visit family. As arrived prior to normal check in had to leave cases lying beside reception until normal check in time. We were allocated our room on 3rd floor and had to cirvent a few doors and stairs to get there. (Not ideal if you are infirm). Our room was clean and spacious but in need of modernisation. We had evening meal on Friday night evening which was satisfactory. Breakfast was served in same restaurant and staff ensured you were made aware where everything was. Staff friendly and helpful during weekend. This Hotel is in a great location for town centre but could do with being upgraded.

NINA GILLIES said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th May 2017

Had a lovely stay. Spacious and very clean room. Food lovely . Friendly staff. Great value for money. Have already booked our next stay!

Angus Norrie said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 23rd April 2017

Nice stay in excellent location for town centre shopping, bars and restaurants.

A guest said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 14th April 2017

Lovely hotel, fantastic location and excellent value for money. This was our second stay and we'll be back. Plenty of restaurants, pubs and shopping on the doorstep. The restaurant manager in particular was very welcoming and mannerly.