Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Atholl Palace Hotel, Pitlochry

, Pitlochry, PH165LY, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

Laura Louden said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th February 2015

Lovely overnight stay with friend. Staff very helpful with my gluten free dietry needs. Also my friend forgot her toothbrush and was given one. Will definitely be back.

Graeme Kinmond said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd January 2015

We stayed for two nights DBB. This hotel is breathtaking in both the building and setting. Our welcome was the best we have ever had when checking in. The nip of Bruadar a very nice touch. Our family room had a magnificant view and was clean and functional. Meals on both nights and breakfast were all very very good despite the hotel being very busy. Our thanks to Janeck & Willie the waiters for their service and humour and to Howard Davis and all his restaurant staff who we thought were brilliant. I very rarely write reviews but looking at some of the negative comments on Trip Adviser I felt compelled to reply. The Athol Palace is stunning with many areas to sit and relax in front of the numerous fireplaces. The pool and Spa are modern, clean and well operated. I can honestly say it was the most relaxing weekend we have enjoyed and my nine year old daughter has already asked that we book again! - which we will. This hotel has everything for those who just want to chill and relax. The nearby waterfall is amazing and well worth the short walk. I would highly recommend this place and as I have already indicated we will be back.

Mari Binnie said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd January 2015

Fantastic location, great service and very welcoming with warm, log fires

Colin Ainslie said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th January 2015

A very enjoyable stay, staff very freindly and helpful food good I would stay at the hotel again

muir brannan said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th January 2015

Staff very cheerful and happy to help enjoyed our stay

Elaine Batty said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd January 2015

Really enjoyed our stay at the Atholl Palace. The hotel was full of character. We loved the log fires and the general ambience. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean.Would love to visit again. we did not have an evening meal so couldn't comment but we thought the breakfast was very nice, the cooked breakfast was good and not at all greasy.

E Millar said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th December 2014

We are just back from a very enjoyable two night stay. Lovely hotel. Staff very friendly and food very good. Beautifully decorated for Christmas and with the log fires burning just makes a very homely feeling to the place. Definitely be back.

R Falconer said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th November 2014

This is a beutiful historical building with loads of character. Its spa/pool area is very nice and well maintained.The food is good, the waiter service as often the case was fine.Else where in the hotel the general service was very good. Will i go back? Definitely.

amanda graham said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th November 2014

wonderful stay in classic hotel in wonderful setting.

Jennifer Miller said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th November 2014

Great! We all had a lovely time.

Alison Clark-Dick said...

64%
70%
60%
60%

Stayed 7th November 2014

The outside of the hotel and the grounds are outstanding, it truly does look like a Palace! The inside is grand but could do with some modernistaion, in keeping with the age of the building and the traditional features of course. They upgraded us to a suite free of charge as it was a special occasion so that was a lovely surprise for us! The food could be better and we both remarked that had dinner not have been included in our deal we would have been disappointed eating there and paying for it. It was good but not anything special. The reception staff and restaurant manager were lovely and really went out of their way to help you but the staff that were foreign weren't great at all. They couldn't understand basic English and their service was in general poor and could do with some serious addressing. We had an enjoyable time overall and a few improvements and adjustments would really make this place very special.

Kay Cunningham said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st October 2014

Once again thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Atholl Palace Hotel. Staff and food excellent. Hope to return sometime soon.

Maggie Weir said...

77%
100%
60%
70%

Stayed 11th October 2014

Lovely hotel, restaurant needs better supervision of staff, especially at breakfast, all a bit manic! Foreign staff are very helpful but only if they understand what you are saying to them!

James Muir said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 19th August 2014

Service and attention to requests was exeptional Bedroom small but clean and comfortable. The shower was difficult to operate. Food good and well presented although veg rather al dente ! Overall a very good experience

Chris Mackie said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th August 2014

The staff were wonderful when we arrived 1 day late. They explained our options which were not many. They had 1 lodge left so we took it and ate in hotel. Sadly we came home next day as our two days were over.

Colin Burnett said...

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 1st August 2014

No air conditioning in room or toilet, no safe in room. room clean however, Supplements on 3 course menu would have meant more expense.should have been part of the deal would not book this hotel again

S Cowie said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 27th July 2014

Sorry but not 4 star quality for me.

Gayle Murray said...

40%
70%
30%
20%

Stayed 8th July 2014

Not as hoped/expected/dreamed. Description at time of reservation caused confusion in the end. I was led to believe a 4 poster bed and a jacuzzi tub were in same room -- not! I paid extra for the 4 poster & chocolates in the room. On arrival, I had to choose between a small/regular jacuzzi tub or a 4 poster bed with a little bigger tub w/o jets. I kept the 4 poster but got no jets on the tub. Plus, there was no chocolates in my room upon arrival. They brought them up later in a bowl. And they were little more than balls of chocolate with cream filling inside -- not $15 chocolates in my opinion. Both rooms were nicely decorated. Just not what I was let to believe by web advertising. WIFI was poor. Facility & web stated laundry. They send out if you give them 24 hr notice otherwise they say they have a laundry room for guest (who need to supply their own soap). Don't do it!!! They only had 2 washers (one was broke) & 1 dryer. I spent 3 hrs doing 1 load of laundry and the clothes still didn't feel clean when done. The laundrette in town was so busy they were not providing public wash service, you had to do it yourself (only 2 of each machine). For the price we paid for the hotel, expected better facilities and service. Dinner was elaborate by description but lacked in quantity and quality/flavor so we had dinner the second night at another establishment. Breakfast was very good. But staff really needed to dress better -- pink bra seen through thin white shirt, dress shirts not tucked in and a the Diesel belt buckle in an upper scale dressed restaurant were not very appropriate. The game room was a complete disaster. Left over dirty dishes on tables. Billiard table damaged, bad sticks, missing triangle racker. Games a mess on the shelves and missing parts. Need to check out before 7 am and no one was at the desk. They had to find someone to help us check out. Don't think we'll ever stay here again.

Mrs Graham said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th June 2014

First class hotel with stunning views over the countryside. The facilities were excellent as were the staff which lead to a very enjoyable stay I would recommend a stay at this hotel.

Brian Walker said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th May 2014

An excellent wedding venue

Gail Osborne said...

77%
90%
60%
80%

Stayed 2nd May 2014

The hotel was as always fantastic however one of the main things we like to do is use the pool & sauna on our arrival we saw a notice advising these facilities were closed. This was most disappointing & if known we would have chosen another hotel until these facilities were available after all not a cheap stay!

S Potter said...

67%
30%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd May 2014

Used room 401, very basic, when using the wc you need to squash your knees up against the bath. Anyone taller that 5'7" don't even bother trying. Public areas nice, staff very pleasant and helpful. Grounds and views beautiful.

Maie Semple said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th April 2014

Lovely hotel, quiet even though wedding on, food very good, lovely gardens and would go back again.

Ashleigh King said...

77%
80%
100%
50%

Stayed 20th April 2014

We booked a Superior Room and it had lovely views and was quite large with a separate living area which was good. The hotel staff were really excellent and along with the hotel and its fantastic location and facilities such as tennis, pitch and put, swimming pool and spa made our stay. Only negative was the evening meal in the DBB option. My Venison starter was missing the horseradish cream and any garnish and for the additional

Wendy Fawcett said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 15th April 2014

Beautiful hotel in wonderful setting. Upgraded rooms are very good and food excellent. All staff pleasant and efficient. Shame the pool was shut but that couldn't be helped.