Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shap Wells Hotel, Penrith

Shap, Penrith, CA103QU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

M McManus said...

14%
0%
30%
10%

Stayed 4th August 2020

On entering our bedroom I was horrified at the condition it was in, especially the bathroom. There were a number of hairs in the bath and around the bath handles was filthy (pinkish slime) the bin hadn't been emptied from the previous guest. The shower rail was covered in rust and the ceiling was black. In the bedroom the wallpaper was falling off the wall. If I had been staying for more than one night I would immediately have left. We spoke to someone about the conditions and after returning from dinner the bath was slightly cleaner, but the bin still hadn't been emptied. We went ate in the restaurant, the food was average, but overpriced, it was more canteen than restaurant quality. In the morning the breakfast was poor, it was cold. The carpet in the restaurant was coming off the floor, surly this is a health and safety issue with hot liquids being carried around???The staff are friendly, but overworked. The waiter serving the bar was also the same person dealing with reception despite there being someone sitting at a desk in reception (don't know how he couldn't have taken our payment for our meal). To sum up the Shap Wells Hotel I would give it 1 for the staff and 1 for the parking. If thinking of booking this hotel, think again.

Diane Aronwich said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 3rd August 2020

A lovely hotel. Nicely decorated throughout. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Room was a reasonable size and clean.

david kirby said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 31st July 2020

hi i thought the hotel was well managed and staff worked hard to keep everybody safe room was clean and tidy .

Frank Bonnar said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th July 2020

Decor bit dated but staff amazing and helpful bedrooms spotless food was not a great choice but very delicious but also very accommodating if you ask them would definitely stay again

Marjorie Clough said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th July 2020

We enjoyed the weekend very much. Although the bedroom needed some updating it was clean and had everything needed including a comfortable bed. It was a quiet room which faced the side road. All the staff made us very welcome and couldn't do enough for us and considering the affect that Covid had had they were brilliant, well done to all of you. The service in the restaurant was brilliant and very well planned both at breakfast and dinner, the staff did a very good job and we felt very safe at all times. The food was excellent at breakfast and dinner with a good choice at both and on both nights a different choice for dinner. All in all was a very good deal for the price payed. The Hotel is right in the country but all places in the lakes and up to Scotland very accessible. Would use the hotel again at this fabulous price and offer.

Anthony Butler said...

67%
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 21st July 2020

Quite happy with overall stay not happy they now allow dogs in the main hotel were they used to be only in annex staff coped reasonably well under difficult cirstances

louise gray said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th July 2020

The staff are amazing. so helpful and friendly. Hygiene was fab and extra measures taken during this first week of lockdown easing were reassuring. Had our temperatures taking at the start. I enjoyed the local scenery and walks and my highlight was feeding the local red squirrels. Breakfast and dinner was lovely and plenty choices and I enjoyed the bar too!!!

A guest said...

50%
50%
40%
60%

Stayed 11th July 2020

No comment

Louise Surtees said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st March 2020

Had a lovely, relaxed, night away at the Shaps Well Hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. The room had everything we needed and although slightly dated, it was immaculate. The food and bar prices were very reasonable and breakfast was a full English with toast, cereals and fruit also available. I'd definitely stay here again.

Mary Costley said...

80%
70%
70%
100%

Stayed 28th February 2020

After checking in and paying for the room, it was then given to someone else. We were given another room which was not clean at all!! Bathroom in an awful state, badly needing ripped out and replaced. An hour and a half later we eventually were given a far better room that was very spacious and clean. All credit to Fred Eve who was absolutely fantastic a complete gentleman and credit to the hotel and it’s owners. The food was absolutely fantastic and the staff were very friendly and attentive, they treated my granddaughter very very well. I will go back to the hotel as the problems we had were sorted efficiently by Fred Eve.

Geoff Pennington said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 19th February 2020

1st stay here & definitely will be returning.. excellent deal from my hotel break. Food was very good breakfast was very good also.

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th February 2020

A really good hotel. We will definitely stay here again. Our bedroom was lovely. Very comfortable, warm, well furnished & spotlessly clean with beautiful views across the moors. A lovely bathroom with constantly . The staff were very friendly & efficient. The breakfast was excellent, if a little " large". But it meant that we did not need to eat again until evening. We had one dinner at the hotel which was very good & we enjoyed drinks in the bar which is very comfortable with plenty of huge leather sofas. Overall it was excellent value for money & is highly recommended.

Sandra Bell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st January 2020

Good value for money x

Margaret Clarkson said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd January 2020

A lovely comfortable hotel in a beautiful setting with helpful and courteous staff.

Barbara Lee said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 1st January 2020

A very enjoyable stay once again. Staff very pleasant, comfortable room - we will be back again soon.

E Rigby said...

70%
60%
90%
60%

Stayed 2nd January 2020

staff were very friendly and efficient. The bedroom was rather cold and the bed needed renewing. The breakfast was cold. Otherwise a pleasant stay,the hotel is set in beautiful countryside..

HAZEL Burns said...

67%
60%
100%
40%

Stayed 14th November 2019

Excellent

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th November 2019

Lovely hotel. Nice room, excellent food and friendly staff. Planning to stay again soon.

P LOVE said...

57%
60%
50%
60%

Stayed 8th November 2019

Needs some TLC in rooms. Basic but warm. No room information provided, no information on room service and TV needling attention as no TV guide displayed. No door sign to let staff know if we didnt what to be disturbed or if we wanted room attended to. Apparently room information was being updated and printed off when we asked for it. No bar food menu or pricing of drinks available. Apparently this was also being updated and printed off when we asked for it. Alcoholic drinks above average with regards to pricing. Bed bases torn and frayed. Basic spring mattresses and beds moved away from wall on turning. Location quiet, off the beaten track. Good for dog walking. Breakfast ok, no continental option ie pastries, yoghurts. Buffet style so mass produced but warm and decent standard. Games room in need of some TLC but snooker, table tennis and darts available. Got what we paid for as hotel was on offer at time of booking.

Catherine Greenhalgh said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 9th November 2019

Great hotel with great staff in remote area so great for walkers or some peace and tranquility

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2019

We stayed here with our 12 yr old son for a 2 night mini break over the half term, we will definitely be returning without a doubt. This place has an olde world charm which modern hotels have lost, the staff are all lovely, the breakfast choice is amazing and so plentiful and fresh. We ate one night in the restaurant and all had the 10oz ribeye which was superb!! One of the highlights were the red squirrels running free in a haven of woodland in the hotel grounds with plenty of food supplied by the hotel and a fantastic area to sit and view them. The hotel is great for walking, the scenery is outstanding whilst quite remote,yet only 25mins by car to Windermere. The games room downstairs was an added bonus with a full size snooker table, pool table, table tennis and gym (all free of charge)This is the best value for money, clean, friendly hotel around. There really is nothing to find fault with even if the rooms are quite traditional, we are definitely coming back in a month ?

Keith Entwistle said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2019

A very pleasant stay indeed . My very comfortable, adequately sized room was very clean and well maintained.The self- serve breakfast was very good and the service throughout the stay was extremely friendly and efficient.

vicki michael said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 24th October 2019

We enjoyed our stay but it is quirky. The drive down is single track and a bit scary. The room was basic but clean. Parts of the hotel are a bit shabby. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed meeting the red squirrels. Breakfast is buffet style and was good. The evening food was standard pub fare with only one vegetarian option. Shap Wells takes a lot of coach parties, so it was busy at times. A good value price option.

Steven Stott said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2019

What a fantastic hotel and staff. My wife and I had a great time and are looking forward to our next visit

Paul Todd said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2019

We stayed here for the night and had a lovely time, the staff were excellent and very friendly( the tall lad behind the bar was excellent, sorry I never got his name) the room was nice and warm with a good view, the bathroom was clean and a very hot and powerful shower, we have a evening meal which was good and reasonably prices and the breakfast was superb, thanks to all the staff and we see you again soon