Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shap Wells Hotel, Penrith

Shap, Penrith, CA103QU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

Louise Surtees said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st March 2020

Had a lovely, relaxed, night away at the Shaps Well Hotel. The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. The room had everything we needed and although slightly dated, it was immaculate. The food and bar prices were very reasonable and breakfast was a full English with toast, cereals and fruit also available. I'd definitely stay here again.

Mary Costley said...

80%
70%
70%
100%

Stayed 28th February 2020

After checking in and paying for the room, it was then given to someone else. We were given another room which was not clean at all!! Bathroom in an awful state, badly needing ripped out and replaced. An hour and a half later we eventually were given a far better room that was very spacious and clean. All credit to Fred Eve who was absolutely fantastic a complete gentleman and credit to the hotel and it’s owners. The food was absolutely fantastic and the staff were very friendly and attentive, they treated my granddaughter very very well. I will go back to the hotel as the problems we had were sorted efficiently by Fred Eve.

Geoff Pennington said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 19th February 2020

1st stay here & definitely will be returning.. excellent deal from my hotel break. Food was very good breakfast was very good also.

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th February 2020

A really good hotel. We will definitely stay here again. Our bedroom was lovely. Very comfortable, warm, well furnished & spotlessly clean with beautiful views across the moors. A lovely bathroom with constantly . The staff were very friendly & efficient. The breakfast was excellent, if a little " large". But it meant that we did not need to eat again until evening. We had one dinner at the hotel which was very good & we enjoyed drinks in the bar which is very comfortable with plenty of huge leather sofas. Overall it was excellent value for money & is highly recommended.

Sandra Bell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st January 2020

Good value for money x

Margaret Clarkson said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd January 2020

A lovely comfortable hotel in a beautiful setting with helpful and courteous staff.

Barbara Lee said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 1st January 2020

A very enjoyable stay once again. Staff very pleasant, comfortable room - we will be back again soon.

E Rigby said...

70%
60%
90%
60%

Stayed 2nd January 2020

staff were very friendly and efficient. The bedroom was rather cold and the bed needed renewing. The breakfast was cold. Otherwise a pleasant stay,the hotel is set in beautiful countryside..

HAZEL Burns said...

67%
60%
100%
40%

Stayed 14th November 2019

Excellent

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th November 2019

Lovely hotel. Nice room, excellent food and friendly staff. Planning to stay again soon.

P LOVE said...

57%
60%
50%
60%

Stayed 8th November 2019

Needs some TLC in rooms. Basic but warm. No room information provided, no information on room service and TV needling attention as no TV guide displayed. No door sign to let staff know if we didnt what to be disturbed or if we wanted room attended to. Apparently room information was being updated and printed off when we asked for it. No bar food menu or pricing of drinks available. Apparently this was also being updated and printed off when we asked for it. Alcoholic drinks above average with regards to pricing. Bed bases torn and frayed. Basic spring mattresses and beds moved away from wall on turning. Location quiet, off the beaten track. Good for dog walking. Breakfast ok, no continental option ie pastries, yoghurts. Buffet style so mass produced but warm and decent standard. Games room in need of some TLC but snooker, table tennis and darts available. Got what we paid for as hotel was on offer at time of booking.

Catherine Greenhalgh said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 9th November 2019

Great hotel with great staff in remote area so great for walkers or some peace and tranquility

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2019

We stayed here with our 12 yr old son for a 2 night mini break over the half term, we will definitely be returning without a doubt. This place has an olde world charm which modern hotels have lost, the staff are all lovely, the breakfast choice is amazing and so plentiful and fresh. We ate one night in the restaurant and all had the 10oz ribeye which was superb!! One of the highlights were the red squirrels running free in a haven of woodland in the hotel grounds with plenty of food supplied by the hotel and a fantastic area to sit and view them. The hotel is great for walking, the scenery is outstanding whilst quite remote,yet only 25mins by car to Windermere. The games room downstairs was an added bonus with a full size snooker table, pool table, table tennis and gym (all free of charge)This is the best value for money, clean, friendly hotel around. There really is nothing to find fault with even if the rooms are quite traditional, we are definitely coming back in a month ?

Keith Entwistle said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2019

A very pleasant stay indeed . My very comfortable, adequately sized room was very clean and well maintained.The self- serve breakfast was very good and the service throughout the stay was extremely friendly and efficient.

vicki michael said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 24th October 2019

We enjoyed our stay but it is quirky. The drive down is single track and a bit scary. The room was basic but clean. Parts of the hotel are a bit shabby. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed meeting the red squirrels. Breakfast is buffet style and was good. The evening food was standard pub fare with only one vegetarian option. Shap Wells takes a lot of coach parties, so it was busy at times. A good value price option.

Steven Stott said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2019

What a fantastic hotel and staff. My wife and I had a great time and are looking forward to our next visit

Paul Todd said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2019

We stayed here for the night and had a lovely time, the staff were excellent and very friendly( the tall lad behind the bar was excellent, sorry I never got his name) the room was nice and warm with a good view, the bathroom was clean and a very hot and powerful shower, we have a evening meal which was good and reasonably prices and the breakfast was superb, thanks to all the staff and we see you again soon

Pauline Marsland said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 16th October 2019

Lovely hotel and friendly staff. I realise that it's still in the process of refurbishment but I really hope they keep the original woodwork and stained glass as it offers an originality and warmth that can't be replaced. Food at dinner was well presented and plentiful. Only complaint was that the bacon and sausages in the breakfast buffet had obviously been prepared much earlier as they were really dried out from sitting on the hotplates too long. Otherwise a great experience in lovely surroundings, we even managed to see the red squirrels on the morning we left. If you're looking to get away from it all this is the place to go, easily accessible from the motorway but in the heart of beautiful countryside.

A guest said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 15th October 2019

An atmospheric, comfortable hotel in the bleak moor between the old A6 and the motorway. Room clean and spacious, excellent WiFi and pleasant staff. Breakfast was buffet style and good. This was an absolute bargain for the price paid.

David Jefferson said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th October 2019

Set in lovely grounds, dated but quaint, not for the younger traveler but excellemt value for money, dont expect out of the Ritz food but tasty and plenty of it. A great full english breakfast buffet along side continental all self service. Room clean but basic. Staf very helpful and attentive, all in all I will return again, give it a try you msy well love it.

Tracy Richards said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd October 2019

Lovely hotel Rooms lovely Food lively Nice views and scenery

Lorraine Holmes said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2019

Lovely stay..pleasant hotel..food lovely..great deal...

James McPherson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th September 2019

The break was okay. Location of hotel was rather remote for our liking. Hotel was understaffed at times & therefore staff under pressure. We decided not to stay for the third night not because the break was bad but the weather was poor. There was a lack of entertainment given the remoteness of the location.

Joon Whiteside Leiper said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2019

Just back from the Shap Wells hotel, did the offer with the trip on Lake Windermere and it was brilliant. The road in is very narrow, there are 2 ways into it, one shorter than the other. The hotel staff were all lovely and the food was delicious. Had a wee bit of an issue with my room but was sorted out. I don't think that's the last time we will be there, would definitely recommend it.

A guest said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th August 2019

Oldie but goodie