Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shap Wells Hotel, Penrith

Shap, Penrith, CA103QU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

B McGill said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th May 2019

Excellent food,service and staff.

tracey cunningham said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 26th April 2019

Could not fault the staff.Polite and could not do enough for you. Want to mention Anne, the waitress in the restaurant, she was excellent and so friendly. A credit to the hotel.

Hazel Mills said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th April 2019

My sister, brother in law and myself had a fantastic time at the Shapwell Hotel, we wished we could have stayed longer than the two nights booked. Admittedly the hotel on approach did look a little jaded, and also some of the interior, but the receptionist was cheerful and bright. Unfortunately the lift was broken and our alotted room was on the first floor , with a huge flight of stairs standing between us and it.As each of my party is disabled, stairs are definitely not on our itinerary. Luckily our friendly receptionist seemed to have no problem changing our room. The new one was brilliant, spotlessly clean, including the well laid out bathroom, virtually everything the disabled person would require, except a walk in shower. The bath though was quite low, there were bars on the wall, side and front so I think a lot of people could actually manage the shower over the bath. We had breakfast and evening meal included in our price. Breakfast had all that you could want. Buffet style layout with staff available if you needed them for teas coffee or anything you couldn't see. Cereals, beautiful porridge, fruit in bowls and toast and add ons. Even though we were the last people into the dining room we were not rushed in the least. Evening meal was one that we chose to have in the bar. Your usual bar meals but also a roast dinner with all the ts and a gorgeous steak dinner, my brother in law had the Gammon and pineapple of which he ate the lot which he thoroughly enjoyed, this is not the norm for him, he is a bit picky. All in all our stay was wonderful and we would dearly like to go back again. Oh by the way we did see quite a few red squirrels which we did not expect. Thank you to all involved in our stay.

William Mclatchie said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th April 2019

We were there for one night but were a bit apprensive due to some negative reviews but totally unfounded for us as staff friendly and helpfull ,service ,food and room were all very good ,no complaints from us ,would definitely stay again Billy & Sheila

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st March 2019

Lovely hotel. Breakfast was lovely. We had booked for an evening meal but due to travelling, we didn’t manage to make it in time. Wish we could have spent more time there. Only downside was the mattress was too soft, but that is down to personal taste.

E Jewkes said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th March 2019

It was our first visit to Shap Wells, a Christmas present from our daughter. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. The main rooms are lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food amazing . The bedrooms a bit small and needs updating. But all in all at great place for a relaxing chill out time. Will certainly stay again.

Stuart Arnott said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th March 2019

We had an excellent break. food was good the room was nice and clean. The only complaint was the tv picture. the picture was non existent the first night due to a poor reception and was not much better the second nigh. Apart from the TV everything else was good.

John Broadbridge said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th March 2019

Large friendley hotel set in a valley just off junction 39 of th M6 in bria. Hotel gradually being refurbished. Room had been done to a high standard. Comfortable queen size bed. Excellent bathroom. Staff friendly and helpful. Food ok. Have a funny idea of a carvery. Dog friendly. Good value for money. Would certainly stay again.

Margaret Kime said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd March 2019

Brill situation for m6 visitors and walkers but as in a very quiet area it's not our usual kind of break. We really enjoyed chilling out for a change and meal we had was first class .

Esther Simpson said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th March 2019

Fab staff very friendly. Food was really lovely . We got to see the red squirrels that live in woods next to hotel. We will be back

GEOFFREY BROWN said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd February 2019

Hello,great hotel. staff,food,service good,could not be better. iff!!! there was a down fall it has to be the private road. you need a tank to negotiate it, full of potholes.would not drive on them in the dark. Other wise a nice stay.

Julie Robinson said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th February 2019

Fantastic hotel great for a quiet relaxed getaway Great staf round clean and very comfy loved the old feel to the place Was a bargain price would recommend

Claire Lamb said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th December 2018

We had a lovely stay at The Shap Wells Hotel, the downstairs area reminded me of something from Downton Abbey, the staff were helpful, the evening meal and breakfast was lovely and the hotel is set in the most beautiful location, you really feel like your in the middle of nowhere xx

Tina Sheppard-Davies said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 15th November 2018

Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Friendly staff. Very good food.

Brian Ritchie said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 31st October 2018

Good Value For What It Cost

Janet Aykroyd said...

87%
100%
60%
100%

Stayed 26th October 2018

Fabulous weekend at this hotel. The only minor grumble was we were sat at a small table (there were six of us) and when we requested another table to be added the reply was no! The majority of staff were excellent, food delicious and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. Would definitely recommend

Susan McCallig said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2018

We stayed at Shap Wells for a night which we found everything to be perfect , from the welcoming staff , excellent choice and quality of food all set in a country style hotel. We bought the offer of dinner, bed & breakfast plus a cruise on lake Windermere , I would highly recommend this as it’s definitely excellent value for money.

Eric Dixon said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st October 2018

Off the main road but we'll signposted. First impressions of hotel from outside were disappointing but once inside, what a difference. Staff very friendly and helpful and food good with ample choice.

J Townsend said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 26th September 2018

We felt that the food was not quite as good as when we have stayed before. At the evening meal we had to ask three times for a drink to be served ( not enough staff on) At breakfast the cereal area was very untidy - cereal on the floor and one of the containers knocked over There was no hotel information in the bedrooms

michael flint said...

37%
10%
50%
50%

Stayed 21st September 2018

First impressions on entering hotel was disappointing , given key to room 38 on the second floor. We took the lift and had to walk past dirty sheets and towels on the floor which I thought was a health and safety hazard. Our room was not very clean , lots of cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, mould around the window frame and dust on the telephone and light fittings. The tea and coffee had not been refilled either. We asked at reception for tea and milk so we could make a drink and asked for our room to be cleaned, not now but when the cleaners came in tomorrow . The next day our room was just the same and not properly cleaned and to make matters worse our wet towels which we had placed in the bath for changing ware folded and put back on the towel rail wet. I managed to get some clean ones from a cleaner on the first floor . I saw another member of staff at reception to complain about the dirty room and asked yet again about cleaning it properly . The next day yet again cobwebs hanging down , carpet not hovered and not dusted. Yes today we had fresh towels but four hand towels not any bath towels, so yet again I had to find a cleaner on the first floor for new towels. At reception I again spoke to another member of staff about our room but felt I was wasting my time by now as she seemed not to be bothered. The dining room was not very well organised for independent travellers like ourselves as it seemed they preferred the coaches . We only had coffee provided on the night coaches were in and only nightly entertainment . All in all very poor , we all work hard for our money and we should expect it to be at least clean. We will not be visiting this hotel again which is a pity because it is in a wonderful location.

A Peck said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2018

The hotel itself is very good, great location, good food and friendly. It is obvious from observation that some staff work a lot harder than others. We had to wait for a further two hours for our room to be ready on the day of arrival, we arrived at the allocated check in time of 3pm and eventually got the keys at 5pm, not a good way to start your stay. Overall we would stay again (if check in time was propmt) as the location is great.

Susan Wright said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 23rd August 2018

We had a card for our extras as we stayed an extra night and we had dinner on second night which went onto the card along with the drinks from night one and two. first night was a fosters and a coppberg cider plus two g and ts next night was two fosters and two copperberg ciders at checkout we were charged £155.00 I said this was wrong which I was told £9.00 was because I had the steak the I said I was aware of this receptionist also said we had a bottle of wine we did not it still would not have come to £155.00 It should have been £80.00 to pay.the receptionist was not very nice at all made it sound like it was our fault I felt terrible it spoiled our break he finally gave us the correct amount but no apology.I had also said I new exactly how much we owed.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 23rd August 2018

Fantastic value. Comfortable room( if not slightly small for a double). Food good, reasonably priced drinks,staff friendly and helpful

Iris Mccarten said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th July 2018

We enjoyed our stay but the hotel is a bit out the way. The staff are nice, helpful and the food is ok. We would go again.

A guest said...

60%
80%
50%
50%

Stayed 26th July 2018

On checking in lady never got off her seat 2 desks behind checking in desk and got another member of staff to give us keys and to sign in not very friendly!! Also I had phoned two weeks previous to book dinner as I don't like eating late and we're told they weren't busy so it would be fine to leave untill check in ( busy had dinner at 7:30 not happy) food just warm never got discription on meal that was on menu items missing!!!