Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shap Wells Hotel, Penrith

Shap, Penrith, CA103QU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

Claire Lamb said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th December 2018

We had a lovely stay at The Shap Wells Hotel, the downstairs area reminded me of something from Downton Abbey, the staff were helpful, the evening meal and breakfast was lovely and the hotel is set in the most beautiful location, you really feel like your in the middle of nowhere xx

Tina Sheppard-Davies said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 15th November 2018

Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Friendly staff. Very good food.

Brian Ritchie said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 31st October 2018

Good Value For What It Cost

Janet Aykroyd said...

87%
100%
60%
100%

Stayed 26th October 2018

Fabulous weekend at this hotel. The only minor grumble was we were sat at a small table (there were six of us) and when we requested another table to be added the reply was no! The majority of staff were excellent, food delicious and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. Would definitely recommend

Susan McCallig said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2018

We stayed at Shap Wells for a night which we found everything to be perfect , from the welcoming staff , excellent choice and quality of food all set in a country style hotel. We bought the offer of dinner, bed & breakfast plus a cruise on lake Windermere , I would highly recommend this as it’s definitely excellent value for money.

Eric Dixon said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st October 2018

Off the main road but we'll signposted. First impressions of hotel from outside were disappointing but once inside, what a difference. Staff very friendly and helpful and food good with ample choice.

J Townsend said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 26th September 2018

We felt that the food was not quite as good as when we have stayed before. At the evening meal we had to ask three times for a drink to be served ( not enough staff on) At breakfast the cereal area was very untidy - cereal on the floor and one of the containers knocked over There was no hotel information in the bedrooms

michael flint said...

37%
10%
50%
50%

Stayed 21st September 2018

First impressions on entering hotel was disappointing , given key to room 38 on the second floor. We took the lift and had to walk past dirty sheets and towels on the floor which I thought was a health and safety hazard. Our room was not very clean , lots of cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, mould around the window frame and dust on the telephone and light fittings. The tea and coffee had not been refilled either. We asked at reception for tea and milk so we could make a drink and asked for our room to be cleaned, not now but when the cleaners came in tomorrow . The next day our room was just the same and not properly cleaned and to make matters worse our wet towels which we had placed in the bath for changing ware folded and put back on the towel rail wet. I managed to get some clean ones from a cleaner on the first floor . I saw another member of staff at reception to complain about the dirty room and asked yet again about cleaning it properly . The next day yet again cobwebs hanging down , carpet not hovered and not dusted. Yes today we had fresh towels but four hand towels not any bath towels, so yet again I had to find a cleaner on the first floor for new towels. At reception I again spoke to another member of staff about our room but felt I was wasting my time by now as she seemed not to be bothered. The dining room was not very well organised for independent travellers like ourselves as it seemed they preferred the coaches . We only had coffee provided on the night coaches were in and only nightly entertainment . All in all very poor , we all work hard for our money and we should expect it to be at least clean. We will not be visiting this hotel again which is a pity because it is in a wonderful location.

A Peck said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2018

The hotel itself is very good, great location, good food and friendly. It is obvious from observation that some staff work a lot harder than others. We had to wait for a further two hours for our room to be ready on the day of arrival, we arrived at the allocated check in time of 3pm and eventually got the keys at 5pm, not a good way to start your stay. Overall we would stay again (if check in time was propmt) as the location is great.

Susan Wright said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 23rd August 2018

We had a card for our extras as we stayed an extra night and we had dinner on second night which went onto the card along with the drinks from night one and two. first night was a fosters and a coppberg cider plus two g and ts next night was two fosters and two copperberg ciders at checkout we were charged £155.00 I said this was wrong which I was told £9.00 was because I had the steak the I said I was aware of this receptionist also said we had a bottle of wine we did not it still would not have come to £155.00 It should have been £80.00 to pay.the receptionist was not very nice at all made it sound like it was our fault I felt terrible it spoiled our break he finally gave us the correct amount but no apology.I had also said I new exactly how much we owed.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 23rd August 2018

Fantastic value. Comfortable room( if not slightly small for a double). Food good, reasonably priced drinks,staff friendly and helpful

Iris Mccarten said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th July 2018

We enjoyed our stay but the hotel is a bit out the way. The staff are nice, helpful and the food is ok. We would go again.

A guest said...

60%
80%
50%
50%

Stayed 26th July 2018

On checking in lady never got off her seat 2 desks behind checking in desk and got another member of staff to give us keys and to sign in not very friendly!! Also I had phoned two weeks previous to book dinner as I don't like eating late and we're told they weren't busy so it would be fine to leave untill check in ( busy had dinner at 7:30 not happy) food just warm never got discription on meal that was on menu items missing!!!

A guest said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 15th July 2018

Very good value; wonderful remote location. Busy with coach-loads - but we were in a building separate from the main hotel; very quiet. However that meant no Wifi connection …! Good beer; excellent food; friendly staff.

Christine Finlay said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 23rd June 2018

Enjoyed my stay last weekend - weather was beautiful which helped. Great scenery, and lovely gardens for walking or relaxing and we were lucky enough to see the red squirrels. Staff were all pleasant. Room was clean.

Linda Johnson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd June 2018

Great place good food will do it again I hope thanks

Douglas Armstrong said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 11th June 2018

very comfortable room. Perhaps it could be made clear that Table D'Hote would be served in the Bar area rather than in the dining room.

Dee Anderson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th June 2018

Had a very enjoyable stay at The Shap Wells Hotel setting is just magical it is like stepping back in time the reception area and bar are very well kept but the room was a bit dated especially the bathroom but i was willing to forgive that for the setting..staff are very attentive and the food was good even had a singer on at night would definately recomend this hotel if your looking to get away from it all.

Douglas Lauffer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th June 2018

10/10 all day long, great deal this is the second time we have done this and probably won't be the last.

Douglas Lauffer said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th April 2018

We had a one night here with breakfast and evening meal, also included was a cruise on lake Windermere. The room was nice and comfortable and the food was excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful.

Barry Crundwell said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th April 2018

Great value stay overnight on route to the Highlands. So much better value than a Travel Lodge and inclusive of an evening 3-course meal. What more could you want. Oh - and a very scenic 'beck-side' walk within the hotel grounds. Helpful and friendly staff - nice to see so many 'older staff' employed who worked very hard. Keep up the good work. Thank you.

JOHN SCOTT said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th March 2018

Great hotel in a lovely location. Secluded, but with easy access by car to Kendal and on to the Lake District. Room couldn't be faulted. Seeing the red squirrels a great bonus too.

DANIELLE IVANOVA said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th December 2017

We had wonderful time!Thanks

amanda roberts said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th December 2017

What a lovely hotel. Couldn't fault a thing! Staff were polite and couldn't have been more helpful. Food was amazing and hotel room was lovely. Definitely be back!

Sandra Scott said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 21st November 2017

Hotel very good value for money paid. Only negative point was the bedroom was very small for two people but as we were only staying for one night this was not too much of a problem