Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shap Wells Hotel, Penrith

Shap, Penrith, CA103QU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Ashley Hocking said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th May 2022

Lovely relaxing break. Staff did a great job but we're understaffed they were very helpful and worked very hard. Hotel is lovely and clean. Third visit and will definitely be returning. Hopefully bar food menu will be up and running next time we visit.

Margaret Shea said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th April 2022

Excellent food and staff are great .

A guest said...

75%
70%
80%
N/A

Stayed 22nd April 2022

Had a pleasant stay and received a warm welcome on arrival. Hotel and local shops are only accessible by car

irene blue said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2022

Fourth visit and excellent as usual excellent friendly staff

Margaret Shea said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th April 2022

Excellent time at the shapwells hotel. This is was our 6th visit here and as usual food great, staff exceptional.

A guest said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 3rd April 2022

Had a lovely stay x

T Anderson said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th March 2022

Small room but didnt expect much more in this classic building, whilst showing a little wear it was clean, comfortable with all you need. Service very good with a few omni competent staff working very hard and much appreciated. Menu limited at the time, low season so no bar meals, but something to suit most. Would recommend & intend to return soon, peaceful,welcoming, relaxing Victorian former spa hotel with history.great place

Lynn Wiblin said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th November 2021

Fantastic would highly

Lynn Wiblin said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th November 2021

Fantastic would highly

Lynn Wiblin said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th November 2021

Fantastic would highly

Alexandra Leighton said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2021

Enjoyable stay, friendly staff. Fabulous food Beautiful area, loved our stay

christine fitton said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th October 2021

Had a fantastic time at Shap wells. Lovely staff great food and lovely room. Third time we have stayed and will definitely be going back. Weather was kind too.

irene blue said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th October 2021

Third visit this year superb hotel

Kevin Smith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th October 2021

Lovely one night stay , great staff. Excellent value . Stunning building hidden away in the fields . A real get away feel. We were based here to visit family in the area and will return soon

Denise Quinn said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th September 2021

Beautiful twin room, staff very friendly and helpful and some ie robert funny . good food, good value and beautiful surroundings and red squirrels and river sp close etc would defo come back. thank u. also sell lovely hand made jewellery which I bought

Susan chiumento said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st September 2021

Our stay at shap wells was nice & relaxing as usual. The staff were friendly, helpful & efficient as always & did their best to keep things safe. Most of the staff wore masks & the reception had a dividing screen. The tables in the restaurant were well spaced & the menus were tick box so single use. As a previous shielder they made me feel as safe as possible, unlike most of the guests on the two coach trips that were in & seemed to have forgotten all about covid! Shap wells is a no frills, old fashioned country hotel & its rooms & decor is just that so if luxury is what you’re looking for it’s not for you. The price reflects this & it has a very reasonable tariff. Most people, including ourselves, go for good old fashioned home cooked food & service. The rooms are a little tired but the bed & bathroom are nice & clean. Their was a fair few cobwebs complete with spiders which I could have done without but our previous hotel, which was 4* was worse, & I think most places are short staffed so the focus is on bed, bathroom & sanitising the main areas. Shap wells is perfect for walkers, especially those with dogs. It’s in a lovely setting & has good access to the lakes & as it’s not far from the m6 it’s not too far from Gretna green either. This was our fourth visit & won’t be our last.

A guest said...

57%
20%
70%
80%

Stayed 15th September 2021

No problems

A guest said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 25th August 2021

Nice quiet place staff good with service road to hotel could do with patching up.

Jackie Jones said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 19th August 2021

Booked a 2 night break for hubby and I. Hotel in a beautiful location, nice and peaceful, it is a very elegant hotel with a glass lift (some area's need a little tlc), our room was very comfortable and overlooked the stream. The food was very nice, really large portions on main course meals, starter and puds were a good portion too, breakfast is self service for cooked items and you pick what cereals/fruit etc you require to be brought to your table. The only thing that could be improved is brvice, only one person serving so a queue formed quite quickly, poor chap was running for ice and change as well as trying to keep service going. We saw red squirells in the wooded area walk and the fabulous waterfall. Would definitely book again.

irene blue said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2021

Second visit this year and it was excellent. Room 130 was lovely. Breakfast very good and the staff very pleasant.

Mary Douglas said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th August 2021

Lovely hotel with lovely staff in beautiful countryside....buffet breakfast was well cooked and delicious

elizabethanne dornan said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th August 2021

This break offered great value for money, staff pleasant and well organised especially in restaurant . Decor in room a bit tired ,but clean and well equipped .

Barbara Lee said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th July 2021

We had a lovely stay again at Shap Wells, the hotel is ideal to use as a base for a walking holiday.

A Potter said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th July 2021

Had a lovely time at Shap Wells covid regulations very good staff couldnt be nicer. Comfy bed and good basic food.

irene blue said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th June 2021

Enjoyed three day break very organised dining room for breakfast