Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shap Wells Hotel, Penrith

Shap, Penrith, CA103QU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

David Jefferson said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th October 2019

Set in lovely grounds, dated but quaint, not for the younger traveler but excellemt value for money, dont expect out of the Ritz food but tasty and plenty of it. A great full english breakfast buffet along side continental all self service. Room clean but basic. Staf very helpful and attentive, all in all I will return again, give it a try you msy well love it.

Tracy Richards said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd October 2019

Lovely hotel Rooms lovely Food lively Nice views and scenery

Lorraine Holmes said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2019

Lovely stay..pleasant hotel..food lovely..great deal...

James McPherson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th September 2019

The break was okay. Location of hotel was rather remote for our liking. Hotel was understaffed at times & therefore staff under pressure. We decided not to stay for the third night not because the break was bad but the weather was poor. There was a lack of entertainment given the remoteness of the location.

Joon Whiteside Leiper said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2019

Just back from the Shap Wells hotel, did the offer with the trip on Lake Windermere and it was brilliant. The road in is very narrow, there are 2 ways into it, one shorter than the other. The hotel staff were all lovely and the food was delicious. Had a wee bit of an issue with my room but was sorted out. I don't think that's the last time we will be there, would definitely recommend it.

A guest said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th August 2019

Oldie but goodie

Brenda Hardman said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 18th August 2019

Nice break with friends

Janette Hall said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th August 2019

Loved the hotel very comfortable lovely setting in the heart of the country . The red squirrels are amazing .Enjoyed my stay very much very relaxing a lovely place to get away from it all.

A guest said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th August 2019

The first room we were offered was quite poor. It was small and very dark. The smell was terrible. A chemical smell, perhaps to cover another smell. No one would be able to sleep in that room. We were offered another room which was small but ok. We ate in hotel the first night and the food and service was very good. The breakfasts were also good. The hotel staff the were all very good.

Terence Rutter said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th August 2019

The hotel is a little old fashioned but has charm and atmosphere. The staff are so helpful and friendly and are a credit to the hotel. The food is exceptionally good and the service in the dining room is excellent. We had a truly delightful stay. We will definitely return.

William Cameron said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 9th August 2019

Hotel location not favourable especially when no entertainment was provided in the evenings. Bar staff we excellent tried to accommodate our needs but hotel let them down by not having the right equipment eg order Prosecco but didn’t have any wine coolers. Disappointed at breakfast time had to ask 2 mornings in a row for tea/ coffee to be brought, breakfast food was very bland. Overall a disappointing stay wont be back.

Aysia Kissock said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd August 2019

Lovely hotel with helpful friendly staff

A guest said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 2nd August 2019

My partner and I travelled by train, didn’t realise how remote hotel was, you really need a car, missed trip on boat at lake Windimere, that was extremely disappointing, nearest village Shap was around 3/4 miles, buses only ran Tuesday/Wednesday and Friday once a day, thought bar prices were really steep, liked hotel itself, food was decent, surrounding countryside was lovely, great seeing red squirrels

Pam White said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th July 2019

Really disappointed with the room - it was in the annexe where people with dogs are accommodated and we don't have a dog!!. Also the room was freezing, having said that we were moved to a much nicer and warmer room in the main hotel by a helpful member of staff on Reception once we complained. Food was excellent and staff friendly. Just a shame we were put in an unacceptable room in the first instance.

William Mclatchie said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th June 2019

This is our second visit to this hotel and we have no complaints, our room was spacious and clean, food and service were very good,staff very friendly and helpful, and the hotel on first impressions looks dated and tired but give it a go, you might actually enjoy it Kind Regards Billy & Sheila

Donna Lunn said...

54%
40%
60%
60%

Stayed 28th June 2019

The hotel is very dated and in need of refurbishment. Staff were very friendly however the cleanliness of our room wasn’t very good. The bath looked like it hadn’t been cleaned for a while. Dried on soap s and pubic hairs in the bath. When reported the staff didn’t seem phased by this at all. I thought it was disgusting. The mattress touched the base when sat on it and the springs could be felt when on the mattress. Didn’t sleep at all well. The food was ok however it was extremely hot in the dining room. When I asked if the air con was on I was advised it was however this wasn’t the case. When I went back up to my room the fans on the roof looked as though the air con hadn’t worked for quite a while... quite disappointed with my stay overall.

marco valente said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd June 2019

Lovely, remote location for unwinding. Peaceful atmosphere with welcoming staff. Highly recommend.

B McGill said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th May 2019

Excellent food,service and staff.

tracey cunningham said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 26th April 2019

Could not fault the staff.Polite and could not do enough for you. Want to mention Anne, the waitress in the restaurant, she was excellent and so friendly. A credit to the hotel.

Hazel Mills said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th April 2019

My sister, brother in law and myself had a fantastic time at the Shapwell Hotel, we wished we could have stayed longer than the two nights booked. Admittedly the hotel on approach did look a little jaded, and also some of the interior, but the receptionist was cheerful and bright. Unfortunately the lift was broken and our alotted room was on the first floor , with a huge flight of stairs standing between us and it.As each of my party is disabled, stairs are definitely not on our itinerary. Luckily our friendly receptionist seemed to have no problem changing our room. The new one was brilliant, spotlessly clean, including the well laid out bathroom, virtually everything the disabled person would require, except a walk in shower. The bath though was quite low, there were bars on the wall, side and front so I think a lot of people could actually manage the shower over the bath. We had breakfast and evening meal included in our price. Breakfast had all that you could want. Buffet style layout with staff available if you needed them for teas coffee or anything you couldn't see. Cereals, beautiful porridge, fruit in bowls and toast and add ons. Even though we were the last people into the dining room we were not rushed in the least. Evening meal was one that we chose to have in the bar. Your usual bar meals but also a roast dinner with all the ts and a gorgeous steak dinner, my brother in law had the Gammon and pineapple of which he ate the lot which he thoroughly enjoyed, this is not the norm for him, he is a bit picky. All in all our stay was wonderful and we would dearly like to go back again. Oh by the way we did see quite a few red squirrels which we did not expect. Thank you to all involved in our stay.

William Mclatchie said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th April 2019

We were there for one night but were a bit apprensive due to some negative reviews but totally unfounded for us as staff friendly and helpfull ,service ,food and room were all very good ,no complaints from us ,would definitely stay again Billy & Sheila

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st March 2019

Lovely hotel. Breakfast was lovely. We had booked for an evening meal but due to travelling, we didn’t manage to make it in time. Wish we could have spent more time there. Only downside was the mattress was too soft, but that is down to personal taste.

E Jewkes said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th March 2019

It was our first visit to Shap Wells, a Christmas present from our daughter. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. The main rooms are lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. The food amazing . The bedrooms a bit small and needs updating. But all in all at great place for a relaxing chill out time. Will certainly stay again.

Stuart Arnott said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th March 2019

We had an excellent break. food was good the room was nice and clean. The only complaint was the tv picture. the picture was non existent the first night due to a poor reception and was not much better the second nigh. Apart from the TV everything else was good.

John Broadbridge said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th March 2019

Large friendley hotel set in a valley just off junction 39 of th M6 in bria. Hotel gradually being refurbished. Room had been done to a high standard. Comfortable queen size bed. Excellent bathroom. Staff friendly and helpful. Food ok. Have a funny idea of a carvery. Dog friendly. Good value for money. Would certainly stay again.