Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shap Wells Hotel, Penrith

Shap, Penrith, CA103QU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

irene blue said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th October 2021

Third visit this year superb hotel

Kevin Smith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th October 2021

Lovely one night stay , great staff. Excellent value . Stunning building hidden away in the fields . A real get away feel. We were based here to visit family in the area and will return soon

Denise Quinn said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th September 2021

Beautiful twin room, staff very friendly and helpful and some ie robert funny . good food, good value and beautiful surroundings and red squirrels and river sp close etc would defo come back. thank u. also sell lovely hand made jewellery which I bought

Susan chiumento said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st September 2021

Our stay at shap wells was nice & relaxing as usual. The staff were friendly, helpful & efficient as always & did their best to keep things safe. Most of the staff wore masks & the reception had a dividing screen. The tables in the restaurant were well spaced & the menus were tick box so single use. As a previous shielder they made me feel as safe as possible, unlike most of the guests on the two coach trips that were in & seemed to have forgotten all about covid! Shap wells is a no frills, old fashioned country hotel & its rooms & decor is just that so if luxury is what you’re looking for it’s not for you. The price reflects this & it has a very reasonable tariff. Most people, including ourselves, go for good old fashioned home cooked food & service. The rooms are a little tired but the bed & bathroom are nice & clean. Their was a fair few cobwebs complete with spiders which I could have done without but our previous hotel, which was 4* was worse, & I think most places are short staffed so the focus is on bed, bathroom & sanitising the main areas. Shap wells is perfect for walkers, especially those with dogs. It’s in a lovely setting & has good access to the lakes & as it’s not far from the m6 it’s not too far from Gretna green either. This was our fourth visit & won’t be our last.

A guest said...

57%
20%
70%
80%

Stayed 15th September 2021

No problems

A guest said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 25th August 2021

Nice quiet place staff good with service road to hotel could do with patching up.

Jackie Jones said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 19th August 2021

Booked a 2 night break for hubby and I. Hotel in a beautiful location, nice and peaceful, it is a very elegant hotel with a glass lift (some area's need a little tlc), our room was very comfortable and overlooked the stream. The food was very nice, really large portions on main course meals, starter and puds were a good portion too, breakfast is self service for cooked items and you pick what cereals/fruit etc you require to be brought to your table. The only thing that could be improved is brvice, only one person serving so a queue formed quite quickly, poor chap was running for ice and change as well as trying to keep service going. We saw red squirells in the wooded area walk and the fabulous waterfall. Would definitely book again.

irene blue said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2021

Second visit this year and it was excellent. Room 130 was lovely. Breakfast very good and the staff very pleasant.

Mary Douglas said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th August 2021

Lovely hotel with lovely staff in beautiful countryside....buffet breakfast was well cooked and delicious

elizabethanne dornan said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th August 2021

This break offered great value for money, staff pleasant and well organised especially in restaurant . Decor in room a bit tired ,but clean and well equipped .

Barbara Lee said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th July 2021

We had a lovely stay again at Shap Wells, the hotel is ideal to use as a base for a walking holiday.

A Potter said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th July 2021

Had a lovely time at Shap Wells covid regulations very good staff couldnt be nicer. Comfy bed and good basic food.

irene blue said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th June 2021

Enjoyed three day break very organised dining room for breakfast

denise watt said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th May 2021

Excellent value for money Hotel bit tired looking but still pleasant surroundings & clean Staff very friendly & helpful

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th October 2020

Hotel is beautiful and with the added complications of dealing with Covid19 I would say the hotel & staff were all exceptional and highly officiant with the compliance to government guidelines. I unfortunately gave an 8 for the tight squeeze when in shower as the bath very narrow. Although I like a big bed the two singles joined together, gave a height difference between beds and this made an awkward nights sleep. However I did not complain and I am sure if I had, it would have been sorted.

Mrs Shelbourn said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th October 2020

An excellent way to break our journey north. The hotel was welcoming and clean with very sensible covid precautions. We had stayed here a few years ago and this time we felt the food was even better. A bonus is being able to see red squirrels in the grounds.

Brian Murray said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th September 2020

Hotel very quiet location rolling hills all round.staff very good well done for vivid rules had a nice time

Emma Walker said...

37%
40%
50%
20%

Stayed 11th September 2020

Was ok. This voucher was bought as a gift and was 200. The hotel would have cost 60 to book independently. Meals should have been included. Good as a base but rooms noisy, and dated. Food was overpriced. My chicken was undercooked. I did complain but nothing happened.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2020

If you are looking for a traditional hotel full of olde worlde charm then you've found the right place. Solid dark wooden bedroom furniture and traditional features of a type of hotel that has sadly fallen out of favour with many other hotels. It is not super modern with clean lines, but that only adds to its charm. The staff are doing brilliantly in what are extremely trying times for the hospitality industry, in a pleasant and professional manner. The rooms are basic, but it is explained in the welcome letter that due to the current covid measures all 'extra' items have been removed from rooms - maybe previous reviewers failed to read the letter?? All in all, I was looking for a night together away from it all and that's exactly what I found here. Good food that had a home cooked feel to it rather than mass produced, comfy bed, friendly and polite staff and a great price- what more could I ask for. I will definitely be returning.

Philip Morrice said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th September 2020

Thoroughly enjoyable 2 night DBB break. Very nice hotel situated in the middle of the country in a wonderful setting. Hotel may be a little dated in places but this is part of its charm and the room was clean and very acceptable. The staff were all professional and polite and did a great job. Food was plentiful and tasty. Covid 19 measures very evident, hand sanitiser stations in place and guests temperature taken at check in,

terence pooley said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 4th September 2020

For the price paid the hotel met expectations . The rooms were visibly clean , but need a deep clean if you look closer . Breakfast was fine , the cooked breakfast was served to you at the hot counter and you picked your cereal etc off a tick what you want menu . Evening meal was also picked off a tick your choice menu and was better than expected . If you wanted drinks with your meal you got them at the bar and paid as you ordered.

A guest said...

54%
70%
20%
70%

Stayed 31st August 2020

Delayed service at tables, over complicating plans around covid restrictions. Saw little washing of hands or alcohol gel by staff between visiting tables and picking up papers

Janette Hall said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th August 2020

Had a lovely stay it's my 2nd visit and it did not dissapont. Felt very safe re Covid social distance rules staff were very friendly and helpful and did all they could to make it an enjoyable stay. The food was excellent. Lovely room and very clean.

Graeme Curry said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd August 2020

Very friendly staff, chirpy even under present cirstances. Room clean and pleasant view .Food delicious . Would recommend this hotel ,good value for money .

Graeme Curry said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd August 2020

Very friendly staff, chirpy even under present cirstances. Room clean and pleasant view .Food delicious . Would recommend this hotel ,good value for money .