Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon

West Bay Promenade, Dunoon, PA237HU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

mary findlay said...

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th September 2019

This hotel has a fantastic location, however there is need for some refurbishment, it’s starting to look tired , it would be an even better place with some money spent on it , but food is still top class , and staff are all nice .

Janet Crombie said...

57%
50%
60%
60%

Stayed 25th September 2019

The rooms we were first offered seemed small. I requested an upgrade and the staff Sandy and Sonia were very helpful. We got a triple sea view room, which was much bigger. We were also advised on arrival that the chef was on training on the Wednesday evening and we had to dine out in the sister Hotel, The Argyle. We had to pay for a return taxi, more expense. On the second night ody informed us that we had to yet again dine at the Argyle Hotel. I complained to the barman who quickly advised management. We got the taxi fare and 3 complimentary Prosecco drinks for the inconvenience. Although the staff were very helpful, the communication could have been better, The Hotel was empty both nights at the Esplanade

Robert MacGregor said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 9th September 2019

We felt that this hotel is geared towards coach parties, you had to be down for dinner at 7pm and down for breakfast at 8am, the perception given is this is to suit the coach parties. There is only one set menu for dinner,choice of 3 starters,4 mains,3 desserts and cheese and biscuits, at breakfast the bacon and sausage is deep fried not very appetising first thing in the morning. The food served at dinner was very tasty, this is why we scored it an 8, The staff are very good and could not do enough for us.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th September 2019

We had a fabulous time at the hotel.rooms clean and bright.staff very friendly and very efficient.the food was amazing and well presented and hot.bar man was very good,very happy at his job.

Maureen Neary said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 26th August 2019

We had an excellent stay in this hotel. It exceeded our expectations. We had a comfortable refurbished room. Would have preferred a bigger bed for our two night stay. Our shower room was newly refitted. Room had tea/coffee making facilities. The food in the hotel was excellent, breakfast and dinner were both served to you at table which was great. Dinner choices were good and substantial portions were served. All restaurant staff were very helpful and extremely efficient. The hotel is very short walk to the pier and town centre. I would recommend this hotel and will go back. It is excellent value for money.

Alistair Duff said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd August 2019

We had a great stay...... our room was brilliant, four poster bed and looking out to the Sound of Bute. We had booked DB&B and we can’t fault the food and service. Thanks to everyone we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

L Doak said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd August 2019

Delightful stay Friendly staff Room clean and comfortable Food excellent location beautiful Will return a third time Fantastic value

Anne Sinclair said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th August 2019

Great wee hotel no complaints

Liz Cumming said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 9th August 2019

Great hotel, made to feel welcome, breakfast and dinner both lovely. Maybe some entertainment on would have been better, but all round good hotel

Sahar Khan said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd August 2019

We had a great time. Staff was super friendly and food was yum Couple of things that could be better. House keeping didn't refresh towels or toiletries the next day. We had to request clean towels but they were happy to oblige. We asked for chips an pizza for kids the first day as my kids have texture issues an hence don't eat much variety. The first night they had that but second night we had to buy them food from a takeaway as they didn't have any chips. Ok they may argue I didn't request it again the second day but we were away to isle of Bute an I assumed it would be same again. These things niggled at us an took away from the perfect score.

Andrew Clarke said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st July 2019

Excellent food, lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff.

Cath Lapsley said...

57%
60%
50%
60%

Stayed 14th July 2019

Please see comments on FB my hotel breaks members posted on Tues 16th July and commented to by Holly Paton -Admin .

fred crompton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th June 2019

We had a very pleasant stay. All the staff were very attentive and the food was very good

libby jamieson said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th June 2019

Stunning location , meals excellent , staff amazing , very friendly. Downside is that the hotel is looking a bit tired in places and the run down property next door does it no favours at all ??

Malcolm Short said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th June 2019

Very good value for money, staff very friendly, food very good, good location, would return. M ?

louisa binnie said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th June 2019

although first impression of hotel was that it was bit dated and needed some work done , couldn't fault anything else , food was great , staff were great ,wouldn't hesistate to re book here

Jane Wilson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th May 2019

Just back from a 4 night stay here and thoroughly enjoyed our break! Hotel has spectacular views over the water, central location, lovely clean rooms, staff very helpful and friendly, food was excellent too! Hotel has a feel good and friendly atmosphere! Very good value! Will definitely be back!

Christine MacCallum said...

80%
100%
50%
90%

Stayed 17th May 2019

On arrival discovering we could not use any form of credit card was told machine was not working . We were advised that evening meal was only served at 7 pm, this was not what was advertised , the quality of food was excellent although drinks service at meal times was very slow. The room we were given as an upgrade was very nice. The entertainment was very good especially Roberta Divalicious show on the Saturday night. Hotel is very understaffed, not the fault of the staff who did their best. The location of the hotel was very good .

Joseph Lafferty said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th May 2019

Great value and excellent entertainment,the staff were very friendly and helpful food was excellent I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone we will be going back soon thanks too all the staff

A guest said...

54%
80%
20%
60%

Stayed 11th May 2019

Our room was not cleaned at all during our stay. There was a notice hanging on our door which showed "do not disturb" on the other side was "please clean room". We did not notice that and when I spoke to manager he asked if we had put notice out for housekeeper to see. I asked what notice and he told me. He said that he did not have a housekeeper at that time (5pm) I checked room when I got back and saw the notice but nowhere in hotel guide did it say to put notice out. We had booked a twin room and were given a double which was quickly sorted out.

John Robertson said...

64%
50%
60%
80%

Stayed 11th April 2019

On the day of our departure we had to go to the nearest ATM to get cash to pay the bill, as the card payment machine was not working (it was stated that a new one had been ordered but had not arrived) and if we had been told on arrival we would have got cash on our first day which would have quickened the check-out process. The meals were of good quality. Table service and entertainment were also good.

Margaret Milne said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th April 2019

Lovely hotel, staff were very helpful, room and food were excellent.

A guest said...

57%
30%
80%
60%

Stayed 9th September 2018

A lovely location and very friendly serving staff. Sadly there had been a mix up with our room booking which took some time to sort out. After a lot of discussion we were moved to a very cramped room against our wishes. The food was good value and very promptly served by delightful young people.

margaret kerr said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th August 2018

Enjoyed our stay. Went to see kenny Rodgers tribute show. Good value for money. 2nd visit to this hotel but it won’t be our last. Food is good quality and well presented. Staff are very good although another 1 or 2 members of staff would make a difference.

maureen mcwhirter said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2018

Had a wonderful weekend lovely meals very attentive staff great entertainment beautiful views