Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon

West Bay Promenade, Dunoon, PA237HU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Catherine Duncan said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th August 2015

My husband and I spent a lovely weekend in this hotel - Staff are very attentive and nothing is a bother to them - food was excellent and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The hotel has the most spectacular location with tremendous views and the only downside like a lot of seaside hotels it would greatly benefit from a decor update of bedrooms and public areas. Will certainly visit again.

Anne Cousin said...

80%
90%
60%
90%

Stayed 11th August 2015

Could not find razor socket in bathroom which surprised us as the bathroom was excellent in every other way. Personally we would have liked the choice of time to have dinner as 7pm was rather late for us. We were finishing dinner at 8.30 and 8.45 on our visit. Service good but a bit slow especially as we were in an adjacent room with four tables of two each. Overall however we did enjoy.

Valerie Melrose said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 10th August 2015

i spent 2 night at the esplanade hotel i requested a sea view room and was given the a great room over with an awesome sea view. the meals although standard were very good and 5 course that i could not finish. the service was great and nothing to much bother to the staff, as a bus group were in we also had entertainment on at night that was surprisingly good. I would defiantly recommend this hotel and if visiting dunoon again would stay at this hotel.

may-lin english said...

17%
10%
20%
20%

Stayed 8th August 2015

Wallpaper pealing off walls in bedroom. Room door opened straight onto the bed. Water in shower either scalding or freezing.. Service in 'restaurant' like a canteen. Guests tick their menu choice with the pen provided. Meals luke warm and barely palatable. Not of Classic Britain usual high standards. Very disappointed

A Curivan said...

67%
10%
90%
100%

Stayed 7th August 2015

Iwas disappointed in the bedroom, having paid an extra

Anne Bell said...

64%
70%
70%
50%

Stayed 7th August 2015

Lovely staff, beautiful views

John Love said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 6th August 2015

Comfortable stay although we were allocated a rather small room. Didn't really matter too much as we only stayed 2 nights & weather was good so not in very much. Staff were very pleasant as was food. However the dining staff confused table allocation & orders once or twice (it was, to be fair, rather busy). Location is ideal on esplanade with easy access to the town. Would stay there again.

Julie McGoran said...

64%
80%
80%
30%

Stayed 5th August 2015

Enjoyed our stay in July for 2 nights but there was a mix up with the booking and had to move rooms on the second night. The manager did try his best to accommodate us but the hotel was full. Would advise to upgrade to a seaview room well worth it.

Mary Anderson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th August 2015

we had a lovely room and a fab view over the sea ,staff were helpful just a pity about the weather,we would return but for alonger stay thanks to all at the Esplanade Hotel

S Lamont said...

74%
60%
100%
60%

Stayed 4th August 2015

A well situated hotel. We had a front facing room but the wind howled in the windows. The wall paper was a bit shabby but the carpet was obviously new. The shower stopped working completely at about 8am then ran cold for a while.We were told "too many people showering at one time!!!). Staff brilliant especially in the dining room.

Kathleen Stephenson said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 3rd August 2015

Hotel gave good value for money. Good was plain but well cooked and presented... The crown of Turkey was a proper crown. The interior was a bit dated, the staff could not have been more helpful. We were only here for two nights. The barman when taking orders for drinks at dinner should have had someone helping him, he did his best but was under pressure to get everyone served at the table as quickly as he could

Carolyn Reilly said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd August 2015

Great stay at the Esplanade. All staff welcoming and friendly. We will definitely be back!

denis holmes said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd August 2015

Have previously stayed at this hotel. It is best hotel for location in Dunoon. Rooms clean , food good , staff helpfull. Had entertainment on one night of our two night stay - mainly for the coach party that was staying there- he was Robert Carmichael a good all round entertainer well worth listening to.Would definitely go back to this hotel

Anthony mclachlan said...

74%
40%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st August 2015

The room we got on arrival was horrible and very small no bath and shower that didn't work properly. After asking at reception if that was best room available was told to come back next morning and would get moved to a nicer room. Couldn't do it on day as hotel was full with wedding party . Sure to there word we were moved to a beautiful room with lovely bathroom and view (previous room was on ground floor looking onto carpark). Housekeeping also moved our bags. No entertainment on on the Sunday which was disappointing and when asked was told it was because only 30 people in hotel but at dinner people were asking as had been looking to relax in hotel with some entertainment so even if there was only 30 people it would have been good to still put something on for guests. Staff were all lovely and very very helpful top marks for customer service .

I Gibb said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th July 2015

Just returned from a 4 day break at Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon, this was our 4th visit - had a fabulous time - room was perfect with a lovely sea view, staff as usual were amazing, food excellent - could not fault it and would highly recommend it - sitting on that amazing balcony overlooking the water in the sunshine - great.

c Vergoz said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 17th July 2015

no complaints had a lovely time staff very nice

william brown said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th July 2015

What a hidden gem of a hotel!Staff excellent,lovely clean room and lovely food.Would definitely go back to this hotel

Thomas Mooney said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th July 2015

Very pleasant short break in lovely room overlooking seafront Staff coped really well even when busy Very good food,menu changed daily

gemma mclellan said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 25th April 2015

Lovely hotel bedroom was modern and very clean. Bathroom was spotless with big bathtub and shower was powerful enough. Views from the hotel front were really nice across the firth of clyde and the pebble beach was very very clean. The prices at the bar were very reasonable and the bar lounge was comfortable with plenty of seats. The entertainment at night was good but a bit loud for those seeking a quiet overnight. The breakfast menu was extensive with plenty choices but the quality of the cooked full breakfast was nothing to write home about. All in all a really nice friendly hotel with really nice views and very clean rooms would definitely go back !!!

E Kinnaird said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd April 2015

We stay at the Esplanade twice a year and the staff are always very obliging.

micheline laurie said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd April 2015

extremely enjoyable stay at the esplanade hotel Food staff and sea view room Thank You everyone

Elaine Welch said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th March 2015

Lovely hotel, great service and comfortable stay, would recomment. The food & staff are excellant.

agnes doyle said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th March 2015

Lovely weekend stay. Hotel food & staff all excellent

Joseph Baillie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th March 2015

We had a wonderful weekend stay at the Esplanade Hotel, arrived later than expected due to delays at the ferry terminal and called forward to the hotel to ask about our evening meal. The staff reassured us not to worry as they would keep our food hot until we arrived or prepare something fresh if this was a significant delay. We paid extra for a superior room but as the hotel is in the process of a major upgrade with many rooms having already been completed I don't think this would be necessary. The hotel was spotlessly clean and every member of staff was pleasant and courteous, we would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

I Miller said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th March 2015

Enjoyed a peaceful break at The Esplanade all staff extremely pleasant and helpful.Sea view and 4 poster bed.....