Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon

West Bay Promenade, Dunoon, PA237HU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Mr Fleet said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th October 2013

Excellent visit. Great location and great service. Wifi in public areas - would have been nice in room too these days. Have already recommended to family.

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel. Look forward to welcoming you soon. Best Regards Manoj Cancar

Alan Wheatley said... Hotel has replied

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 10th October 2013

Booking in process good. Room nice & clean (warm, great view over the Clyde). Food Ok.

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Classic Britain. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Classic Britain are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Manoj Cancar

Eoin Fyfe said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th October 2013

Remarkable value for money! From the moment we checked in the staff were very helpful and courteous, every thing about this hotel was top class. In conversation with everyone up to the manager they were interested in what we had to say, truly a gem of a hotel, not often you can say that if anything the excellent food came in over generous portions!!

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel. Look forward to welcoming you soon. Best Regards Manoj Cancar

Ann McAleavy said... Hotel has replied

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 27th September 2013

Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff , comfortable rooms and good food all this for a fantastic price - put this hotel on your weekend away list !

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel. Look forward to welcoming you soon. Best Regards Manoj Cancar

Scot Hill said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2013

This is a great hotel whichwe would go back to and recommend to friends. The staff and management were

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Classic Britain. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Classic Britain are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Manoj Cancar

Leslie Logie said... Hotel has replied

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 17th September 2013

Meals were a little rushed although staff were pleasant

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Classic Britain. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Classic Britain are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Manoj Cancar

aileen mcguinness said... Hotel has replied

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th September 2013

Very nice comfortable hotel. Food very good and great service.Rooms ok. lovely views from bedroom and lounges. Only complaint was we had to share our table with one other person!!

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Classic Britain. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Classic Britain are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future. Regards to the table we had busy period and we have tables suitable for 2,4 and 6.but not many tables of 2 seats .sorry for Inconvenience caused Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Manoj Cancar

Edward heaney said... Hotel has replied

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th August 2013

Have a fantastic weekend here on 16th August, staff can't do enough for you, everything clean, great entertainment, amazing food and spectacular views from the front of the hotel.

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Classic Britain. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Classic Britain are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Manoj Cancar

Allison Hewitt said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th August 2013

Had a fantastic break

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Classic Britain. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Classic Britain are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Manoj Cancar

M Wardrop said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th August 2013

Had a brilliant time. hotel, food, service and entertainment was excellent. Exceptional views from terrace. Would definitely return some time soon.

Peter Malcolm said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th August 2013

My wife and I stayed from 9-12 August and found the hotel very comfortable, the staff were all very pleasant and nicely turned out. Staff in the dining room were very attentive and made sure that everything was right during our stay. As I suffer from Coeliac the staff made sure that anything I required food wise was organised for me. As much as i would have liked the bed to be a little longer it was comfortable, We would stay here again and recommend to friends

Margaret Montgomery said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th August 2013

Hotel, Food and Staff all 1st class - we were in bedrooms 14 and 16 which were just newly decorated - nice bathroom with shower. Hotel only 7 mins walk into town centre. Had a great 3 days break.

Diane MacDonald said...

64%
40%
80%
70%

Stayed 5th August 2013

First time at the Esplanade but we'll definitely be back! Super location with great sea views and very friendly staff who did their utmost to make you feel welcome. Room spacious and very clean albeit decor and furnishings need modernising (bed valances would improve appearance and hide worn bases) Lounge area and sun terrace have stunning views over the sea and very well kept garden area. Great to sit out and enjoy the sea air with a cool drink or a coffee. Stayed on midweek DBB package - good variety of 5 course set menu dinner choices, generous portions. Single sitting for dinner at 7p.m. results in crowded dining room but waiter service is quick and well organised. Car parking space is limited - hotel is accessed via a twisty one way street. We were lucky as most other guests with coach party but this could be a problem if lots of car owners staying. Easy access on foot to centre of Dunoon via promenade directly in front of hotel so we only used car when exploring further afield. Overall this was a good value break

david mcculloch said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 7th June 2013

Hotel,Service,Rooms,all were great. very nice place loved my weekend. only 1 thing that let it down just a minor one is the toilet rolls please upgrade as it will pay off as there will be less waste.

May Gilmour said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 4th June 2013

Staff all very pleasant and helpful. Entertainment finished early enough not to annoy non participants! Setting superb with splendid views and well kept gardens.

Pauline Lindenburn said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 1st June 2013

My mother and I had a great holiday here. Ideally situated right on the promenade, we had a lovely sea-view room, which was pristinely clean. Easy to get into the town of Dunoon. We paid for the better room update which was well worth the extra. My frail mother managed to get around the hotel as there were ways to avoid too many steps. Garden was well tended and very attractive. The food was delicious - dinner of 5 courses for under

kevin aird said...

40%
20%
50%
50%

Stayed 24th May 2013

Stayed for Long weekend bedroom was very small and in need if re- decorating hotel is very dated as well ! Entertainment was not to bad ! Overall had good weekend but hotel needs some TLC

Margaret Kirkaldy said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd May 2013

We didn't stay at the Esplanade as they had a burst pipe. We were moved to the Argyll Hotel for our 2 night stay which was excellent

E Kinnaird said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th May 2013

Always excellent.

I McDonald said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th April 2013

The Esplanade Hotel was very nice, great location overlooking the bay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The meals were good. I would recommend this Hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing break. The Hotel its self could do with some T.L.C.but was very clean and tidy. Really enjoyed staying here.

Moira Taylor said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th April 2013

Only one thing in our room 52 the shower head needed a good clean! On the whole we did get value for money

I Beveridge said...

90%
90%
80%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2013

Fantastic Hotel. Food first class.Great value for what we paid.

Philip Dearnaley said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2013

hotel was clean, staff friendly and helpful. hotel could improve signage as difficult to find the hotel car park

Mary McCallion said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th March 2013

We stayed here over the Easter weekend. Check-in went smoothly and we were taken to our rooms; our two superior rooms on the ground floor had stunning views of the River Clyde. The rooms appeared to be recently refurbished to a high standard and were very comfortable and spotless clean. Breakfast and 5 course dinner were delicious. It was a lovely touch to be served with hot cross buns on arrival and a chocolate Easter treat on Sunday morning at breakfast. Sub zero temperatures outside but all areas inside the hotel were kept nice and warm. Good entertainment was provided on both nights. All staff were friendly and attentive and are a credit to the hotel - we will definitely return.

Paula Farley said...

44%
50%
50%
30%

Stayed 29th March 2013

Hotel was clean and tidy. Was dissapointed with the food. The bar closed at eleven oclock while still ten people drinking, very dissapointing as this was our Easter break. My partner could not shower as the shower was only high enough for a very small person. W booked and paid for two nights but checked out after the first night as we could have had a more exciting break in front of our own telly