Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Tinto Hotel, Biggar

Biggar Road, Biggar, ML126FT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Michelle Greens said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th January 2019

I booked this stay for a Christmas present for my mum and dad. They really enjoyed the hotel, their room was great, the dinner was good and the breakfast was brilliant. The only issue they had was the Billy Connolly tribute act, they found him very crude and not what they expected at all!! My dad is a huge BC fan, so obviously the swearing doesn't offend them but certainly the vulgarity of things he was talking about. I'm really embarrassed that I sent them to this, by the sound of it he was more Roy Chubby Brown that Billy Connolly!! Not good x

A guest said...

60%
40%
60%
80%

Stayed 5th January 2019

Hotel was a bit tired and in need of an update but comfortable. Food was lovely. Comedy tribute act was not very good and was only on for about an hour all in.

John Strachan said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th December 2018

First night "candlelight dinner " didn't happen. Hogmany a big disappointment since the advertised "ceilidh " band played little or no Scottish music. This was the main reason that we booked this break. Also advertised piper at midnight failed to materialise. Misleading advertising.

Marion Kinsey said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd December 2018

Really enjoyed this hotel for Xmas.Food was very good.Staff were very attentive,friendly and hard working.Rooms need refurbished.Bath is too high.

michelle winslow said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th November 2018

We had a really nice stay, the entertainment was amazing and the food was lovely. We will definitely return for another night when there is a tribute act on that we want to see

Kathleen Murray said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2018

Great couple,of nights in a friendly hotel dinner was very good both night Gary Barlow tribute was good Biggar is a lovely wee place with a visit also to New Lanark

paul whyte said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th November 2018

cant comment on Robbie Williams tribute as my wife and our pal had a wee bit 2 many gins in the afternoon so we missed the show...but the breakfast wiz braw....we'll cu on auld years night

David Spencer said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th November 2018

8 people in our party for I night stay with tribute act. Excellent value for money. We all had a wonderful time. 3 course meal was very good with a decent choice. Tribute act put on a good show. Breakfast was very good with a good choice of food. All the staff were very welcoming, polite and courteous. The hotel itself was a beautiful old building, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, although in need of modernising.

paul whyte said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th November 2018

cant comment on Robbie Williams tribute as my wife and our pal had a wee bit 2 many gins in the afternoon so we missed the show...but the breakfast wiz braw....we'll cu on auld years night

JOHN SMITH said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th September 2018

We had a very enjoyable week end at this hotel ,we were in the older rooms in the rear part of the hotel they were spotlessly clean although the decor was dated the shower would also benefit from a new head ,the manager said he would attend to this.The tribute night was excellent ,food a bit hit or miss the buffet breakfast very good, cooked breakfast could be better All the staff without question are excellent and very attentive especially to our wee westie We would definitely recommend this hotel for a good value short break ,we hope to return soon .

Judith McCann said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th September 2018

Spent an enjoyable weekend at the Tinto Hotel . Brian was the perfect host from a welcoming reception to a fond farewell . The food was of a high quality room comfortable and the entertainment was very good. We tend to go to larger hotels with leisure facilities but this was a pleasant change. The location is ideal for visiting Biggar and Peebles . Would definitely consider a return visit very good value for money .

Mrs Ramage said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 19th June 2018

Excellent room and service. Staff were very pleasant

andrew thomson said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 15th June 2018

60’s tribute night was a bit disappointing , Disco played very few 60’s music and the group did not play any classic 60’s hits , no Beatles records at all and 3/4 hour break between with just disco music.

A guest said...

54%
40%
60%
60%

Stayed 25th May 2018

The Hotel and bedroom were very dated and worn. The staff and food were all good though. Nearest pub/restaurant is a bus ride or a £9 taxi ride away in Biggar, but worth the trip. The tribute act were also good in the hotel but the bar is a bit pricey.

Allan Clacher said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th May 2018

My wife and I recently stayed at the Tinto Hotel for a Lionel Richie tribute evening. From arriving at the hotel the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely room that was very clean. The evening meal and the act himself were exceptional. We met some lovely people and will definitely be back to this hotel.

Lynne Conaghan said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th April 2018

Fabulous value for money. We have visited several times and never been disappointed. Fantastic hotel. Kelly also remembered our breakfast order from previous visit. Warm and very friendly staff

tom mcfarlane said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th March 2018

Another lovely week end stay at the Tinto. When we arrived we were informed that our room had been upgraded which was a wonderful surprise. The meal on the Friday night was very nice and an only gripe was that the Irish coffee at the end of the meal was cold. However as we informed the waiter we were not charged for the coffee. The tribute on the Saturday was very entertaining and once again the choice for the meal was excellent. Throughout our stay the staff were brilliant especially Lynn who could not do more to help you. A thoroughly relaxing and enjoyably week end break and a Hotel we will certainly revisit.

Eveline Duncan said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd April 2018

Lovely hotel. Large rooms, friendly staff. Good food. A hidden gem.nwe will definitely be back.

Catherine Macdonald said...

34%
40%
50%
10%

Stayed 24th March 2018

I booked 2 rooms for The tamala Motown night,for myself and friends,rooms are tried and in need of a facelift ,our meal was included in the night which was terrible,breakfast was ok,my husband and friends got the fry up and I asked for 2 poached eggs they told me there wasn’t any eggs left as they had all been fryed or scrambled ,and that was us down early that morning ?

Michelle Auld said... Hotel has replied

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th March 2018

Had a great night at the Tinto! Rooms are large and clean, Staff polite and attentive, food excellent and the entertainment first class with a big shout out to the dj who had the company on the floor dancing from the outset. Brilliant hotel and would highly recommend - we will be back!

Hotel reply...

Dear Michelle Auld Thank you for the excellent review, I am really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the recommendation. Can't wait to see you next time. With thanks and regards Elaine - Sales Manager

Alexander Stewart said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 16th February 2018

A nice hotel but a little bit tired looking. Excellent value for money and would stay here again no problem.

margaret MORRISON said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd February 2018

The weekend was excellent staff very helpful and friendly. Food both nights was excellent also entertainment was also good even though not a great amount booked. Only disappointment no rose wine on Friday and was assured the bar would be stocked for the Saturday four people in our company and only got one bottle on Saturday apparently only four bottles were purchased. Not great for a hotel with wine menus.

Liz Highet said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd February 2018

We enjoyed a lovely stay at the Tinto Hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, room very clean, breakfast was lovely and a lovely atmosphere about the place. Definitely be back. Thank you.

Liz Highet said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd February 2018

We enjoyed a lovely stay at the Tinto Hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, room very clean, breakfast was lovely and a lovely atmosphere about the place. Definitely be back. Thank you.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 31st December 2017

We were well looked after and the staff were great. The New Year’s Eve party was excellent but the entertainment for New Year’s Day was perhaps not the best choice for the majority of guests, though that’s not suggesting the duo performing was bad. We understand there’s been some refurbishment, however in our rooms, while the beds were comfortable and the rooms spacious, the bathrooms were in need of a facelift, the baths in particular being difficult to get in and out of. Also no lift but there are ground floor rooms if you can’t do stairs.The hotel was easy to find but fairly isolated, so there’s the feel of being in the country but also the necessity of the car - for example, it’s suggested that Tinto Hill overlooks the hotel, however if you want to climb it then the addition of the walk to and from it may prove too far. The biggest letdown for us was the number of dogs staying there. None of them caused any problems or created a nuisance but there was a distinct ‘wet dog’ smell in some parts of the hotel, and no point sitting in the lounge if there’s any reason for you to avoid them. For us, while we do think it’s good that dogs are allowed to stay, we weren’t particularly keen on having them around in the communal areas.