Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Christopher Platt said...

67%
50%
50%
100%

Stayed 6th March 2020

It was a 50/50 positive and negative thoughts about Shrigley hall hotel, we arrived earlier than 3pm and they were kind enough to let us check in early, the first room we were given we had to change as we had been put in an old style room and it was not up to standard, just run down tired looking, the bathroom was just too much, black grout, mouldy seal round bath, chipped sink. Could of dealt with it but then noticed the massive cobwebs round dirty peeling window frame, at that we went trailing back down to reception (as it was a maze of corridors and stairs) and asked to be moved which they did straight away without asking why, so we suspect they have had that complaint before, the next room had been renovated, and was lovely, there was a spa issue at first, the deal we had booked said free entry any time during Feb/March no restrictions, but when we arrived the receptionist told us we couldn’t go in until 3pm unless we paid £10 each. I showed her my booking reservation and the terms and conditions and she said there was that many deals going on she couldn’t keep up, we were then allowed in to pool area. We had done dinner bed and breakfast deal, when we went for dinner, we were put into a room away from main dining area (the area with tree in middle) I suspect if you have come on one of the many deals that are in various websites you get put in said room to eat, felt bit out of it atmosphere wise, food was delicious, breakfast in morning was delicious, the coffee at breakfast was really good from the machine but really good coffee. I just feel because you book on a deal you get second best but that’s not fair, don’t offer the deals in that case, I think once whole hotel is renovated it could be a fantastic place but currently it’s 50/50. Also it is a country house grand frontage but rooms are basically in a travel lodge style building added onto the old house. Get that area right as well and could be a fantastic place and would definitely visit again and recommend to people.

Adele Brown said...

34%
50%
20%
30%

Stayed 20th February 2020

This is my 3rd break at Shrigley Hall and the last 2 stays at least one room wasn’t ready but on this occasion neither room was ready! We didn’t get our room keys until 6:15pm. I has also requested adjoining rooms and the adjoining door was unlocked and despite calling reception on several occasions our adjoining door was not unlocked until we came back from dinner at 9:30pm! We ordered drinks at the table but our food was served and we had finished our starters before food arrived. Evening meal was not very good only just warm and not much flavour the dessert was really good though. The spa was very busy and children in the pool until gone 6:30pm. New refurbishment is looking good. Thinking about complaining to the hall direct.

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 22nd January 2020

Very enjoyable one night stay. The food was good and the room was nice.

Melanie Curbishley said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th December 2019

Fabulous hotel with excellent food and facilities, however the outstanding thing about this hotel is the Staff, they could not have been more helpful or attentive - thank you.

Valentino Dinardo said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th December 2019

A very pleasant stay as always. Great atmosphere, staff and spa facilities.

A guest said...

67%
80%
40%
80%

Stayed 6th December 2019

Hotel is in desperate need of renovation, which is currently underway. The spa area is awful with mouldy walls, jacuzzi and pool need cleaning, water fountain falling to bits. Not a nice relaxing area. Bedroom lovely, couldn't fault it. Extremely slow service in restaurant, waited over an hour for our mains. But, when arrived the food was lovely. We wont be returning, such a shame as this hotel could lovely.

Neil pile said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th November 2019

The room and staff were excellent but the wait time in the restaurant was very slow as some people got there meal before us who had arrived after

David Pridding said...

64%
30%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past and always had an enjoyable time. Unfortunately. due to the current refurbishments the room was not as comfortable. There were no carpets on the bare wooden floors which were very cold. Take your slippers! Also, there was only one plastic chair at the dressing table which wasnt particularly comfortable so we had to sit on the bed.We got the impression that they didnt want people to be comfortable in the room, but to use the bar downstairs which is very expensive. However, the room was spotless , the bed comfortable and the meal in the restaurant was very good as usual. Also, the breakfast had plenty of choice and hot food as it always is. A once traditional hotel has become trendy at the expense of comfort.

Mark Richards said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 1st November 2019

Stayed at Shrigley on a DB&B deal. Hotel had a good atmosphere overall and we enjoyed our stay. Hotel was very busy making the spa / pool area quite crowded (lockers not easy to operate). We stayed in a refurbished room but was slightly disappointed with the room, as it was very small and quite a walk to bar and restaurant areas, It was also at the rear of the hotel near to the car park and it was quite noisy overnight. We had the window open because the room was very warm even with the radiator turned off. It's sounds like I'm complaining a lot but just trying to paint a fair picture, on the whole we would stay again but ask for a better room. Lastly the food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast and staff were friendly and helpful.

Roy Scattergood said...

84%
80%
70%
100%

Stayed 29th October 2019

Really impressive hotel set in stunning grounds overlooking Manchester in the distance. Rang ahead to request an updated room, for £10 extra it was money well spent. The pool area is a very nice way to relax for a couple of hours. The three course meal included was of a very good quality, the wine was a little on the pricey side but very nice. Room was very nice, large comfortable bed. Excellent choice of food for breakfast. This was a last minute booking of which we were delighted, we would happily return and recommend to those looking to go.

lisa willetts said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th October 2019

We had a great time it’s our second time there, really enjoyed our stay.

IAN SNAPE said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 19th October 2019

Lovely hotel excellent food nice room just needs mattress changing springs starting to come through had uncomfortable night

Linda Slack said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 5th September 2019

We went to breakfast at 9.30 and the buffet hot food was below previous standards and only enough fruit for 1 of us. The table for 4 at the evening meal was cramped. Saying all this we had a lovely stay, staff and rooms good and we would return

Ruth Reid said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th May 2019

Very nice one night stay . Facilities very good the breakfast and Erving meal was delicious.staff very friendly and helpful

Tracey Bowden said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th May 2019

Had a lovely night away at Shrigley Hall, relaxing afternoon in the spa, followed by delicious food in the restaurant. The rooms are clean and have a spacious bathroom, the spa is nice and has undergone a refurbishment since I last went, it's based inside the old chapel and is a lovely setting. The hotel in various areas was being refurbished but we didn't hear any noise etc from this. The areas they everyone completed are lovely! Had a nice walk around the woodlands and saw a pea sitting on a golf buggy!! Will definitely be going back and would recommend to anyone who's after a relaxing break away.

Margaret Robson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd May 2019

A beautiful setting for a short break,good food and very pleasant ambience

Deb Sproston-Bewley said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th May 2019

Lovely hotel wonderful staff food good. Only problem full of golf groups more like being at a stag do. Very intimidated in the bar due to their behaviour. Woken at 2.30 by the men in room above having a argument and really shouting and swearing. Doors banging all night from other rooms. As two ladies staying it was rather disappointing and disturbing.

Barry Garnett said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th May 2019

The overall impression of Shrigley hall was very impressive, unfortunatly as the stay progressed we came up against the limitations 1/ The breakfast was completely self service including the toast and hot drinks from machines! The actual quality of the food was again good but the whole experience was crowded, noisy and reminiscent of motorway service centers. 2/ the room was described as "deluxe" it was an accessible room with a four poster bed but only double size which had very little room to each side of it. and a full wet room en-suite. Once we used the shower, which worked well, the room was extremely wet over the full floor area which was not very convenient the room was getting well past its sell by date but in fairness the hotel was working on refurbishments and the corridor of completed rooms looked very attractive. This was ok as we were on discounted rates. 3/ A major problem to us was the lack of residents lounge facilities, the only easy chairs available were in the bar area (very crowded and noisy) or a few in reception area (cramped, busy, and cold from the ever opening doors. We felt sorry for the receptionists who had to work in those conditions. 4/ Chaos on checking out as there was only one receptionist who had not done the job previously, we were simply presented with a total cost with no breakdown but as it was about the right amount we paid up and left.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2019

We had an amazing time at Shrigley Hall Hotel. The standard was excellent and staff were friendly. I first visited back in the 80's and was delighted to see that it is still as beautiful as ever. The dinner, bed & breakfast package was very good value and I will certainly book again.

A guest said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 6th April 2019

A great night away with fantastic food

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd April 2019

An excellent stay enjoyed by 16 walkers

Lorraine Alsop said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th March 2019

Lovely break at Shrigley Hall, weather was beautiful and the rooms had obviously been refurbished. The only negative comment I can make is that the drinks are a bit expensive.

A guest said...

70%
40%
80%
90%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

Rooms now updated. But, a minimum of 2 chairs essential. Delayed service at reception, need more staff please. Food excellent. A better choice of beers in bar would be nice. Enjoyed our stay. Hope to return.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th March 2019

Excellent stay at Shrigley Hall. The staff were most helpful with communication and requests beforehand with particular thanks to Ellis. Very happy with our room,meals and everything in general.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th March 2019

Excellent stay at Shrigley Hall. The staff were most helpful with communication and requests beforehand with particular thanks to Ellis. Very happy with our room,meals and everything in general.