Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

Tracy Mcentee said...

10%
N/A
10%
N/A

Stayed 22nd June 2019

We love this hotel but unfortunately for us on sat 22nd there was a wedding and we was put right above the noise, I must say that the manager was very helpful also was jess on reception, so if you book this hotel just ask if there is a wedding on and please don't put me above the noise.....

Ruth Reid said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th May 2019

Very nice one night stay . Facilities very good the breakfast and Erving meal was delicious.staff very friendly and helpful

Tracey Bowden said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th May 2019

Had a lovely night away at Shrigley Hall, relaxing afternoon in the spa, followed by delicious food in the restaurant. The rooms are clean and have a spacious bathroom, the spa is nice and has undergone a refurbishment since I last went, it's based inside the old chapel and is a lovely setting. The hotel in various areas was being refurbished but we didn't hear any noise etc from this. The areas they everyone completed are lovely! Had a nice walk around the woodlands and saw a pea sitting on a golf buggy!! Will definitely be going back and would recommend to anyone who's after a relaxing break away.

Margaret Robson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd May 2019

A beautiful setting for a short break,good food and very pleasant ambience

Deb Sproston-Bewley said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th May 2019

Lovely hotel wonderful staff food good. Only problem full of golf groups more like being at a stag do. Very intimidated in the bar due to their behaviour. Woken at 2.30 by the men in room above having a argument and really shouting and swearing. Doors banging all night from other rooms. As two ladies staying it was rather disappointing and disturbing.

A guest said...

50%
20%
60%
70%

Stayed 11th May 2019

In truth I was a little disappointed by the hotel. I had a pre-conceived idea this was a "premium" venue, but it didn't really meet our expectations. It was in need of much TLC, the rooms were very dated and tatty 1970's style although it seems they are trying to do it up, only the main public areas have any sign of work done on them so far. The place felt like it was dominated by golf break offers - as my wife put it: "It's a golf course with a hotel on it." Service was ok, but there were a lot of young staff who were trying their very best, but it felt like no-one was in charge of them and what they were doing - as such it all felt a little hap-hazard (this is not meant in any detriment to the young staff trying their hardest). I have used a DBB offer at other hotels before and this one was 50% more than one we regularly go to. I was happy to pay as this, as it was a birthday present and anticipated a high standard, but the place we have used before is by far better. It is doubtful we will use this place again, which is a shame as it sits in some of the most lovely landscape and scenery.

Barry Garnett said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th May 2019

The overall impression of Shrigley hall was very impressive, unfortunatly as the stay progressed we came up against the limitations 1/ The breakfast was completely self service including the toast and hot drinks from machines! The actual quality of the food was again good but the whole experience was crowded, noisy and reminiscent of motorway service centers. 2/ the room was described as "deluxe" it was an accessible room with a four poster bed but only double size which had very little room to each side of it. and a full wet room en-suite. Once we used the shower, which worked well, the room was extremely wet over the full floor area which was not very convenient the room was getting well past its sell by date but in fairness the hotel was working on refurbishments and the corridor of completed rooms looked very attractive. This was ok as we were on discounted rates. 3/ A major problem to us was the lack of residents lounge facilities, the only easy chairs available were in the bar area (very crowded and noisy) or a few in reception area (cramped, busy, and cold from the ever opening doors. We felt sorry for the receptionists who had to work in those conditions. 4/ Chaos on checking out as there was only one receptionist who had not done the job previously, we were simply presented with a total cost with no breakdown but as it was about the right amount we paid up and left.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2019

We had an amazing time at Shrigley Hall Hotel. The standard was excellent and staff were friendly. I first visited back in the 80's and was delighted to see that it is still as beautiful as ever. The dinner, bed & breakfast package was very good value and I will certainly book again.

Lynsay Panther said...

64%
80%
60%
50%

Stayed 13th April 2019

Overall we enjoyed our stay but I think a few minor tweaks are required to improve the quality and service. The panini was missing avocado. Pool wasn't open, dinner service lacked something.

A guest said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 6th April 2019

A great night away with fantastic food

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd April 2019

An excellent stay enjoyed by 16 walkers

Lorraine Alsop said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th March 2019

Lovely break at Shrigley Hall, weather was beautiful and the rooms had obviously been refurbished. The only negative comment I can make is that the drinks are a bit expensive.

A guest said...

70%
40%
80%
90%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

Rooms now updated. But, a minimum of 2 chairs essential. Delayed service at reception, need more staff please. Food excellent. A better choice of beers in bar would be nice. Enjoyed our stay. Hope to return.

Michelle Dawson said...

64%
60%
80%
50%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

We throughly enjoyed our stay and for what we paid it was a good deal. If we had paid more though we would been very dissapointed! We had requested a refurbished room but this was not granted! The room we were given was very spacious but zero view and the head board was very tatty and worn. The spa area was very dated and we could see broken tiles hidden away in the steam room. The food was average, lovely starter of soup . Lovely dessert of Bakewell tart. However I chose to Pay the £9 supplement for the steak and was beyond disappointed. It was not very pleasant at all. On the whole we enjoyed our stay but will not be visiting again and would not be recommending it to friends!

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th March 2019

Excellent stay at Shrigley Hall. The staff were most helpful with communication and requests beforehand with particular thanks to Ellis. Very happy with our room,meals and everything in general.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th March 2019

Excellent stay at Shrigley Hall. The staff were most helpful with communication and requests beforehand with particular thanks to Ellis. Very happy with our room,meals and everything in general.

Frances Edger said...

44%
0%
50%
80%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

We left the hotel a day early due to the cleanliness of the room we were allocated (102). We didn't get charged for the second night as we did not wish to stay any longer, we left the hotel and returned home on Sunday morning. We left a note of complaint with reception and I have since liaised and received an apology from Deborah Bland, Head of Housekeeping. Debbie has offered a reduced rate for a second stay at the hotel but am still awaiting confirmation what the the offer includes in respect to her and the Hotels apologies.

susan brooks said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2019

Our room was very shabby, dated and the bed was horribly uncomfortable. However, as we were only staying 1 night we didn't let it spoil our stay. The hotel is beautuful, the staff were friendly and the food in the Oakridge Restaurant was wonderful.

Helen Atkinson said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2019

Lovely hotel , staff so welcoming . Food excellent, so will be there again soon.

Doreen Darnell said...

57%
20%
70%
80%

Stayed 7th March 2019

Beautiful hotel food delicious but very disappointed with both rooms. Dark and depressing. View of air conditioning vents from our room. Springs gone on Bed and noisy everytime you moved.

Kim Brannigan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th March 2019

Ive been to shrigley hall a few times and always enjoy my stay.nice clean comfy rooms with lovely bathrooms and amazing 3 course meal in the evening.never had a bad meal here.staff are always friendly and helpful

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

Excellent stay. Great use of spa. Used the room Service option for evening food and great breakfast in the morning in the restaurant.

Michelle Gunn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

We had a really lovely time , the staff are brilliant they can't do enough for you and are very polite. Spa lovely room beautiful and amazing value for money.

A guest said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

Another excellent stay very polite welcome with Buck’s Fizz whilst checking in which was a nice touch. Lunch was quite basic for the price cheese and pickle sandwich maybe as a suggestion some more appealing gluten free bread but tasted fine. Dinner was excellent food and service impeccable. Noticed the ladies changing rooms in the pool area have been recently renovated which looks good and the hallway to the restaurant and restaurant itself shame the piano has gone. Would have be perfect with a little evening entertainment like last time there was a singer in the bar. Will definitely return again

Tracy Coates said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

After reading the reviews, decided they were 50/50 good & not so good, so booked, 6 of us. We paid the £10 to have a refurb room, which seemed to be the bug bare for most. The rooms were lovely, spacious, modern and beautifully cleaned. The facilities were excellent, gym fully fitted and we had it to ourselves, pool was lovely & warm, jacuzzi very hot, and steam room lovely to finish off. We did the £69 deal per person, paid an extra £10 to have a refurbed room, included three course dinner, choices very good, supplement for steak & cheese board, you get that most places, breakfast buffet, all you could think of. We, all six of us would give you 10/10, thankyou.