Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Michelle Dawson said...

64%
60%
80%
50%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

We throughly enjoyed our stay and for what we paid it was a good deal. If we had paid more though we would been very dissapointed! We had requested a refurbished room but this was not granted! The room we were given was very spacious but zero view and the head board was very tatty and worn. The spa area was very dated and we could see broken tiles hidden away in the steam room. The food was average, lovely starter of soup . Lovely dessert of Bakewell tart. However I chose to Pay the £9 supplement for the steak and was beyond disappointed. It was not very pleasant at all. On the whole we enjoyed our stay but will not be visiting again and would not be recommending it to friends!

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th March 2019

Excellent stay at Shrigley Hall. The staff were most helpful with communication and requests beforehand with particular thanks to Ellis. Very happy with our room,meals and everything in general.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 14th March 2019

Excellent stay at Shrigley Hall. The staff were most helpful with communication and requests beforehand with particular thanks to Ellis. Very happy with our room,meals and everything in general.

Frances Edger said...

44%
0%
50%
80%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

We left the hotel a day early due to the cleanliness of the room we were allocated (102). We didn't get charged for the second night as we did not wish to stay any longer, we left the hotel and returned home on Sunday morning. We left a note of complaint with reception and I have since liaised and received an apology from Deborah Bland, Head of Housekeeping. Debbie has offered a reduced rate for a second stay at the hotel but am still awaiting confirmation what the the offer includes in respect to her and the Hotels apologies.

susan brooks said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2019

Our room was very shabby, dated and the bed was horribly uncomfortable. However, as we were only staying 1 night we didn't let it spoil our stay. The hotel is beautuful, the staff were friendly and the food in the Oakridge Restaurant was wonderful.

Helen Atkinson said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2019

Lovely hotel , staff so welcoming . Food excellent, so will be there again soon.

Doreen Darnell said...

57%
20%
70%
80%

Stayed 7th March 2019

Beautiful hotel food delicious but very disappointed with both rooms. Dark and depressing. View of air conditioning vents from our room. Springs gone on Bed and noisy everytime you moved.

Kim Brannigan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th March 2019

Ive been to shrigley hall a few times and always enjoy my stay.nice clean comfy rooms with lovely bathrooms and amazing 3 course meal in the evening.never had a bad meal here.staff are always friendly and helpful

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

Excellent stay. Great use of spa. Used the room Service option for evening food and great breakfast in the morning in the restaurant.

Michelle Gunn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

We had a really lovely time , the staff are brilliant they can't do enough for you and are very polite. Spa lovely room beautiful and amazing value for money.

A guest said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

Another excellent stay very polite welcome with Buck’s Fizz whilst checking in which was a nice touch. Lunch was quite basic for the price cheese and pickle sandwich maybe as a suggestion some more appealing gluten free bread but tasted fine. Dinner was excellent food and service impeccable. Noticed the ladies changing rooms in the pool area have been recently renovated which looks good and the hallway to the restaurant and restaurant itself shame the piano has gone. Would have be perfect with a little evening entertainment like last time there was a singer in the bar. Will definitely return again

Tracy Coates said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

After reading the reviews, decided they were 50/50 good & not so good, so booked, 6 of us. We paid the £10 to have a refurb room, which seemed to be the bug bare for most. The rooms were lovely, spacious, modern and beautifully cleaned. The facilities were excellent, gym fully fitted and we had it to ourselves, pool was lovely & warm, jacuzzi very hot, and steam room lovely to finish off. We did the £69 deal per person, paid an extra £10 to have a refurbed room, included three course dinner, choices very good, supplement for steak & cheese board, you get that most places, breakfast buffet, all you could think of. We, all six of us would give you 10/10, thankyou.

A guest said...

85%
80%
90%
N/A

Stayed 24th February 2019

The hotel room was very clean and spacious and all the staff were very helpful and welcoming throughout the stay. The quality of the food was somewhat disappointing and this would have been helped had it been served a little hotter. The situation and grounds of the hotel would be hard to better. Overall a really nice break.

Liz Bielby said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

Lovely hotel and gorgeous food very good offer .

A guest said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 20th February 2019

The food and service were excellent. Our room on the 3rd floor was comfortable and spacious. The hotel was being updated but the decorators hadn't reached the 3rd floor yet. Unfortunately the room only had a Velux window so there was no view to admire.

Patrick Brierley said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 20th February 2019

Lovely place to stay... It was overbooked so we got a room upgrade and it was fantastic! The staff were friendly, polite and kind and the building and grounds were so picturesque. My only complaint is the dinner was a little substandard. However, apart from that, it was a brilliant little getaway and I would 100% recommend staying here.

Jane Fullaway said...

64%
10%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th February 2019

Really had a lovely time, Bargain rate included 3 course meal and breakfast, room was spotless and warm with good food. Staff was friendly too

Justine Linda Nuttall said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2019

Lovely hotel, lovely staff, lovely food - breakfast and evening meal. Did not use the spa. No complaints.

julie anne kennedy said...

85%
N/A
80%
90%

Stayed 15th February 2019

Had a brilliant stay the room had been updated and it was fabulous, the food was tasty , the surroundings were beautiful and all staff members were very polite, I will definitely be returning as long as I get room 211 again !!

Deb Townsend said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th February 2019

Lovely time ,food was lovely, the word of the day lovely well Worth a visit .

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th February 2019

Room was good dinner was amazing however breakfast was very poor

Janette Morris said...

47%
80%
50%
10%

Stayed 10th February 2019

The hotel is being updated. The main house is lovely. Where the upgrades have been done, looks very good. Bar and Restaurant very nice. Our original room was awful 117. looked at though there had been a fight in there. Asked to be moved was allocated 339, was very nice, clearly had been updated. The breakfast was great, self service. The dinner was awful. Apart from finding a piece of plastic in my fish, the food and service was terrible, food was undercooked and cold, tiny portions. Requested ice 4 times for my drink before it was given.

Kimberley Seabrook said...

60%
80%
50%
50%

Stayed 3rd February 2019

All in all I had a good deal with my hotel booking.com. if I had been paying the full price I'd have been a little disappointed. I found hairs in the bath and a very large rip on one of the chairs in my room. I know this is a very old building but the corridors are very creaky and kept me awake. I was a but miffed that although my stay included the use o spa facilities my husband and I had to pay £5 each for a robe to enter the wet area. Breakfast was included in the price and when arriving in the dining room at shortly after 8am it seemed we were the first down. It was okay. But only large cups for a self service coffee and no tea cups for a cup of tea. Hot breakfast was very dry being held under the lights and there was no option for an egg. With that being said what a beautiful building set in beautiful grounds. Worth a visit. I must say the local pub in bollington where we dined on Sunday evening was very good. ( the church inn) home cooked and service was amazing.

A guest said...

30%
0%
20%
70%

Stayed 26th January 2019

Disappointing! The first family room we were allocated was of a very poor standard with furniture that even the local tip would have refused! When I asked to be moved, the manager that came to our room to see what the problems were simply gave the response "I know! I know! I know!" when being shown. Surely, if these issues were known in advance then the room shouldn't be let out to customers paying good money for a night away. The second room we were put in was just ok and when I say this, I mean just a little more acceptable than the first. The furniture and bathroom were very tired in appearance. The manager dealt with the room change quickly and was understanding. The hotel was undergoing refurb which we did not know in advance. The spa facilities were nice and at breakfast, there was plenty of choice. Drinks seemed quite expensive with a tea and coffee costing just shy of £8 and being served with a dirty saucer that simply had a napkin covering it! It was a pretty setting and would make a lovely wedding venue if you dare.... It lacked general attention to detail. When I think of a spa hotel, I think of luxury and this was lacking it, greatly!

Alison Haughton said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th January 2019

Fabulous value for money break - wished we could have stopped longer! Bucks Fizz on arrival,was a nice touch. Evening meal was lovely and the service at the hotel was very good.