Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

Denise Clelland said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 3rd August 2018

Really enjoyable stay. Booked again for 2 nights

Simon Turner said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd August 2018

An excellent break. Very good value. Clean an£ spacious room and great food in the restaurant. Thoroughly recommend.

A guest said...

67%
50%
60%
90%

Stayed 23rd July 2018

On arrival the check in process could have been better with only one young lady dealing with customers although voices behind the screen could be heard. We were allocated our room and given directions to get to it which seemed a tad complicated but after trekking along corridors we eventually found the second lift to take us to the second floor then another trek to our room. By this time l was out of breath and we decided that it was not convenient for me to have to do this trek each time we left the room for other parts of the hall and it’s facilities so hubby returned to reception to check on any alternative rooms. I suffer with COPD and have less than 50% lung capacity and whilst l hadn’t declared this when booking l realise now this is something l must do in the future to secure a more conviently placed room to amenities. The hall itself is quite beautiful in places having a fantastic domed ceiling above the staircase and an ornate ceiling in the reception area. Our second room was to the very front of the building with a smallish window half of which was opened to its imum but as the day was so very hot with little wind the room was stifling even with a fan going full blast however l was close to a lift with little walking to do. We had to go down to the entrance hall to try and cool off and found the courtyard bar was quite pleasant so stopped for a cool drink. Our evening meal was not until 7.45 due to there being a large party in the hotel but once we sat in the restaurant and ordered the first course didn’t arrive until 8.15 - the food was very good and although limited choice we both enjoyed our dishes it was just the lengthy process between courses we didn’t like. Had a short stroll outside to cool off before going up to the room which was still very hot despite the second fan reception had arranged for us. Unfortunately l was unable to sleep because of the heat so the night dragged out and was pleased when daylight came. The breakfast was a buffet affair and self service but the food was hot and plentiful. We tried the leisure facilities in the afternoon which were lovely, pool was cool and refreshing just what we needed. Overall a pleasant stay in spite o the drawbacks - the rooms are tired and need refurbing the a/c could and should be sorted especially as it was already installed just not working in the room and the other issue l would raise is that the dining room staff have more training, looking after customers first and not recently vacated tables has got to be priority especially as we had to wait much too long between courses.

Anna Li said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th July 2018

Wow we loved this place. Really good value for money - beautiful building and house, lovely breakfast (great sausages), and the lovely weather helped! Came for a wedding, I was sad to leave and trying to work out when we could return. Still need to try out the pool and the crazy golf! Only word of advice - make sure to listen to directions to your room, as the place is a bit of a maze!

Anna Li said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th July 2018

Wow we loved this place. Really good value for money - beautiful building and house, lovely breakfast (great sausages), and the lovely weather helped! Came for a wedding, I was sad to leave and trying to work out when we could return. Still need to try out the pool and the crazy golf! Only word of advice - make sure to listen to directions to your room, as the place is a bit of a maze!

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th July 2018

This was our sixth stay. We booked a dinner inclusive package. Food very good. Will go again

Joanne Roper lucera said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th June 2018

fantastic value for such an amazing place . food was excellent, rooms very clean and spa was lovely . Would highly recommend and will definatly return

James Earl said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 21st June 2018

.

Karen Valentine said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 11th May 2018

Lovely stay in a beautiful building and grounds. Room ok bathroom could do with updating but they are in the middle of a refurbishment. Food was lovely, service was great. Spa facilities ok. Pool, jacuzzi and steam room only.

Francesca Massey said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2018

Great value for money lovely stay, excellent food!

Kevin Kirwan said...

47%
0%
70%
70%

Stayed 12th April 2018

Hotel staff without exception were friendly and efficient. Food was generally good, but breakfast appeared to be reheated in the main. However, our room (118) was appalling. It was so small that the door couldn't be opened without hitting the bed. There was an inch of dust on the arms of the bedside lights. The windows were filthy. The base of the bed was not joined together and there was a dangerous bracket hanging off it. The bed base was again filthy, and the quilt had nasty looking stains all over it. The bath had a massive dirty chip in it and the blinds in the bathroom were mouldy in the corner. Additionally the room was over the function area and the noise until about 1.00am was unbelievable. This was then followed by our fellow guests running up and down the corridor and shouting until the very small hours. Totally would never go there again.

Michael Yates said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 12th April 2018

We had a very pleasant stay in Shrigley Hall. All the staff were excellent, the bar was comfortable and the beers were good. the only very minorissue with the room was the peeling paintwork in the bathroom. The staff in the restaurant in the evening were under a bit of pressure, understaffed I guess, but that didn't spoil our night at all . We will return hopefully when it's dry to enjoy the extensive grounds.

susan greenwood said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2018

Brilliant stay, beautiful hotel & grounds, staff always pleasant and helpful, food excellent. Also had spa treatments which were very relaxing, lovely staff, will return.

Cheryl Williams said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd April 2018

Enjoyable stay used pool,sauna and gym, which were very good the food and service excellent, We would return here again

Kath Lowden said...

85%
80%
N/A
90%

Stayed 1st April 2018

Really lovely hotel, food and spa, would go again.

wayne harrison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2018

Had a great stay at Shrigley Hall, from when we arrived to when we left the staff and the food was excellent. We upgraded our room and is was well worth the extra cost and we look forward to going back again in the near future.

Leesa O'Reggio-Cox said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th March 2018

We had a memorable staff . The hotel is very grand on entrance and decor in parts of the building are in character to era . Facilities are great staff are friendly and so efficient. The leisure centre is lush . Great pool sauna steam and jacuzzi . We arrived on the Sunday for 2 nights so it was quieter on weekdays . Food was beautiful and a good choice for all diets . The bar area was relaxing with a lovely atmosphere and friendly guests .

Ann Horner said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th March 2018

Fabulous value, lovely hotel,good food and friendly staff. Only criticism,we took our two dogs and there was not really anywhere in the 200+ acres of the grounds to walk the dogs, because of the golf course.

Emma Ratcliffe said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th March 2018

The hotel is stunning, very impressive with great views. The staff were all friendly and efficient. We had dinner in the restaurant which was outstanding. Self service breakfast was busy but well stocked and good quality. The leisure facilities were ok, pool was a bit on the cold side, changing rooms were small and in need of a bit of updating. Our bedroom wasn't as good. This is a large hotel and it was a hell of a walk to our room (137). The room was reasonably clean but very tired (peeling wallpaper, stains on ceiling, worn furniture), too warm even with the window open, and a bit noisy. Must say we were disappointed with the bedroom and expected it to be nicer.

eileen Uttley said...

84%
100%
50%
100%

Stayed 26th February 2018

absolutely fantastic, beautiful hotel, fab spa, all the staff really lovely. Only let down was the long wait between courses during the evening meal. A couple behind us, waited 45 minutes for their soup!! The waiter was completely unaware of this! However, this would not deter us from visiting this beautiful place again. Brilliant value, and the room itself was lovely. Everywhere was spotless, professional staff, helpful and informative. Evening meal was delicious and great choice. Thank you we will certainly visit again x Amazing surroundings, stunning views x

sharon carnell said...

74%
20%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th February 2018

Been to Shrigley 3 times. Staff are really friendly , food fantastic

deb willetts said...

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 23rd February 2018

We have been here twice before but it is beginning to look very tired. Restaurant staff, not all, but some had not got a clue, had to request table to be cleaned, sugar, tea spoon, etc. Reception staff excellent

dave howard said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd February 2018

Great hotel and staff. Very welcoming on arrival. Used the spa, restaurant and bar and could not fault anything about our stay. Will definitely return.

Karen Lawton said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th February 2018

Lovely time spent at the hotel with 3 girl friends for overnight stay. The room was clean and good size for 2 people. I felt the pool was too small for the size of the hotel but it was clean and had a swim when there was a space to swim into, didn’t use jacuzzi or sauna the spa area was pleasant and good to chill even if you didn’t use the facilities, staff in the spa n other areas of the hotel very helpful and friendly. Food was lovely both dinner and breakfast. Would recommend.

Barbara Lloyd said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2018

From walking in the front door we were very well looked after.the bar was in a great location in the conservatory and the food in rhe restaurant was delicious.Our room was clean and a good size and the staff were very friendly and helpful