Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

83%

Francesca Massey said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2018

Great value for money lovely stay, excellent food!

Kevin Kirwan said...

47%
0%
70%
70%

Stayed 12th April 2018

Hotel staff without exception were friendly and efficient. Food was generally good, but breakfast appeared to be reheated in the main. However, our room (118) was appalling. It was so small that the door couldn't be opened without hitting the bed. There was an inch of dust on the arms of the bedside lights. The windows were filthy. The base of the bed was not joined together and there was a dangerous bracket hanging off it. The bed base was again filthy, and the quilt had nasty looking stains all over it. The bath had a massive dirty chip in it and the blinds in the bathroom were mouldy in the corner. Additionally the room was over the function area and the noise until about 1.00am was unbelievable. This was then followed by our fellow guests running up and down the corridor and shouting until the very small hours. Totally would never go there again.

Michael Yates said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 12th April 2018

We had a very pleasant stay in Shrigley Hall. All the staff were excellent, the bar was comfortable and the beers were good. the only very minorissue with the room was the peeling paintwork in the bathroom. The staff in the restaurant in the evening were under a bit of pressure, understaffed I guess, but that didn't spoil our night at all . We will return hopefully when it's dry to enjoy the extensive grounds.

susan greenwood said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2018

Brilliant stay, beautiful hotel & grounds, staff always pleasant and helpful, food excellent. Also had spa treatments which were very relaxing, lovely staff, will return.

Cheryl Williams said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd April 2018

Enjoyable stay used pool,sauna and gym, which were very good the food and service excellent, We would return here again

Kath Lowden said...

85%
80%
N/A
90%

Stayed 1st April 2018

Really lovely hotel, food and spa, would go again.

wayne harrison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2018

Had a great stay at Shrigley Hall, from when we arrived to when we left the staff and the food was excellent. We upgraded our room and is was well worth the extra cost and we look forward to going back again in the near future.

Leesa O'Reggio-Cox said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th March 2018

We had a memorable staff . The hotel is very grand on entrance and decor in parts of the building are in character to era . Facilities are great staff are friendly and so efficient. The leisure centre is lush . Great pool sauna steam and jacuzzi . We arrived on the Sunday for 2 nights so it was quieter on weekdays . Food was beautiful and a good choice for all diets . The bar area was relaxing with a lovely atmosphere and friendly guests .

Ann Horner said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th March 2018

Fabulous value, lovely hotel,good food and friendly staff. Only criticism,we took our two dogs and there was not really anywhere in the 200+ acres of the grounds to walk the dogs, because of the golf course.

Emma Ratcliffe said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th March 2018

The hotel is stunning, very impressive with great views. The staff were all friendly and efficient. We had dinner in the restaurant which was outstanding. Self service breakfast was busy but well stocked and good quality. The leisure facilities were ok, pool was a bit on the cold side, changing rooms were small and in need of a bit of updating. Our bedroom wasn't as good. This is a large hotel and it was a hell of a walk to our room (137). The room was reasonably clean but very tired (peeling wallpaper, stains on ceiling, worn furniture), too warm even with the window open, and a bit noisy. Must say we were disappointed with the bedroom and expected it to be nicer.

eileen Uttley said...

84%
100%
50%
100%

Stayed 26th February 2018

absolutely fantastic, beautiful hotel, fab spa, all the staff really lovely. Only let down was the long wait between courses during the evening meal. A couple behind us, waited 45 minutes for their soup!! The waiter was completely unaware of this! However, this would not deter us from visiting this beautiful place again. Brilliant value, and the room itself was lovely. Everywhere was spotless, professional staff, helpful and informative. Evening meal was delicious and great choice. Thank you we will certainly visit again x Amazing surroundings, stunning views x

sharon carnell said...

74%
20%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th February 2018

Been to Shrigley 3 times. Staff are really friendly , food fantastic

deb willetts said...

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 23rd February 2018

We have been here twice before but it is beginning to look very tired. Restaurant staff, not all, but some had not got a clue, had to request table to be cleaned, sugar, tea spoon, etc. Reception staff excellent

dave howard said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd February 2018

Great hotel and staff. Very welcoming on arrival. Used the spa, restaurant and bar and could not fault anything about our stay. Will definitely return.

Karen Lawton said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th February 2018

Lovely time spent at the hotel with 3 girl friends for overnight stay. The room was clean and good size for 2 people. I felt the pool was too small for the size of the hotel but it was clean and had a swim when there was a space to swim into, didn’t use jacuzzi or sauna the spa area was pleasant and good to chill even if you didn’t use the facilities, staff in the spa n other areas of the hotel very helpful and friendly. Food was lovely both dinner and breakfast. Would recommend.

Barbara Lloyd said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2018

From walking in the front door we were very well looked after.the bar was in a great location in the conservatory and the food in rhe restaurant was delicious.Our room was clean and a good size and the staff were very friendly and helpful

jeff Gibson said...

67%
20%
80%
100%

Stayed 16th February 2018

We were a group of 6 who regularly meet up quarterly and stay in various hotels around the country. First impressions from the outside were great, a lovely well maintained old structure, the reception area was just as good very clean and tidy and tastefully decorated to suit the age of the hotel. We were each given a glass of prosecco on are arrival which was a nice touch. We were on a dinner bed & breakfast deal for 2 nights and have to say the food on both days was excellent. The only thing for us letting this lovely hotel down was the rooms, well certainly the 3 we were allocated. They were very tired looking, the en suite sink had chips all over it and there was barely enough room, height wise, to stand in the bath whilst taking a shower, but the biggest problem were the two twin beds which appeared to be narrower than others I have slept in and were supplied with very thin quilts and the mattresses were well past their exchange dates and very uncomfortable. Unfortunately this did have an impact on our overall stay experience. Would we return, yes, but not until bedrooms had been updated.

Jackie Ashcroft said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th February 2018

I've stayed here a couple of times already but booked this visit with a friend for one night and had the most relaxing break ever ..prosecco on arrival ..room was ready early.....hotel is amazing...staff couldn't do enough to help ...evening meal and breakfast were great too....and made good use of the leisure facil ... will definately be returning.

Gail Filmer said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th February 2018

Great place to stay with excellent staff and fabulous food. Would definitely stay again.

Joannne Barker said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd February 2018

Really enjoyable stay. Great facil, dinner and breakfast superb. Couldn’t fault it!

Wendy Power said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th January 2018

Another excellent overnight stay, Saturday 27th January. All staff very friendly , top marks to James who served us at the bar and also in the restaurant: booked deal with inclusive meal and the food was lovely . Comfortable room , will definitely recommend and will be booking again

Nicola Lakin said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th January 2018

This was our 3rd visit to shrigley hall and it didn’t disappoint us,food was gorgeous staff are even better they can’t do enough to help and make your stay more welcomed Rooms and bar are relaxing and comfortable We will return

A guest said...

54%
70%
60%
30%

Stayed 18th November 2017

Nice hotel, nice views. Dissapointed with the food, in relationship with the hotels reputation. It was good, but not amazing. However I did express my views to the hotel and they did listen.

Dawn Cummins said...

20%
20%
30%
10%

Stayed 18th November 2017

Just going to keep this review short & sweet rooms tatty but clean sheets noisy too hot when you open the window the fans from the kitchens go al night lumpy old bed !!! Bar staff were good waiting staff in restaurant were ok tho service was slow Food oh my days ...... it cost me over £400 For one night 2rooms 4 people ..... my friend summed it up all fur coat & no knickers

Michael Ratcliffe said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th November 2017

Very good value with use of leisure facil