Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

Sandra Smith said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2017

A beautiful hotel. Everything was better than expected. Rooms, food, grounds, staff and facil. Although very busy with a wedding a golf function and a coach tour party, nothing was too much trouble. We will be back and would recommend the hotel to anyone. We even had a couple of rounds if crazy golf in the rain. Warmed up afterwards with a spell in the sauna, then steam and juccuzi. Rounded off our evening meal with a relaxing time listening to the very accomplished pianist. A five star break.

Allan Halliwell said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2017

One night stay with friends. Was fantastic. From arriving we were aware that all the staff wanted to make our stay great. Meals were great with plenty of choice of different foods. Would certainly go back and especially after what we all paid. Everyone commented on how good everything was. As far as we were concerned the bad reviews are rubbish a great time by all 6 of us

janet Addy said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th September 2017

LOVELY ROOM FANTASTIC FOOD VERY WELCOMING ONLY DRAW BACK WAS LATE GETTING IN OUR ROOM.

A guest said...

54%
50%
40%
70%

Stayed 31st August 2017

A lovely hotel n a fabulous setting. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly. The price we paid gave us a really great deal. The only downside however was e very slow table service in the restaurant over our evening meal and at breakfast the service was again extremely slow. Tables were not set up and we did seem to wait a while for cups and cutlery. The actual breakfast food was very average and we were surprised to find only sliced bread on offer and the hot items took along time to be replaced. However for the price we paid we still received a good deal.

nina phythian said...

30%
0%
20%
70%

Stayed 29th August 2017

I had the worst night sleep ever at Shrighley hall. I was woken up at 1am to a fire alarm, which went off 4 times. Tried to ring down to reception no answe!!! Then at 3am woke up to a bang in the bathroom, the ceiling light had fallen down and water was flooding through the ceiling. Rang reception again no answer!! So I had to go downstairs to report it. Could not be moved to another room! So the flood lasted over 2 hours !!! Next day couldn't use the bathroom.Just wanted to get home !!!

A guest said...

20%
20%
20%
20%

Stayed 29th August 2017

The hotel is very tired and shabby. In need of an update in the rooms as they are dark and dated. The food in the evening was a poor menu choice and the main course was dry and over cooked or kept warm for hours..Staff waiting on are poorly trained and refused coffee which should have been included in the deal. The night we stayed there was a wedding so the hotel was chaos..smoke alarms and irish men swearing and abusive in the corridors until 4am.. children in pyjamas everywhere in the morning. 5 men still drinking cans from a carrier bag outside the hotel at 9.30am. The police were eventually called. The spa area is poorly staffed and dirty small changing rooms with piles of towels everywhere and 6 unsupervised children in the pool wasnt relaxing. I wouldn't recommend at all.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th August 2017

Great weekend break beware of the steps

Simon Whitehead said...

77%
90%
60%
80%

Stayed 23rd August 2017

Lovely room with upgrade. Service in the restaurant was very slow.Spa only adequate, been in much better.Food at dinner was very good after long waits.

Ian McLean said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th August 2017

Lovely stay for our night away from the little ones. Great setting, amazing room that was more like a mini suite and fantastic food at both dinner and breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff too!

Claire Sinclair said...

80%
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 26th July 2017

Fab staff and welcome on checkin. Rooms are clean but very basic in my opinion . Beautiful building though. Enjoyed lovely meal in restaurant in the evening followed by few drinks in the bar. Would definitely revisit using th offer we had but do feel the full price of rooms is a little excessive. Have stayed in more luxurious rooms.

Laura Flint said...

57%
0%
80%
90%

Stayed 21st July 2017

Appalling dated room (224) with the bathroom falling apart. Also, housekeeping left our room door wedged open with valuables inside when we were at breakfast. Food was delicious and the staff were very polite. It was a special occasion which was spoilt for us.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th July 2017

a fabulous stay at shirley. we will definitely be doing this again. the food in the restaurant was excellent, the service was exceptional from the reception to the waiting staff in the restaurant. our room was not an upgrade but it was good, very clean, carpets walls and curtains all looked nice and clean unlike some other hotels i have stayed in. if i had to find a fault it would be that we only had a half window in the room, we had a view but it would have been better to have a full window, these could be the upgrades. fantastic place, unfortunately the weather was not great so could not take advantage of the outside seating. we stayed on a friday night and the female singer in the bar was great, please use her again she is an asset to the hotel. breakfast was lovely as was the pool area. highly recommend. we paid just under £100 for an overnight stay well worth the money but the drinks were extortionate, i have never paid £3.50 for a cup of tea not even in the london hotels i have stayed at, coffee nearly £4.00 this is my only criticism.

Mr Weston said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 4th July 2017

Very happy with our stay only observation is that it would been preferable if the evening menu was varied over our 2 day stay. -Excellent value would be happy to stay again.

Malcolm Horton said...

47%
50%
50%
40%

Stayed 17th June 2017

Room OK, FOOD not impressed

Nichola Day said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th June 2017

This was my second stay at Shrigley Hall and again it was lovely. Great facil, good food and rooms and excellent service. Will will definitely be staying again.

Linda Russell said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 1st June 2017

Had an absolutely amazing little break away with my son. From start to finish everything was perfect. The hotel & grounds were beautiful and our 3 course evening meal was presented brilliantly. Will definitely be returning when we get the chance.

Andrea Brennan said...

40%
0%
30%
90%

Stayed 20th May 2017

Room very tired. Lipstick on wine glass, paper floating in coffee. None of our special requests were honoured. Our room was clearly set up for a family even though we were a couple. Not a good break for our wedding anniversary

Aileen Lewis said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 19th May 2017

Beautiful place clean rooms lovely spa and the food was tasty.Plenty for the ladies but the men were left wanting more.

Theresa Crofts said...

47%
50%
30%
60%

Stayed 14th May 2017

i AM SORRY TO SAY I WAS DISAPPOINTED ON OUR ARRIVAL: I HAD ARRANGED FOR CHAMPAGNE AND CHOCOLATES WITH MESSAGE HAPPY BIRTHDAY GRAHAM THIS WAS NOT ARRANGED, ONLY ONE COFFEE CUP PLUS BILLED WRONGLY ON CHECKING OUT. VERY DISAPPOINTING. THERESA CROFTS

sally ball said...

60%
60%
80%
40%

Stayed 13th May 2017

Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms in need of repairs as has the potential for higher room rates once sorted. Food was described as a la carte but when it came out it was a let down with missing ingredients. Would not pay the supplements for the starter and main if I had known this. Bar area is very well decorated and light. Unfortunately I did find that the draught lager tasted as if the lines had not been cleaned in a long time which was disappointing. With a bit of TLC this hotel would have the whole package. Will visit again if improvements are made but not at the standard I would expect for a venue of this star rating.

lisa dove said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th May 2017

Stunning setting, sat exteremley friendly and couldn't do more to help! Food excellent, over our group (of six) and the most fabulous time. Would defiantly recommend Shrigley Hall and looking forward to a return visit very soon!

Amanda Suthers said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th May 2017

Lovely stay , all staff were very helpful and friendly . We had afternoon tea with our stay which was lovely and our 3 course evening meal was amazing . Would definitely stay again & recommend the Hotel to family and friends

Linda Obrien said...

84%
60%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th May 2017

Lovely staff every single person we spoke to were engaged and welcoming.

Sue Duport said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th April 2017

An excellent good value break in stunning s urroundings. Lovely food.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st April 2017

Excellent value for money but the bar was expensive. Food was excellent but portions small.