Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

jeff Gibson said...

67%
20%
80%
100%

Stayed 16th February 2018

We were a group of 6 who regularly meet up quarterly and stay in various hotels around the country. First impressions from the outside were great, a lovely well maintained old structure, the reception area was just as good very clean and tidy and tastefully decorated to suit the age of the hotel. We were each given a glass of prosecco on are arrival which was a nice touch. We were on a dinner bed & breakfast deal for 2 nights and have to say the food on both days was excellent. The only thing for us letting this lovely hotel down was the rooms, well certainly the 3 we were allocated. They were very tired looking, the en suite sink had chips all over it and there was barely enough room, height wise, to stand in the bath whilst taking a shower, but the biggest problem were the two twin beds which appeared to be narrower than others I have slept in and were supplied with very thin quilts and the mattresses were well past their exchange dates and very uncomfortable. Unfortunately this did have an impact on our overall stay experience. Would we return, yes, but not until bedrooms had been updated.

Jackie Ashcroft said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th February 2018

I've stayed here a couple of times already but booked this visit with a friend for one night and had the most relaxing break ever ..prosecco on arrival ..room was ready early.....hotel is amazing...staff couldn't do enough to help ...evening meal and breakfast were great too....and made good use of the leisure facil ... will definately be returning.

Gail Filmer said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th February 2018

Great place to stay with excellent staff and fabulous food. Would definitely stay again.

Joannne Barker said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd February 2018

Really enjoyable stay. Great facil, dinner and breakfast superb. Couldn’t fault it!

Wendy Power said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 27th January 2018

Another excellent overnight stay, Saturday 27th January. All staff very friendly , top marks to James who served us at the bar and also in the restaurant: booked deal with inclusive meal and the food was lovely . Comfortable room , will definitely recommend and will be booking again

Nicola Lakin said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th January 2018

This was our 3rd visit to shrigley hall and it didn’t disappoint us,food was gorgeous staff are even better they can’t do enough to help and make your stay more welcomed Rooms and bar are relaxing and comfortable We will return

A guest said...

54%
70%
60%
30%

Stayed 18th November 2017

Nice hotel, nice views. Dissapointed with the food, in relationship with the hotels reputation. It was good, but not amazing. However I did express my views to the hotel and they did listen.

Dawn Cummins said...

20%
20%
30%
10%

Stayed 18th November 2017

Just going to keep this review short & sweet rooms tatty but clean sheets noisy too hot when you open the window the fans from the kitchens go al night lumpy old bed !!! Bar staff were good waiting staff in restaurant were ok tho service was slow Food oh my days ...... it cost me over £400 For one night 2rooms 4 people ..... my friend summed it up all fur coat & no knickers

Michael Ratcliffe said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th November 2017

Very good value with use of leisure facil

Mel Antcliffe said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th November 2017

Beautiful hotel , spa and gardens .excellent value for money. Rooms quite a long way from main area to be considered with older guests .

R McGivern said...

64%
50%
70%
70%

Stayed 11th November 2017

Nice hotel but condition of room and facil definitely a bit tired and in need of some tlc. Staff and food were very good.

Jeanette Murray said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th November 2017

DBB late deal was good value, our room was clean and comfortable but in need of some minor updating on furnishings. All of the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Food was very good both for breakfast and dinner. I had not prebooked Spa treatments and there was no information available in the room, but it did appear to be busy. We did use the general pool facil which, though adequate, are in need of a little TLC. Would certainly make a return visit.

Edwin Preece said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th November 2017

Me and my Wife enjoyed a lovely evening at the Shrigley Hall hotel, fantastic value for money, with a very good 3 course evening meal, a very generous breakfast, a comfy and clean room and use of the leisure facil. The hotel was well staffed throughout and were very friendly, We would definitely consider a return visit.

Avrill Millington said...

50%
40%
10%
100%

Stayed 1st November 2017

Such a beautiful hotel but the bed and the service in the hotel was very disappointing. Our first room had a view of a wall ?? so we upgraded. The view was much better but, for a deluxe room, the headboard was quite tatty and some of the furnishings on the four poster bed were hanging off. The service in the restaurant was again immensely disappointing. It took an hour for our drinks to arrive (a glass of wine and a Diet e), we had to ask for them twice. Our starter took nearly half an hour to arrive. The food I have to say once we did get it was delicious. The only other thing I found disappointing was the seating in the spa, wooden chairs/loungers which were not particularly comfortable to chill out on. Have to say though on a positive, the hotel is absolutely beautiful with fantastic views and the food is gorgeous.

Philip Williams said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th October 2017

Room comforable, food very good all round good value

Raymond Romano said...

57%
10%
70%
90%

Stayed 21st October 2017

Upon arrival we pre ordered champagne which was left on the table no ice bucket so it was room temperature.the room we were given was dirty .dirt that had been there along time and stains on the bed and carpet.the tv wouldn't work as the remote was missing.the food was really nice and staff were very pleasant.the main part of the hotel was nice and the bar area was nice.overall pros and cons. We wouldn't stay again

Jackie Ashcroft said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2017

Booked a night away for me and my daughter to celebrate the end of the exams .... Had an amazing time at this hotel....facil were great..food was lovely and staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly.....treated my daughter to a massage on the Saay which she loved and arranged for a late checkout .....really didn't want to leave....will definately be returning

A guest said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2017

We booked this hotel through myhotelbreak.com.I originally booked 1 room but then my sister decided to come to so booked a second room,this however caused some sort of problem checking in.As they had arrived before us she was asked to wait in the bar ,a drink supplied ,until we arrived,They were given a room,I also booked our evening meal but needed to change that as well which I did on the phone again this was not correct when we checked in.When we arrived for our evening meal we were seated in the lower dining room,which was like sitting at a football match.The hotel was fully booked and they had lots of big parties sitting together,which we sat amongst.The top dinning room was quiet with a piano being planned it was like a different place. The food was excellent and service good lots of the dishes had supplements but there was a good choice. The room we had was a standard room for a hotel clean and quiet. The leisure facil were good but the towel mountain was a little off putting and there were lots of towels and slippers left lying about. The bar area was nice as was the outside area ,it is a beautiful spot. The breakfast was good and the staff constantly replenishing the counters. Like the other comments there was a long delay in checking out . We did put a note on the booking that it was my birthday but no mention of it when we booked in. It is a nice hotel but perhaps I would like to find a weekend when it was fully booked to appreciate it a bit more. It's not a hotel for people who cannot manage stairs/steps.

A guest said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th October 2017

My sister and I enjoyed our stay a Shrigley Hall hotel. The room was clean and comfortable it had tea and coffee facil with biscuits, the shower had gel to shower with, a hair dryer in bedroom with iron and board, and cooling fan. Unfortunately there is no safe in the room. Could possibly do with a little redecorating but not that bad. The food we could not fault, the evening meal was brilliant and lots of choice, considering it was in a package break. The breakfast also lots of choice and very nice. The pool area is small and also needs a little TLC. The views are superb and general public areas very nice. It's the second time visiting Shrigley Hall and would go again. We did hear a few complaints with one thing or another but the only problem we had was not being able to arrange any spa treatments. We tried to contacted spa via email and several calls, but had no contact from spa. Other than no spa treatments, no problems. If you get a good deal I can see no reason why anybody wouldn't visit. All staff were very pleasant.

Isabella Albrecht said...

47%
50%
80%
10%

Stayed 9th October 2017

Lovely hotel grand appearance. Our room was in an annex to the original building and was quite a long walk from the reception and dining room. It was a bit dark due to the woodwork and decor but clean and comfortable. The basin in the bathroom was cracked round the plughole and the shower was over the bath. The dinner we had was a bit meagre. My starter - goat cheese and beetroot with salad leaves - was poor, my main course was cod which was reasonable but the diced potatoes were hard. On the whole disappointed with the meal.

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th October 2017

enjoyed our stay at shrigley hall little disappointed with leisure facil. jacuzzi not warm and steam room not very hot other than that had an enjoyable stay

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th October 2017

Really pleased with our stay at Shrigley Hall, would definitely stay here again

A guest said...

64%
70%
30%
90%

Stayed 30th September 2017

Allocated room not ready at check in time - 45 minute delay - free drink negotiated in lieu. Food was excellent but service was very slow - waited a long time before even being offered a menu and the first two courses took a considerable time to arrive. Dessert arrived much more promptly.

Karen Speakman said...

47%
50%
50%
40%

Stayed 30th September 2017

We found this hotel to be a bit disorganised, on checking in we were not told where and what times breakfast was. The service in the courtyard bar was very slow considering it wasn't that busy the staff seemed to think that loading the dishwasher was more important then serving the customers. We had the champagne afternoon tea which was just ok but the waitress asked us whether we wanted tea or coffee whilst resting her left hand on the back of my chair and her right hand on her hip!!! The breakfast was chaos, no staff to find you a table and tables not cleared after people had finished. The food was mediocre at best, hardly any continental left which wasn't topped up, the bacon was over cooked and hard as were the eggs. On the whole our stay was just average and we won't be rushing to book again.

Jill Hampson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th September 2017

wonderful stay.staff very helpful and friendly.lovely hotel.given upgraded room due to access and husbands disability.would stay again.