Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

81%

Philip Williams said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th October 2017

Room comforable, food very good all round good value

Raymond Romano said...

57%
10%
70%
90%

Stayed 21st October 2017

Upon arrival we pre ordered champagne which was left on the table no ice bucket so it was room temperature.the room we were given was dirty .dirt that had been there along time and stains on the bed and carpet.the tv wouldn't work as the remote was missing.the food was really nice and staff were very pleasant.the main part of the hotel was nice and the bar area was nice.overall pros and cons. We wouldn't stay again

Jackie Ashcroft said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2017

Booked a night away for me and my daughter to celebrate the end of the exams .... Had an amazing time at this hotel....facil were great..food was lovely and staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly.....treated my daughter to a massage on the Saay which she loved and arranged for a late checkout .....really didn't want to leave....will definately be returning

A guest said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2017

We booked this hotel through myhotelbreak.com.I originally booked 1 room but then my sister decided to come to so booked a second room,this however caused some sort of problem checking in.As they had arrived before us she was asked to wait in the bar ,a drink supplied ,until we arrived,They were given a room,I also booked our evening meal but needed to change that as well which I did on the phone again this was not correct when we checked in.When we arrived for our evening meal we were seated in the lower dining room,which was like sitting at a football match.The hotel was fully booked and they had lots of big parties sitting together,which we sat amongst.The top dinning room was quiet with a piano being planned it was like a different place. The food was excellent and service good lots of the dishes had supplements but there was a good choice. The room we had was a standard room for a hotel clean and quiet. The leisure facil were good but the towel mountain was a little off putting and there were lots of towels and slippers left lying about. The bar area was nice as was the outside area ,it is a beautiful spot. The breakfast was good and the staff constantly replenishing the counters. Like the other comments there was a long delay in checking out . We did put a note on the booking that it was my birthday but no mention of it when we booked in. It is a nice hotel but perhaps I would like to find a weekend when it was fully booked to appreciate it a bit more. It's not a hotel for people who cannot manage stairs/steps.

A guest said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th October 2017

My sister and I enjoyed our stay a Shrigley Hall hotel. The room was clean and comfortable it had tea and coffee facil with biscuits, the shower had gel to shower with, a hair dryer in bedroom with iron and board, and cooling fan. Unfortunately there is no safe in the room. Could possibly do with a little redecorating but not that bad. The food we could not fault, the evening meal was brilliant and lots of choice, considering it was in a package break. The breakfast also lots of choice and very nice. The pool area is small and also needs a little TLC. The views are superb and general public areas very nice. It's the second time visiting Shrigley Hall and would go again. We did hear a few complaints with one thing or another but the only problem we had was not being able to arrange any spa treatments. We tried to contacted spa via email and several calls, but had no contact from spa. Other than no spa treatments, no problems. If you get a good deal I can see no reason why anybody wouldn't visit. All staff were very pleasant.

Isabella Albrecht said...

47%
50%
80%
10%

Stayed 9th October 2017

Lovely hotel grand appearance. Our room was in an annex to the original building and was quite a long walk from the reception and dining room. It was a bit dark due to the woodwork and decor but clean and comfortable. The basin in the bathroom was cracked round the plughole and the shower was over the bath. The dinner we had was a bit meagre. My starter - goat cheese and beetroot with salad leaves - was poor, my main course was cod which was reasonable but the diced potatoes were hard. On the whole disappointed with the meal.

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th October 2017

enjoyed our stay at shrigley hall little disappointed with leisure facil. jacuzzi not warm and steam room not very hot other than that had an enjoyable stay

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th October 2017

Really pleased with our stay at Shrigley Hall, would definitely stay here again

A guest said...

64%
70%
30%
90%

Stayed 30th September 2017

Allocated room not ready at check in time - 45 minute delay - free drink negotiated in lieu. Food was excellent but service was very slow - waited a long time before even being offered a menu and the first two courses took a considerable time to arrive. Dessert arrived much more promptly.

Karen Speakman said...

47%
50%
50%
40%

Stayed 30th September 2017

We found this hotel to be a bit disorganised, on checking in we were not told where and what times breakfast was. The service in the courtyard bar was very slow considering it wasn't that busy the staff seemed to think that loading the dishwasher was more important then serving the customers. We had the champagne afternoon tea which was just ok but the waitress asked us whether we wanted tea or coffee whilst resting her left hand on the back of my chair and her right hand on her hip!!! The breakfast was chaos, no staff to find you a table and tables not cleared after people had finished. The food was mediocre at best, hardly any continental left which wasn't topped up, the bacon was over cooked and hard as were the eggs. On the whole our stay was just average and we won't be rushing to book again.

Jill Hampson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th September 2017

wonderful stay.staff very helpful and friendly.lovely hotel.given upgraded room due to access and husbands disability.would stay again.

Sandra Smith said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2017

A beautiful hotel. Everything was better than expected. Rooms, food, grounds, staff and facil. Although very busy with a wedding a golf function and a coach tour party, nothing was too much trouble. We will be back and would recommend the hotel to anyone. We even had a couple of rounds if crazy golf in the rain. Warmed up afterwards with a spell in the sauna, then steam and juccuzi. Rounded off our evening meal with a relaxing time listening to the very accomplished pianist. A five star break.

Allan Halliwell said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2017

One night stay with friends. Was fantastic. From arriving we were aware that all the staff wanted to make our stay great. Meals were great with plenty of choice of different foods. Would certainly go back and especially after what we all paid. Everyone commented on how good everything was. As far as we were concerned the bad reviews are rubbish a great time by all 6 of us

janet Addy said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th September 2017

LOVELY ROOM FANTASTIC FOOD VERY WELCOMING ONLY DRAW BACK WAS LATE GETTING IN OUR ROOM.

A guest said...

54%
50%
40%
70%

Stayed 31st August 2017

A lovely hotel n a fabulous setting. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly. The price we paid gave us a really great deal. The only downside however was e very slow table service in the restaurant over our evening meal and at breakfast the service was again extremely slow. Tables were not set up and we did seem to wait a while for cups and cutlery. The actual breakfast food was very average and we were surprised to find only sliced bread on offer and the hot items took along time to be replaced. However for the price we paid we still received a good deal.

nina phythian said...

30%
0%
20%
70%

Stayed 29th August 2017

I had the worst night sleep ever at Shrighley hall. I was woken up at 1am to a fire alarm, which went off 4 times. Tried to ring down to reception no answe!!! Then at 3am woke up to a bang in the bathroom, the ceiling light had fallen down and water was flooding through the ceiling. Rang reception again no answer!! So I had to go downstairs to report it. Could not be moved to another room! So the flood lasted over 2 hours !!! Next day couldn't use the bathroom.Just wanted to get home !!!

A guest said...

20%
20%
20%
20%

Stayed 29th August 2017

The hotel is very tired and shabby. In need of an update in the rooms as they are dark and dated. The food in the evening was a poor menu choice and the main course was dry and over cooked or kept warm for hours..Staff waiting on are poorly trained and refused coffee which should have been included in the deal. The night we stayed there was a wedding so the hotel was chaos..smoke alarms and irish men swearing and abusive in the corridors until 4am.. children in pyjamas everywhere in the morning. 5 men still drinking cans from a carrier bag outside the hotel at 9.30am. The police were eventually called. The spa area is poorly staffed and dirty small changing rooms with piles of towels everywhere and 6 unsupervised children in the pool wasnt relaxing. I wouldn't recommend at all.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th August 2017

Great weekend break beware of the steps

Simon Whitehead said...

77%
90%
60%
80%

Stayed 23rd August 2017

Lovely room with upgrade. Service in the restaurant was very slow.Spa only adequate, been in much better.Food at dinner was very good after long waits.

Ian McLean said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th August 2017

Lovely stay for our night away from the little ones. Great setting, amazing room that was more like a mini suite and fantastic food at both dinner and breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff too!

Claire Sinclair said...

80%
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 26th July 2017

Fab staff and welcome on checkin. Rooms are clean but very basic in my opinion . Beautiful building though. Enjoyed lovely meal in restaurant in the evening followed by few drinks in the bar. Would definitely revisit using th offer we had but do feel the full price of rooms is a little excessive. Have stayed in more luxurious rooms.

Laura Flint said...

57%
0%
80%
90%

Stayed 21st July 2017

Appalling dated room (224) with the bathroom falling apart. Also, housekeeping left our room door wedged open with valuables inside when we were at breakfast. Food was delicious and the staff were very polite. It was a special occasion which was spoilt for us.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th July 2017

a fabulous stay at shirley. we will definitely be doing this again. the food in the restaurant was excellent, the service was exceptional from the reception to the waiting staff in the restaurant. our room was not an upgrade but it was good, very clean, carpets walls and curtains all looked nice and clean unlike some other hotels i have stayed in. if i had to find a fault it would be that we only had a half window in the room, we had a view but it would have been better to have a full window, these could be the upgrades. fantastic place, unfortunately the weather was not great so could not take advantage of the outside seating. we stayed on a friday night and the female singer in the bar was great, please use her again she is an asset to the hotel. breakfast was lovely as was the pool area. highly recommend. we paid just under £100 for an overnight stay well worth the money but the drinks were extortionate, i have never paid £3.50 for a cup of tea not even in the london hotels i have stayed at, coffee nearly £4.00 this is my only criticism.

Mr Weston said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 4th July 2017

Very happy with our stay only observation is that it would been preferable if the evening menu was varied over our 2 day stay. -Excellent value would be happy to stay again.

Malcolm Horton said...

47%
50%
50%
40%

Stayed 17th June 2017

Room OK, FOOD not impressed