Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Columba Hotel, Oban

North Pier, Oban, PA345QD, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

J Reid said...

80 %
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 10th February 2024

Room good comfortable a few more hangers would be good clean and tidy

A guest said...

80 %
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 16th November 2023

Booking No 497687. We booked these two nights following on from the previous booking so had the same room 112 throughout our stay, the room remained rather chilly due in part to the pretty old, large single glazed windows and the position of the only heat source in the room being badly placed, i.e. not in the main part of the room. It actually felt warmer in the corridor!! There were a couple of niggles in the otherwise beautiful bathroom too, plug in basin not working properly as water escaped all the time and shaving light not working.(reported at the time) Having said all of that we did enjoy our first stay away for some time, however, though I have already mentioned the breakfast arrangements for me were OK as I could pick and choose what I wanted, it was not so easy with the evening meals, choices for me (Gluten Free) were quite limited and a longer stay would have been quite difficult as half the choices were pasta/pizza options. That said I would still go there again perhaps in warmer weather and we have no complaints about the helpfulness of staff, who were all very pleasant during our stay. MS

A guest said...

84 %
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 15th November 2023

Booking No 497686. We arrived late afternoon and were given our room number which we made our way to and found a pleasant room with view overlooking the inner bay at Oban town centre. Everything looked good and we were happy to find a bottle of wine in the room as promised, however the room was rather cold so we switched on the heater, then popped out for a wander around town and went for a meal at a nearby restaurant as we were not booked in for dinner that night. When we returned the room was still pretty cool and it did not warm up much more in the course of the evening. Breakfast was fine for me as a Coeliac as I was able to make my own choices, and we found all of the staff pleasant helpful and friendly without exception.

Jason Lacey said...

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th November 2023

stayed here for one night made really welcome cant fault it.A very clean hotel with great views we will return again thanks.

A guest said...

40 %
80%
40%
0%

Stayed 3rd November 2023

A lovely old hotel. Very disappointed with the buffet breakfast. Most of the items were cold. No eggs left and were not replaced. The hotel fire alarm went off at 2.20 and 2.45. We were up and dressed, it was a false alarm but we had to phone reception to find out. They should have phone every room that had guests. Sadly, we won't be returning.

T Ross said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th May 2014

excellent hotel

ann shearer said...

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 30th March 2023

First visit to Oban, Hotel staff very attentive, breakfast was good and a buffet style.

Simone Stewart said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th March 2023

Lovely stay at the Columba Hotel

Fiona Wilkinson said...

80 %
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 22nd March 2023

We had a bad start with our stay. Had booked an upgraded seaview room for my other halves birthday. The room was awful with a view of the car park and very run down. After speaking to reception twice they didn't seem to be interested. Ended up contacting Myhotelbreak who were fantastic and managed to get us another room despite being told by reception there wasn't any available. We ate in the cafe Rio which was lovely and the staff were great. Breakfast was good. Buffet style but plenty of choice.

A guest said...

90 %
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th March 2023

Had a lovely 2 night break at the Columba Hotel. Limited parking but managed to get the last of the 8 free spaces. Staff were all lovely and very helpful. Paid extra for a sea view room, which I would highly recommend. Room was comfortable and always warm. Central position.Good value and would definitely go back.

lorraine connor said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2023

We really enjoyed our stay and booking was so easy at a great price

A guest said...

77 %
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 3rd March 2023

Hotel is acceptable, but the bar area was not open, so you had to sit in the restaurant if you wanted a drink and there was no hotel lounge to relax in. The hotel restaurant was also open to the public.

David Voy said...

97 %
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2023

We stayed on a DBB deal with room upgrade. The room was fab with a view over the waterfront to the ferry terminal, nicely apportioned with a very comfortable bed. The dinner was two courses from a set menu with a couple of options incurring a small supplement, we found the food to be very good.....the pakora was particularly tasty. There was a good choice at breakfast which is self service and although there were delays a couple of times for fresh items to come out of the kitchen, all the cooked food was hot and very tasty. The only negative was that there is very limited dedicated parking at the Hotel, so you have to use the local authority car park on the pier which is £1.00 an hour during the day , up to 6pm......this is across all the local car parks in Oban, except the one at the Corran Halls which is about a five minute walk from the Hotel, and is free until the end of March.....a handy tip from the tourist information office .All in all we had a very enjoyable stay at the Columba and will definitely be back.

morag buchanan said...

87 %
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd February 2023

We had a lovely weekend at the Columba hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were all friendly, polite and helpful. Food was lovely and service was good. We’ll certainly be back

Elaine Edgar said...

80 %
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 12th November 2022

Stayed for 2 night's we had the top floor which over looked the McCaig tower. The room was clean and comfortable with everything you needed tea coffee making facilities iron iron board trousers press and wee hairdryer. Fresh warm tasty breakfast. Staff very friendly. Will defo return here using myhotelbreak for booking as the price for two was very affordable

Yvonne Hay said...

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th November 2022

Great central location, hotel a little dated but had everything required, comfy bed, room clean, staff friendly, rooms/ towels cleaned daily, tea/coffee facilities, smart tv. Breakfast really lovely. Restaurant ok, but would probably go elsewhere next time.

A guest said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th August 2022

We have stayed in the Columba many times over the years. It is well situated for everything, we had a double sea view room which was spacious and clean. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice. Parking is limited but we were lucky to get one when we arrived and there is also a council car park beside it.

Carol Stewart said...

87 %
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th April 2022

As always a lovely stay. Superb, attentive staff and an excellent dinner on our first night - much better than our dinner in Ee-usk the second night! We will be back! Our room usually has had a bath hence the score of just seven - we always there to work on a boat so a bath is real plus.

Duncan Brady said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th March 2022

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay , we had dinner and wine the 1st night , and 2 breakfasts . The rooms are nice , we got a sea view at no extra cost and even a parking space too . We have stayed here before , it is good value , central , and we would recommend this hotel highly .

Steven Docherty said...

90 %
80%
N/A
100%

Stayed 28th March 2022

Very good hotel enjoyed our stay

Valerie Lawson said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th March 2022

Our room was spotless with stunning views over the harbour. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean and fresh. Dinner at night was tasty and warm although buffet breakfast did tend to be cold, it wasn't a problem for staff to microwave it. Only downside to this hotel is lack of parking. It's central position is ideal for exploring shops, pubs and restaurants. One of our party had an issue with a sewage type smell in their bathroom, when reported to reception we had to insist the room be freshened. The person on reception wasn't about to move or instruct another member of staff to address this problem, but eventually he attended to this complaint.

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th February 2022

Any time I am looking to go to oban this is the only Hotel I would book the location is brilliant and the sea views are fantastic once you stay here you won't stay anywhere else

Audrey Williamson said...

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th January 2022

This was a very comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Breakfast was very good and served very efficiently. The bedroom was very clean and well maintained. Our only negative comment would be the reception area was very untidy and unwelcoming. There was a bar/coffee room which could have been such a lovely place to sit but it was cold and uninviting. We did make use of the gallery area to sit on a very very wet and windy day.

julie Mcgregor said...

90 %
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2021

Great location, lovely food great price very nice polite staff is good bits ...not so good bits...freezing room 1 small wall electric heater (got extra 1 from reception on 2nd night) towel rail in both bathrooms (2 rooms party of 4) not working, 2nd bathroom had a screw to turn the shower on. Just wee tiny niggles as really enjoyed our stay

Linda Latusek said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th February 2020

we had a lovely weekend, room very comfortable and warm, staff were really nice and very obliging if needed anything, thank you for making our stay very welcoming.