Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Columba Hotel, Oban

North Pier, Oban, PA345QD, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

A guest said...

67%
90%
100%
10%

Stayed 5th April 2019

On arrival and throughout our stay there is a horrible smell within the reception area and when we went down to dinner which was included in the deal we were shown a menu of which there was 3 options on starter, main and dessert, the mains were chicken in gravy or fish in sauce both served with potatoes and seasonal veg or tomato pasta. My understanding was we had a £15 allowance towards our meal and not a basic set menu! The room and bathroom were lovely, the bed comfortable but I assume because we were on the top floor there was hardly any water pressure in the toilet and shower, I'm quite sure there is ways of improving the issue with the help of a convenient little pump hidden somewhere within the bathroom. Otherwise the stay was lovely as were the staff.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th March 2019

Another highly enjoyable stay at the Columba. I'll be back.

A guest said...

60%
20%
100%
60%

Stayed 17th March 2019

Pleasant stay. However, our room was bargain basement. When I caught sight of other rooms (far higher standard) I asked the receptionist if our room was poor because it was a special offer. She said a standard room had been requested - there is no way it was acceptable as standard. The wallpaper had been replaced in places and was peeling round the window. The blind on the window was frayed both sides and see-through. The bedside table which had been detached from another bed was slanted and things just slid onto the floor. Bathroom was the saving grace being large and having a bath. Staff were excellent as was breakfast. Dinner on the first night was okay but we had to ask the waiter to move us to another part of the dining room as it was freezing. We spent a lot of money in the hotel bar that afternoon, until it got too cold. The waiter very kindly got us a heater but it was hardly ideal. We were the only 2 in the dining room. Waiter said he’d spoken to his manager already about this so obviously we weren’t the only cold ones. It’s a shame the bedroom was soooooo awful but it didn’t spoil our stay. I have pictures of the room if they can be of any use? Room 311 - great view but extremely shabby.

Kenneth Neil said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th March 2019

Reception had an awful smell of raw sewage but once you left reception smell went away lovely breakfast and service room was nice apart from the windows which where drafty.

Tricia Knight said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th March 2019

Very friendly staff, lovely food, hotel very close to shops, nice walks Good break away.

Linda Johnsoin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th March 2019

Upgraded to a sea view, lovely. Very nice inclusive meal in hotel. restaurant. Amazing food in Rio bar - HUGE portions!!!!! Staff in all areas really lovely. And the best bit? Great quality breakfast.

A guest said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th March 2019

staff really helpful food great rooms clean and tidy ancient lift required strongman to open &close doors needs new beds I wasnt only one to complain they were rock hard &lumpy

Margaret Murdoch said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th February 2019

Enjoyed our 4 night break very much, excellent room with seaviews, in a good location, dinner and breakfast good with friendly staff. It definitely was a great deal.

laura-ann baird said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 23rd February 2019

Nice hotel, good size room with sea view. good location as lots of places near by such as eatieries , bus station, train station, shops. Few hiccups such as radiator not attached to wall properly and shower was not working properly both were fixed quickly and we were given bottle of wine as compensation. Would goback again.

A guest said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 20th February 2019

Hotel in prime position. Room given had great view over Oban. Very clean. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Food good, especially breakfast. Plenty of choice. Staff very friendly. Would return.

graham doig said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

great time had at the columba hotel, upgraded the room and was well worth it. will definately use this hotel again, fantastic location and staff couldn't have been more helpful

ian mitchell said...

70%
60%
80%
N/A

Stayed 17th February 2019

Excellent value for money ,room was was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. The hotel is a bit dated but is well located for all the local attractions ,would go back again.

Alastair Campbell said...

74%
60%
60%
100%

Stayed 16th February 2019

Hi. I’ve just had a two night stay at the Columba hotel we have been in November last year and enjoyed it so much we had to go back, I booked my room which was a standard room then I upgraded it to a superior/premier double room with a sea view, but when we arrived and given our room we where disappointed as it look so much like a standard room it was smaller and the bathroom looked like a cupboard with a shower put in much to our disappointment, and the sea view was a bit of the harbour that was classed as a sea view, as the first time we were there the standard room was much bigger and so was the bathroom and had a better sea view for less money, so one of the receptionist looked on the computer then says we have another room would you like to see that one so I went up the stairs to this other room it was bigger and a bigger bathroom no window in it, but the view was of an old run down building and again a small bit of a view of the sea to the side window, I asked is this the best you can give me and the girl said yes, I booked that superior room on the 21st of October 2018 and they could not get it right for us on arrival very poor, it won’t stop us going back as we love this hotel clean rooms, good food and most of the staff are great, but if you get a customer who asks for an upgrade to a better room then they should get what you advertised in your pictures, not just any old room and say that’s it (not acceptable,) I have put a lot of people your way as I keep on talking about the Columba and they’ve agreed and they’ve said that they are going back.

Kathleen Kaney said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th February 2019

Very friendly staff, clean spacious room. Excellent food.

Karen brown said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 10th February 2019

Very nice hotel staff really friendly and helpful.Great value for money will certainly come back and town had some great pubs.

Janette McKay said...

74%
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 9th February 2019

Our stay, in general, was very pleasant. My only complaint would be that we booked for a party of 6 (3 x double rooms) all made on the one booking. When we got there we were put into 1 room on the first floor, 1 room on the second floor and 1 room on the third floor, which was not ideal. We were told that we should have requested rooms together and tried to say they were fully booked. However, during our entire stay, there was a sign outside saying rooms available.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th February 2019

Had a very comfortable stay in this hotel. Very clean in all areas, food was beautifully presented and tasty. Helpful staff

Patricia Barbara Campbell said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 27th January 2019

We stayed here for two nights as a quiet getaway. the hotel was comfortable the staff friendly and the location right on the harbour was excellent for local shopping and eating. we dined in a new seafood restaurant and enjoyed the atmosphere and the food most enjoyable. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel break to anyone wishing to spend quality time as a couple

james mccann said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 25th January 2019

Well organised hotel and my only minor complaint was that the evening meal was mediocre

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th January 2019

All staff extremely welcoming and efficient. Good food excellent choices for breakfast and dinner. Excellent location. Room clean but lighting dull. Lots of noisy rattling as windy but old hotel so to be expected. Victorian lift a novelty.

B Slorach said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th January 2019

Very nice weekend,unbelievable value for money,food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and efficient couldn’t fault it.

Stephen McCormack said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 25th January 2019

Brilliant weekend and hotel

angela fox said...

50%
10%
80%
60%

Stayed 23rd January 2019

Beds are terrible had two duvet covers and still uncomfortable but we did get free meal and wine second night and they assured us they were waiting on new mattresses which is good just a shame you have to pay for parking too!!

A guest said...

55%
60%
50%
N/A

Stayed 12th January 2019

Booked a premium room, was far from premium a number of issues with the room/bathroom. Windows rattled about all night meaning very little sleep. When we reported the issues with the room there was no apology from the hotel only that they will have to look into it.Very disappointing

A guest said...

40%
20%
60%
N/A

Stayed 6th January 2019

Hotel in a great location but the hotel itself was a bit tired and run down, a bit of TLC wouldn’t go a miss. Shower wasn’t great at all there wasn’t enough water pressure and also had issues with the taps on the sink as well. Layout of room seemed to be an after thought with a TV right in front of a mirror. Bed felt like you were rolling up and down a hill. Staff were nice enough but lingered around when you were eating your food which is a little off putting but were friendly enough apart from that.