Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Columba Hotel, Oban

North Pier, Oban, PA345QD, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Mrs Campbell said...

64%
50%
80%
60%

Stayed 17th April 2014

Booked a superior room but did not feel standard met the upgrade.Poor quality bed,linen,carpet,doors to room and ensuite,soiled blanket (which was replaced on request by the next afternoon).It was not the usual Classic Britain standard we have previously enjoyed.Friendly helpful staff throughout.

elizabeth murphy said...

40%
40%
30%
50%

Stayed 15th April 2014

Bedroom sqeaky floorboards, stained carpet, lumpy old mattress, clean, a screw to turn on shower, stained toilet bowl, barely working flush, no handle on toilet brush. Not quite what I thought a superior room would be, decor mix of modern and old. Service not really very good - receptionist seemed irritated that we arrived to interupt her conversation lack of warm welcome, 'waiter' in restaurant was lacking in service industry skills no eye contact, no showing you to your seats or even giving a choice as restaurant was empty, the slaming down if drinks and general lack of care, felt very amateurish and it seemed like he was doing everything barman/waiter/chef and as for the dreadful music at dinner it was grating and could not wait to leave. Breakfast seem the opposite to dinner 5 staff to serve tea seemed excessive and we felt like we were on display as they all stood chatting waiting on other guests to arrive. Food breakfast was fine quite average buffet style was good everything was hot including all the metal tongs so you did need asbestos hands to lift out your food. Dinner was interesting not quite my type sort of thing, pate was nice oatcakes were nice although would have liked more than 2 salad was ok. Not quite sure why very strong pesto was then poured over the already tasty pate leaving oatcake soggy also not quite sure the purpose of the red currant jelly either. The vegetables with the mainmeal were lovely fresh and well cooked. Salmon was overcooked and had a strange sauce which did not add anything to the flavour, for us the food was quite a let down so although booked in 2 nights Dbb we opted to eat out on our second night. Felt the cost of 2 nights DBB were quite high for amidweek break given the overall standard of things, that said could nit fault the cleanliness in the hotel.

Caroline Rralph said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th April 2014

We had a family room no 101 great sea view , comfy sofa bed, large room and view over bay. Room has been refurbished to a decent standard.

Donald Cameron said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a two night break at The Columba, Oban. Everything was ten out of ten and I will definately be returning. Well done Classic Britain.

Rebecca Nisbet/Ure said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th April 2014

Lift always a problem and a nice lounge for residents would be good but as always staff excellent and restaurant waiters very attentive and cheery

Marie Marks said...

70%
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 29th March 2014

Hotel beedrooms lovely but, entrance to hotel needs work done to make it presentable. also hallways carpets not nailed to floor ect a bit dangerous. Staff at all times were exellent and made you feel very welcome . Dinner i thought could be better, choices were not very good and the cooking of them could be better, Breakfast was good and again staff very helpful.

Anthony Meehan said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 29th March 2014

Had a wonderful stay exceeded my expectations and was very satisfied with all aspects of the accommodation.

samantha spencer said...

50%
60%
60%
30%

Stayed 28th March 2014

The room itself was clean, with a new modern bathroom, unfortunately anyone having a shower in another room caused horrendous noise in our room. We got the sea view we asked for and the staff were pleasant. The hall needs upgrading especially the carpet and the bar needs a complete revamp. My main annoyance was the quality of the food, it was appalling, mainly frozen produce which was of poor quality and small portions, breakfast was better although never asked if we wanted eggs done differently or if we wanted more tea or coffee, unfortunately due to this would not return on a DB&B break again, really dissapointing.

John Carr said...

40%
30%
70%
20%

Stayed 28th March 2014

The room was clean but very basic the mattress was thin, poor quality and uncomfortable. Evening meal menu was very restricted and basic, we did not eat there the second evening even though we had paid for it. The breakfast was low quality fare.However at least the staff were friendly and helpfull

CATHERINE COLLINS said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th March 2014

Our personal forest choice when visiting Oban first class staff rooms and food. Always made to feel very welcome like visiting old friends. Perfect location for entire town. Always desperate to return.

RONALD CHRISTIE said...

67%
70%
60%
70%

Stayed 19th March 2014

Some staff were very offhand & uninterested in us as people, but some were pleasant. Double glazing would greatly help Columba Hotel Oban as traffic noise & wind was a drawback.

kathleen apperson said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 15th March 2014

we spent 3 nights at this hotel was very pleased with the room the service and the food

Ann Nimmo said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 13th February 2014

Hotel was very good and the staff very helpful

James Wilkie said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 7th March 2014

Comfortable bedroom,staff polite and helpful and no complaints about the food. Would stay here again.

Christine McAuliffe said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 4th January 2014

Good price comfortable and convienent.

shona scally said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 4th December 2013

The only thing that let the hotel down was the lady on reception in the morning when we were leaving the hotel. We went to the reception to hand our door card back and she was to busy talking to her friend on the phone to speak to us. Not one word. Very rude. All other staff were very friendly. Would book this hotel again tho.

Helen Morrison said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2013

We had an excellent stay, rooms were comfortable and clean, breakfast and dinner were really tasty. Location just right, centre of town but with lovely views over bay, would definitely book again

S Haddow said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 18th October 2013

water pressure in shower was terrible

R Lang said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2013

Having stayed at the Columba Hotel about twice a year for the last 20 yrs I can not fault it at all sure you can't please everybody all the time, if you are looking for a clean hotel and good meals without fancy ness u cannot beat the Columba from reception staff to cleaners and for value for money it's hard to beat, safely to say we will be back in April 2014 looking forward to it already.

G Kay said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 4th October 2013

My wife, sister & brother in-law & myself had a lovely weekend in Oban, made even better with the hospitality, service & accommodation @ the Columba Hotel which was really excellent & appreciated, I would also like to highlight the excellent service provided by Emma in the dining room, nothing was a problem to her & she is a credit to the Hotel. Look forward to our next visit. Regards, Gordon Kay

graham mcgreevy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2013

Just back from a lovely 3 day break at the Columba hotel . The hotel is old however full of character . The staff are all great and helpful . There is a lift to take you up stairs . I will use this hotel again .

Linda Kemp said...

44%
70%
40%
20%

Stayed 11th September 2013

Room was comfortable with great view. Staff friendly but lacking in customer service skills. Breakfast below average and dinner was very poor.As a frequent traveller to this area would not stay here again

Thomas Marshall said...

67%
80%
80%
40%

Stayed 8th September 2013

nice hotel let down by meals

R Barclay said...

87%
100%
90%
70%

Stayed 11th May 2013

Excellent accommodation, perfect view over Oban. Staff helpful. Would book again.

roberta macrae said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 5th May 2013

Another comfortable stay at the Columba. Room very pleasant, comfy bed, good shower. Staff very helpful and nice folk. Only negative for me would be the lack of choice at breakfast, eggs always fried and rather hard, but my husband thinks the breakfast ok. Evening meals good, I like being able to get Indian (curries and pakoras) food as well as Scottish.