Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Stonefield Castle Hotel, Tarbert (Loch Fyne)

Tarbert, Tarbert (Loch Fyne), PA296YJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Diane Emmett said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd September 2020

Fantastic location- grounds of hotel stunning - staff were very friendly and helpful. Food in restaurant first night fine - obviously due to Covid it was a reduced menu - slightly disappointed no smoked fish on menu or at breakfast as we were staying near Loch Fyne. Full Scottish breakfast great though. Great deal.

A guest said...

40%
30%
50%
40%

Stayed 27th August 2020

No phone signal inside building (understandable for where it is) WiFi connection was shocking Tv in the room didn't even have a decent signal. After I had to programme the channels. Hallways and rooms not the standard I would expect for 4* Bar was not well staffed.

Neil Johnstone said...

44%
40%
70%
20%

Stayed 23rd August 2020

I am sorry to say the hotel was looking fairly tired, as was our room with cracked tiles in the bathroom and window frames that badly need replaced, although the staff were great. The short rib of beef we were served on the first evening was inedible! Rightly so, the £42 cost of this course was removed from our bill, as both the waiter and the chef agreed. As for the breakfast, it must be the smallest portion I have experienced, half a rasher of bacon, half a slice of black pudding, half a slice of haggis. Moving onto the evening meal on the second night, we both chose chicken and it seems one breast was made to do two. It was very meagre and it made nouvelle cuisine look generous. I simply cannot understand how this place can be awarded 4 stars.

Margo Nimmo said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th August 2020

Loved our stay. The staff were lovely, beautiful location. The breakfast was very good. Also the room was great , no complaints ?

Morag Wilkinson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd July 2020

Beautiful building, amazing grounds, kind, thoughtful staff. Hope to visit again.

Ian Paterson said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th July 2020

We'd a very good stay at the Stonefield Hotel, staff very helpful, spotless and modern bedroom, other rooms in the hotel were period influenced and tastefully decorated, food of a high standard..

David Gilchrist said...

67%
80%
40%
80%

Stayed 7th February 2020

Lovely 2 night break away..... reception staff very good, restaurant staff need a lot of training, food good, bar staff good ...... just love this place

Lindsay Eccles said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th February 2020

Fantastic location with wonderful views. Very helpful and friendly staff, good quality food in the restaurant and breakfast. The building oozes charm and history. Dog friendly which is so nice to see (even without a dog) and plenty of walks including their own island within the grounds. A place I will return to again

Kenneth Bullman said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th January 2020

An excellent hotel in a superb remote location. Some people may find the interior is dated but we thought it fitted absolutely with the character of the building. Every meal was wonderful with some of the best food we have tasted. We can not praise the staff highly enough. They were a credit to the hotel and among some of the friendliest people we could wish to meet.

Lesley Mcphee said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th November 2019

Beautiful hotel, food was fantastic and staff very friendly..will definitely return .

Johanna Hunter said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th November 2019

Perfect weekend get away.

GRAHAM JACKSON said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th November 2019

Staff very friendly and helpful, great location, excellent food. History and surroundings help make this a magical place.

Brian Murphy said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st October 2019

Loved our stay here. Lovely staff, room, food and walking. Only reason for 8/10 for room was the fact the curtains were very poorly g.

Alison Dakers said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2019

This overnight stay was exquisite. The welcome of the staff; comfort of the room; ambiance of the surroundings; quality of the food in the restaurant; all could not have been surpassed. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. A couple of minor things though - the size and accessibility of the hairdryer was poor and the complimentary bottle of wine was missing - both of which I mentioned to the staff and they said they would pass my comments on.

Derek Bone said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 12th June 2019

Very enjoyable stay this was our 2nd stay in this hotel.Staff were very friendly.Highly recommended

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th May 2019

Excellent stay as always. In particular the food was even better than usual, better than the 1 rosette they have. Glad to see I'm going updating of hotel and gardens. A real gem! Room we had was rather small though as was bed.

A guest said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th April 2019

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The main reception areas of the hotel and our room we nice but a wee bit tired in places. We ate in the restaurant one night and in the bar area one night. Both were great meals and service. Overall it was a great stay.

J Baird said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 10th March 2019

Really nice overnight stay. Staff were very nice and attentive,would have been nice to have some local staff as Well. Food was excellent. Only negative comment would be some areas need more house keeping ...attention to detail would finish off a lovely castle.

M Clark said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th February 2019

Beautiful location and perfect accommodation. I relaxed as soon as I stepped through the front door. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Will definitely return again for a longer visit

Frank Kennedy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th February 2019

once again Stonefield did not let us down, we have been coming back to the hotel for the last 11 years and it is always great for the quality food,service and tranquility. We will be back.

Yvonne dallas said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th January 2019

We had an amazing time. The staff were curteous,friendly and professional.Special mention to Elli and Giorgos.

GRAHAM JACKSON said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th November 2018

Excellent stay as always. Food always good but this time exceptional. A small observation - I think the hotel should do more to promote the history of the house and the grounds. It really is a super place to visit.

Alison Dryburgh said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2018

We had a lovely relaxing night at Stonefield Castle. Food was delicious and well presented at dinner and breakfast was great too. The porridge was outstanding. The room was clean and no complaints about it. The grounds are lovely and we had a leisurely walk through them on Saturday morning. Would recommend for a relaxing stay.

A guest said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd November 2018

An enjoyable stay in this wonderfully situated old castle hotel with extensive grounds on the shores of Loch Fyne. The library and drawing room make the ideal place to retreat on a wet & stormy winter's afternoon, or guests can wander the garden & grounds down to loch shore. The dining room affords magnificent views of Loch Fyne; whilst the hotel bar is atmospheric with friendly service and a good bar menu. The introduction of £50.00 credit per room per stay - to spend on food & drink in dining room or bar - offers value and flexibility in terms of dining arrangements: this was appreciated. Will certainly return...

robert buchanan said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th October 2018

When we arrived at 4.00pm on a cold evening we were told that there was no heating in the hotel and in fact it was not restored until 5.00pm the following day. This was disappointing as the dining room and public rooms were cold in addition to the bedroom. The lights in the bedroom tripped several times depending on what other lights had been switched on in other rooms. This left us without any lighting in the en-suite. However. staff were very hospitable and food was excellent.