Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Stonefield Castle Hotel, Tarbert (Loch Fyne)

Tarbert, Tarbert (Loch Fyne), PA296YJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

Brian Murphy said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st October 2019

Loved our stay here. Lovely staff, room, food and walking. Only reason for 8/10 for room was the fact the curtains were very poorly g.

Alison Dakers said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2019

This overnight stay was exquisite. The welcome of the staff; comfort of the room; ambiance of the surroundings; quality of the food in the restaurant; all could not have been surpassed. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. A couple of minor things though - the size and accessibility of the hairdryer was poor and the complimentary bottle of wine was missing - both of which I mentioned to the staff and they said they would pass my comments on.

Derek Bone said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 12th June 2019

Very enjoyable stay this was our 2nd stay in this hotel.Staff were very friendly.Highly recommended

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th May 2019

Excellent stay as always. In particular the food was even better than usual, better than the 1 rosette they have. Glad to see I'm going updating of hotel and gardens. A real gem! Room we had was rather small though as was bed.

A guest said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th April 2019

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The main reception areas of the hotel and our room we nice but a wee bit tired in places. We ate in the restaurant one night and in the bar area one night. Both were great meals and service. Overall it was a great stay.

J Baird said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 10th March 2019

Really nice overnight stay. Staff were very nice and attentive,would have been nice to have some local staff as Well. Food was excellent. Only negative comment would be some areas need more house keeping ...attention to detail would finish off a lovely castle.

M Clark said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th February 2019

Beautiful location and perfect accommodation. I relaxed as soon as I stepped through the front door. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Will definitely return again for a longer visit

Frank Kennedy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th February 2019

once again Stonefield did not let us down, we have been coming back to the hotel for the last 11 years and it is always great for the quality food,service and tranquility. We will be back.

Yvonne dallas said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th January 2019

We had an amazing time. The staff were curteous,friendly and professional.Special mention to Elli and Giorgos.

GRAHAM JACKSON said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th November 2018

Excellent stay as always. Food always good but this time exceptional. A small observation - I think the hotel should do more to promote the history of the house and the grounds. It really is a super place to visit.

Alison Dryburgh said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2018

We had a lovely relaxing night at Stonefield Castle. Food was delicious and well presented at dinner and breakfast was great too. The porridge was outstanding. The room was clean and no complaints about it. The grounds are lovely and we had a leisurely walk through them on Saturday morning. Would recommend for a relaxing stay.

A guest said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd November 2018

An enjoyable stay in this wonderfully situated old castle hotel with extensive grounds on the shores of Loch Fyne. The library and drawing room make the ideal place to retreat on a wet & stormy winter's afternoon, or guests can wander the garden & grounds down to loch shore. The dining room affords magnificent views of Loch Fyne; whilst the hotel bar is atmospheric with friendly service and a good bar menu. The introduction of £50.00 credit per room per stay - to spend on food & drink in dining room or bar - offers value and flexibility in terms of dining arrangements: this was appreciated. Will certainly return...

robert buchanan said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th October 2018

When we arrived at 4.00pm on a cold evening we were told that there was no heating in the hotel and in fact it was not restored until 5.00pm the following day. This was disappointing as the dining room and public rooms were cold in addition to the bedroom. The lights in the bedroom tripped several times depending on what other lights had been switched on in other rooms. This left us without any lighting in the en-suite. However. staff were very hospitable and food was excellent.

Anne Bunn said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 24th October 2018

We had a lovely stay, very comfortable and homely hotel. Food very high quality, perhaps portions could be a bit larger in view of the price.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd October 2018

Lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds with magnificent views overlooking Loch Fyne. Our room was very comfortable with a king size bed and lovely bath and shower with plenty of . The breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from. We enjoyed walking in the extensive grounds of the hotel. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay.

M Borland said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2018

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at Stonefield. It really is good for chilling out. The food and accommodation were really great although I would say that the £30 allowance for dinner didn't quite go far enough! As a disabled traveller, I appreciated the ramps into the hotel and restaurant. The ground floor room (Room 6) had great views of the loch (between the trees) - this was a bonus. Also, the walk-in shower was so accessible with a low 'lip'. The staff were very friendly and approachable (the two Ellies and Molly). Thank you to everyone, though, for a really lovely stay!

Stuart Gunn said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 13th June 2018

Enjoyed two night break here in June 18. Staff friendly and helpful mostly foreign. Very nice room with excellent bathroom. Public rooms a lot dated and in need of an upgrade but quite stately in some ways which would suit our tourist friends.Dinner menu choice very limited ,probably only five mains including one vegie and two fish leaving one beef and one chicken so eating there would be somewhat boring.The food was very good but far too expensive and delivery was pretty slow. Would go back but maybe only B&B.

Mr Pitchers said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th April 2018

We had a very enjoyable break at Stonefield Castle. Our room had been recently refurbished with a king size bed. The bathroom was particularly lovely with a separate shower cubicle and bath, all very new. We had a lovely meal with our bottle of wine from the offer. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of starters and mains made to order. Very nice young staff. The dining room conservatory is beautiful and overlooks Loch Fyne. The hotel grounds are large and good for walking. Overall an excellent stay.

Lorna Kennedy said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th March 2018

A very relaxing stay. Beautiful scenery. Welcoming staff. Will certainly go back.

Anne McWilliam said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th March 2018

It would have been better if plates at breakfast were warm, hot food on cold plates not good. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Room was very comfortable, although lampshade on table was very worn. Over all though stay was great and woul return again.

Peter WHALLEY said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th March 2018

We booked one of the 4 premium rooms, it came with a 4 poster bed along with tea making equipment, however I did not expect to find a coffee making machine there also. The staff were great and the food was good, the hotel was full due to the ferries being cancelled caused by high winds so the first night meal was a relaxed affair. In general the old part of the hotel was full of character but was ready for a makeover. That said I would go again and I have to thank the hotel management for their gesture towards our 50th wedding anniversary.

E Wilson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th February 2018

Fabulous location, views outstanding from dining room and friendly welcoming staff

GRAHAM JACKSON said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th January 2018

A great stay in the Sr9nefiels as usual. An amazing place!

Alexander Duff said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2017

Stayed here for 1 night and enjoyed the peaceful location and friendly staff. Would recommend.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th July 2017

Very nice stay here - only 3 negatives. 1. Drive is hazardous, so full of potholes, that there's no need of the speed bump sleeping policemen. 2. No disabled parking at either entrance - we are not in the dark ages and there is disability discrimination legislation about this! 3. Internal bathroom with no window did not have a working extractor fan - not good, isn't there legislation on this too? Positives - many. Lovely comfortable modern room and bathroom. Castle nicely decorated, very picturesque view from the public rooms/terrace. Good choice of breakfast menu and nice food, although the porridge wasn't great. All staff very personable and welcoming. The price we paid for 1 night's B and B was on the high side though - we've had similar experiences in hotels at much lower cost.