Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Stonefield Castle Hotel, Tarbert (Loch Fyne)

Tarbert, Tarbert (Loch Fyne), PA296YJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th November 2022

Had an absolute fantastic time away here at stonefield castle. The room was fabby, food and drink also. Staff were so friendly and nothing was too much bother for them. Will definitely recommend to family and friend for a trip away.

GRAHAM JACKSON said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th October 2022

Just back from our favourite hotel. A magnificent setting in its own fantastic gardens on the banks of Loch Fyne. Food first class, very comfortable room. Hard working and friendly staff who all take a pride in their work, and in the hotel itself. The whole team in the hotel made us feel so welcome, a special nod to Mo and Grady.

GRAHAM JACKSON said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th April 2022

A magical place. Just returned from one of our many visits to one of our favourite places. Great service from a really nice group of staff. Food quality in a stunning dining room excellent as always. This hotel on the side of Loch Fyne has amazing grounds combining super views, great walks as well as interesting historical sites.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 28th March 2022

We enjoyed our stay in the Stonefield Castle hotel. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Alastair Campbell said...

20%
20%
20%
20%

Stayed 24th March 2022

Hi Holly. We stayed at the stonefield castle on Thursday to Friday, we have stayed here before two years ago and I thought it would be nice to go back for my partners birthday, the last time was fantastic all the staff could not do enough for us and nothing was any bother, the manager had a great team and all very happy doing their work, but this time was horrible starting with the room it was very dirty with dust everywhere and cobwebs, a hole under the carpet in the floor, the restaurant at dinner time didn’t give us an option on meals, I paid £22 for a small piece of chicken a bit of carrot something called a purple sprout which was beetroot, some kind of potatoe very small, and something green which I haven’t a clue what it was, £44 for the both of us and when we past the bar area it was full of people having dinner a better option and we might have felt full after our dinner as we were still gry after our small picturesque dinner,and in the morning ar breakfast someone came and asked what we like tea or coffee, they took the order and we waited and waited for 25 minutes before we got our coffee after complaining three times, and our breakfast took nearly an hour to come to us and people who came in after us were served straight away, I had to complain about three times again to get our breakfast, the staff not got a clue what they where supposed to be doing and there was two of them arguing in front o the quests and one of them was trying to get the quests on her side and she wouldn’t let it go she kept on running behind the manager saying don’t you speak to me like that and don’t shout either, it was like a road side cafe as if we weren’t there and the manager’s shirt was filthy with food spilt all down her front and she was treating everyone as if they were in that road side cafe, the hotel has went down hill it’s just not the same and it’s not just us that was complaining just about everybody was the staff was getting all the orders wrong just about every table and there was not enough bowls for the cereal people had to wait until someone was finished with their bowl so it could be washed for someone else could use it, our stay was not good this time and I’m sorry to say we won’t be going back as this hotel is not a four star it’s a two maybe if it’s lucky to get that horrible time. Thank you Mr Alastair Campbell

Nigel MacInnes said...

57%
80%
80%
10%

Stayed 20th February 2022

A lovely old castle with good rooms. Sadly the food was appalling and grossly overpriced. After pointing this out it was not charged for but we went gry. To cap it all off no in the morning! Very disappointing as we drove 100 miles to visit, I would definitely not recommend.

Morag Fleming said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2022

Fantastic break in a comfortable hotel in a beautiful setting. We chose the week of the storms to go away but were tucked up warm and cosy in the hotel while still managing some walks.

julie Williams said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th February 2022

From the moment we entered the castle hotel we were made to feel very welcome. Staff were very friendly and chatty. Nothing was any trouble at all. We had a meal in the hotel restaurant on the Friday night , we had the A la crate menu, it was so delicious, again staff were so attentive. Breakfast on both mornings was really nice plenty to choose from wether you were having a cooked breakfast to choosing from the continental buffet. We were going to be bringing our dog to the hotel but changed our mind, it was good to see other people bringing their dogs and they being made welcome. Woould definitely stay there again, beautiful castle and views are just Wow

Tom Hassan said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th January 2022

A very friendly and informative reception, when we explained we were heading for a ferry in the morning and would miss breakfast we were immediately offered a packed breakfast to go. The surroundings and atmosphere are fantastic. The room was clean and had all you need for a comfortable stay.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th December 2021

Another enjoyable stay at characterful Stonefield Castle which felt to be the perfect peaceful setting for a pre-Christmas breather. Well-appointed, clean and comfortable room (king bed - hurray!); excellent breakfast in dining room (combination of cold buffet & cooked breakfast served to table) with lovely loch views and first class dinners in the cosy bar area (dining room also available). The staff are warm, friendly, and full of good humour: a big Thank you! to Charlotte on reception, Bret in the bar, Mo in housekeeping, and Trudy and Emily on dining room duty, as well as the whole staff team behind the scenes who worked hard to offer a warm and welcoming experience, despite the current challenging cirstances. You are appreciated - and we will be back!

bruce Methven said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th November 2021

We had a 2 night break at this classic Scottish venue set in a beautiful location.Our room was spacious and well appointed.Food was excellent and staff were friendly and helpful.The bar was cosy and welcoming and,though the weather was chilly - the sun shone.I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Malcolm Holmes said...

74%
40%
80%
100%

Stayed 10th December 2021

We found the staff very helpful and the food was excellent. The room was very tired when opening the curtains the timbers around the window were black not very nice at all. The bathroom had cracked tiles on the floor, the shower head could have done with a good clean, the sink had a crack, and the tiles in the shower cubical could have done with re-grouting. We have stayed here over the years and I would say it is the worst room we have been allocated

NEIL MCILHAGGA said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th December 2021

Satisfactory

AUSTIN BARNETT said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th November 2021

There are so many great points regarding Stonefield Castle Hotel. The hotel's ambience created by a mixture of historical features, setting, surroundings, comfort, friendliness, views and delicious food makes this a perfect place to stay. The staff are brilliant - very friendly and attentive. The breakfast menu was superb and mix that in with the views from the conservatory - I cant think it can be topped.

Anne Byrne said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th November 2021

We had a very enjoyable stay. The food was great and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. The bar has a very good selection of whiskies and gins and has great barman who makes lovely tails. We will definitely be returning next year.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th October 2021

4 of us stayed here for 2 nights on 2nd & 3rd Oct, 2021 the hotel was beautiful & the food was lovely. All the staff were very helpful & couldn’t do enough for us. Would definitely recommend this hotel & we will return.

Karen Stevenson said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2021

We enjoyed our stay at Stonefield Castle, all the staff are very welcoming and nothing too much trouble, we arrived much earlier than expected & the receptionist arranged our room to be ready in no time, its a lovely castle set in a stunning location overlooking the loch, maybe needing some updating it would be great if it had leisure facilities, maybe in the future . Overall a very pleasant stay.

GRAHAM JACKSON said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd August 2021

Very much enjoyed our stay at the Stonefield Castle hotel. Comfortable room with a lovely loch view, welcoming staff and food first class as usual.

Jill Carruthers said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 21st July 2021

Enjoyed a lovely break at the Stonefield Castle. Food was excellent and staff very friendly. Room was very comfortable. No air conditioning, but we were on the north side of the building so that wasn't a problem. As noted by other guests, some indoor areas and the exterior of the hotel need TLC. We had great weather so the terrace was lovely. Only sour note was that several members of staff were consistently not wearing their masks properly i.e. over mouth only, removing when speaking etc. and that caused me concern.

John Forrest said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st June 2021

Excellent Hotel, in beautiful surroundings.

Michelle Nield said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th June 2021

This is a beautiful hotel with stunning grounds, scenery and location on the shores of Loch Fyne. The bar has been set very high with a magnificent hotel, professional staff who could not do enough for you, a perfect setting with amazing views over Loch Fyne. There’s even a little island you can walk out to! Very dog friendly. I must admit that I thought that the hotel staff might be a bit pretentious ( we were on a fantastic deal with a bottle of wine and meal)but I could not have been more wrong! Lovely room, choice of wine- and you can drink it with your meal - just a wonderful break!

David Campbell said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th May 2021

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Social distancing well managed without to much disruption to service of meals and drinks. All staff were attentive at all times and any requests or queries were dealt with promptly. Excellent bath and shower.

Dorothy Parker said...

85%
80%
90%
N/A

Stayed 5th May 2021

Stonefield Castle provided a great location, excellent food and comfortable room for a day night break. Staff were very helpful. Well worth a visit.

Matthew Holbrook said...

74%
80%
40%
100%

Stayed 2nd May 2021

Overall a very positive stay in a lovely location. However the staff were painfully slow. Some examples below: Dinner: approximately 25 minutes after ordering some soft drinks, our waiter admitted he forgot to put the order in. Our main courses hadn’t arrived after 1 hour of ordering. I suspect these were also forgotten about but we were constantly assured ‘your food is coming’. Breakfast: we were seated and both ordered the Scottish breakfast. After 35 minutes, 2 further tables were seated around us and both were served cooked breakfasts, one couple had even started and finished breakfast in the time it took before our food arrived. The food itself was of a Very high standard, and the staff were very polite, but it was extremely slow at meal times.

Shelagh Quinn said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 14th October 2020

Magnificent position on Loch Fyne and wonderful dining room with picture windows on 3 sides. Staff helpful and provided good service. New bathroom in our room which was very smart. Wonderful building with public rooms retaining their original features.