Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Stonefield Castle Hotel, Tarbert (Loch Fyne)

Tarbert, Tarbert (Loch Fyne), PA296YJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

L Clunie said...

67%
30%
80%
90%

Stayed 9th May 2014

The grounds of the hotel are lovely as is the situation but unfortunately the rooms are very, very tired, desperately in need of refurbishment.Staff are excellent, very friendly and happy to help and are a credit to the hotel.

David McLellan said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 18th April 2014

Restuarant food was average. My cooked breakfast was cold, sent back and after a short while another, hot breakfast was served. Bar menu much nicer.

Gordon Currie said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th April 2014

A wonderful place for a relaxing break. Well worth paying a little bit extra for the loch view rooms. Staff very attentive and friendly.

Sheena Cobban said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th April 2014

We enjoyed a 2 night dbb stay which was very good value for money. Food and service were both excellent, the views from the dining room were fantastic and we had coffee after dinner relaxing by the log fire. We also enjoyed the many walks around the grounds using the handy map given to us by the receptionist. The only complaint would be that the bedroom could do with being redecorated and the bath tap was loose and dripping. We would definitely go back again.

william macdonald said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th April 2014

it was a relaxing break in comfortable hotel with good food and fantastic views

David Harris said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th April 2014

If you are looking for a 19th. century castle in pristine condition this is not it. These places cost an arm and a leg to maintain and on the prices the hotel charges this would be difficult. If you are looking for a comfortable atmospheric stay with great friendly service, a proper welcome(including from Fudge the dog),superb views and good food then this is the place. The bar, drawing room and library are tremendous rooms, well kept and comfortably relaxing. Understandably there are some knocks and scrapes in other parts but still a great place. Fine gardens for wandering.

Ishbel Cruickshank said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 6th April 2014

The food was good but not a big choice if you did not like fish.Breakfast was very good.

Ian Ramage said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th April 2014

Just returned from a great weekend at Stonefield Castle. No complaints-food and service excellent. A lovely place for a relaxing break

Kathleen Cooper said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2014

really enjoyed our stay, quiet location, old castle but mod cons excellent shower, amazing view from restaurant, friendly helpful staff, wonderful food, nice gardens. Hope to return. Thanks

I mcmillan said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th March 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Stonefield Castle The only problem was the complete lack of hot water This fault was being fixed when we checked out. The staff were excellent as was the food.

Nigel Armstrong said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th March 2014

Great food, excellent service, nice ambiance only let down by average d

R Morrison said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th March 2014

We booked our stay at the Stonefield Castle to celebrate our Golden Wedding, we enjoyed our stay, and will definately return.

Mrs McCormick said...

74%
60%
100%
60%

Stayed 25th March 2014

Staff were all very hard working and delivered an excellent service. Bedroom needed to be refurbished. Hotel a bit dated. Although food good portions very small.

Barry Hendren said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th March 2014

Booked the Stonefield using late deal special two nights DBB

peter mcghee said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th March 2014

Just our cup of tea - staff helpful and efficient, location superb and hotel nicely old-fashioned and comfortable. Food adventurous and successful. Very good wine list. A great experience and Fudge, their chocolate Labrador, is the real star!

Lyndsay Urbanczyk said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th March 2014

The Hotel, staff and description were as expected the public areas were opulent and the staff were exceptionally helpful. The food was out of this world. The experience was let down by the bed room I had wanted to upgrade to a superior room, but the one I wanted was not available so we opted for a loch view. The room was clean well appointed and comfortable but was in the 1970s extension and I don't think it had been upgraded since then. It took the edge off our anniversary. If we had had a room in the main castle it would no doubt have had original plaster work cornice and style more fitting the rest of the hotel. I would return, but would make sure my room was in the main hotel if a superior room was unavailable.

Margaret Farrell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th March 2014

Fabulous !!sums up our stay here jaw dropping beautiful location From arrival to departure everything was as it should be will most certainly be back

A Legowski said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd February 2014

It was our 40th wedding anniversary and we booked 2 nights but then booked another two, so hoped to stay for 4 nights. We had been to Stonefield Castle a number of times before and loved every minute of our stay. Unfortunately we had a family emergency on the 4th morning and had to check out a day early. We had hoped we would not have to pay for this but we did, so a bit disappointed with this, but overall we were very happy with the break.

R Cameron said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2014

We were given a very warm welcome and tour when we arrived. This hotel is amazing, so peaceful, with so much history too. The staff were excellent, all very friendly and no request was a problem. Our food was gorgeous, fresh salmon, oysters and scallops and that's just a little taster, all our meals were cooked to perfection. The dinning room is in the conservatory that looks over loch and the view is beautiful. After dinner we just sat back in the sitting room in front of the huge log fire, one of many in this hotel. If you just want to get away from it all then this is the hotel to be at. I will be back for sure.

Richard Beattie said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th February 2014

The outside of part of the hotel was in need of redecoration. The bedroom window would not open other than that the food and service was excellent.

agnes rippon said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 21st February 2014

Hotel is nice staff are great although the girl on the reception on the morning we were leaving let the place down a bit with her attitude,food is lovely and it was a great place to relax ,bathrooms in rooms really need an update .

George Hawthorn said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st February 2014

Beautiful location, friendly staff and an overall very enjoyable experience.

JAMES CREMIN said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th March 2014

Staff in all areas so pleasant and helpful .Amazing food ,great views and will return.

E McColl said...

74%
30%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th February 2014

The level of service and the food were fantastic but the bedroom walls were paper thin and we couldn't sleep for the snoring coming from next door.

Joyce Gibson said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th January 2014

Our stay was very relaxing and staff very welcoming and engaging. The bedroom was lovely and clean although tired, in need of updating. The hotel is in a fantastic setting with amazing scenic views from the dining room and we felt the meals were fresh and well presented. I certainly would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and we would use this facility again in the future.