Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Stonefield Castle Hotel, Tarbert (Loch Fyne)

Tarbert, Tarbert (Loch Fyne), PA296YJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Gavin Maxwell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2014

Food, service, and rooms were all excellent. A beautiful location and property. We very much enjoyed our stay, and plan to return. The only constructive feedback I would offer is that it would be nice to have a vegan option on the menu.

jackie hawthorn said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 11th October 2014

our stay at the hotel was lovely, the staff very friendly, and I will go back again, the food also was to a high standerd

Gordon Munro said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2014

A warm welcome, excellent food and very attentive and helpful staff. Views from the grounds and dining rom are outstanding. A very pleasant stay.

allan longbottom said...

74%
70%
90%
60%

Stayed 10th October 2014

nice hotel but spoiled by the rudeness of the hotel manageress and the room that I believe was not a upgrade and had nosey fans running out side from 6 am to 11 am and 4pm to 11 pm.

Douglas Curran said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2014

My wife and I enjoyed very much our short stay at Stonefield Castle Hotel. We were looking to enjoy a quite time and visit Kilmartin and surrounding area. Our visit was a success from the moment we saw the Hotel and its setting. The view from the dining area is outstanding. The menu was excellent more so if you like fish dishes which we do.

David Porter said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 8th October 2014

beautiful location, excellent service, special mention to the Romanian barman (Mikai?) a very interesting and well-read man.

John Stewart said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 30th September 2014

Hotel was very good value. The low lighting throughout the hotel made reading after dark impossible without using a torch, perhaps the availability of a few angle poise lamps would help.

donny strathie said...

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th September 2014

good location good food nice staff badly needs upgraded

Alistair Stewart said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2014

A lovely old hotel on the lochside with wonderful views. The bedrooms are a wee bit tired but really big with an enormous bed. The service from the staff was just great being both professional and friendly and the food was fantastic for dinner and equally as good for breakfast. The views from the restaurant couldn't be beaten and the relaxed informal atmosphere in the bar, library and drawing room make it a place to chill out. Didn't get a chance to explore the gardens but they looked really nice.

Mr/s Paton said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2014

Certain areas of the hotel could do with a facelift. It is a beautiful building particularly the view from the incredible dinning room window but rooms would benefit from decoration. The staff were wonderful in all ways. Seafood starters fantastic but potatoes with main course like smash! Having to pay

Janet Foster said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th September 2014

The hotel was lovely. The food was excellent and the staff were excellent also.

Ai-Lien Banks said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th September 2014

An enjoyable stay: scenic location and quietly impressive ambience; welcoming efficient staff; decent quality dining (in dining room) with wonderful views and atmospheric ambience (thank you for the understated background music giving a flavour of the area without being intrusive); bar dining less impressive due to expensive menu; well-appointed bedroom with partial loch view (only slightly marred by uncomfortable bed). Would certainly return.

George Darroch said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th September 2014

Hotel itself needs a little T L C It is what it is a beautiful old lady. Views are spectacular Will go again

Susan Currie said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th September 2014

Beautiful setting, fantastic food and staff friendly.

Gordon MacPherson said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th September 2014

Very friendly,professional greeting from reservation staff on desk. Helpful young man showed us through various rooms in hotel,& explained meal times etc. then took us to room which we were not too happy with as it was up stairs and had the view of a flat roof. We asked if we could be moved & immediately were shown to a much nicer room overlooking the loch/garden. First class.

Mrs Millar said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th September 2014

The location, view from the dining room and general opulence is fantastic. The food was good and the service couldn't be faulted. The bedroom (room 4) in the extension was very comfortable but the soundproofing was abysmal. The sound of talking, snoring and movement could easily be heard coming from the room above.

Frans de Bruin said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th September 2014

Great hotel, with beautifull view

Thierry CANUEL said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th August 2014

Hotel restaurant tres agr

david shearer said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th July 2014

Beautiful location . Nice friendly staff, super view of the loch from the restaurant..enjoyed our stay immensely..

Linda Macgregor said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 25th July 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at Stonefield Castle and a long walk in the extensive grounds. Our room was clean and spacious with a huge bed and a water view.The dining room has a wonderful outlook with the opportunity for birdwatching while you dine! Food is excellent, well presented and freshly cooked.Certainly worth a visit.

Andrew Hogan said...

84%
60%
90%
100%

Stayed 16th July 2014

Stayed in new part built 1971, room a bit dated and bathroom needs upgraded, view over Loch Fyne was nice, footpath to the shore was in very poor condition. Food was excellent.

John Wilson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th July 2014

If you want to go somewhere special, Stonefield Castle ticks all the boxes. My girlfriend and I spent 3 days and 2 nights at Stonefield, and to be honest we could have easily stayed much longer. The hotel itself is really impressive on the outside when you approach up the half mile wooded driveway. At check-in, we were taken a short tour to see the main public areas and then taken to our room. There is a lift for those with any problems with stairs. The rooms dont seem to lack space, storage or comfort. The bathroom we had was really spacious and warm. If I was to be picky, it could do with a little tlc and slightly more modern features, but again that is being picky. Every public room was tastefully decorated and in keeping with the building itself. The furnishings were great and very comfortable. The restaurant has held its AA Rosette since 2004 I think, and I definately understand the reasons why. It was a culinary experience, and being a foody, I was not disappointed. From the freshest fish and shellfish, to steak and duck, there was definately something for everyone and cooked to perfection. Every member of the restaurant staff should be commended for the flawless service that they provide, along with the casual chat if you wanted to. The views over Loch Fyne are to die for from the restaurant which adds to the dining experience. During the day, you can sit in the library, bar area or if its nice outside, on the patio area to relax. There are also lovely walks through the woodland and around the wee island thats sits out from the hotel. This is a hotel that I highly recommend and a prime choice if you literally want to get away from it all. Peaceful and tranquil break. Enjoy John 36, Lindsay 28

Mr/s Freeburn said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th July 2014

We both enjoyed our stay your room was clean and tidy and your food was lovely.

Derek Schofield said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th July 2014

A quiet and relaxing hotel with a warm welcome and afriendly Staff.

John Lax said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th July 2014

We always have a wonderful stay at Stonefield Castle Hotel. This visit we had wall to wall sunshine. The meals were good and the Staff exceptional also Fudge the friendly dog needs a mention.