Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Stonefield Castle Hotel, Tarbert (Loch Fyne)

Tarbert, Tarbert (Loch Fyne), PA296YJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Malcolm Stewart said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th February 2015

Another very pleasant stay at the Stonefield Castle

cristian lazaroaie said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th February 2015

100% scottish experience my first water sunrise in 11 years in scotland

STUART GIBSON said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd January 2015

The staff at the hotel made us and our dog feel very welcome. Its a rare occasion where pets are so welcome in a hotel enviroment. The rooms werelarge and clean. the breakfast was lovely and the location is perfect for local walks.

Malcolm Stewart said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th December 2014

Another very enjoyable stay at our favourite hotel.

Elizabeth Burnett said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th November 2014

Excellent location, ambience and attentive staff. Only downside, for us on a D,B&B basis, was the fact that the dinner menu does not change (3/4 monthly we were told). Menu fine for those who like seafood/fish however little choice for "meat eaters". We were able to ask for stake and ale pie from the "Bar Menu". Perhaps this option could be made clear to guests.

Mrs Cox said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2014

x2 rooms booked & on arrival we expressed dismay at the level of noise coming from refurbishment work being done in adjoining room. this was dealt with immediately by staff and one of our rooms was changed. enjoyed our stay,beautiful old property with gorgeous features, food excellent.staff friendly, bedrooms well presented but bathroom in room 6 dreadful,complete row of tiles above bath actually hanging off, bath tap dripped constantly & sink slow to drain ,not to be expected in a 4 star hotel... but believe bathrooms due to be upgraded soon,so would like to return after this to see improvements made.

andrew mclaren said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd November 2014

the rooms were a little dated but comfortable nonetheless. refurbishment work was on-going too and it will be interesting to see how it looks after completion. the food was fabulous as were the staff and the views were simply stunning.

Janice Carlyle said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 1st November 2014

Lovely old hotel. Rooms are nice but nothing special. Service was very good (all people from Latvia and other Eastern European countries). Food varied from some courses excellent to some courses really poor.

James Connell said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th October 2014

Enjoyed our 3 nights at the stonefield hotel.Staff all very helpful and friendly loved the food, would do Masterchef proud The dog loved the walks through the 60 acres of garden and woodland walks hope to go back again.

Scott Wylie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2014

We considered this a perfect stay. The views from the bedroom and public rooms were unbelievable. The food was outstanding and the staff were very efficient and friendly.

Ronald Douglas said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2014

Food was excellent apart from old cold toast at breakfast!

Gavin Maxwell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2014

Food, service, and rooms were all excellent. A beautiful location and property. We very much enjoyed our stay, and plan to return. The only constructive feedback I would offer is that it would be nice to have a vegan option on the menu.

jackie hawthorn said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 11th October 2014

our stay at the hotel was lovely, the staff very friendly, and I will go back again, the food also was to a high standerd

Gordon Munro said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2014

A warm welcome, excellent food and very attentive and helpful staff. Views from the grounds and dining rom are outstanding. A very pleasant stay.

allan longbottom said...

74%
70%
90%
60%

Stayed 10th October 2014

nice hotel but spoiled by the rudeness of the hotel manageress and the room that I believe was not a upgrade and had nosey fans running out side from 6 am to 11 am and 4pm to 11 pm.

Douglas Curran said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2014

My wife and I enjoyed very much our short stay at Stonefield Castle Hotel. We were looking to enjoy a quite time and visit Kilmartin and surrounding area. Our visit was a success from the moment we saw the Hotel and its setting. The view from the dining area is outstanding. The menu was excellent more so if you like fish dishes which we do.

David Porter said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 8th October 2014

beautiful location, excellent service, special mention to the Romanian barman (Mikai?) a very interesting and well-read man.

John Stewart said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 30th September 2014

Hotel was very good value. The low lighting throughout the hotel made reading after dark impossible without using a torch, perhaps the availability of a few angle poise lamps would help.

donny strathie said...

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th September 2014

good location good food nice staff badly needs upgraded

Alistair Stewart said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2014

A lovely old hotel on the lochside with wonderful views. The bedrooms are a wee bit tired but really big with an enormous bed. The service from the staff was just great being both professional and friendly and the food was fantastic for dinner and equally as good for breakfast. The views from the restaurant couldn't be beaten and the relaxed informal atmosphere in the bar, library and drawing room make it a place to chill out. Didn't get a chance to explore the gardens but they looked really nice.

Mr/s Paton said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2014

Certain areas of the hotel could do with a facelift. It is a beautiful building particularly the view from the incredible dinning room window but rooms would benefit from decoration. The staff were wonderful in all ways. Seafood starters fantastic but potatoes with main course like smash! Having to pay

Janet Foster said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th September 2014

The hotel was lovely. The food was excellent and the staff were excellent also.

Ai-Lien Banks said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th September 2014

An enjoyable stay: scenic location and quietly impressive ambience; welcoming efficient staff; decent quality dining (in dining room) with wonderful views and atmospheric ambience (thank you for the understated background music giving a flavour of the area without being intrusive); bar dining less impressive due to expensive menu; well-appointed bedroom with partial loch view (only slightly marred by uncomfortable bed). Would certainly return.

George Darroch said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th September 2014

Hotel itself needs a little T L C It is what it is a beautiful old lady. Views are spectacular Will go again

Susan Currie said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th September 2014

Beautiful setting, fantastic food and staff friendly.