Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, Otley

Yorkgate, Otley, LS213NU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

A guest said...

77%
70%
100%
60%

Stayed 15th March 2020

A good 2 night break was had

Wayne Nelson said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 23rd February 2020

We had a lovely break here. Hotel staff and facilities were great. Food was really nice. Definitely somewhere we will visit again.

Laura Condie said...

0%
0%
0%
N/A

Stayed 18th February 2020

Myself and my fiancé planned this trip for his birthday (18 Feb) back in September, staying 2 nights in York City Centre and then extending our trip for one night to Chevin Country Park Hotel and Spa. After a busy 2 days in York we were looking forward to a relaxing day/night in the spa and our Woodland Cabin Standard Plus room. On arrival we were checked in quickly and handed our room key. When we got to the Cabin we were a little disappointed with the size and the fact the room was cold but we decided as it was only for one night we would deal with it. We then made our way to the spa to be told the boiler wasn’t working so the pool wasn’t at its optimum temperate (understatement if I ever heard one) and the jacuzzi and outdoor hot tub weren’t working at all. The pool was freezing cold, the sauna and steam room were the size of a postage stamp and the changing rooms were tiny and cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Before I even entered the pool I heard another 2 women complaining about how cold the showers were and they couldn’t even wash their hair. All in all we were in the the “spa” area for less than 15 minutes (including getting changed etc). When we got back to the cabin room we then noticed that their were dirty marks on the bed sheets, the tv didn’t work and the door to the outside decking area didn’t open. As this was my fiancé’s birthday and we were hoping for a nice relaxing night we decided pretty quickly that we were not happy to stay in this hotel. We made our way to reception and were given a full refund. After the refund had been processed the receptionist asked us why we were leaving (not before), this speaks volumes to me really. From check in to a full refund and leaving the hotel was less than 60 minutes. Very disappointing. A quick booking was made on booking.com for a hotel a few miles down the road where we had a much more relaxing and enjoyable stay. Would not recommend!

Michael Bond said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd January 2020

Overall, a pleasant enough stay, although a bit fawlty towers at times. Receptionist upon arrival only validated our room key for one night and, having had to return to reception on the second day, the receptionist then on duty didn't know how to revalidate the key and the staffer who came to her assistance had no idea how to instruct. The poor girl asked her to explain it again. Our booked deal gave us the option to dine for £19.50 pp but this was denied on booking in. We ate in the restaurant on or second evening and the food was fine. ON evening one we had to eat in the bar because the restaurant was full until about 2000 hrs. The gnocci was disappointing. It wasn't freshly made but out of a packet, tasty enough but tough and chewy. Very expensive for what it was. Breakfast on the first morning was chaotic with a queue for tables. A single girl was trying to do everything- seat people, take their orders for hot drinks, returning to take food orders. Second morning was fine. All breakfast food was good and all staff members friendly. Good value for money deal at £30.00 pp.

David Chaplin said...

87%
100%
90%
70%

Stayed 22nd December 2019

Absolutely amazing place 2 stay we loved the log cabin and spa facilities highly recommend

Lynne Maurice said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th November 2019

We stayed 2 nights with breakfast and dinner. All the staff throughout the hotel were so attentive, helpful and very friendly. The hotel was lovely and the cabins were really cosy and clean. The food was outstanding and very well presented. We will definitely be going back to see the beautiful surrounding in a different season. We were really pleased with our choice and had a lovely break.

Laura Clements said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st October 2019

The staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean, however we had issues getting the shower to work properly. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and were overall impressed with the hotel. We felt the spar really let the hotel down! We weren’t impressed with the cleanliness of the spa area. The changing room was filthy and littered with dirty wet towels. The pool side was dirty with muddy footprints. It was quite late when we used the spa but would still expect it to be clean. It was marginally better the following morning when there was more staff around.

BARBARA GILBANK said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 22nd September 2019

We enjoyed a one night stay here. It was peaceful & room was clean. However the toilet seat was loose & swivelled when you sat on it. The cistern also kept refilling every so often so it was a bit of a nuisance. The food at the restaurant was very good & the breakfast was excellent too.

Lynne Smart said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th September 2019

Stayed here for 2 nights and what a lovely time we had. Staff were lovely breakfast good, evening meal superb. Room was fine only thing we could criticise is the lack of power on the shower but this is in the process of being renewed we were informed by staff. Leisure facilities although not used were spotless and the gym had a good selection of new equipment. After reading other reviews we wondered had we done the right thing booking this hotel and I can say 100% we definitely did the right thing and would stay again.

stanley mitchell said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th September 2019

Lovely place to stay staff more than helpful Very nice food Already recomend to friends & family

Daniel Birks said...

20%
60%
0%
0%

Stayed 18th August 2019

This was the worst experience we’ve had at a hotel and we have stayed at a lot. We came here for our wedding night nearly 4 years ago and that was fine. We came a few months ago and it was okay but this time was absolutely terrible! I will never be coming back again! Ever! The food came out wrong 3 times and only had a starter in over 2 hours of waiting. The steak was like leather when asked for medium. The restaurant manager was rude and sarcastic and didn’t care. The other manager was also not helpful and didn’t do anything to make anything up to us. We ended up leaving the food and going back to our cabin which didn’t get better as the tv didn’t work and we were already in a very bad mood because of the terrible experience in the hotel so we packed our bags and checked out that night. We couldn’t bare to sleep there overnight after the service we received. The only positive was the lady at reception was fantastic and lovely. Be warned. Don’t go here. You will be disappointed!

A guest said...

74%
50%
100%
70%

Stayed 28th August 2019

Spa staff went beyond expectations when an item was misplaced. Food would have been outstanding had it been a few degrees warmer when it arrived at the table

Emma Brady said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th August 2019

Fabulous over night stay, we arrived slightly early but were allowed to check in any way the hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly in all areas. The spa is nice and and I constantly being cleaned and pools checked the str room and sauna are a little small so they did get very busy but just after check in time it soon became quieter, loved the out door hot tub and the massage was great also. The evening meal was very nice (better than expected) everything from taste to presentation, breakfast was also good. If any thing needs to be improved I would say the place could do with slightly updating especially the bathrooms and the water pressure is very bad so not easy to shower in the rooms. All that said we will defiantly be back.

Claire Harding Watts said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th August 2019

Beautiful hotel love it.. Rooms beautiful log cabin effect.. Stayed for 3 course meal. Aswel... Omg beautiful menu and food very nice.... Bar guy very friendly and helped me choose my starter and dessert. Didn't go in Spa due water pipe burst.... But had a lovely time... Pub up the road nice but not nice walking back in dark lol ? take a torch ?

Sharon Clark said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd April 2019

The hotel was beautiful. It was having some work done in parts but it did not affect us. He leisure facilities were great. We stayed on a HB basis. The food was beautiful. Aliot to choose from. Will defo be returning soon

Dawn Lindsley said...

67%
30%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th April 2019

Log cabins were basic and very cold. Restaurant was cosy, food excellent and staff superb.

christine Gallagher said...

60%
30%
70%
80%

Stayed 28th March 2019

Though I enjoyed my stay here the hotel really needs upgrading our bathroom ad problems with the shower..kept losing pressure and the toilet wouldnt flush properly the food was good and staff were friendly and helpful enjoyed the spa day but your drinks are very overpriced would not have paid full prices for this hotel

Gemma Robertson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th March 2019

Absolutely loved this hotel, stayed one night with my sister, was so relaxing, perfect setting to chill out. Room was a little dated but that seemed to add to the character of the place. Breakfast was lovely. Definitely want to go back with the hubby.

Richard Askham said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th March 2019

We enjoyed our stay in our cosy room and dinner was good. Tina did he’s best at breakfast but they were 2 down on staff and very busy. So no butter for the toast, no milk for coffee or tea and they’d run out of yoghurt and only apple and prune for fruit. So that was disappointing. Since then I’ve made a written enquiry with regards future stays and as yet (4 days later) have not received an acknowledgement or answer - again disappointing?

Ann Bentham said...

64%
40%
50%
100%

Stayed 27th March 2019

EXCELLENT FOOD, Unfortunately, the room that we had, was nice, very dark, and, VERY NOISY people in the room next door, you could hear everything that was said even the swearing in and out of the patio doors right up to 3am in the morning, they had no respect for anyone else.? Shame that the house keeping let this hotel down big time.

Julie Goodman said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th March 2019

Lovely spa break. The staff were so helpful. Especially Tracy on reception. So relaxing we will certainly book again

Vicky Lacey said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2019

This weekend was a special treat for bestest friend on bring 50 in May The Hotel was beautiful and the room was just lovely. The spa treatment was really good ..wish I had booked it for longer The evening meal and breakfast was delicious and service excellent. Definitely coming back ..just loved it and will recommend to my friends. Thank you

Linda Russell said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th February 2019

Absolutely amazing little break! Felt like we were a million miles from leeds. The staff, surroundings & food were fabulous. Our room was basic but very spacious, my only suggestion would be to update the mushroom coloured bathroom suite. We loved the outside jacuzzi and watching the ducks on the lake while we relaxed. Would definitely reccomend. Will definitely return in the future

Clare Gavin said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

A lovely hotel set in woodlands on the top of Chevin close to Otley, a very wooden hotel and our room was very hot as appeared to be above the sauna. The room was basic, in need of updating. The bathroom was very dated and the shower over the bath was very disappointing. Dinner was included and the choice was very impressive however the service was a little slow, similarly the breakfast was also very slow to arrive although the choice was good. The pool and leisure facilities made up for the disappointing room, the outdoor hot tub on a gorgeous February evening and for a 24hr break away from the hustle and bustle of family life it was extremely reasonable. The staff were very attentive.

Sarah Winter said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 18th February 2019

We stayed in room 18, and we were woken up numerous times through the night to a knocking sound which wouldn't go away, it was very frustrating. The service from some members of staff were amazing and they couldn't do more for you, where as the blonde middle aged woman who was on reception in the spa, was very rude and arrogant and used no manners what so ever. The food was nice, however very small portions, and we were also waiting well over 45 minutes for breakfast. The spa facilities themselves were brilliant and very relaxing.