Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Ardoe House Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen

South Deeside Road, Aberdeen, AB125YP, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th May 2022

Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. We had upgraded to a premier room, and it was very nicely decorated, spacious, clean and had a lovely view over the picturesque gardens. Our stay included dinner and breakfast. The menu had a variety of dishes to suit every palate and the food was delicious. The deal was supposed to include a bottle of wine in our room, however this had been missed. The reception staff were very apologetic and quickly rectified this. All staff we encountered during our short stay were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff were especially very attentive, checking often that we were happy with our meal and asking if there was anything that we required.

Mr Wood said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st May 2022

Lovely stay at Ardoe House very friendly staff nice room and lovely food great service and reasonably priced we will be back?

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th January 0022

warm welcoming real fire as you walked in. beautiful bar & drawing room. dog friendly & comfortable & spacious modern bedroom

A guest said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 3rd January 0022

Gorgeous hotel. rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff at reception were helpful

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st December 0021

Absolutely brilliant hotel ,we've found our go to hotel ,fell in love with this place .staff are really friendly and accommodating nothing is to much .pool ,sauna are easy to get to and Absolutely in prestige condition. rooms are spacious and very clean ,beds are huge and comfy .I love waking up looking out to the Scottish countryside. Food is delicious with a menu inspired by its location

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th January 0022

Very impressed with the service from Kelsey on the bar tonight.. table service with a smile! Excellent bar maid.. 10/10! The tails that were made were absolutely spot on! Will definitely be back, been impressed from start to finish!

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th January 2022

Visited this hotel for a spa break for the weekday wellness package. Hotel is beautiful, our room was very comfy. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Spa treatment was lovely, and it was very relaxing in the poor area. Food was great and Excellent variety on offer for breakfast. All in all a great night away. Only negative would be the cost of drinks in the bar but there was a fridge in the room so we were able to chill some wine we had taken with us!

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th January 2022

We stayed for 3 nights for a family wedding and I was a bit hesitant after reading some of the reviews but we loved it! Our room was lovely and clean, the hotel itself is pretty breathtaking! We never got to check out the spa as we were a bit too gover ? The staff were so friendly and helpful! We would definitely come back for an event! The only thing I’d say is the bar is pretty expensive but to be fair, we did expect this but it was a wee bit crazy. (£12 for two bottles of peroni) Overall, we had a fantastic time, thank you for having us!

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th November 2015

As this was in 2015 I can’t remember if it was good or not.

melodie peters said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 27th September 2021

Enjoyed our stay. Staff very good. Helpful and friendly. Bar staff could have been a bit better. Food was good. Kieran in the restaurant was very good. Stayed for three nights. Pool area clean. Unfortunately steam room wasn’t working and spa not open yet.

douglas Sharp said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 27th September 2021

Lovely room nice spa. Service good. Food average at best.

Stuart Anderson said...

60%
80%
60%
40%

Stayed 27th September 2021

A very nice hotel but very long corridors leading to the bedrooms. Bedrooms are nicely equipped and well kept - currently no maid service due to staff shortages but one of the staff did pop in and replace a used towel if required. Tea, coffee, milk and coffee pods available and could be topped up at reception. The swimming pool is in a separate building and you need to book a slot to comply with covid regulations - there were notices asking you to wipe down your locker after use but no spray/paper towel provided to do it. The restaurant dinner menu is only reasonable as there is no variation, same choice of courses every night.

A guest said...

74%
70%
60%
90%

Stayed 26th September 2021

We were very happy that the Hotel accepted dogs. Rom was very comfortable and the breakfast and dinner was very good indeed. Staff were friendly but perhaps a little thin on the ground. The bar had no draught beer and service was a little slow but not dreadfully so. Biggest no-no for us was the fact that other guests were permitted to walk around the dining room without masks especially at the buffet breakfast where they were leaning over the food which other guests were eating. This made us very uncomfortable and is something with needs to be addressed. Overall however great location and we we enjoyed our stay

Ryan Hamilton said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th September 2021

We stayed for 1 night at Ardoe House and had a pleasant experience. All the staff we dealt with were extremely helpful and friendly. The staff at check-in were very friendly and although we were early for check-in, were able to get us checked in and on our way to spend the day in Aberdeen. The double rooms are surprisingly large and spacious and the bathrooms are equally well proportioned. The staff on reception were able to provide us with a taxi number to get into Aberdeen, which only cost us around £15. Although not advertised on the website, only the swimming pool, sauna and steam room were open when we arrived. There were no treatments available. However, given the challenges for the hospitality sector at the moment this was understandable. However, please be sure to call up before booking to check this if treatments are a big factor for you. We used the pool and sauna at around 6pm and it was very quiet, which was ideal. The changing facilities were very clean and there are lockers with combination locks to store your items. We had a 3 course meal in the hotel restaurant, which was included in our deal. Be aware that there is a limited menu at the moment. However, the food that is available on the menu was all extremely delicious and the staff in the restaurant were very friendly and welcoming. Included in our deal was a bottle of wine, which we chose to have along with our meal which was an added bonus! Overall a great little place for stay of 1-3 nights. Based on the limited food menu and reduced spa facilities though, this might not be the best place to stay at the moment if you are looking for a longer stay.

Tony Aitken said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 25th September 2021

Hotel was clean and tidy. Adequate staff, good service. Dinner was included, but if I was paying for the evening meal then it was well overpriced and wouldn’t bother

A guest said...

74%
90%
50%
80%

Stayed 10th September 2021

Hotel is understaffed, no spa treatments available, steam room & jacuzzi not working, tennis courts overgrown, grounds need overall tidy up. Bedroom was okay but tea tray could have been better, unmatched cups. Table that was pre-booked for dinner of 2nd night not set up & had at least 30min wait. I understand hotel has recently re-opened, but many minor details should have been attended to before opening, & I appreciate the skeleton staff they have were trying their best. Hopefully things will be rectified soon & bring it up to the 4 star hotel they claim it is !

Anne Sellers said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th September 2021

Very nice hotel, impressed with room, clean , good size with large walk in shower. Staff friendly and helpful. Enjoyed pool and facilities. Dining was good. First day breakfast, not much choice of cooked food. 2nd day much better choice, however problems with keeping food warm, due to equipment, dinner was very nice food warm, fresh and tasty. Great value. Would recommend and will return.

Karen brown said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th August 2021

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel really nice and clean and the staff are so helpful and friendly.

Janet Gilbert said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 15th August 2021

Staff very friendly, no problems at check-in etc. Disappointed at the variety of food on offer. Would have preferred a simpler menu with more variety as the dinner menu was quite limited, though we were fortunate to be offered choices from the bar menu on our 2nd night. Would also have liked more veg on the plate. Also very disappointed that the toiletries in the bathroom were from China, thought this would be an opportunity to showcase some local products. Overall enjoyed our stay with a special mention to the restaurant manager who was very helpful.

Gerard Plunkett said...

84%
60%
90%
100%

Stayed 27th August 2021

Room and hallway benefit with a change of carpets, Service was very good, Food was excellent, Thank you and a special thank you to your chef’s

Paul Wisely said...

27%
80%
0%
0%

Stayed 27th August 2021

After staying at the hotel before and having an excellent experience we were really looking forward to our stay.firstly I found it odd to have to pay on arrival,we got up to our rooms and had no complaints,we then went down to have a drink but with the main bar shut there was minimal drink to choose from the whisky bar,then our meal was absolutely terrible,being told to choose from a carvery which was never stated,we decided to pay extra for steaks which was a bad idea because it had to get sent back twice and the other couple we were with didn't eat anything,service was atrocious,then to end the night we were looking forward to have a drink but the staff weren't to fussed on serving us and they closed the bar at 11pm,and breakfast was what we expected it to be.....rubbish.0 stars for the ardoe

Craig Hammond said...

24%
70%
0%
0%

Stayed 27th August 2021

To say I’m disappointed is an understatement booked this hotel on the basis that it was a 4 star hotel as I planned to propose to my partner and thought I couldn’t go wrong,I invited friends to join us on the trip as well which left us feeling very embarrassed,the service was terrible there was no wine list when I booked the room I was lead to believe we would be getting a three course dinner with a nice bottle of wine but instead it was a carvery so we up graded to the steak which was awful wasn’t cooked properly and had fat right through the middle,we got told the steaks we’re cooked from frozen we returned the steaks as they we’re not fit to eat and decided to have the carvery which was worse when I got handed a plate of scrag ends I just told them to keep it ,never thought food like this would of been served up,I went gry as did many others.the hotel should close and reopen when it’s ready to be a four star hotel. Absolute shambles

Alison Archer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th August 2021

Excellent stay, lovely room with everything you need. Evening meal was wonderful, staff very attentive. Would definitely return.

Christine Hutchison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th August 2021

Fabulous hotel. The room was amazing staff were fantastic and food just the best. For what we paid this was truly 5 star for 3 star price.

Fiona Burns said...

77%
100%
50%
80%

Stayed 12th August 2021

We had a lovely night away.. the room was very nice on the ground floor as we had dogs. The meal at night was lovely. Staff are a bit stretched.. felt a bit sorry for them.. Swimming pool lovely.. managed to go in twice . Allowed in after check out. Booking required but not a problem to get booked. Will certainly go back