Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hetland Hall Hotel, Dumfries

Carrutherstown, Dumfries, DG14JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

90%

Frances Hopkirk said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th January 2022

Upon arrival staff were all very friendly, room was very spacious and really well decorated, evening meal and breakfast no complaints at all, would highly recommend hotel.

J Ferguson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th January 2022

Stayed for 2 nights in January. We were allocated room 134, a well appointed room in the new part of the hotel. We dined in on both nights. Food was very good. However, after dinner on the second night (Monday) we discovered that our room was directly above the function suite where a wedding reception was taking place and Deacon Blue's 'Dignity' was belting out - the music was loud! I contacted reception and they offered us an alternative room on the opposite side of the hotel. When reception advised that the wedding was on till 1pm we took up their offer to move. The new room (204) was every bit as well appointed as our first- but bigger - and much quieter. Moving at 9.30pm was an inconvenience and it shouldn't have arisen since I'd contacted the hotel when we booked to ask for a quiet room - away from any weddings that might be taking place. That said, this was our only negative about the hotel. The staff greeted us with a smile and made us feel welcome, in particular the girls behind the bar. A special mention for Cheryl in the breakfast room who did her utmost to ensure we had a great start to our day. In our opinion the break offered value for money and we enjoyed our stay at Hetland Hall and wouldn't hesitate in returning.

Colin Mauchlen said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd January 2022

Once again we had a fabulous stay at the Hetland hall hotel. From arrival to departure all members of staff were super friendly and efficient. Covid controls all in place and adhered to by everyone. Room was very comfortable,clean and situated at far end of building so was very quiet ideal for a great nights sleep. Dinner. Service and food were superb. Breakfast again was superb. This was our 2nd stay at Hetland Hall and definitely won’t be our last.

gavin brown said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th December 2021

beutiful location,staff very helpful,room very clean and tidy .

A guest said...

27%
50%
20%
10%

Stayed 5th December 2021

Comfortable bedroom, recently re-decorated. Several items not available for the breakfast including basics like sausages. Limited menu for evening dinner. Be careful at checkout as they tried to add extras to my bill. I fortunately was one step ahead of them and knew exactly how much I owed. Would not recommend this hotel.

karen charlton said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th August 2021

This is the third visit to this hotel and it still one of my favourites. The bedrooms are spotlessly clean and beautifully presented. The staff are friendly and helpful, had a small blip with our booking but Emily sorted it in a professional manor, a credit to the hotel. Will hopefully return soon

Dorothy McColm said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd August 2021

Lovely clean hotel staff friendly and great selection for breakfast also evening meal was great

Caroline Keir said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th December 2020

Real gem.. Well appointed, delicious food and friendly efficient service. One of my favourite hotel stays..

fiona brawls said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 12th December 2020

Had a lovely night away in this hotel , no complaints. All measures taken in account and everything done safely. Meal was lovely and breakfast was really good , and drinks in bar was a plus . Room was lovely too . Nice and cosy .

fiona brawls said...

100%
100%
N/A
100%

Stayed 12th December 2020

Had a lovely night away in this hotel , no complaints. All measures taken in account and everything done safely. Meal was lovely and breakfast was really good , and drinks in bar was a plus . Room was lovely too . Nice and cosy .

Eric Brown said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th November 2020

A lovely stay. Superb room, almost a suite. The meal was delicious. Would definitely go back.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th November 2020

Fantastic 2 night break beautiful hotel immaculately clean ,great food and very attentive staff

Liz Finnigan said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st November 2020

Beautiful hotel with some old charm features and very modern ones too. Evening meal served quickly, food was nice and staff very attentive. Breakfast was continental or fruit platter due to power outage. Staff coped well during this time and service was great again. The penthouse suite we had was stunning. The weather was stormy so sitting out on the beautiful terrace was not an option and drinks had to be taken in your room due to COVID restrictions. Drinks service was very quick and again staff friendly. We will definitely return hopefully during better weather to make use of the lovely terraces and grounds.

A guest said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 28th October 2020

Staff were friendly. No place to sit at night. Spent a lot of time in bedroom. Breakfast was excellent. Dinner satisfactory.

Andrew Miller said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2020

It was a fantastic stay at a real quality hotel staff were excellent, food was great and the service was top notch , couldn’t fault anything about the stay at all.

Colin Mauchlen said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2020

Back from an overnight stay at the Hetland Hall hotel. Wow. Gotta say this place was fabulous. Beautiful old building located in the middle of some beautiful countryside. Ideal location. From arrival to departure the stay was absolutely faultless. Staff were so friendly,attentive and super efficient even though the hotel was busy. Have attached some photos. Bedroom was lovely. Well laid out and decorated to a very high standard, Bathroom again great size,looked as if it had recently been done up and had a great big walk in shower with a very invigorating shower ideal for the wake up before breakfast. Food was delicious both at dinner and breakfast. COVID controls were all in place and well executed which made for a really relaxing stay. I honestly cannot recommend this place highly enough. We will definitely be back and for a longer stay next time. Again I would like to praise the staff as they really made this stay worth while. ?????????? — at Hetland Hall Hotel

William Anderson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th October 2020

Food, service and rooms were excellent. Breakfast was especially good and cooked to order. We couldn`t fault a thing even under strict COVID rules. Will go back again once restrictions are lifted.

Catrina Fraser said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2020

Superb; location, room and service. Food was beautiful in lovely surrounds. Staff, from reception to restaurant, couldn't have been more helpful.

A guest said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd October 2020

Beautiful hotel, excellent location, very comfortable. Brvice let it down, very slow.

Pamela Cunningham said...

50%
80%
50%
20%

Stayed 30th September 2020

Our room was my ready and had to wait until half 2, lunch was satisfactory. The room itself was lovely and very clean. Very comfortable bed and nice warm room. Our meal was at 8pm and again the dinner was ok, nothing special, I asked for a change of sauce and substituted mash for fries. None of this was done and was pointed out to staff but not corrected. Steak pie was very watery. Would definitely come again but do room only.

Julie Taylor said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2020

Had a fab 2 night stay at hetland hall the room was perfect food fab and the service was excellent staff very friendly and accommodating couldn't fault a thing even with adhering to covid rules we will defo be back loved it!

audra baxter said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 27th September 2020

Gorgeous hotel with great rooms amazing views good food and lovely staff . Will definitely be back

peter edment said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th September 2020

Wonderful room, great hotel ans staff were superb. Well worth a re-visit

Janine Hardie said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th September 2020

Lovely hotel although very busy due to extending eat out to help out. Food was super and staff very organised and worked really hard to provide good customer service.

Mary Cockburn said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st September 2020

We had a very pleasant stay here couldn’t fault a thing,staff very helpful and managed to relocate us from the top floor to the first when told I couldn’t manage the stairs.Food lovely also.Thank you to everyone there who made our stay so good.