Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hetland Hall Hotel, Dumfries

Carrutherstown, Dumfries, DG14JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

J Ferguson said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 5th December 2019

Enjoyable stay at a comfortable and well-appointed hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful - an all round g ood experience.

Eric Dixon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2019

Extremely enjoyable stay. Absolutely nothing negative to say about Hetland Hall. The accommodation,service, food were superb. The facilities were particularly important as I am disabled and special thanks to Andy the Manager for ensuring everything was in place to meet my needs. Looking forward to a return visit early next year.

CHARLES PIRRIE said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2019

What can I say best hotel I’ve stayed in in a long time.Went for my husbands birthday they left a little treat with a happy birthday on a plate. Nice touch. Everything I asked for on the reservation they complied with. Asked for a room with a walk in shower as my husband has an illness that deters him from getting in and out off a bath they gave us a room that had this.Room was lovely. Had an issue with the lights the second night they moved us to a suite amazing gave us complementary drinks etc for the upheaval was a bit off a nightmare but they helped out. Lovely hotel lovely grounds which we didn’t get to swallow around as it was too wet and slippy for my husband to walk.Staff amazing, food amazing,rooms amazing will definitely be back soon. Also very clean ?

shirley stark said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th November 2019

Warm welcome from manager and staff for what was a faultless break. Could not fault one thing. Beautiful room, good selection of tasty food and staff going out of their way to make sure you had a great experience. Special mention to Andy who gave exceptional service and new manager who is very visable and aims to please. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend and will be back

james hornby said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th November 2019

A very pleasant experience and genuinely looking forward to staying with you again

Patricia Watson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th November 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, beautiful hotel, staff very courteous and helpful. This was my fourth stay, will be back again. Would wholeheartedly recommend.

A guest said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 4th November 2019

Solway suite was beautiful. Service was good. Food in main restaurant was average but breakfast and room service was good.

Jean Nicholson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th October 2019

We had a brilliant couple of nights this week the room was gorgeous the view although at the side of the hotel we had a fab view to wake up to in the morning Food and service was excellent Only one issue we had the bar area was very cold and the open fire wasn’t lit so wasn’t able to stay downstairs after our meal that said we would defo stay there again ?

Colin Fisher said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2019

Just back from a lovely few nights away at the hetland hall hotel , beautiful place , room was spacious and perfect , food was spot on , breakfast was help yourself continental and hot food was cooked to order , evening meal was a two course set menu which had a lovely varied choice or you could choose something from the a la carte menu. All the girls in the restaurant were lovely , polite and friendly and always making sure everything was right with your meals. Over all a gem of a place and would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place as a base in the Gretna/Dumfries arra

A guest said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th October 2019

Had a great two nights. Staff were very good. Building and grounds were beautiful.

Vivian Docherty said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th October 2019

Lovely relaxing break. Beautiful scenery. Would definatley recommend.

Malcolm Fell said...

60%
10%
80%
90%

Stayed 17th October 2019

Lovely hotel and lovely big comfy room - no lift though so lots of stairs to 2nd floor. Drinks were very reasonable and food was good. 9 miles outside of Dumfries.

A guest said...

80%
N/A
N/A
80%

Stayed 8th October 2019

Beautiful bedrooms/bathrooms. Lovely refurbishment. Staf pleasant and helpful. Dining room attractive and food good. Bar/lounge bit cool after coming from dining room.

A guest said...

80%
100%
60%
80%

Stayed 7th October 2019

No booking was received by Hetland Hall so we turned up at the Hotel to no room booked. Receptionist did not apologise, just said it wasn't the hotels fault as the booking was made through a 3rd party company. Found staff on the whole quite unhelpful with the exception of some. We ended up having to almost argue with the receptionist to get the deal we had originally booked which I feel was totally unacceptable. No apology or any sort of helpful approach was received. It was a sort of take it or leave it approach. Breakfast staff were talking about 'miserable mags' which I presume was the chef, again very unprofessional in front of customers. Breakfast on both mornings was completely different, first morning a very small portion. 2nd morning an average breakfast however I feel they should be uniformed and the same no matter what chef is on shift. Room very clean, bathroom window was drafty and was actually closed although so drafty the beads on the window blew all night. Room card stopped working after the 1st night, when went back down to reception again the receptionist was very blunt about it, almost like it happens all the time. In summery I think the staff are more like 2* and the hotel should be a 3* at the most.

B Vallely said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 18th September 2019

Super hotel and staff, will certainly visit again but get a ground floor room as the stairs were difficult for myself. Would have liked to have been offered an option of the a la carte menu and paid any extra.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th September 2019

This is our third year of staying at this hotel and over that time we have seen the refurbishment taking place. The decor now is amazing. The welcome is and always been great. We shall definitely be back next year

A guest said...

47%
10%
90%
40%

Stayed 15th September 2019

Sadly disappointed by room allocated to us on arrival , were not told the lift was only available to first floor & in our mid-seventies should not be expected to lug our luggage up flights of stairs let alone have to constantly walk up them each time we went out & returned . Upon finally finding the room on the second floor we were totally shocked to find it was basically an attic room , tiny with only one chair , no room to move , no window ( only a semi skylight which was impossible to see out of as in the roof ) & oppressive due to coombed ceiling . My husband went down to reception & had the room changed to one a floor down but still a very disappointing outlook , one small window overlooking a huge red rubbish skip & car park at rear from bathroom & from the actual room even poorer as we overlooked a flat roof & extension . We have had several breaks at lesser hotels through your company & enjoyed far better accommodation & would question if we were discriminated against because we were booked through you ? Other than receptionist , have only praise for the excellent staff , housekeeping & restaurant , always pleasant & welcoming , nothing too much trouble despite being so busy & food excellent at night , cooked breakfast came with several items burned to a crisp so not greatly edible & why were some diners asked if they wanted extra bacon whereas we were not , I only had three items so feel once again a bias against those of us on a deal . Would we return ? Has to be no , may be lovely to look at from the exterior but completely wasted by inferior rooms & outlook .

Gillian Williams said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th September 2019

Enjoyed it very much, pleasant staff,good food,very clean

Kerry Barrowman said...

10%
10%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 13th September 2019

A stunning hotel,room was big and well decorated.Bathroom was also big and had everything you could ask for.We had a 2 co meal which was include in the deal and it was fantastic,very tasty.Beakfast was perfect.Would definelty stay again.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th September 2019

Fantastic luxury hotel and fantastic professional staff

Maureen McMenemy said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 2nd September 2019

Spent 2 very enjoyable nights at this hotel. Room was large and decorated to a very high standard. Food and service was very good and if we return to this area in the future we would definitely stay here again.

John Douglas said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th August 2019

This is the second time we have stayed at Hetland Hall. The standard of the room this time was every bit as good as the last time all be it was a smaller room.I think I will pay extra for a bigger room next time. The service by all the friendly staff is superb.We had dinner on the first night from a fixed choice menu which was fine for us. The food as before was superb.Breakfast excellent. We will be back as soon as we can for another break at Hetland Hall.

Ryan Laffey said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st August 2019

The staff are a credit to the hotel

Gillian Kennedy said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th August 2019

Hotel is Stunning with lovely grounds. We stayed in room 105 and it was amazing if I was being picky it would be that there was no water or dressing gowns in room but apart from that it was a fantastic stay

John Henderson said...

77%
90%
70%
70%

Stayed 11th August 2019

Very nice and clean room, modern and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Perhaps the breakfast could be warmer and the bartender could have assisted the waitresses in the dining room, particularly as they seemed to be under pressure and the bemed quiet. We hope to revisit soon, thank you.