Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hetland Hall Hotel, Dumfries

Carrutherstown, Dumfries, DG14JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

97%

Margaret Etherson said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd October 2018

We had a 2 night stay at this hotel .it is advertised as a 3 star this hotel should be advertised as a 5 star we know there are renovations in progress but this does not disturb the guests ,our room was gorgeous the food is second to none the waiter we had at breakfast and lunch in the bar ...Andy...is a very obliging guy ..very cheery and always there to say Hi , ..we met .,by chance ...Robert it turns out he was the owner he had lovely chat with us and definately people friendly guy we will definately go back and have recommended this to our friends ..all staff from reception to cleaning team where very friendly

L Mackie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th September 2018

Last minute decision to book this hotel and so glad we did. Great staff, good food and very relaxing, would be happy to stay again and will recommend it to friends.

Archie MacDonald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th September 2018

This hotel is gorgeous and has fantastic staff and food, our room was beautiful and gorgeous views, we will definitely be back and looking forward to next stay.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th September 2018

An enjoyable, comfortable, good value overnight stay at Hetland Hall Hotel. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment, our bedroom and bathroom benefiting from recent update to a pleasing modern style with appreciated touches - e.g. proper wooden coat hangers, plus iron and ironing board built-in to wardrobe. All hotels could pay attention to decent bathroom lighting when upgrading: fancy is fine, but not much use if you can't see in the mirror properly, or without minor recoil at the 'urgh' effect of unflattering lighting. Otherwise the room would have scored 10. Decent degree of choice for evening meal, even if on package (i.e. not a la carte) - with food of a high standard and featuring local produce. Breakfast was plentiful and excellent. Warm thanks to all hotel staff for their friendly and efficient service in all hotel areas. Good idea to check with dining room staff regards your particular DB&B deal in order to avoid confusion as to allowances, etc. Overall, a good hotel clearly making continual upgrading progress; sittuated in pleasing grounds, overlooking the Solway, in a convenient location (just off A75 outside Dumfries) for exploring The Galloway coastline, as well as the Borders area on both sides. Would certainly return for longer stay in the near future.

James McLeod said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th August 2018

Excellent Hotel - still some renovations to complete but all work so far to a very high standard

norman lillie said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 26th August 2018

We were there for 3 nights. The hotel is having a palatial overhaul with hardly noticeable effect on guests. The friendliness and efficiency of the staff at reception, restaurant and housekeeping was exemplary. All a credit to the management, giving the impression that Hetland Hall is a good place to work. Once everything is in place it is going to be a must go to destination

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th August 2018

We stayed two nights in the wonderful hotel. Staff, room and food where all excellent. Will be back.

C Paterson said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th August 2018

What a fabulous hotel still got some renovations to finish but what a high standard already had a great 3days food very good staff very nice and helpful will definitely return

Owen Neil said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 29th July 2018

In a middel of a Hotel refurbishment just now but the completed rooms and areas are of a very very high standard indeed with the overall Hotel deal much better value than a 4 or even 5 star major hotel chains offering, eg. Hilton etc. The staff are extremely pleasant and accomodating and made us feel very welcome and valued throughout our stay. We actually satyed a second night and it was a fantastic break. Thanks again everyone at Hetland Hall and see you all again in November this year.

A guest said...

87%
100%
70%
90%

Stayed 22nd July 2018

Lovely new rooms only negative is the lack of air conditioning in the rooms.

Yvonne Miller said... Hotel has replied

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th February 2018

Our third visit to this lovely hotel. So so good to see it being refurbished. We stayed in a refurbished superior room that was lovely, clean and the bed was so comfy. The service and food as usual was great and the staff are so helpful and cheerful. Will definately be back soon. Well done to all.

Hotel reply...

Dear Yvonne, thank you very much for your kind words. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Hetland in the near future. Kind Regards, Chloe Reception Manager.

James Murray said... Hotel has replied

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th April 2017

The staff, the service and the food were first class, absolutely excellent. Unfortunately for us the hotel was undergoing renovations when we were there, which were needed. The decor, interior and exterior, were a little tired and the grounds, in places, were frankly, a building site. Fortunately that didn't interfere with our break, our room was clean, comfortable and cozy. There were various walks and a garden centre locally to entertain us and we had a very pleasant time indeed. I think as soon as the hotel refurbishment has been finished that it will be an excellent holiday spot. On the staff and the food alone we'd certainly recommend it.

Hotel reply...

Dear James, From all the staff at Hetland Hall we would like to thank you for your kind words. We are all very much looking forward to the changes and progress at Hetland Hall Hotel - We hope to welcome you back to Hetland in the near future. - Shannon Reception Manager

jennifer mirchell said...

80%
80%
N/A
80%

Stayed 29th October 2016

Room was really nice however bathroom could do with some updating. Lovely atmosphere sitting by the open fire on the evening.

Elizabeth Walker said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th October 2016

We have just spent 3 nights at the Hetland Hall Hotel and found it was amazing value. The bedroom was roomy and very clean. Staff were very friendly and the food was very good. We would definitely return to this hotel although we have been told that ownership has changed whilst we were there. I hope they do not change too much about the hotel.

A guest said...

77%
50%
80%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2016

This hotel looked tired. When we arrived the outside tables and chairs were straggled about and there were overflowing ashtrays on the tables. when we left they were still overflowing. No member of staff tidied up the area. We did not sit out although the weather was good, too untidy and neglected. one of the bedside lamps in our room did not work and we reported it on our arrival day but nothing was done about it during our stay. Long waits in the dining room because of lack of staff. Food was excellent but portions too generous! Bath plug was not attached to the chain. This hotel badly needs an upgrade and we won't be returning. Not up to your usual standard.

Alexander Duff said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th August 2016

Do not be put off by the exterior. Needs a bit of painting, but the interior is very nice. The hotel, despite some upgrading work, has managed to keep a lot of the older style.Good looking. I spent an enjoyable overnight stay here with my wife and adult son. All staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good quality. Rooms we had were modern and comfortable. Go and enjoy.

alison campbell said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st July 2016

enjoyed our wee overnight stay. Dinner was tasty, breakfast was good too, staff friendly and attentive. Hotel a bit faded at the edges and could do with an investment of time and money but was clean and comfortable and in a lovely location. Great value break, would return if in the locality.

andrew waddell said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th July 2016

It was a fine break but the Hotel needsmodernisation.

Douglas Lauffer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Hetland Hall Hotel. Bedrooms were adequate with a very comfortable super king size bed. the evening meals were delicious with a great choice of menu. Overall we had a great 2 night break.

Karen Campbell said...

80%
60%
N/A
100%

Stayed 30th May 2016

Had a great stay would recommended it. Rooms great bathroom not so good but food and service was fab Will be back. Beautiful location

Karen Campbell said...

80%
60%
N/A
100%

Stayed 30th May 2016

Had a great stay would recommended it. Rooms great bathroom not so good but food and service was fab Will be back. Beautiful location

Jenny Hutchison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd May 2016

Beautiful hotel we thoroughly enjoyed our stay staff were friendly service was excellent food was excellent.i would definitely recommend

Louise Hodder said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st May 2016

Lovely stay for cost, hotel and rooms a bit tired and need a coat of paint but lovely staff and food was excellent

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th May 2016

Not happy because they had not got the booking for us when we arrived. Luckily they had got a room .

A guest said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th April 2016

Rooms nead up dated and windows