Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Scotlands Spa Hotel, Pitlochry

40 Bonnethill Rd, Pitlochry, PH165BT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

76%

Russell Thomson said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th September 2022

Nice hotel staff were great. The beds were very firm and not all that comfortable

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th August 2022

Hotel in great position just off main street, parking available, we had no problem. Reception area, is also bar, bit strange but as I think the hotel is still going through renovations hope not a permanent feature! To say the areas are a bit disjointed is an understatement walk through restaurant, well breakfast area to reach our room. To be fair the room was lovely, clean, very spacious and had two lovely seats to relax in, there was also the added extra of a coffee machine, which we didn't use as not coffee drinkers, but would be a boon to those who are. The bed was super comfortable, and shower room looked like it had been recently refurbished, lovely large towels and bathrobes and slippers. We had the prosecco and afternoon tea offer, which was nice, but no scones! only sandwiches and cake, Breakfast was very good, cooked to order, but all other parts tea, toast, etc, was self serve. Room was serviced, which is still not the norm in some other establishments we have stayed for 3 days or less. All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful. Spa and pool looked lovely but did not use on this visit. Would stay again if in area.

Lindsey Raeburn said...

54%
30%
40%
90%

Stayed 16th August 2022

Breakfast fabulous. Goes downhill from there, quite literally. Booked a twin room near a lift to be close to reception/bar/dining room/ facilities etc, as was visiting with a disabled person. was given a room in the attic on the opposite side of the hotel. Floor of room was sloping upwards towards the walls resulting in my bed being on a slope. Most uncomfortable. Not one sheet fitted the single beds in the room. Turned over in bed in middle of night but as the bed was on such a slope I couldn’t stop and felt myself falling out, grabbed sheet to stop myself but as it was not tucked it, it came with me. I ended up falling in the floor, landed on my knee. If this had been my 78 year old mother she could have been seriously injured. Informed reception staff on leaving and they simply laughed at me. Spent the rest of the night sleeping in a seated position, absolutely exhausted. Hotel is in need of tlc, lick of paint and a bit of a refurb. Mostly clean but definitely dated. Not the luxury Spa hotel it claims to be. No towels or Prosecco in room upon arrival, as per booking. Had to ask for both. Inadequate car parking for the number of guests when full, yet the number of threatening posters about illegal parking was way over the top.

Stuart mcleod said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th August 2022

Excellent 2 nights stay staff very friendly and very helpful breakfast was very good no complaints on the breakfast front (just a pity the sauna was out of order ) 10 out of 10 for my stay at the hotel

robert muir said...

14%
20%
20%
0%

Stayed 29th July 2022

Very disappointing, no spa, no restaurant I assume because they don’t seem to have any staff. Never seen so many unhappy guests in the one place , would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. Think they should be reducing their prices.

joanne lang said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th July 2022

All in all a nice hotel. Rooms clean and a good size. Only downside was that the spa has been condemned so we we not able to use any of the facilities. This probably would have swayed me from booking this hotel had I known prior to this as the hotel is advertised as Scotlands Spa hotel!

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th July 2022

Had a really nice time with my granddaughter, just felt jacuzzi was a bit grubby water not very clean and corridor window covered in spiders.

A guest said...

34%
40%
20%
40%

Stayed 10th July 2022

Poor service Long delays to wait for acknowledging standing waiting o be served for breakfast. Afternoon tea was stale bread. Room in attic so absolutely roasting hot. Had to get a fan from reception desk which was not given in a forthcoming manner.

Fiona Neilson said...

60%
80%
50%
50%

Stayed 15th June 2022

Warm welcome at reception and staff member was very informative. Room was large and freshly decorated (Room 201). However the bed was a wooden sleigh type bed which creaked at the slightest movement which did not make for a good night’s sleep. The first morning at breakfast the waiting staff took our order for tea and cooked breakfast and we went to get cereal/fruit etc. On return to our table the cooked breakfast was there! We saw this happen to other residents, their cooked items being delivered before they had finished cereal etc. The fresh orange juice on offer must either have been made with concentrate or watered down, it was undrinkable. We did not use the pool or spa area.

Brian McCrossan said...

74%
30%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd June 2022

Although the staff were all excellent, there sadly were not enough of them. Breakfast was very very good! The room was very small. Bathroom more than adequate. Good for a couple of nights but not really suitable for a long stay

Vivienne Crockatt Cook said...

95%
100%
N/A
90%

Stayed 5th August 2021

We had a fabulous time at Scotland's Hotel. Had a large family room as we had our Grandson with us. We used the pool both mornings..it's great, with jacuzzi too. 1.00 for lockers..separate ladies and gents changing rooms. Also has sauna and steam room and gym. Breakfast was good plenty of choice to choose from. Staff very friendly and polite. Will definitely go back. Fab location. There is a lift handy for luggage disabled etc.

Elizabeth Girvan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th July 2021

Had a lovely 2 night stay at this Hotel. Staff were very attentive, breakfast very good and had a leisurely time in the swimming pool. Would highly recommend this Hotel. Well worth a visit. Pitlochry is a lovely place to visit.

Martin Delaney said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th July 2021

Good hotel very central great staff

James Kilgallon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd July 2021

Great hotel and staff, breakfast was amazing and facilities second to none

Gay Pinkerton said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st May 2021

We arrived early, easy check in, reception was in a separate area by the pool with a bar and seating. Lady at reception was pleasant. We had to book a time for the pool but could only get 7pm and only 45 minutes. The room was on the small side but clean and other than rubbish pillows the bed was fine. Breakfast was table service but was fine, no beans on the menu but we did ask the second morning and we got some. Obviously due to civid things were abit different but overall a nice stay. Would like to thank the man on reception on the Saturday early morning when I took unwell. Had to phone ambulance, whilst they were their he waited outside the room and was very helpful. Would go back

theresa Rowatt said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 3rd February 2020

Staff very friendly ?although hotel was undergoing renovations it was very clean ?spa was lovely pool warm water ? only thing for me was the lighting in the reception was far to bright for to sit & have a drink etc st night !!!! I know main entrance to hotel was closed so taking that this is normally the entrance for sis etc !!! No complaints would certainly recommend & would like to return I. The near future ??

A guest said...

60%
10%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th November 2018

The staff are so welcoming (again) and very helpful. The shower in our room did not work. We were re-located to another room - with other requests also accommodated. The food is excellent and service generally good (wine is overpriced, - to compensate?!) But: the music in the Dining Room (evening) is loud, inappropriate - even unnecessary? Unfortunately, there is some problem with the (current) staff at breakfast: they seem to think that delivering the cooked breakfast, before the fruit/cereal course is finished, is normal. After two days of these insensitive deliveries, we suggested that they go away, to return with the cooked meal only when we had finished the first course. Mebbie this is how folk from the servers' home country do breakfast? If so, they need a wee bit of re-training? ALSO: [No change since Dec 2016]: The Crerar claims about 'Fair Trade' and local sourcing are unsubstantiated: shame on you Crerar (I shall be writing to Crerar Hotels separately about their empty promises.) Summary: bloomin' good value!

Stephan Fortune said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th November 2018

Had a lovely night staff at Scotland’s hotel and leisure club at the weekend. The rooms, although a little tired decor-wise, were clean and spacious. The staff were helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. There was a good atmosphere in the bar too.

Jackie Robinson said...

67%
60%
40%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2018

We stayed on the dinner bed and breakfast rate so possibly that’s why we we were given a room not within the main hotel but across the road. The room itself was actually quite nice but having to cross back and forth would be a bit of a pain in bad weather. The food was great, but on the offer you pick from a set menu and can choose from the a la carte menu with a supplement, so it would help if you were provided with the a la carte menu! We asked to order drinks which seemed to surprise the waitress who eventually gave us the wine list. Not liking wine we asked what other drinks were available, this confused the waitress even more. Finally we ordered bottles of lager but when it came it was pints! Glad to say the food itself was really nice and was served quickly. Breakfast was really busy and although there seemed to be loads of staff we waited more than 15 minutes before asking someone if we could order. Once breakfast finally arrived we had to remind staff we were still waiting for our tea and toast. By the time this was served we had actually almost finish our food. I would suggest the hotel do a self service hot breakfast and just concentrate on bringing tea, coffee and toast to the tables. All in all it’s a nice, if a bit dated hotel. The food is good and good value but the service wasn’t great as most of the staff are not experienced and speak little English.

Michelle Munro said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 20th September 2018

We have just returned from a four day break and it was superb.......our room (210) was huge with stunning windows and a lovely view.....yes the floors were wonky but it all added to the charm of this hotel.....the food was excellent......and the staff are a credit to the Crerar Group....we will definitely return*****

C Haddow said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 19th September 2018

Stayed here on a 2 night break, older hotel and worn in places , our room was spacious and clean. We stayed half board so ate in hotel, breakfast had lots off options and was good, bar food and a la carte restaurant was also very enjoyable. Staff very helpful and cheerful. We used the swimming pool, sauna and steam room, which was well maintained and clean. Overall very good and would return.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th August 2018

Really enjoyable stay - the spa and pool was fantastic, the food was really tasty and plentiful, a good choice both at breakfast and dinner. Rooms were clean and bed comfy. Staff really pleasant. Very central hotel with railway station nearby. Would certainly return.

Alison Connor said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd May 2018

I had a wonderful 2 night stay at Scotland's Hotel. The staff were really attentive and efficient. Special mention to the chef who was on duty during our stay. 10 out of 10 for quality, taste, presentation and choice. Spa facilities also great. Can't wait to go back.

george mcveigh said...

47%
10%
60%
70%

Stayed 23rd March 2018

had a very pleasant two nights at the hotel and the elvis tribute was very good.the staff were all very helpful and pleasant and the food and service were also good.

aileen walker said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th March 2018

Had a lovely stay at this hotel.. when u first walk in it’s a bit musky smell aping and a bit old fashioned but rooms great nice comfy beds and good size rooms.. everything u need. Staff very pleasant and a great breakfast with great choice and would definitely stay again .. great value ..