Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Scotlands Spa Hotel, Pitlochry

40 Bonnethill Rd, Pitlochry, PH165BT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Neil Armstrong said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th July 2013

Good value for the price we paid. This was our 3rd visit to Scotlands Hotel and we will be happy to go back.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your lovely review glad you enjoyed your stay with us again Regards Donald

Geoffrey Knox said... Hotel has replied

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 9th August 2013

Lovely family friendly hotel.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your kind review glad you enjoyed your stay Regards Donald

June Murray said... Hotel has replied

37%
40%
40%
30%

Stayed 28th August 2013

we found this hotel adequate for our 2 night stay. situated in a good location, peaceful & the pool was very relaxing. although a tad disappointed with the dining & bar

Hotel reply...

Thanks for your comments sorry the bar and dining wasn't to your liking Regards Donald

albert sharp said... Hotel has replied

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd June 2013

good value for money

Hotel reply...

Thank yu for your lovely comments Regards Donald

ian grieve said... Hotel has replied

67%
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 14th July 2013

No air con had to get some one to open window no extractor in toilet very very basic have stayed here before and has been good

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review, sorry your stay was not as good as before, the weather plays a big part as were just not used to the fine weather we had experienced, will certainly get the bathroom extractor replaced Regards Donald

Lorraine Wilson said... Hotel has replied

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 11th July 2013

Really enjoyed our stay, food great and staff most attentive. Will definately be going back.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for you great review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us Regards Donald

Martin Wilson said... Hotel has replied

64%
60%
60%
70%

Stayed 7th July 2013

Overall food quality was good but on the first day of 3, the cooked breakfast was cold on a hot plate. Staff in the restaurant seemed disorganised and could not cope with the amount of people, some people were asked to sit in the lounge while tables were reset for them.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review, sorry your breakfast on the 1st morning was poor and was not as smooth as it should have been and glad it improved through your stay. Regards Donald

Gail Black said... Hotel has replied

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd July 2013

Great hotel with helpful staff. Food was delicious and the room we had was spacious and comfortable. We will definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review, thank you for all your lovely comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Donald

Iain Shanks said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
70%
90%

Stayed 27th June 2013

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay overall. The staff in the restaurant were very good, however one of the members on reception on our arrival was slightly abrupt. Also the member of staff in the Leisure facilties was bordering on rude. The standard of food in the evening was very good, however the breakfast could have had a better cold choice.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for review and thank you for your comments, my apologies for my staff being rude and abrupt normally a very happy bunch, glad you enjoyed your evening meal with us, not sure what was wrong with our cold selection.thanks again for your review Regards Donald

Linda Tait said... Hotel has replied

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th June 2013

Lovely hotel. Stayed for 2 nights. Great choice of food. Swimming pool area very relaxing.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us Regards Donald

ian brown said... Hotel has replied

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 26th June 2013

Our stay was very enjoyable at the Scotland's this was our second stay here through classic Britain and couldn't really fault it the staff were very hospitable and friendly we would return again.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your kind review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us Regards Donald

Thomasina Cameron said... Hotel has replied

60%
70%
70%
40%

Stayed 23rd June 2013

good value for the deal from classic britain, however not sure if worth money at full rate, enjoyed my time tho, wine very expensive.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review Regards Donald

G Gillespie said... Hotel has replied

60%
60%
70%
50%

Stayed 22nd June 2013

Our experience at this hotel was a bit mixed and our conclusion was that they could do better. On the positive side, it was clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff were generally friendly and helpful. However, we were disappointed with the food. We had dinner on our first night and were not impressed. The menu looked good but the actual food failed to live up to its promise. Our food was served on cold plates and was mostly warm rather than hot. The Thai style fishcakes had quite a good flavour but they were rubbery and lukewarm, as if they had been kept warm for a while. We could not figure out how the duck breast with berry sauce seemed to be reasonably well cooked but was totally tasteless. We thought crumble with ice cream would be a safe bet but the crumble was gooey - not crumbly - as if it had been heated up in the microwave. The worst however, was the risotto, which was served in soup plates and was so liquid that it had to be eaten with a soup spoon. Maybe we were unlucky and got them on a bad night but we did not risk eating in the hotel restaurant the next night - we found a wonderful restaurant a few hundred yards away which could give Scotland's a few lessons. In contrast, breakfast was very good. Full marks for providing really fresh fruit salad and there was a good selection of hot and cold options. A few more non-meat items (eg mushrooms, beans etc)for the cooked breakfast selection would have been welcomed but what we got was good and suggests that somebody in the kitchen can cook good food. The hotel has had a number of extensions over the years and the rooms vary in size and aspect. All were clean and fairly comfortable. One of the rooms allocated to our party was a lovely big room with several windows and great views. However, one of our party was allocated a room which had a tiny bathroom (the basin was just big enough to dip your hands in) and looked out over the kitchen entrance. Yet, she was charged a single supplement for th

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review, sorry to read that you never fully enjoyed your stay with us, will certainly pass your comments onto my chef and sorry your meal was not as good as it should have been, glad you enjoyed your breakfast, i wish all my rooms were the same size alas this is not the case, thanks again for your review Regards Donald

marie mccabe said... Hotel has replied

64%
100%
90%
0%

Stayed 11th June 2013

food was poor. lack of choice.menu for dinner had only 3 choice of main course.1meat,1 fish and one veg.do not think I would return.had been to this hotel previously and was quite satisfied.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review sorry you feel we don't offer enough choices on our menu, we have changed our menu's since Jan this year and will again change in Oct offering i would say a good varied menu again sorry you never enjoyed your meals with us. Regards Donald

s Judge said... Hotel has replied

67%
70%
60%
70%

Stayed 31st May 2013

All in,a very exceptable 3star hotel Usual problems with language barrier with foreign staff but all very pleasant. Did not buy one drink,wont incourage the total rip off prices they charge,their loss !

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review and thank you for your comments, sorry you feel our bar prices are on the high side. Regards Donald

Christina Price said... Hotel has replied

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th May 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food in the dining room. Have stayed here many times in the past and would rate the food the best we have tasted. The service was also exellent in the dining-room way above expected for the money paid.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for all your lovely comments and will pass your comments onto my chef Regards Donald

Mrs Forrest said... Hotel has replied

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th June 2013

enjoyed our stay at scotlands hotel pitlochry staff were nice bedroom a good size plenty of room food was good

Hotel reply...

Thank you for all your lovely comments, glad you enjoyed your stay Regards Donald

george sibbald said... Hotel has replied

60%
70%
70%
40%

Stayed 29th May 2013

Really no complaints about hotel. The only comment would be the poor choice on the set menu and the prices on the al a carte menu. Very good breakfast.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your comments, sorry then menu wasn't to your liking, the a la carte is i would say very well priced sorry you don't agree. Regards Donald

Henry Melrose said... Hotel has replied

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2013

Enjoyed our 2 day stay-no complaints whatsoever,would go back again.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review and your lovely comments Regards Donald

Marie-Anne Campbell said... Hotel has replied

60%
60%
50%
70%

Stayed 31st May 2013

The hotel reception area could do with a face lift as it was very worn looking and didn't create a good first impression, the whole hotel also had a very 'foosty' smell about it. The room was smaller than we expected from looking on the website. There is a lift which we've never ever seen the like of before... it's really old, odd even, and it carpeted from floor to ceiling in a hideous old frayed carpet!! The breakfast area looked tired too - in all, I think this hotel could do with a wee bit of cosmetic work done to it. We thought it would be much better than it was for the money spent. As far as the staff and service was concerned, some were better than others! We wouldn't stay here again... just because the experience didn't meet our expectations for the cost we were paying. On a more positive not, the location was good and very central.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review, yes our lift certainly is odd but in good working, we have a twice yearly re-paint of all our corridors and bedrooms it is an old building as for the foosty smell not sure what or where your getting that from, i do agree we do need money spent specially in carpeted areas, thanks again for your review Regards Donald

J barrow said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd May 2013

Found everything very good apart from the initial welcome and directions to accommodation.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review, very sorry your welcome was not as good as normal not sure what room you were in but all rooms but we have ample signage to all rooms, thanks again for your comments Regards Donald

Jim Houston said... Hotel has replied

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th May 2013

Excellent hotel: helpful staff, quiet efficiency. Good meals, excellent easy to use leisure facilities, central location, calm, family atmosphere.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your lovely review and will pass your comments onto all my staff Regards Donald

Jim Houston said... Hotel has replied

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd May 2013

Another excellent stay: good spacious room with a view to countryside. Good food, friendly helpful staff. Well run leisure facilities: lovely relaxing pool.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review and for all your lovely comments Regards Donald

margaret owen said... Hotel has replied

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th April 2013

we had a lovely time all the staff were very help full and meals were very good.

Hotel reply...

Thak you for your lovely review glad you enjoyed your stay with us Regards Donald

Elaine Clark said... Hotel has replied

77%
90%
80%
60%

Stayed 16th April 2013

Breakfasts great choice but main course at dinner could have a lot better choices when on dbb offer.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us sorry you didn'y enjoy our main course options we do offer a large A La Carte also with a small surcharge Regards Donald