Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Argyll Hotel, Dunoon

Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

Tonner Lala said...

54%
30%
100%
30%

Stayed 16th September 2022

We were on one of the minutest mystery weekends. The actual event itself was amazing. Cannot fault them at all. Very funny and very well executed. Now the hotel is another thing. It is extremely tired and in need of a complete haul in the bedrooms. We were in the Tower Room which is apparently the best room in the hotel. It’s wasn’t very clean. The bedding and towels were however the furniture lamps cartoons were all extremely thick with dust. The food at the event was ok. Completely passable when your drunk and wanting to soak up the alcohol. The breakfast both days was terrible. All I had available got food wise to me me on the Sunday was a brown and a potato scone so not ideal. The staff working in the hotel are very nice. Chatty and pleasant and happy to help which was lovely. Infact the best thing about this hotel was it’s staff working in it so well done guys.

Angela Jarvis said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 19th August 2022

Went for a murder mystery weekend which was fabulous. Staff are so welcoming and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. Dinner on friday evening was okay , meat in steak and ale pie was rather dry, starter and dessert was lovely Dinner om saturday evening was faultless Entertainment was brilliant and was loads of audience participation i will certainly be returning

vivienne adams said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd July 2022

What a fun weekend. The staff were excellent and the food good. Murder mystery experience so funny and enjoyable

A guest said...

70%
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 17th June 2022

Great weekend. Murder mystery done very well. Unfortunately Saturday morning breakfast very poor, long wait and food undercooked. Saturday evening main course of chicken barbecue undercooked also. Friday dinner and Sunday breakfast excellent

Maureen Marshall said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th May 2022

We had such a good weekend. Allo, Allo murder mystery was so entertaining and fun. Food was good too. Well presented and cooked. Late entertainment both nights. Staff were attentive and helpful. Plus we were lucky enough to get an upgraded room with beautiful views. An absolute bargain!

Rachel Thompson said...

57%
30%
60%
80%

Stayed 22nd April 2022

Murder Mystery Weekend was excellent. Would definitely recommend it. From start to finish is was superbly done. Could not say the same for the first room we were allocated. It was on the third floor an attic small room. Not what was advertised when I made the booking. It looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in awhile. You could roll the dust in your fingertips. Really dirty. When I asked to move to another room the receptionist was most helpful. We were given an other room which was must better. We did have a great weekend.

Allan Harris said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd April 2022

What a great weekend, could not fault it at all. Murder mystery was excellent, really enjoyed it, and we had the sun out for our clue t round the town. Night time entertainment was also good, with everyone coming together. Food was also top notch. Overall fantastic stay and value for money. Thanks to all involved

Rosemary Bardell said...

74%
70%
100%
50%

Stayed 18th February 2022

Saturday nights meal was dreadful. The beef was tough and I couldn't eat it as it was hurting my jaw. The dessert tasted off I chose profiteroles and I think that the cream they used tasted off. The othwr aspects of the stay was amazing.

Tracey Frew said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st January 2022

Fantastic value for money. Great weekend

Catherine King said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st January 2022

Just back after our murder mystery weekend, had a fantastic time, staff were lovely and nothing was a bother to them, great team work from all staff, can't wait for our next one in April 22, strongly advise people to book i garentee you will love it, thanks again to all the staff they work so hard to give you a great time, well done everyone

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th October 2021

Great weekend, the staff were extra nice and couldn't do enough for you.

A guest said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 20th August 2021

We had booked an upgraded room online but paid for the basic when we arrived, didn't question this as we had never stayed before but the room was fine regardless. Breakfast was nice and dinner was okay. Murder Mystery night was good entertainment, quite fun and different for my partner and I. We were definitely the youngest people participating but we enjoyed it. We will be back for sure as £115 per person is a great deal for 2 nights!!

A guest said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th June 2021

Had a lovely stay at the Argyll hotel, I took my partner away for his 30th, then he surprised me and proposed, so this hotel will have a special place in my heart forever. Staff were all lovely. murder mystery was fantastic, what a laugh.

John Pagan said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th June 2021

We really enjoyed our stay . Staff were really helpful room comfortable meals good so very happy all round .

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2019

Had a great 2 night stay for murder mystery. All staff were very polite & helpful. They are run off there feet, What a great job they do. The hotel was lovely & set in a stunning place. Murder mystery was great. Actors were fantastic & we loved the treasure trail, thank god it was dry. We were newby's so didn't know what to expect. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Food was nice, not a bad choice on both nights & breakfast was lovely. Overall we were very happy with the choice & would recommend it.

Alistair Shields said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th October 2019

Very friendly staff and food availability, standard was good. Location central to town and close to Dunoon pier. Room was a reasonable size with great view ( did pay for upgrade). Overall a very pleasant stay.

Katie Hamilton said...

60%
40%
70%
70%

Stayed 4th October 2019

Great value, rooms need updating though.

angela day said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th October 2019

Staff are lovely food was great room was ideal also had requested the room as loved it on my last visit .

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th September 2019

Having stayed at the Argyll hotel before, we knew that it was first class. Although there was a coach in from Stoke the staff were kept very busy but always had time to attend to the other customers. I believe that due to illness they were short staffed but did an excellent job, with everyone very pleasant and helpful. ,

sam mceachran said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 2nd August 2019

Absolutely shocking stay. From start to finish seriously not impressed. From broken toilets to someone (staff) in my room during the night when we were sleeping to constant people in the room when not there, found blood all over the bathroom at one point, evening menu is standard, breakfast staff were horrendous. For the price it’s nowhere near the standard.

Lorraine Naules said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2019

Lovely hotel great location staf very friendly. Room with sea view was very big and toilet also with sea view was huge. Had meals in both argyle and riot and they were superb. Breakfast fabulous and good quality. Julio makes an amazing barraqiuto. Would recommend this hotel.

Carolanne Divine said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th July 2019

Good hotel well worth a visit. Staff very good always helpful although a little bit more communication between themselves would be good. We were very lucky and received a complimentary upgrade to the Tower Room which is outstanding for views with Windows covering 3 walls. Food was always fresh, hot and of good quality worth visiting to just eat. Would return to hotel again if in the area and recommend for anyone.

A guest said...

44%
70%
50%
10%

Stayed 7th June 2019

On Arrival, everything seemed nice and reception staff very friendly. Rooms were basic and fine for a 2 night stay. Corridors were run down and a strange smell in stairs and corridors was off putting. Actors from the murder mystery weekend were great and very friendly. On to the meals, the meals on the Friday night were adequate and edible. The Saturday night service was terrible. One member of staff was very rude. The meals were awful , meals getting sent back due to being cold or not cooked. Based on the food and the service on the Saturday night we would not return.

carol cattanach said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 27th May 2019

Stay was fine but same menu every night I wouldn’t like to be staying for a week.so I had to get some food off the other menu . Portions were too much for me but great if you are a big eater staff were excellent. But hotel could do with being updated a bit rundown.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd May 2019

Nice staff good food hotel needing TLC but considering its age its a lovely hotel good location