Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Argyll Hotel, Dunoon

Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

Rachel Thompson said...

57%
30%
60%
80%

Stayed 22nd April 2022

Murder Mystery Weekend was excellent. Would definitely recommend it. From start to finish is was superbly done. Could not say the same for the first room we were allocated. It was on the third floor an attic small room. Not what was advertised when I made the booking. It looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in awhile. You could roll the dust in your fingertips. Really dirty. When I asked to move to another room the receptionist was most helpful. We were given an other room which was must better. We did have a great weekend.

Allan Harris said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd April 2022

What a great weekend, could not fault it at all. Murder mystery was excellent, really enjoyed it, and we had the sun out for our clue t round the town. Night time entertainment was also good, with everyone coming together. Food was also top notch. Overall fantastic stay and value for money. Thanks to all involved

A guest said...

40%
10%
80%
30%

Stayed 25th March 2022

my room very in need of some tlc dirty toilet sink not nice under sink very dirty. also chair in room had to move every time i needed into wardrobe or chest of drawers. sheets had dirty mark on them, meals not good breakfast bacon dried out and over cooked. 2nd night dinner roast beef very over done and tough. staff very friendly and helpful but overworked under staffed. murder mystery very good friday and sat night value for money, but i would have paid more for better room, our friends paid same money for larger room with sea view

Rosemary Bardell said...

74%
70%
100%
50%

Stayed 18th February 2022

Saturday nights meal was dreadful. The beef was tough and I couldn't eat it as it was hurting my jaw. The dessert tasted off I chose profiteroles and I think that the cream they used tasted off. The othwr aspects of the stay was amazing.

Tracey Frew said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st January 2022

Fantastic value for money. Great weekend

Catherine King said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st January 2022

Just back after our murder mystery weekend, had a fantastic time, staff were lovely and nothing was a bother to them, great team work from all staff, can't wait for our next one in April 22, strongly advise people to book i garentee you will love it, thanks again to all the staff they work so hard to give you a great time, well done everyone

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th October 2021

Great weekend, the staff were extra nice and couldn't do enough for you.

A guest said...

30%
40%
40%
10%

Stayed 20th August 2021

Lovely hard working staff.... Apart from one that messed up everyone's drinks on at least three occasions I was aware of in the two days we stayed, felt sorry for him but even more sorry for his colleagues! The hotel isn't what it used to be.. fine for going to for drink and food but not to stay in. Housekeeping is severely lacking and rooms are in need of updating and repair On a DBB deal ... The food isn't what it used to be.... To be honest. Wouldn't be going back anytime soon. However the murder mystery entertainment was great??

A guest said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 20th August 2021

We had booked an upgraded room online but paid for the basic when we arrived, didn't question this as we had never stayed before but the room was fine regardless. Breakfast was nice and dinner was okay. Murder Mystery night was good entertainment, quite fun and different for my partner and I. We were definitely the youngest people participating but we enjoyed it. We will be back for sure as £115 per person is a great deal for 2 nights!!

A guest said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th June 2021

Had a lovely stay at the Argyll hotel, I took my partner away for his 30th, then he surprised me and proposed, so this hotel will have a special place in my heart forever. Staff were all lovely. murder mystery was fantastic, what a laugh.

John Pagan said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th June 2021

We really enjoyed our stay . Staff were really helpful room comfortable meals good so very happy all round .

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2019

Had a great 2 night stay for murder mystery. All staff were very polite & helpful. They are run off there feet, What a great job they do. The hotel was lovely & set in a stunning place. Murder mystery was great. Actors were fantastic & we loved the treasure trail, thank god it was dry. We were newby's so didn't know what to expect. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Food was nice, not a bad choice on both nights & breakfast was lovely. Overall we were very happy with the choice & would recommend it.

Alistair Shields said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th October 2019

Very friendly staff and food availability, standard was good. Location central to town and close to Dunoon pier. Room was a reasonable size with great view ( did pay for upgrade). Overall a very pleasant stay.

Katie Hamilton said...

60%
40%
70%
70%

Stayed 4th October 2019

Great value, rooms need updating though.

angela day said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th October 2019

Staff are lovely food was great room was ideal also had requested the room as loved it on my last visit .

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th September 2019

Having stayed at the Argyll hotel before, we knew that it was first class. Although there was a coach in from Stoke the staff were kept very busy but always had time to attend to the other customers. I believe that due to illness they were short staffed but did an excellent job, with everyone very pleasant and helpful. ,

sam mceachran said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 2nd August 2019

Absolutely shocking stay. From start to finish seriously not impressed. From broken toilets to someone (staff) in my room during the night when we were sleeping to constant people in the room when not there, found blood all over the bathroom at one point, evening menu is standard, breakfast staff were horrendous. For the price it’s nowhere near the standard.

Lorraine Naules said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2019

Lovely hotel great location staf very friendly. Room with sea view was very big and toilet also with sea view was huge. Had meals in both argyle and riot and they were superb. Breakfast fabulous and good quality. Julio makes an amazing barraqiuto. Would recommend this hotel.

Carolanne Divine said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th July 2019

Good hotel well worth a visit. Staff very good always helpful although a little bit more communication between themselves would be good. We were very lucky and received a complimentary upgrade to the Tower Room which is outstanding for views with Windows covering 3 walls. Food was always fresh, hot and of good quality worth visiting to just eat. Would return to hotel again if in the area and recommend for anyone.

A guest said...

44%
70%
50%
10%

Stayed 7th June 2019

On Arrival, everything seemed nice and reception staff very friendly. Rooms were basic and fine for a 2 night stay. Corridors were run down and a strange smell in stairs and corridors was off putting. Actors from the murder mystery weekend were great and very friendly. On to the meals, the meals on the Friday night were adequate and edible. The Saturday night service was terrible. One member of staff was very rude. The meals were awful , meals getting sent back due to being cold or not cooked. Based on the food and the service on the Saturday night we would not return.

carol cattanach said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 27th May 2019

Stay was fine but same menu every night I wouldn’t like to be staying for a week.so I had to get some food off the other menu . Portions were too much for me but great if you are a big eater staff were excellent. But hotel could do with being updated a bit rundown.

A guest said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd May 2019

Nice staff good food hotel needing TLC but considering its age its a lovely hotel good location

Tom Docherty said...

75%
N/A
80%
70%

Stayed 20th April 2019

Been quite a few times here, always enjoy it, only problem is there is no direct bus to Glasgow so I doubt if we'll be back as often in future.

Linda young said...

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 20th April 2019

Arrived at hotel to be told that our reservation was still sitting in an email and they didn't know if they had a room for us. They did have a a room on floor 3 with sloping roofs that you constantly banged your head and it was single beds. Ordered evening meal starter was cold and tasteless, partner never received nana bread even thou we kept asking. Bar closed at 10.30 which for residents was little unfair. Breakfast was a bit of a disaster, sat night went to rio restaurant, pasta dish was OK but the frozen processed chicken was disgusting, service was so so. Sunday house keeping knocking but check out was 11am. Staff tried their best but they need to address a lot of issues and do something about the chef.

Elizabeth Haughian said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th April 2019

One of the nicest hotels we have been to . Great value for money. Exceptional customer service from staff .