Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Argyll Hotel, Dunoon

Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

Donald Harwood said...

54%
20%
70%
70%

Stayed 2nd June 2015

On registering at the hotel, I asked for the advertised room upgrade, to be told there wasn't an upgrade available, despite the breakfast room suggesting the hotel was far from full. Instead, I probably got the worst bedroom in the hotel. It was certainly the worst hotel bedroom I've stayed in. The windowless ensuite, after the light was repaired, contained an old yellow bath with terrible staining. I certainly wouldn't have bathed in it; thankfully there was a shower. The room had a low coombe ceiling with a small window and a carpet which needed cleaned. The handyman who repaired the light told me they were "done up" about 6 years ago; the bath would suggest not. The blurb states the hotel was recently refurbed; I can only assume they perhaps refer to some of the public areas which were clean and fresh. The food was ok and staff were pleasant enough, however, I certainly wouldn't consider returning.

Douglas Curran said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd May 2015

OUR PARTY WAS TWO COUPLES WHO WERE AT THE HOTEL TO VISIT RELATIONS IN THE AREA. THE MEALS EATEN IN BOTH RESTURANTS WERE EXCELLENT. THE STAFF WERE BOTH FRIENDLY AND COMPETENT. THE HOTEL IS BEING UPGRADED AND WE FOUND NO ISSUES. WE WILL CERTAINLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL FOR THH PACKAGE PRICE, ITS LOCATION AND SERVICE. WELL DONE AND IT IS IN A BEATIFUL PART OF SCOTLAND.

Bernadette Mouffok said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th April 2015

Had a great stay, friendly staff, food fab altho set menu only good for 2 days stay. Attic rooms(3rd Floor) not for tall people! Great Location, would return.

DONALD Macdonald said...

60%
60%
50%
70%

Stayed 11th April 2015

No complaints

elizabeth leckie said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th April 2015

Very nice hotel,staff very friendly and very efficient, rooms were very comfortable and food very good, would definitely recommend this hotel

Neil Scott said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th April 2015

Really friendly and professional staff - Everybody was so chatty and polite and made us feel very welcome indeed. They would always go out of their way to help. The room was large and clean and had plenty of facilities including a bath and a shower!! (Heaven!) The hotel itself also had very nice touches, for example: free use of an internet linked computer, up to date magazines in the hallway just outside the rooms, fresh flowers and free Wi-fi everywhere (how refreshing!) - The only slightly disappointing issue was our particular room #103 was very close to the extractor fan and air conditioner - This was rather noisy and did disturb some sleep and relaxation but is something that can surely be sorted quite quickly. Was also very nice to have two restaurants in the hotel which were both very good and very reasonable in price. All in all, a very nice break and would certainly recommend it to anyone.

ANN JAMESON said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd April 2015

Only downside was eaves bedroom small - 2 people couldn't move around without getting in each others way and double bed against wall on one side so no bedside cabinet or light but nicely furnished with all the usual equipment and lovely view. Hotel run efficiently and staff pleasant. No private car park as stated but plenty of on street parking and public car park across the road.

Helen Fowlie said...

70%
50%
90%
70%

Stayed 3rd April 2015

We had a lovely time at the Argyll Hotel Dunoon. Staff, service,and food were all very good. The entertainment was very funny (murder mystery)and the band and disco kept us dancing all night. My only criticism is the hotel is rather tired but its clean. All in all we had a great weekend.

richard aire said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd March 2015

staff very friendly,efficiant and attentive.main restaurant not very warm at night however rio was very cosy.

John Byrne said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd March 2015

Hotel location ideal,staff very friendly and helpfull.Meals in main restaurant and RIO were excellent value.Overall a very good value for money break.

David Wright said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 13th March 2015

I and my party of five enjoyed our weekend away at the Argyll Hotel in Dunoon. It was very enjoyable and for the money paid an absolute steal. Would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the hotel and surrounding area and the Fawlty Towers crew made the weekend a laugh a minute.

karen napier said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th March 2015

staff were excellent, took great care of us and were fun. all in all a great weekend

Brian Whittingham said...

57%
50%
80%
40%

Stayed 13th February 2015

Hotel staff friendly room clean only thing was carpet very badly stained which deflected the standard we would expect. Wanted to eat in Italian restaurant on Sat but they said all 2 person tables booked but they did have tables available for 4 or more available very disappointed with this we had stated we were staining in hotel and new we would have to pay for the meal although we had evening meal included with package we went to other restaurant out with hotel on Sat to eat. Sat night entertainment they empty the main hall restaurant and every one has to cram into small lounge area and as the act was running late the crowed started to get very noisy and management could have managed it better as it was getting very rowdy. but we did meet new friends and had a very good time with them Friday & Sat

DENISE MAIR said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st January 2015

Had a lovely overnight stay at the Argyll hotel. Staff very helpful and welcoming. Surprise on arrival at being upgraded to a sea view room with fantastic views across the water to the snow capped hills. Room clean, comfortable and warm. Had an enjoyable evening meal in the Rio restaurant which was great value for money.

E Powrie said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd January 2015

Brilliant weekend at the Murder Mystery on 23rd - 25th Jan 2015. Could not fault the hotel and staff who made us feel more than welcome.

Richard Houston said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th December 2014

At

K Morris said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st November 2014

We went on a murder mystery weekend and would definitely recommend .

Pearl Gillespie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th November 2014

Always delighted to stay at this hotel.

Mr Fisher said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 25th October 2014

After waiting around 10 minutes to be booked in because of error on system, we were pleased with the room allocation and views over the river. Would stay again.

Mrs Maclean said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 14th October 2014

the hotel does not have its own car park but parking is across the road in the free section of the council car park staff were helpful when asked for information and pleasant when attending to you

Lorna Cairns said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th October 2014

Argyll Hotel Dunoon enjoyed a fabulous stay, we had the pleasure of eating in the Rio Restaurant both nights, fantastic menu of Italian, pasta, pizza, meat, steak and spannish / Italian tapas. There was a murder mystery weekend on all guests are invited alot of guests got right into the swing of it and I was amazed but the costumes and effort of guest participation. We had Room 105 in the turret which had superb views overlooking the River Clyde a truly memorable stay.

Gayle Clark said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th October 2014

Had a lovely vegetarian breakfast

Archie Curruthers said...

57%
70%
40%
60%

Stayed 3rd October 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay, although the first evening meal in the dining room was excellent in nice surroundings but the Saturday evening was poor and uncomfortable as we were put out of the dining room to accomodate a large party that arrived, so was unhappy as we were unfairly treated and feel that exceptions were made for others, which seemed highly unfair as we were also paying guests.

Pearl Gillespie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2014

Delighted with our overnight stay at the Argyll Hotel. Meals, cosy bedroom and staff all excellent. Would highly recommend and will certainly return.

Mrs Duncan said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th September 2014

Had a great time at the hotel with th