Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Argyll Hotel, Dunoon

Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

Alexandra Mcsporran said...

47%
70%
50%
20%

Stayed 11th July 2015

Room was downstairs so quite difficult for my friend & I as we both have trouble managing stairs, I was told it was disabled friendly but not for us. Dinner on first night was fine but on the second night we ate in Rio and it was dreadful. It was a very limited choice and there was nothing on it I liked, no spaghetti, lasagna or pizza which surprised me. My friend chose risotto and it looked like a plate of glue with a bit of garnish on top.! On Saturday there was a function on which was fine but it was hard to get a seat to have a drink until dinner service was over. On Sunday evening / night there was a bus party in, they were at a charity football match, they were drunk, loud, rude and the language left a lot to be desired and nothing was done about it. We went out but when we came back at 10pm it was even louder and they were starting to sing rebel songs, in appropriate in a hotel lounge. Also there were 2 ladies sitting outside the lounge having a drink but they were also disgusted at the behaviour. My friend and I went to bed but when the people from the bar left some of them must have been in our section of the hotel and the noise was ridiculous. All in all I was dissatisfied with the hotel and don't think I'll be back. My friend was thinking about taking her husband there for a short break but after our experience will be going elsewhere.

Marion Campbell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th July 2015

Excellent value for money. Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Food was very good and plentiful. Would ce.rtainly book again

yvonne mccann said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 10th July 2015

We enjoyed our stay. Lovely sea views from our room and the bar. Friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent value for money.

I Downie said...

80%
90%
70%
80%

Stayed 8th July 2015

Lovely food at Rio Restaurant. Spectacular views over the Firth of Clyde. A wider range of continental breakfast choices (eg. Coissants, Pastries, etc ) could be made available.

lorraine elliott said...

47%
80%
50%
10%

Stayed 7th July 2015

Room was lovely. Dinner meal times was a shambles. No organisation. Waited 30 mins on our 2nd nite for the menus to be printed only to find except for one change was the same as the night before, chips were dry and it was frozen veg which had no flavour. The best part of the meal was the sweet. Breakfast was good

Mary Hunt said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd July 2015

Staff very friendly and they made you feel at home.

Roslyn kelly said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th June 2015

Had a great time at the Argyll Hotel staff and food were were outstanding .Just like to point out that I don't mind paying an under occupancy payment for a twin room when only one person in it ,but I am very annoyed that I had to pay 10pounds per night under occupancy for a room that was a box and could not hold more than one person and I would like to be reimbursed for this.

Brian Caton said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 29th June 2015

The hotel seemed a little 'tired'' but still offered good value for money (thanks Classic Britain).We were surprised to be offered a choice of eating our' Dinner' in the Argyll restaurant/lounge or in the Rio restaurant. The Rio was excellent in every respect! (Food 10/10 in the Rio! )

Elizabeth Baxter said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th June 2015

excellent service this is 2nd time we have been on a sunday night saver will defo be back staff very friendly and i love that we can go into italian resturant thats attatched to hotel

Elaine Chew said...

60%
90%
60%
30%

Stayed 28th June 2015

nicely refurbished hotel with good size bedrooms, pleasant staff. With best will in world couldn't recommend food in Italian restaurant but for B and B, a bargain.

Thomas Kean said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd June 2015

Hotel clean and welcoming.The food was always fresh and piping hot.There was plenty of choice and the staff in the bar and dining room were first class.The room/toilet were very clean.I would certainly use this hotel again.

Mary Galbraith said...

47%
60%
50%
30%

Stayed 21st June 2015

Stayed at Argyll Hotel, Dunoon on 21st June for one night on DBB offer with bottle of wine. Room and en suite were ok, though bed rather lumpy. We were seated in bar for dinner rather than in dining room and presented with menu sheet with limited choices. Food was no better than canteen standard, and for all three courses the food was presented but we then had to wait for staff to bring cutlery. In fact we had to remind waiter that after waiting quite a while we still hadn't had our dessert. I would have preferred a choice from hotel's regular menu up to perhaps a certain price limit and done without wine. Because of our experience we won't book with this hotel again, maybe we were just unlucky.

James Fraser said...

57%
40%
60%
70%

Stayed 20th June 2015

Slightly tired hotel but the staff were generally helpful and the food was good and plentiful.

Linda Pollock said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th June 2015

Brilliant two night break at The Argyll Hotel, room was spotless with large walk in shower, had dinner in Argyll Lounge on first night food was lovely, second night went to Rio Restaurant food was again lovely and staff were very nice. Dev the manager and his brilliant team run a great hotel

M Doherty said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th June 2015

Friendly happy staff ,good at their job .good food .great offer 2 for 1.

Sandra Donnelly said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th June 2015

MY MUM,NIECE AND MYSELF HAD A LOVELY COUPLE OF DAYS AT THE ARGYLL HOTEL DUNOON. THE STAFF ARE VERY NICE AND CANNOT DO ENOUGH FOR YOU. THE ROOMS ARE ALSO VERY COMFORTABLE HOWEVER IF YOUR ROOM IS LOOKING ONTO THE STREET IT CAN GET A BIT NOISY LATE AT NIGHT OR EARLY MORNING, BUT THAT IS NOT THE HOTELS FAULT, JUST WHEN THE PUBS GET OUT.

Dorothy Peacock said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 19th June 2015

The Hotel was very clean and welcoming The staff were very helpful.

Thomas Smith said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 19th June 2015

Hotel good, Staff very friendly and helpful, Food o/k and plenty of it. (Your advert was a bit misleading when you said that a free upgrade to the best room available would be allocated at check in but in reality all rooms were pre allocated prior to check in.)

margaret carlyle said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 17th June 2015

Unfortunately we are unable to comment on thd Argyll Hotel, due to the fact, on arrival at the hotel, we were told that we could not be allocated our room, as an elderly women had fallen ill in this room and could not be moved. We were sent to the Esplanade hotel. We were not happy.

Pearl Gillespie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th June 2015

Excellent accommodation. Tasty meals well presented. Friendly and efficient staff. Would highly recommend Argyll Hotel, Dunoon.

James Edmond said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th June 2015

Very happy overall with this hotel , Nice room and very good meals and also very polite and helpful Staff.

Garry Templeman said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th June 2015

The price of

Juliann MacKay said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 9th June 2015

The hotel was ok but Dunoon is a bit dead. Nothing much to do at night so watched telly. Unfortunately no signal on a lot of stations and they could not fixit which was a bit disappointing. Staff were excellent.

T Boyle said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 9th June 2015

not enough variety in the menu for DBB guests. Staff were excellent,always willing to help.

David Jefferson said...

57%
70%
60%
40%

Stayed 6th June 2015

Stayed one night,arrived to a leaking hall ceiling with no way of assessing the bar other than go behind the bar to get in and out. Staff very apologetic. Was told due to the leak we would have to use Rio restaurant or the bar, we chose Rio on arrival we were squashed into a tiny table and given a EBB menu with very little to chose from ordered and was presented with reasonable looking food(paella) tasted of smoke due to over use of cheritso sausage, then all he'll broke loose yes another ceiling leak in the restaurant again apologies, on a good about the hotel it had a good bedroom clean with good views all staff were polite and public areas were also clear. The Hotel needs a lot of guidance to bring it up to scratch however we would give it another go.