Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Argyll Hotel, Dunoon

Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

73%

Brian Johnston said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th August 2014

Great hotel with excellent staff. Great value but little restrictions on menu choice in the Italian restaurant.

Patrick Tahaney said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 21st July 2014

Value for money stay.

Athanasios Keramidas said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th July 2014

This is the second time we booked in the Argyll hotel through Classic Britain and second time that our experience has been exceptional. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, the food amazing and the rooms are very nice and clean. We will definitely go back again. In regards, to Classic Britain, I have to say that the process of booking and the prices are very good compared to other competitive sites, especially on DBB deals. I have lost the count on how many times we have booked through CB and every time we get a great deal.

joyce tonner said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 27th June 2014

Problems with door entry and noise from the street on friday and saturday otherwise a great stay

Graham Tomlinson said...

24%
50%
10%
10%

Stayed 23rd June 2014

I have very mixed views on my stay here and without any doubt expected better. The reception area is very poor, why a large screen TV protected by a metal casing? What kind of guest do they get here was the first thing that ran through my mind. Reception staff were very good, check in was quick and easy. The lift is shocking. Our first room was very small for a double. The bathroom even smaller. The restaurant door was wide open with a curtain closed across it. Other people where eating in the bar area, so we took a table here near the window. The menu's in both restaurants I found somewhat uninspiring. . The young waiter came with cutlery and serviettes. Dropping a knife on the floor, promptly picking it up and giving it to my companion. Not what I expect from a 3 star hotel at all. Food was OK, but nothing special. Presentation was poor. More like a cafeteria or nursing home, not an hotel. Nobody ever even asked us did we want to eat in the restaurant at all. Most of the staff are young with little experience at all was my impression.Upon retiring to bed, there was a nasty smell coming from the bathroom, not pleasant at all. Then to add insult to injury one side of the mattress was broken. No support to it at all. We rang reception the guy came up and looked for himself. Then asked did we want to change rooms. I am amazed nobody guest or staff hadn't already spotted this. Luckily the hotel wasn't full and we where moved down a floor to another room. This was much larger and the bathroom had a lot more room in it too. Again very clean. Breakfast was in the main dining room, again nothing to shout about. The building is very nice , very old and needs more updating work carried out to it. It as a great location with some very good river views. Somebody needs to take charge here and massive improvements could be made. The place seems to just plod along. Would I return NO.

K Mcluckie said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 20th June 2014

Stayed for the murder mystery weekend. Actors were great and had lots of fun. Meals were all good. Would say it was quite difficult to get drinks throughout the meal but otherwise a great weekend

Carol McLaughlan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th June 2014

Have just spent the weekend at the Argyll Hotel (Dunoon) and we had a great time. Staff were extremely polite and helpful, nothing was a bother for them. This is certainly a hotel we would return to again, and having received such a great deal was an added bonus

Margaret Linstead said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2014

Stayed at Argyll Hotel for friend,s birthday. Had a great time. Food was delicious and plentyful. Rooms were spotless and bed very comfortable. All staff were very friendly and helpful. A great weekend stay. Will definately stay again.

Terry Mundie said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th May 2014

I ENJOYED MY STAY AT THE ARGYLL, GOOD FOOD, CLEAN ROOM AND VERY GOOD SERVICE. T MUNDIE

Robert William Neil Johnson said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 13th May 2014

We were moved to another hotel due to over booking and they said they could not contact us - the other hotel was very good and we have no complaints

Anne Mack said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 4th May 2014

Hotel OK. Breakfast was very good but felt meals at night were OK but not the best. The staff were lovely (all of them).

Lenny Gillespie said...

60%
90%
90%
0%

Stayed 3rd May 2014

We had an overnight stay May holiday weekend and had a very good room with sea view, which we ask for. There was a tribute night on but we were visiting friends so didn't take up the offer. On this occasion we didn't have an evening meal at the hotel but we have done on many other times, the breakfast was freshly cooked and served to your table, sets you up for the day. Will definitely be back.

Susan Mccafferty said...

77%
50%
80%
100%

Stayed 1st May 2014

Good hotel, with helpful staff

A Leitch said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 30th April 2014

Not terribly impressed with the welcome and the room was clean but dated. Dining room Table d' menu was uninspiring but internal Italian restaurant was excellent

Robert William Neil Johnson said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 24th April 2014

Everyone very friendly and helpful

wendy doyle said...

64%
60%
70%
60%

Stayed 19th April 2014

staff excellent but not enough for busy service. breakfast excellent- main meals very mixed- salmon excellent- haddock dreadful-supposed to be fresh and locally sourced. bedroom carpets need updating- stains apparent- beds scuffed- lightbulbs missing. Hotel is in lovely location- views stunning- lift very scarey!!.

D Milne said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 4th April 2014

An older building expanded, the hotel suffers slightly in dimensions which shows in things like the cramped slow and quirky lift which we had little confidence in. In two days I saw it misbehave 3 times so they really need to attend to its reliability. The decor however is good and the place is clean and inviting. Our 2nd floor room (116) was clean and well serviced with excellent sea views, two comfy chairs to view from and a nice fresh double bed. The bathroom however had no bath but a large shower instead. The smaller size bathroom is a product of the turreted frontage and has to be expected. Our friends had a room (114) off the turret and it was immense by comparison and with a bath. The staff I have to say were lovely. I only deducted a point over a minor matter of etiquette where a waitress cleared the plates whilst one of our party was still eating. We visited to take advantage of a weekend murder mystery event over two nights. It was good fun and I recommend you try it. Actors wittily unfolded the plot over two evening meals which to be fair were absolutely gorgeous. The menu was 3-4 choices per course, perfectly presented and cooked to perfection hence rated at 100% for the food. The whole weekend was astoundingly good value.

Derek Horsburgh said...

50%
20%
60%
70%

Stayed 21st March 2014

Hi the stay at the argyll was good but there were a few issue's such as being put up on the third floor the room was not as good as the time before and was lacking space and warmth

Laura McCambley said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st March 2014

Would highly recommend this hotel to all ages. Just back from a murder mystery weekend here & we are actually booking up to come again in august! Absolutely great service from all the staff, wonderful food & great value!

Richard Houston said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th December 2013

staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast and a wonderful tiramisu with our bar meal.

Patricia Bennett said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 1st November 2013

We had a lovely time at the Argyll? The staff were very attentive and couldn't have done more for us throughout our stay.

Brian O'Connor said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 5th October 2013

Unable to review this hotel as when arrived had no record of booking but were able to get into their sister hotel

murray wood said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th October 2013

Very nice hotel, manager and staff very helpful. Would definitely return.

Kelda Sangster said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th October 2013

I booked this hotel and the Fawlty Towers murder mystery for my mum and dad to celebrate their 40th wedding anniversary. They really enjoyed their weekend away and thought that the event was very well planned. The only thing was that they had to sit with two other couples during the event and one of the gents was a bit annoying but they were unable to avoid him. Overall though a lovely weekend.

Hilda Haddon said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th September 2013

We had a very enjoyable two day break. Great food, comfortable and clean room and good entertainment!Would recommend it! Staff are helpful and very friendly.Great value and a good holiday base.