Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Derwent Manor Boutique Hotel, Allensford

Allensford, Allensford, DH89BB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

Paul Blenkharn said...

64 %
80%
60%
50%

Stayed 17th February 2024

Leisure facilities need a upgrade and a clean as looked dirty. Chaotic dining room. WIFI in hotel not great. Rooms comfy and great views. Great location... low chance of a return

Julie Evans said...

74 %
100%
60%
60%

Stayed 15th February 2024

Lovely hotel but service in restaurant very slow. Waited 25 minutes to order drinks and we had to seek out waitress. She then didnt know what one of the desserts were but made no attempt to find out. Think i little more training for younger staff may be reuired but overall great stay

Donna Preston said...

90 %
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 15th February 2024

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff in bar & at breakfast. Afternoon tea was absolutely delicious.

Bruce Harley said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th February 2024

Stayed for 3 nights at this very nice Hotel for my wive's birthday. ( 1 voucher night + 2 nights paid) The Staff were all very nice and efficient. The food was very good. However due to the time of year there wasn't enough guests to open the Restaurant, so we had to eat in the Bar/Lounge which was just ok. The decor in the Hotel is quirky and unique and fasinating. The rooms were well serviced and clean. The bathroom was ok but tired and in need of a refurbish. Luckly there was a fan heater in the bedroom as the main heating wasn't working ? (hence the room rating) We could have asked for another room but didn't bother as it was comfy the way it was.The Hotel also surprised us with a Birthday card and box of chocolates, which was a lovely touch. My wife was delighted. Used the Gym and Swimming Pool a couple of times and they were very good. All in all a very nice hotel and would recommend.

Alan Brown said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th February 2024

We had 2 great nights at the manor and we have booked again for 2 nights in March Looking forward to our break. Can we have the same room 122 please. Thanks Alan.

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd February 2024

Lovely clean hotel with staff that are always helpful , food lovely with a good selection to choose from

John Dullard said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th January 2024

Absolutely fantastic stay staff were very good. Room was nice and luxurious and the food was amazing definitely stay again

paul Dobbs said...

84 %
100%
100%
50%

Stayed 13th January 2024

Lovely hotel, staff very pleasant, clean and well equipped room, like the extras like coffee machine, dressing gowns and bottled water. Evening meal was nice, Comfortable night and best breakfast buffet ever had. Wonderful. That’s where it ended , we prebooked an afternoon tea, the booking was confused we were sat in the Antler bar on a grubby table in the corner , among dog walkers and sports tv on. After waiting 20 mins to receive our tea and coffee, we were left a further 15 mins before this very sad disappointing tea was delivered. No tablecloth, no special tables to receive afternoon tea, no nothing. The sandwiches were spare and very dry, cheese, tuna and small bit of ham, no relishes nothing. Scotch egg just about set. The scones , were so dry and stale , when I tried to slice one in half the whole thing exploded into crumbs, we were told there was two cheese two fruit ??? They were nearly plain with little fruit. Impossible to Put cream or jam on. The small and I mean small cakes were even worse, macaron which was defrosting, don’t know what the other thing was as it was sitting in a puddle of juice, a strawberry a raspberry and a choc brownie cut in half which yes you guessed it was so dry. We refused to eat this, and was told the waitress or manager I’m not sure who, had witnessed the chef baking those scones that morning, this was an insult to my intelligence, I do bake myself, the scotch egg we are told that’s how they like them????? The sandwiches were shrugged off. Would we like something else to eat in place if afternoon tea…….., no chance , they did not try to charge us , we left . Real shame after such a nice birthday celebration weekend, this tea was to finish it off nicely. My suggestion is they drop the afternoon tea until they make a special effort with a designated seating area and polish up on the scones and presentation.

Sheila Payne said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th January 2024

A really lovely stay. Staff friendly and pleasant, food delicious and room nice and comfortable

janice ridley said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th January 2024

Lovely stay excellent in every aspect

Vicki Kibble said...

74 %
100%
40%
80%

Stayed 29th December 2023

Beautiful hotel but service not so good. On checkin we weren’t told where anything was, what time breakfast was served or even where the spa facilities were. No mention of the ice rink or the tipi either. Service in the restaurant on the evening was horrendous. I know they were very short staffed as we had a lovely chat with the restaurant manager. We were seated and asked our drinks order but the waitress was distracted by another table and said she’d come back to take our order. She never did and after around 15mins my husband went to the bar to order them. I ordered GF lasagne which came out as penne bolognaise with some cheese melted on top! I didn’t mention this as that was ok but not what I ordered. We were never asked if we wanted any drinks throughout the meal we had to ask and when our plates were cleared away we weren’t offered the deserts menu bearing in mind the offer was for a 3 course meal. We waited 45mins all the time trying to catch someone’s attention then in the end we just asked for the bill. As much as this really isn’t good enough for this standard of hotel it wouldn’t stop us from returning. We had a wonderful time and have recommended it to all our friends. We also thoroughly enjoyed the singers that performed that night.

Gary Cruickshank said...

90 %
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 27th December 2023

The staff are really professional and supportive. The hotel is lovely and our stay was relaxed and needed after the Xmas festivities. There were a couple of issues, the was unavailable for several hours and a number of guests complained as you would, and due to markets being closed the menu was limited and changed to the annoyance of people with dietary requirements. We will return but probably not just after Xmas.

A guest said...

77 %
90%
40%
100%

Stayed 10th December 2023

I visited with my Husband, we had a lovely stay, however service at dinner was not good. I have emailed hotel separately regarding this. However gorgeous hotel in a beautiful location

Alexander Reid said...

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2023

2 nights DBB food and service was first class in the Prego restaurant. Bed was comfortable. Towel rail in the bathroom did not work, and the cold draft from windows. But enjoyed our stay.

Colin Craggs said...

70 %
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 14th November 2023

On arrival at Derwent Manor we were allocated Room 108, which seemed a little chilly. We mentioned this at Reception on our way for a swim, and on our return we were told the heating could not be fixed and we were moved to Room 110, where the heating was definitely working. On return to the Hotel on our second day, this Room also felt cool, but we couldn’t be bothered to move again, and used the Fan Heater located in the Wardrobe to take the chill off the room. Evening meals were very good, Breakfast was a bit variable, Eggs Benedict and Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Salmon very nice, but the Traditional Breakfast had overcooked Brown and Fried Bread, and Baked Beans missing, on Day 1, Black Pudding missing on day 2.

Sherilee Lofthouse said...

87 %
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2023

Beautiful hotel, staff friendly and food good quality. There was some dust in the bedroom and more than one dead fly on the window sill. Breakfast system was not explained. However had an overall great stay and would recommend.

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2023

Stayed here a few times Lovely hotel Lovely food Friendly helpful staff

Margaret Berry said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th September 2023

Excellent hotel, we had a fabulous stay for my husbands birthday, everything was perfect and we shall have a return visit.

Melanie Bullock said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd September 2023

Staff very welcoming and can't do enough for you. Had a fantastic 30th Wedding Anniversary stay. Will definitely be booking again.

Irene Richards said...

80 %
80%
70%
90%

Stayed 21st September 2023

Good room and excellent evening meal.

elaine gamlin said...

90 %
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 17th September 2023

Fantastic hotel and service, great menu and food, room was out of this world

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th September 2023

Very good hotel. Only one problem. We had asked you for a ground floor room near the lift with shower not over bath. You contacted hotel and came back to say we had a ground floor room, near the lift with just a few steps. This was not the case. Ground floor room with about 16 (staggered) steps to reach it, had a walk in shower but we were not near the lift. We did discover such a room was possible but had obviously been let to someone else. As my husband had just had a hip operation 4 weeks ago it did cause us some problems Having said that everything else was excellent as you will see with my scoring below.

Lisa Swann said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th September 2023

absolutely amazing hotel and overnight stay. Great deal at £92 pp for DB&B which was superb. great menu choice and staff were fabulous, especially Owen and Olivia who served us both with always a smile on their faces. Will definitely be back

A guest said...

90 %
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd September 2023

Excellent. This is a top notch hotel in beautiful rural surroundings. We dined every night (5) in the Prego restaurant, as well as breakfast. All the staff are charming and very efficient. Our room was spotless and well appointed. If you happen to be travelling from central Scotland, take the A68 instead of using the A1, it's a great road and the hotel entrance is right on the A68

Yvonne Bruce said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th September 2023

Great value - pool nice - good especially delicious and very spacious room