Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Royal Highland Hotel, Inverness

Station Square, Inverness, IV11LG, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th July 2019

Very good deal 2 night break hotel getting old needs tlc although very clean

Jacqueline Love said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 9th June 2019

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a bit old fashioned, but I suppose this is to blend in with the character of the hotel. The rooms were clean, and the bottled water was welcomed, as the rooms were very hot. The dinner menu had plenty to choose from, and the breakfast had a good choice too. We would come back to this hotel again!.

Stephan Fortune said...

64%
50%
60%
80%

Stayed 3rd May 2019

Good value for money hotel in centre of Inverness. Room was quite small and crowded although it was clean with a nice bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and the only thing I’d add is there is only approx 8 parking spaces so for those taking the car be prepared to bide your time until one because me available or use nearby multi-storey parking.

HELEN MCGUIRE said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd May 2019

Enjoyed everything about the hotel apart from the bar prices! Couldn't believe they charge £3.50 for a half pint of lager while charging £4.90 for a pint! Shocking!

Dorothy Crichton said...

30%
30%
10%
50%

Stayed 3rd May 2019

Had a great time in Inverness,the hotel was lovely,food was very good. Reception staff very friendly but wish i could say the same about the 2 male bar staff! Who were very rude the twice we were there. Not just to us but to other customers to. A very big let down to a lovely hotel.

E Scott said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th April 2019

This was our 6th visit so we're made welcome on arrival nice to be remembered in a busy hotel .We do not drive so ideal for bus or rail station .

L Anderson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th February 2019

Lovely room. Meal gorgeous. tails to die for brandy Alexander gorgeous

ann shearer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd November 2018

I was most annoyed at the reception staff at the hotel, they were most indignant about our deal. I booked two separate bookings for my husband and I and our two friends on a three night dbb offer. When collecting our meal voucher on second night were told we only booked for three dbb. I told them I would phone my hotel break and enquire,to which I did and assistant on the phone told me I was correct. Hotel reception still maintained they were right,bso I asked them to call you. The girl did and came over and told me I was right, no apology from her and she blamed my hotel break for not sending them an email with booking.

A guest said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th October 2018

We had an enjoyable time staying at the Royal highland hotel,the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and clean .wewill certainly be back.

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2018

Lovely clean hotel, the staff were very friendly & helpful. The Hotel is ideally situated... can’t fault either the very tasty breakfasts or the evening meal.

Janice Povah said...

50%
60%
N/A
40%

Stayed 19th October 2018

Hotel is a bit tired but rooms are clean and comfortable . Right next to train station and would definitely use again

A guest said...

74%
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th July 2018

Smallest hotel room i have ever stayed in.The public areas are nice but rooms need updating. Food was nice. My main issue was the seagulls noise but obviously the hotel can't control that.

David Houston said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2018

The staff in this hotel were fabulous, (friendly, helpful and courteous). The room was clean and tidy, but when I booked I asked for a double bed, but was dissapointed to note that the "double bed" was two singles pushed together and joined, thus leaving a ridge down the middle where the matresses met. I didn't mention this as the stay was not long !. Maid did not replace the tea bags that my wife and I used. Food was good and well prepared. The price of drinks was rather high. There was a vending machine in the foyer, from which I bought a Mars bar and a Twix. The Mars cost £1.50p and the twix cost £1, ( I could have bought 5 and 3 respectively) in a local shop for the same price. All in all it was a pleasant stay with the Hotel being close to the town centre. I would probably stay there again, now that I am better informed.

T Bradford said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 20th September 2015

It was ok. Good location.

ian grieve said...

85%
80%
90%
N/A

Stayed 19th September 2010

good

Graham Meadows said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th March 2018

Excellent staff Receptionist was especially helpful. Staff in bar and restaurant were also polite and helpful. The restaurant also had some excellent special offers, but as we had already eaten we did not take advantage of these offers, but they appeared to be popular. Decor and rooms in the hotel appeared in excellent order.

Gordon Graham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th March 2018

Really nice hotel nextdoor to the train station. lovely dinner on the first night and afternoon tea the next day both scrumptious.

Brian Smart said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th February 2018

A very pleasant stay at Royal Highland Hotel. All members of staff i encountered were helpful & friendly. Dinner in restaurant was excellent

Helen Duncan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd February 2018

Lovely hotel, great food and excellent staff !

ann shearer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th January 2018

We have been staying at royal highland hotel every year (sometimes twice a year) since 2009, and we feel more at home every time. Staff are friendly and helpful and nothing s too much trouble for them The Ash restaurant serves delicious meals with excellent service. The buffet breakfast is ideal and easily accessed .

Tracy Groves said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 26th January 2018

Another delightful stay, friendly staff, great service, good food and plenty of atmosphere. The dog is allowed too!

A guest said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th December 2017

Asked to wait to see if room was ready at 2.20 so we sat in reception only to watch at least 2 other couples being given key to their romms. My husband went to receptionist and she gave us the room key saying "room might not be ready" 3rd floor room which was fine no sign of any cleaners on the floor at all. Room was clean and bed comfy. We unpacked only to discover safe not working, no bath mat in shower despite sign advising guest to use it,and no towel rail in bathroom. Back to reception where we were offered another room, bigger with large bathroom. Only problem right over the hotel entrance but it wasn't too noisy. By this time it was 4.15 so a few hours wasted. Towel rail not on in bathroom until we spoke to maintenance man. Evening meal in the restaurant was lovely though, good portions and attentive staff. Couldn't fault this at all and breakfast was very nice too,plenty of choice. Our only gripe was the reception and the first room. We usually stay at The Waterside which is a far superior hotel.

Kenneth Gardner said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th December 2017

Fabulous hotel staff very pleasant and helpful we get disabled room which is brilliant food is great hotel central for everything be coming back again soon

Andrew Penman said...

44%
40%
40%
50%

Stayed 5th December 2017

This is not the first visit to the Royal,and as usual it was still of the same high standard .The food was excellent and the staff were friendly .

A guest said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st October 2017

The hotel has a marvellous entrance and staircase which really impresses but our room unfortunately was tired and needed some tender loving care. The paper was beginning to peel in places and the bathroom panels had suffered badly from steam over the years. That said, that is my only criticism. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and genuinely interested in our welfare. The food at breakfast time and in the “Ash” restaurant in the evenings was of a very high standard indeed. Yes the drinks were a bit pricey but on value deals what do you expect the have to make money after all. I would certainly go again and recommend it to anyone else. It is centrally located and great for the city centre and the railway station. It may be a bit more difficult if you arrived by car but there was nearby parking I believe.