Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Royal Highland Hotel, Inverness

Station Square, Inverness, IV11LG, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

A guest said...

40%
50%
60%
10%

Stayed 16th September 2020

Hotel is in a good location right next to the railway station, very clean, reception staff very friendly, down side continental breakfast very poor pastries stale, poor quality bread for toasting, no cheese or cooked meats or yogurts, evening meal, one meal was was not to our taste was replaced no problem, in general food was not a good standard.

Graham Foley said...

64%
70%
70%
50%

Stayed 8th September 2020

Hotel a bit rundown but clean evening meal very good but breakfast let the stay down as very poor, continental breakfast unless you pay extra but choice awful only fruit was a banana, no cold meats at all and only choice of cheese is babybelle which even ran out on 2nd day so no cheese choice

margaret menzies said...

65%
80%
N/A
50%

Stayed 24th August 2020

Had a lovely time at this hotel, would come back again ! Seagulls were a pain at 5 o’clock in the morning ?

Muriel Boardley said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd August 2020

We got a lovely room on the first floor over looking the main road.Nice girl on reception and the breakfast room,car park not the best but we got a space.We enjoyed our tail but no atmosphere in bar.

Alistair Mcnie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th August 2020

great hotel ,will definately be back ,only downside is the parking,but hotel and food superb

John Smithson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th August 2020

We had a lovely time here while touring acotland

Brian Murphy said...

64%
40%
80%
70%

Stayed 13th August 2020

Disappointing! Had specifically asked for a room either at front or side of hotel. On arrival we had been allocated a very small double at the rear of hotel. Young gentleman in reception was very helpful and moved to another very small double room overlooking side . (Fine) but set up for 1 person only. 1 towel , 1 teabag etc and the room was very hot ?. Didn’t want to re-visit reception so just took it.Bearing in mind that by this time I had touched door handles etc and I didn’t want to be a nuisance again!Had already booked for another 2 nights from the Thursday so hoped for a better room for our next 2 nights so just put up with tiny hot room until then. Thursday, explained to reception about room and requested a bigger room for our next check in that day! Offered me an upgrade for an extra £40 had already paid supplement for Friday night But paid it as I desperately wanted a bigger room. Was allocated a room again at the back of hotel with 2 queen beds (ok) but extra space in room had a single bed in it !! We were just a couple!! The extra bed blocked the window and the wardrobe! ?. However it was still a bigger room. Have to say it was all a bit stressful and I didn’t want to move again!! Staff were very nice and friendly especially lady in breakfast room and housekeeping. Restaurant was ok! Breakfast was continental which could have been a lot better but it was ok. At points though far too many people in dining room. We had to book breakfast time so didn’t understand why this would be the case! 2 meals in restaurant were good. A pity that the full menu was not on but understandable. I dont understand why hotels don’t allocate better rooms first! Because they were available when we checked in!! Surely they have more chance of people returning if they are happy! Sadly this time I think I have been put off this hotel as it was so stressful and the room quality just wasn’t good! I have stayed here on numerous occasions and know what to expect but this time massively disappointing. ?

Allison Hunter said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 10th August 2020

Enjoyed our stay but parking is an issue. The multi story is close by though which we used daily but it is an added expense. Rooms are large and clean but a bit dated. Continental breakfast is sufficient and you can upgrade if desired. The food in the restaurant is delicious but it’s quite expensive as are the drinks. All in all a pleasant enough stay right in the centre of Inverness close to plenty eating places and shops.

Allison Hunter said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 10th August 2020

Enjoyed our stay but parking is an issue. The multi story is close by though which we used daily but it is an added expense. Rooms are large and clean but a bit dated. Continental breakfast is sufficient and you can upgrade if desired. The food in the restaurant is delicious but it’s quite expensive as are the drinks. All in all a pleasant enough stay right in the centre of Inverness close to plenty eating places and shops.

Kay Muir said...

40%
30%
N/A
50%

Stayed 10th August 2020

We had been to this hotel before so knew what to expect. However on this occasion, we found the staff very unwelcoming. An older lady on reception was very abrupt and off putting. The bar manager was very rude. He refused to bring our drinks to the table stating we had to take them ourselves! The young girl who served us dinner could be a good waitress if given some training. The lady that welcomed us into the breakfast room however was the only friendly member of staff we encountered. She couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. The breakfast was actually a pleasant surprise. We had read terrible reviews on trip advisor. Breakfast was bread, croissants, pastries, cereal, bananas and cheese. Perfectly adequate. Cooked breakfasts available at extra cost. The rooms are very very dated with ours overlooking the station roof although we couldn't see out window due to frosted glass which was actually cracked, not very safe. I will not return to this hotel.

Stephen Kinnear said...

90%
90%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 10th August 2020

Excellent break, hotel lovely, staff very friendly.

Lesley Lindsay said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th August 2020

Amazing hotel and safety measures taken due to covid, with notices throughout hotel. Staff were attentive and friendly. Food in restaurant and at breakfast was good quality. Only downside was that we could not open bedroom window but fan was in place in room which did help. Would definitely go back and also recommend to others.

E Scott said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd August 2020

Have been at hotel numerous times,always enjoy our stays .nice to be remembered by staff .Handy for railway station as we don’t drive .

E Scott said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd August 2020

Have been at hotel numerous times,always enjoy our stays .nice to be remembered by staff .Handy for railway station as we don’t drive .

T Will said...

37%
30%
40%
40%

Stayed 3rd August 2020

We stayed at the Royal Highland last Monday and Tuesday as i had worked there in the distant past. What a disappointment. The welcome we received when checking in was a bit frosty, But the lady was on her own with a queue. We went up to our room which was 110, Only a duvet on the bed, the view was of the bins outside, the windows were single glazed with a crack in one of them, the bath surround needed a lick of paint as it had seen better days. When we went down for our pre booked dinner at 8pm, it was pandemonium as it looked like none of the staff on duty knew what was going on. so we went down for breakfast in the morning to be told that it would be Continental on our booking, and if we wanted a cooked Breakfast it would cost extra, I did ask if we could have a boiled egg with our toast,So the lady who was in charge said she would go and ask the kitchen staff, when she came back to us the reply was no they could not do a boiled egg. Overall this was a great letdown of a break to a hotel which i thought would be better. The staircase was quite dirty any time we went up or down the stairs. I also think the hotel should make better use of the main dining room for dinner to the residents, instead of only using it for breakfast service. So in summing up i will be contacting the hotels Regional Manager to get some answers. Tom Will.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th July 2020

We were on the third floor which was at the top of the hotel. The room was quite warm but there was a fan in the room which was very welcome. We managed to sleep with the window open and the fan on. It had a lovely big TV, tea/coffee making facilities in the room but the bathroom had quite a small shower. Most of the staff were welcoming and friendly. We had dinner included one night which we thought was very expensive for basic pub grub so we didn’t eat there on the second night. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

A guest said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th July 2020

The hotel was clean and the Covid restrictions felt well managed. Staff were super helpful and we really enjoyed our stay!

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 24th July 2020

Great value for money, comfortable beds, clean rooms. Hotel dated but fine. Menu needs expanding.

Linda Campbell said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th July 2020

Hotel was very nice and comfortable. It is an old building so some things may not be perfect but there was nothing that I would complain about. The bedroom was great but the bathroom towel rail was on all the time and this made the room very warm. Staff were very nice and welcoming and we had no problems when asking for things. Would certainly recommend.

Jeanette Adam said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st July 2020

Had a nice time, dinner on its night was lovely and plenty of it as were the tails Room was compact but fine a few touch up issues could be dealt with throughout the hotel but good value for money The only thing that bothered us which is totally out with hotel control was the seagulls the made a racket all day and night they never shut up Would probably be back and also recommend as it is do central for busses and trains

Anne Walker said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th July 2020

First visit after lockdown eased, was pleasantly surprised, Hotel is beautiful, food excellent and standards of cleanliness were to a high standard, all social distancing was being kept in check and very well managed, free tail on arrival too

John McGuire said...

50%
10%
N/A
90%

Stayed 11th March 2020

A very nice central to the town centre hotel a great place to stay.

angela Cairns said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 24th January 2020

We totally enjoyed our two days in the hotel. Staff were lovely and friendly.. food was great

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 19th January 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed our break including meals

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 19th January 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed our break including meals