Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Fairmont St Andrews, St Andrews

, St Andrews, KY168PN, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Lynn Mackay said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 30th August 2020

This was our first time visiting the Fairmont St Andrews. The hotel itself was beautiful, unfortunately the spa was not yet open due to covid however the hotel and surroundings did not disappoint. The room was gorgeous and very clean. My only criticism of the room would be the ice bucket. We paid to have Prosecco in the room on arrival. The ice bucket was cracked and the desk, chair and carpet were soaked. The staff through out the hotel were great. Extremely welcoming and helpful. Dinner in the squire hotel was extremely disappointing. We ate quite late as had not prebooked our table. This wasn't a problem our table was for 9:15pm and we were seated at 9pm. My husband ordered Scallops to start, whilst I'm told these tasted great they were particularly small and there were only 2 on the plate. For £20 this was pretty poor. We both had fillet steaks as a main. The choice of sauce was disappointing and both steaks were dry and over cooked. We did not feel it would have been right to send these back. We waited a full hour before being served our main course from finishing our starters. At 10:35pm neither of us wished to wait any longer for another steak to be cooked. The food appeared to have been sitting for a while from the appearance of the steaks and the cold sides. This was surprising as we were the only guests left in the restaurant and this was well staffed. Breakfast in the squire hotel was delicious - great choice and really fresh. Finally on check out we discovered we had been charged twice for our room. We were told a hold would be placed on our card on arrival for the room balance and £50 per head for extras. This was not a hold this was a charge and after already paying in full through my hotel break for this room it means we are now temporarily out of money for the balance of our stay. This was quite disappointing however the lady on reception was extremely apologetic and quick to rectify this for us. I would definitely stay at this hotel again however would probably eat out in town for our evening meal.

George gordon said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th February 2020

All round excellence; extremely helpful staff.

karen skinner said...

77%
80%
100%
50%

Stayed 31st January 2020

A relaxing night spent at the Fairmont, a few points to make. Hotel setting is beautiful, staff are honestly the best I have witnessed, I didn’t encounter one miserable face so well done to them all. The hotel is vast so it can struggle to create ambience in all areas. The one area of disappointment is la Cucina, again staff are really helpful but food lets it down. Starter- Tomato salad 7/10, main- pizza 6/10 but dessert - baked vanilla custard was a lowly 2/10. Breakfast was good and again the lady and gentleman supervising were super efficient and ensured all customers needs were met if not exceeded. If standard of restaurant food was improved I will definitely return.

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 31st January 2020

Had a great time. Have been before and will return.

Angela Steed said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 2nd January 2020

Second time staying at the Fairmont with My Hotel Break. Another great stay, couldn't fault this and will return. Family friendly, relaxed atmosphere and plenty of space to chill. Pool area great too.

Sheena Wood said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 21st December 2019

Second time visit to the Fairmont, couldn’t fault anyone part of our stay, everyone so pleasant and helpfull

vivien reddie said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd December 2019

Fantastic experience as always

Bethany Dempster said...

67%
80%
90%
30%

Stayed 16th November 2019

Beautiful hotel, very relaxing, facilities great, rooms well furnished. Staff very friendly and happy to help. The only negative is the food choices and the food prices. I realise the Fairmont is a 5 star hotel however it is a family hotel and I don’t feel they cater for a child’s palate. We are in La Cuciana on the Saturday night and I wouldn’t say the food was anything special. My dad had the anti pasti to start, the menu said you could choose up to 8 items however there weren’t 8 items to choose from and the meats on display had started to curl at the ends and were dry. The price for this was £13. I had booked the Bar & Grill for us on the Sunday night however the menu was not child friendly and the prices were astronomical. No starters for less than £13 and main courses ranged from £26 up to a steak at £45. There is the Squire sports bar that do offer a child’s menu and that’s what we ordered from for room service. The breakfast was the best meal, can’t fault that at all. If I was to return we would eat out in St Andrews.

Shani McGregor said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd November 2019

Wow & Wow What a fabulous hotel- we stayed here in March and returned November it was so good From the minute you arrive the staff are there fussing over you ? This time we upgraded to a sea view for an extra £25 Room very very comfortable Food outstanding You have to go to experience the luxury ??

paul macdonald said...

84%
100%
100%
50%

Stayed 1st November 2019

Fantastic hotel in absolutely fantastic settings but for a hotel of such luxury the food is distinctly average at best

Linda Lochrie said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th October 2019

Excellent overnight stay at the Fairmont St. Andrews, the accommodation is excellent and the staff are very attentive and focused on ensuring that your stay is fantastic.

Wendy DRYSDALE said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 4th October 2019

Once again an excellant visit to this hotel. Whilst there we used most facilities, spa, golf and we were not disappointed. An even better if would be for breakfast. Most guests were queuing waiting on toast, even though there was 2 machines both were slow and fairly inadequate. On my previous visits we got toast brought to our table along with tea and coffee.

Graham Seath said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd September 2019

We paid extra to upgrade to a room with a golf view. We were allocated a room on ground level with a view of the front car park. The hotel, surroundings and food are excellent.

Elizabeth Gair said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 14th August 2019

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Hotel excellent. Some minor issues with Housekeeping which were resolved by the Assistant Housekeeping Manager. Staf very helpful and friendly, in particular Evelyn on Breakfasts who was always cheerful and professional.

Elizabeth Gair said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 8th July 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont Hotel in St Andrews. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and would have no hesitation in returning in the future. Thank you.

Agnes Thomson said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 5th July 2019

Very nice, spacious and modern hotel, we loved it. The rooms and bathroom were fabulous. Staff were very helpful and service was good

Agnes Thomson said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 5th July 2019

Very nice, spacious and modern hotel, we loved it. The rooms and bathroom were fabulous. Staff were very helpful and service was good

B Willox said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th May 2019

Very nice stay Staff excellent Food in the St Andrews Grill excellent and the breakfast in the Hotel itself unbeatable so a really good weekend Thanks

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th March 2019

Fabulous return visit to our favourite hotel in At Andrews.For once we actually spent alot of time in the hotel due to the weather.We had a fantastic 50 minute full body massage each,my husband and I then a relaxing time in the pool area.Once the rain stopped a lovely walk to the clubhouse was next.We ate dinner in the evening in the bar and had a lovely meal and great service from the bar staff.Very friendly staff everywhere,on reception,in bar,in spa area and of course a wee chat with Tan on the door .We missed Tam! We will be back thank you

P McFarlane said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2019

Stayed many times now as always a joy, such friendly staff

Carol Cargill said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th February 2019

We had a very enjoyable, relaxing stay at the Fairmont. Excellent service and facilities. I would highly recommend it.

A guest said...

57%
80%
50%
40%

Stayed 23rd February 2019

Could not get parked in hotel car park. We were not alone in this regard. Could not get TV channels as advertised in room guide. Menu in Italian restaurant is too limited and pretentious. The meat and cheese table was in dire need of being refreshed. No vanilla ice cream, honestly, poor show. Ordered bread basket. No side plates provided. Had to ask for butter. Our advice dine elsewhere.

Karen Greig said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th February 2019

Another fab stay. Getting ready to book our next stay. Room was lovely. Staff were friendly and very helpful

Nicola Freer said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th February 2019

Great deal from My Hotel Break and super service at The Fairmont.

J Scott said...

77%
100%
100%
30%

Stayed 15th January 2019

Food a bit ???