Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, Dumfries

English Street, Dumfries, DG12DF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

paul mcroy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd December 2017

Booked a Christmas Party with the Abba Tribute band 'Swede Dreams'. Having read the hotel reviews I felt I should comment myself. Firstly the hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were friendly and welcoming, nothing seemed too much trouble. Room was clean and adequate with a good supply otf tea, coffee and toiletries. Heating was working (other reviews semmed to indicate a problem here but not in our room). The partl night itself was brilliant, starting with a four course meal and then the band around 9.30. They did 2, 45 minute sets and had us dancing from the start. After that there was a disco till late. Would highly recommend this hotel and will be booking again.

Gerard O'Neill said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 2nd December 2017

My wife and I had great time at the hotel, we had an upgrade to a lovely big room, complete with four poster bed, part of the deal was a sumptuous 4 course dinner, followed by the very entertaining Swede Dreamz an ABBA Tribute band. Hotel Staff were nice, and would Definitely go again.

alison lax said...

64%
40%
70%
80%

Stayed 2nd December 2017

Excellent food, and entertainment, only fault was room temperatures, very cold, bathrooms no heating at all, very cold underfoot, apart from that, very good

Mrs Miller said...

67%
80%
80%
40%

Stayed 24th November 2017

Hotel was very good, room comfortable, breakfast very good and enjoyed using the swimming pool. Food was disappointing in the dining room and in the ballroom at the 'Tribute night'. Meat was as tough as an old boot. Having read previous reviews I think there must have been a change of chef as many people sent food back. Would go again but maybe just b & b.

louise calder said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st November 2017

Me and my husband had a wonderful 3 night break at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and the food was very good. We both enjoyed the facil which were of a very good standard. We would definitely come back here

John Balkwill said...

64%
30%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st November 2017

When we booked, two weeks before our visit, we asked for a room with walk in shower ' as we are 79 and 77 and not as agile as we once were'. I also mentioned this when I telephoned to book our meal times. After reception we trailed up to second floor, made our way along a long corridor to the furthest away room no.63. Each of us thought the other had the room key. Trailed back down to reception to be given the key. Trailed back up to room. On opening the door the room was noticeably cool and the radiator was cold, on a dismal, foggy and wet day. There was a shower over the bath despite our two requests. Trailed back down to reception and receptionist had trouble trying to find a suitable room. - twin with walk in shower. I eventually offered to take a double room to be helpful. He eventually found a double room but not available until next day. Trailed back up to room no. 63. Room and hall radiators were still cold when we went to dinner at 7.00p.m. After dinner the radiators were on. There was no wi fi, no walk in shower and the noisy extractor fan remained on over night and next morning. Next morning our luggage was removed to room. No.89 which was almost at the end of a long corridor in the other direction. The room had a walk in shower but was the smallest room we have ever encountered in all our holidays at home or abroad. Approx. 12' X 9' The bathroom door was opposite the bed end approx. 27 inches away. Not great for privacy. There was only one chair, probably because there was no room for another. I had to sit or lie on the bed to watch the 18 inch. TV. That was OK as I could sort the creases in my trousers in the trouser press. There was wi fi. The radiator did not work but fortunately the towel rail in the bathroom was very efficient and the heat percolated into the bedroom. As you will have gathered we were not happy with either room or the inefficiency of the hotel to deal with us after they had obviously ignored our original request. We have been to the Cairndale on many occasions and expected better. We have lived in Sanquar and Moffat and we stay in the hotel in November and visit old friends while in the area. On the plus side the rooms were clean and well decorated. Tea, coffee and biscuits were provided and also a generous selection of toiletries and towels in the bathrooms. The staff were happy, friendly and helpful. Two, including Hassan a junior manager, remembered us from previous occasions. Meals were good and we enjoyed the restaurant. We were given a complimentary bottle of house wine. The bar was not open at times we thought it might have been. The hotel heating needs a serious overhaul. On the whole we enjoyed our break but the edge was taken off due to the disappointment and trouble over the room.

JOHN SMITH said...

67%
60%
80%
60%

Stayed 17th November 2017

we tried to book two nights dinner bed and breakfast on one of your deals but could only book the tribute night , food was good enough but on the tribute night it was like being in a canteen the way the food was served , we asked if we could have an upgrade when we checked in only to be told you have already been up graded ,the only thing was we had paid for it when we booked , we were given a room above the function hall bad idea as you can hear everything so don't count on getting any sleep before 1.00am to cap it all we couldn't find our name on the list for dinner or the tribute show so we asked 3 times only to be told it would be sorted , we were given a table in the dining room ,whilst we were having our meal we were approached. by another guest saying we were at her table at this point we found out this guest had the same name as ourselves and that she was with the tribute act party, in fairness there was a wedding on so it was very busy and the staff were good but i don't think we will return

Ann McCaffer said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th November 2017

Fantastic 2 night stay which included dinner and tribute night entertainment. On arrival we were informed by the lovely receptionist that our room had been upgraded as I was celebrating my birthday that weekend. The room was lovely and we were delighted. The hotel is very central with all shops within walking distance leaving the car in the ample car park at the rear of the hotel. Breakfast and dinner during our stay was excellent with all staff very pleasant and attentive. The Elvis tribute night on the 2nd night was great. My husband is a big fan and we both thoroughly enjoyed the night. Would certainly recommuend. Overall we had a lovely stay and will definitely be back. Thank you to everyone.

Mr McCoull said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th November 2017

We really enjoyed our weekend at the Cairndale, The room was very good, beds comfortable, food good and staff friendly, We were there for Elvis weekend and Steve was exceptional as Elvis, He came on at 9.15 sounded like Elvis for a full hour He left the stage at 10.15 and came back on at 10.35 and sang until 11.45, Value for money was excellent. We would recommend it to anyone how likes Elvis and wants a pleasant weekend as Dumfries is a lovely town to visit for a weekend and The Cairndale is a great place to stay. We will stay there again even if Elvis is not on

Brian Walker said...

67%
70%
60%
70%

Stayed 17th November 2017

service needs direction[restaurant & bar] otherwise good value for money

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th November 2017

why

Jane Pringle said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th November 2017

Visited here last weekend for Abba tribute night. Reception was very welcoming and checked that as my husband has mobility problems he could manage stairs to function suite. Room was clean and had the walk-in shower I had requested. Leisure suite was wonderful with staff who were fabulous, showing us round and expalining how to access facil. Food at Tribute night excellent but room was FREEZING. After many complaints electric heaters were brought in2 hours later but too late! Our room also had no heating! Following morning spoke to recption and was asked had we turned radiator on!!! Sunday night dinner was good but as room stiil had no heating compained about this and trainee manager sent engineer to room where he fixed radiator, however too late for our enjoyment of weekend. The lack of heating spoilt our stay and we will not be back, have never been so cold and as part of Scout movement regulary took part in "Brass ~Monkey" camps!!!"

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th November 2017

Just returned from a lovely 2 night Tribute break at the Cairndale Hotel. Check in was quick. We upgraded to a superior room which was very spacious and very clean. The Abba Tribute night was held in the conference room which was at the far end of the hotel. Tables set out lovely and meal and service very good. We had a really good night and wouldn't hesitate to book again for one of the tribute nights. Breakfast was nice had to wait for food to be replenished though on Sunday morning as was quite busy but didn't wait too long, Monday morning was a lot quieter. Evening meal in Reivers restaurant was lovely (highly recommend chicken and haggis terrine and the Ribeye Steak) . Service was very good. Would definitely return to this hotel. I can't review the leisure facil as we didn't get the chance to use them.

A guest said...

55%
20%
90%
N/A

Stayed 21st October 2017

Checked in but did not stay,paid a supplement to have a superior room,this was supposed to be a larger room with mineral water ,bathrobes and fruit in the room,this room was not large and had none of the extras described,the room allocated was dominated by the bed which left very little space,the windows were above the bed and were quite high up making it look like a garage conversion and made it feel dark and dingy,booked as a treat but this was not how it felt,additionally there was an accordian band directly below the room which apparently was to be there all weekend,receptionist did apologise that she had nothing better to offer as it was busy and refunded us no problem,however would not return to this hotel.

Jean Niblock said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th October 2017

Had a lovely break..staff made us feel very welcome.. Room was lovely spotless clean and comfy bed.. meals were exelent... Would like to give a special mention to Byrony at reception as she went out of her way to help me

David Robinson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th October 2017

Only gripe with our room was, the pull down bed from wall was so low luckily there was a single bed (normal height) that I could sleep in. The food was delicious and staff were very friendly and helpful. Would return.

Jean Niblock said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th October 2017

Had a lovely break..staff made us feel very welcome.. Room was lovely spotless clean and comfy bed.. meals were exelent... Would like to give a special mention to Byrony at reception as she went out of her way to help me

Heather Thomson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 2nd October 2017

Was a really enjoyable stay food was good service good. Room was clean and very little noice. Tea and coffee topped up every day . Would stay again

Derek Cockburn said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th September 2017

Great holiday at an excellent price. Room was large with coffee table and two chairs. Food was excellent quality on both nights. Hotel is a short walk from the town centre and the river walk along the river Nith. The Globe Inn can be found in a narrow allyway opposite the entry to the main shopping centre. This is the meeting place of The Burns Howf Club, a very old historical pub and worth a visit. The hotel has a pool and gymnasium.

Grant McGeachie said...

57%
50%
70%
50%

Stayed 23rd September 2017

Hotel very basic , room in need of a freshen up but very clean , leisure club good but changing area could do with a freshen up , food not to bad but the service between cos was far to quick , staff very pleasant . All in all our stay was very nice and relaxing , would recommend if you are easy pleased

Stewart Warburton said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th September 2017

This hotel is just yards away from the town centre. It is an old hotel which has some renovations and some quite old things. The first problem as a wheelchair user is getting in. You enter through the very well equipped Spa reception and take the lift to the hotel reception. All areas are accessible by chair. The room I was given was well equipped for a wheelchair user and was as near to the restaurant and reception and lift for the spa as possible. The furniture was old but in good condition and could be used by a wheelchair user. The spa was wheelchair accessible. including a disabled changing room. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service first class. All the staff were friendly and efficient and we definitely be returning.

Elaine Graham said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th September 2017

Room was lovely, as we're the meals. Enjoyed using the spa / pool.would return.

Robert McDougall said...

64%
50%
70%
70%

Stayed 30th August 2017

We were in room 40 for one night. We had to climb 80 steps with suitcases to get there and there is a sad lack of signs on the way. I took a wrong turn on the way back, could not find my way back and had to call my husband. The room was very tired and the curtains falling of the wall. The bed was very old as well. The whole hotel needs an upgrade. The terrine we had at dinner as "different" just small pieces of meat without any jelly in between. Overall the stay was okay for one night but would not like to stay longer.

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th August 2017

Upgraded room as it was our anniversary fabulous. Staff excellent and facil great. Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Going back on 27th August with my mum as I am sure she will enjoy the sunday entertainment. Enjoyed the food but limited menu.

Michelle Pierce said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th August 2017

Lovely hotel. Good breakfast and evening meals. Leisure facil also very good. Staf polite & helpful. Would not hesitate to stay again.