Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, Dumfries

English Street, Dumfries, DG12DF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Ian T. Punton said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th December 2016

Great break, large room and bathroom in the original Hotel, TV, tea and coffee facil, spring water and two small bottles of wine in room. Stayed for a tribute night 5 course dinner in December so Turkey on menu but also beef and vegetarian dushes,can't fault food,service and staff considering 350 people eating all served within 2 hours - well trained. Good Blondie show with DJ playing 80's music , singer came on later for a further hour singing 80's classics. Breakfast hot and cold buffet and plenty of it! Would return.

Andy Carcary said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th November 2016

Very nice hotel centrally situated in Dumfries. Staff were all very good, helpful, attentive and knowledgable. The leisure facil are very nice - pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. None of these facil are huge, but all were very good to use/relax in and were all in very good condition. Did not use gym or cafe but both looked nice/well kitted out and were regularly used by other people whenever we were in. Our room (90) had a double and single bed and was quite large with a nice bathroom. The maid came in every day and kept the room in top order. The room was also very warm, comfortable and kept very clean. The breakfast was standard buffet fare but was very enjoyable. The evening meals - from the four course table d'hote menu - were exceptional. The quality of the evening meals was as good as or better than any hotel we have stayed in in Scotland and we have stayed in at least 15 different hotels of a similar standard/price throughout the country and not one could top the food provided at the Reivers Restaurant within the Cairndale Hotel. We would not hesitate to highly recommend the Cairndate and certainly hope to make a return visit in the not too distant future. Thanks to all at the hotel for a very enjoyable break.

John Love said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th November 2016

Very comfortable. Staff courteous & helpful. Diner was delightful. All in all this was a great deal!

Terence McGeary said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th November 2016

Much impressed by this hotel from the moment I walked in. The young woman in reception made us feel welcome and continued this by phoning up to our room to check everything was ok -this was a first for us.The room was not huge but fine with a great shower and very comfortable bed. Service and food in the restaurant were superb, witth the assistaant manager doing a great job being host and keeping on top of things. What we hadn't really expected was a really excellent health suite with all the machines you could wish for coupled with a realxing leistre pool and sauna, jacuzzi and steam room. An hour or more in there was well spent before dinner. Our deal threw in wine and dinner and the wine -much to my surprise- was one of the best cab sauv's I have drunk. (Geysir Peak Californian 2014 I think) . Breakfast was the usual for hotels but well-cooked and with extras like kippers, haddock and poached eggs available if asked for. Would I go back? In an instant. But not on a Monday as Dumfries is shut. At least anything visitors might want to see seem to be, some shut until easter 2017!

Ron Soderman said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th November 2016

It was a very late booking and the weather was awful, but the hotel whilst on the old side was well looked after and clean. Bedroom was a bit small, but the staff in all sections were very pleasant and helpful. The leisure facil were very good. I would recommend this hotel to other people

andrew waddell said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th November 2016

Nice friendly staff,ideal location.

Julie Chorne said...

57%
60%
70%
40%

Stayed 14th November 2016

Check in was pretty straight forward and I found the room easily. The room was very small (but big enough for a one night stay). It was, however, hot and stuffy so I turned off the radiator and left the curtains open whilst I went for dinner. As it was a dinner inclusive deal I was given the Table de Hote menu to select from (4 courses + coffee priced at £27.50) The first course was thinly sliced melon decorated with chopped fruits (no other choice), it was nice and refreshing - second course was red lentil soup (again no other choice on menu) I explained to the waiter that I didn't like the soup option but he said there was no alternative but I could still have the bread roll! For the main course there was a choice of chicken roulade, sea bass fillet or stuffed pepper. I chose the chicken and was bitterly disappointed. It was a slice of rolled 'chopped and shaped' chicken with air bubbles in (Bernard Matthews Turkey Twizzlers come to mind!) served with crushed potatoes and lots of sauce. I waited for veg to arrive and when it didn't I began eating and found a few scraps of veg under the chicken. There were a few bits of carrot and 2 green beans (one green and one black) both with stalks on! When the waiter cleared the plate away I told him about my disappointment with the veg and he said he would pass it on to the chef. Strangely no-one apologised. Dessert was a choice of Eve's Pudding with custard or fruit meringue. Given that I was still pretty gry I opted for the pudding and custard - ha ha I shouldn't have bothered, it was a measly slice of cake with a bit of apple and custard - to be fair it was tasty though! It was clear that the diners not on the half board menu got better food and larger portions - even the plates were bigger! Message to hotel - If you give me a special offer and I enjoy the stay and my meal I will frequent your establishment on a regular basis. Unfortunately you chose to treat me like a second class customer because you've given me a cheap deal so I'll not bother coming back. I was also the unlucky one who's entire curtain track and curtains bit the dust at 2.50am - again no apology :( Breakfast was fine thank you.

Janet Murdoch said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th November 2016

First time at the Cairndale but certainly not the last. First class hotel, room, food and staff excellent. Would not hesitate to recommend to our friends.

martin thomas bell said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2016

Lovely hotel and fantastic staff. Meals are wonderful. Ideal location. Would highly recommend.

RICHARD MALLOY said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th November 2015

Nice stay hotel ok, food nice tribute weekend good, leisure facil are nice good access to shops pubs etc.

Karen Murray said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 31st July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Breakfast and dinner all lovely. Great leisure facil. Definitely be back.

A guest said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th July 2016

This was a last minute deal for my husband and myself. This hotel is well situated for the centre of Dumfries. The staff, were very helpful and pleasant. The facil were clean also staff again pleasant and helpful. The food was lovely and the service was really good.

Linda Safely said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 27th July 2016

Great stay, lovely friendly staff and excellent food - lounge areas are a little tired but overall a great stay

MAUREEN BROWN said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th July 2016

We had a wonderful stay from check in to check out. We were warmly welcomed by the receptionist and all staff throughout our visit were very friendly and efficient. The decor of the Hotel is beautiful and the rooms spotlessly clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were especially nice and included a lovely range of toiletries. Breakfast was buffet style and included a good selection of continental and cooked. Dinner menu was varied and tasted delicious. We will definitely return to this Hotel.

Sarah Johnstone said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th July 2016

We could not have had a better welcome. Dougie, who was on reception was amazing. We were given a beautiful room which was really appreciated. My husband and I stayed at this hotel 53 years ago, first night of our honeymoon, and again 3 years ago when we celebrated our golden wedding.

B Vallely said...

67%
90%
60%
50%

Stayed 14th June 2016

The hotel was good, especially the room with the four poster, which only lacked a chair for the dressing table. The breakfast counter was very poor as it made every item covered in condensation from the bain marie. The dinner also had problems as follows: On our first evening we were pleased to see it was four courses and had a menu we liked. However we were disappointed to find that we were not given the soup course or the coffee, and when we asked the staff were informed that we had not asked specifically for them!!!! On the second evening I ordered the steak only to find after several attempts to eat it that it was inedible. My wife had exactly the same vegetables on both nights.

CHARLES MCGETTIGAN said...

74%
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd June 2016

Staff were very welcoming,helpful and courteous. Our room was rather dated and in need of modernisation. Shower curtain very flimsy and not fit for purpose. At night the noise of air conditioning unit and cooling fan for kitchen was right outside our window. Very noisy and disturbed our sleep. Dinner and breakfast were satisfactory. As this is our fourth time of staying at the Cairndale, we feel that the hotel is in need of a revamp. Also no brvice till 4pm was a bit of an inconvenience. Sadly I do not think we will be returning to the Cairndale for a weekend break.

A guest said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 19th April 2015

Very friendly hotel, great food.

A guest said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 19th April 2015

Very friendly hotel, great food.

N Brown said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st May 2016

Hotel and food lovely. Receptionist was friendly but lacked some details with bottle of wine in room/ dinner arrangement. All was amended later on though

N Brown said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st May 2016

Hotel and food lovely. Receptionist was friendly but lacked some details with bottle of wine in room/ dinner arrangement. All was amended later on though

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th April 2016

Lovely hotel food was nice rooms comfortable (beds a bit hard) leisure facil great and loved the entertainment would come back.

Christine Noble said...

44%
10%
50%
70%

Stayed 8th April 2016

The Hotel very dated, staff very good helpful. The Elvis tribute excellent would defiantly go back and see him. Food good choice.

Lawrence Bennett said...

60%
70%
80%
30%

Stayed 18th March 2016

Nice comfortable hotel with very welcoming staff, excellent spa facil and very centrally situated.Lovely function room with good entertainment but banqueting food was poor on both nights we were there. Breakfast was well cooked and presented and plentyfull in choice also regularly topped up. Overall a very pleasant stay.

A guest said...

47%
50%
90%
0%

Stayed 18th March 2016

We had a very nice couple of days at the cairndale hotel. The staff were all very nice and welcoming. The food however let the hotel down. The meals were terrible it looked like ready made meals from a frozen food shop and tasted just as bad