Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Gretna Hall Hotel, Gretna

Gretna Green, Gretna, DG165DY, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

kristie ohara said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th February 2022

We chose Gretna Hall to use a voucher we received for Christmas. The lady on reception was particularly lovely, so pleasant, a great start to our first visit to the hotel. The hotel has recently been refurbished very tastefully. The bedroom was freshly decorated with a bottle of fizz left in ice. Nice big bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean. We had a delicious bar lunch and even though the hotel was very busy with more than one wedding, there was plenty of staff in the bar and they were very attentive. Dinner was lovely - delicious food and very pleasant and courteous dining room staff. Very comfy bed, we slept well. Great selection of hot food at breakfast, constantly being replenished and again it was delicious. We really enjoyed our stay at Gretna Hall and will definitely return.

James Brown said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th December 2021

Our stay was a surprise birthday treat from my husband. First impressions of the hotel were really good. Clean and tidy outside, driveway really nice. The receptionist, Jakey, was so friendly and welcoming. She explained about meals and breakfast times, gave us exact directions to our room. Lift access to the room, perfect as I am disabled. The room, not the largest, but had everything you'd need. It was clean, bedding of high quality and big fluffy white towels. Only down side was the shower over the bath. Not the hotels fault, my husband forgot to ask for level access or step in showering. I managed to shower, with my husbands help. Dinner on our first night was delicious, we added starters of haggis needs n tatties in a tasty sauce. My husband chose steak pie for his main, I had the Butter Nut Squash and Chic Pea curry. Big portions, very tasty food, piping hot. The house rose wine went down well. As you'd expect, alcohol from the bar is expensive, £6 for a small bottle of magners cider. We both slept well (even though the fire alarm went off during the night, false alarm). Breakfast at 8.30am. Friendly welcome. Pots of excellent coffee, porridge was delicious. Full English breakfasts each. Toast. 10/10. We ate out that night from a local Pizzeria. Breakfast on our last day, porridge again, excellent coffee. Full English for his nibs, I had poached eggs on toast, beautifully presented. Eggs done to perfection. I had a few mini Danish pastries and another pot of coffee. The staff were so friendly and professional. Overall lovely atmosphere throughout the hotel. Nothing was too much bother for them. Keep up your good work. You are only a 5 minute drive from Gretna Shopping Outlet. A great place to spend the day. Make sure you've plenty money in bank. Lots of lovely, different shops. The hotel is a great base for shopping here. We will start saving up for another visit, this Hotel is on our "must visit again" list x

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th November 2021

Clean room .but small .Pleasant staff

Jayne Porter said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st November 2021

Lovely hotel very clean. Nice bar area and restaurant. The evening meal and breakfast were both really good. Our room was nice with comfortable bed We enjoyed our stay

patrick mccafferty said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th November 2021

Lovely modern clean & comfortable rooms , everything perfect from arrival as receptionist allocated us a quiet room at the front of the hotel . Food was lovely and plenty of choice ,great value for money and we will definitely return again .

James Tempany said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th November 2021

Couches around wood fire were great to sit on with a drink from the bar watching the world go by especially with wedding being held in the hotel!! Great deal with main course, glass of wine and breakfast included. Great service from all staff was the icing on the cake.

Susan Kearns said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th November 2021

We had a lovely stay food was lovely and great friendly service from staff. Room basic and in need of upgrade but price we paid reflected that comfy and clean

Brian Shearey said...

74%
60%
100%
60%

Stayed 8th November 2021

Nicely refurbished since we last used this hotel and we heard more work is planned for January. Only real problem was a very soft bed, much softer than usually found in hotels. Excellent staff. We had a deal which included a main course dinner and a glass of wine. Main courses were from a special menu which was rather basic. Burger was good, other things we tried were mediocre. Breakfast was a good Scottish buffet. Many guests didn't wear masks as required by current Scottish law (possibly many visitors from England were requirements are different). Lots of notices informed guests of what was required in Scotland.

Lorraine Stoney said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th November 2021

Enjoyed the break away, only thing was when checking in, Gretna hall had no confirmation of our myhotelbreak voucher which we had used whilst booking the room via myhotelbreak website, this was in no way any fault of Gretna hall but with the voucher website. Meals in the restaurant were fantastic along with the staff which were really attentive. Only thing which was an annoyance was as the hotel is situated in Scotland the amount of people who didn’t observe the restrictions regarding the wearing of masks whilst indoors and moving about the hotel

Margaret Graham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th November 2021

A superb little escape and we enjoyed a very pleasant stay. Staff were working exceptionally hard but very professional and polite. Our only comment would be that although notices are around staff could perhaps remind guests to wear masks when moving around. Lack of mask wearing in and around lounge areas did make it s feel a little uncomfortable.

douglas mcdonald cameron said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th November 2021

Nice Hotel.comfortable if slightly small room. Bed a bit on the soft side. Food on offer very good and an excellent buffet breakfast. Stayed on a special 1 night deal was very good value for money It included one course with glass of wine at dinner and breakfast.

thomas williamson said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th November 2021

Good hotel. Very nice and clean bedrooms. Staff very helpful . Food lovely .

Diane mary Askew said...

77%
50%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st November 2021

Lovely little hotel. Rooms a bit small but food was delicious and staff were lovely very friendly . We were there for an anniversary thanks to Marie in the restaurant for our little gift. It made our stay special. Also for the price we paid it was a brilliant night away.

Margaret Roberts said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd December 2019

Excellent service, food and accommodation

Christopher Middlehurst said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th December 2019

Great location, friendly professional staff. Thoroughly recommend this hotel. A quiet peaceful night away for my wife's birthday, this hotel was ideal.

A guest said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 7th December 2019

Lovely stay, I don't think we were in one of the refurbished rooms, but it was clean, and a generous size. The rest of the hotel was lovely, and the food & staff were great.

Mary Stryker said...

60%
N/A
70%
50%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

It has been a couple of years since we last visited this hotel and I think it will be a few years before we return. On entering hotel we were welcomed by friendly staff but unfortunately that's were it ended. The bar and restaurant have been refurbished but we were very disappointed with bedrooms. Frist we couldn't get key to turn as handel was falling off door, carpets very dirty, bed had seen better days with a mattress that should have been binned, bathroom door had a hole kicked in it no plug guard in shower this was so filthy really disgusting. Whole room was in need of a good clean and upgrade. Very sad and tired rooms.

A guest said...

30%
30%
10%
50%

Stayed 23rd November 2019

Found the hotel understaffed staff on duty worked non stop a small queue at the bar went from three serving to one who had to change the gas on the beer 20 minutes to get 2 drinks we visited a wedding show last year rooms we viewed were lovely but the room we were in 201 was very tired and in need of a revamp.

Andrew Thomas said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 31st October 2019

Service always with a smile ,room was guite awalk along the corridor and bathroom was sadly in need of an upgrade

peter edment said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th June 2019

Our only concern relates to the room (hence the lower score). Specifically booked an accessible room. Bathroom was ideal but had anticipated that the bed for an accessible room would have been bigger than standard double. Should also mention the bed mattress felt a little "tired" and maybe needs to be replaced. Other than that, great 1 night stopover, loved having a little patio, even though weather was not great, super food (must mention the crab cheesecake) and staff / service were extremely helpful. Often look to break journeys between Scotland / England and would definitely use Gretna Hall again.

A guest said...

45%
10%
80%
N/A

Stayed 29th May 2019

The hotel from outside was in a gorgeous setting with lovely gardens, the reception area and bar where very nicely decorated really welcoming and comfortable, unfortunately the double room we had booked was so dated and grubby! The bathroom was small, there was a layer of dirt on the skirting boards and pipes, the bath panel and shower curtain had seen better days aswell as the door which looked like there were holes in it previously. The hotel is currently being renovated, I just wish we had been put in a room which had already been done. All the staff we had contact with were friendly and helpful. We were on a bed an breakfast deal but we never went for breakfast we decided just to get ready and travel to our next hotel as soon as we got up.

D McEnhill said...

70%
50%
90%
70%

Stayed 9th March 2019

Room very small toilet old fashioned rooms being painted next to ours smell of paint bar expensive dinning area very nice

D McEnhill said...

70%
50%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th March 2019

Room very small bathroom old fashioned hotel being painted in the rooms and hall so could smell paint

Ann Marie Downes said...

70%
20%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st March 2019

Great staff and good food. Only downside are rooms which are overpriced for size, fittings and condition.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th February 2019

We stayed at this hotel as we were given a gift voucher for Christmas. We chose this hotel and opted for a room upgrade as I had read reviews that the standard bedrooms were dated. We stayed in the Wakefield Turner Suite. It was lovely and definately worth paying a bit extra. We were supposed to have a bottle of wine in the room as part of the voucher but this was not the case. The man in reception sorted this quickly, although he did ask for my presference (Rose) and they brought us white. Dinner allowance is not adequate. The allowance is £15pp. Ridiculous really, it is not possible to get a two course meal for this price so we had to pay extra. A bit sneaky of the hotel I feel. Breakfast was nice. It was provided until 10.30am. We went down at 10am and there was still enough food left. Juice had ran a bit low but the waitress provided some. All staff we spoke to were pleasant and attentive. Would stay again.