Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Gretna Hall Hotel, Gretna

Gretna Green, Gretna, DG165DY, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

81%

Margaret Roberts said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd December 2019

Excellent service, food and accommodation

Christopher Middlehurst said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th December 2019

Great location, friendly professional staff. Thoroughly recommend this hotel. A quiet peaceful night away for my wife's birthday, this hotel was ideal.

A guest said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 7th December 2019

Lovely stay, I don't think we were in one of the refurbished rooms, but it was clean, and a generous size. The rest of the hotel was lovely, and the food & staff were great.

Mary Stryker said...

60%
N/A
70%
50%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

It has been a couple of years since we last visited this hotel and I think it will be a few years before we return. On entering hotel we were welcomed by friendly staff but unfortunately that's were it ended. The bar and restaurant have been refurbished but we were very disappointed with bedrooms. Frist we couldn't get key to turn as handel was falling off door, carpets very dirty, bed had seen better days with a mattress that should have been binned, bathroom door had a hole kicked in it no plug guard in shower this was so filthy really disgusting. Whole room was in need of a good clean and upgrade. Very sad and tired rooms.

A guest said...

30%
30%
10%
50%

Stayed 23rd November 2019

Found the hotel understaffed staff on duty worked non stop a small queue at the bar went from three serving to one who had to change the gas on the beer 20 minutes to get 2 drinks we visited a wedding show last year rooms we viewed were lovely but the room we were in 201 was very tired and in need of a revamp.

Andrew Thomas said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 31st October 2019

Service always with a smile ,room was guite awalk along the corridor and bathroom was sadly in need of an upgrade

peter edment said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th June 2019

Our only concern relates to the room (hence the lower score). Specifically booked an accessible room. Bathroom was ideal but had anticipated that the bed for an accessible room would have been bigger than standard double. Should also mention the bed mattress felt a little "tired" and maybe needs to be replaced. Other than that, great 1 night stopover, loved having a little patio, even though weather was not great, super food (must mention the crab cheesecake) and staff / service were extremely helpful. Often look to break journeys between Scotland / England and would definitely use Gretna Hall again.

A guest said...

45%
10%
80%
N/A

Stayed 29th May 2019

The hotel from outside was in a gorgeous setting with lovely gardens, the reception area and bar where very nicely decorated really welcoming and comfortable, unfortunately the double room we had booked was so dated and grubby! The bathroom was small, there was a layer of dirt on the skirting boards and pipes, the bath panel and shower curtain had seen better days aswell as the door which looked like there were holes in it previously. The hotel is currently being renovated, I just wish we had been put in a room which had already been done. All the staff we had contact with were friendly and helpful. We were on a bed an breakfast deal but we never went for breakfast we decided just to get ready and travel to our next hotel as soon as we got up.

D McEnhill said...

70%
50%
90%
70%

Stayed 9th March 2019

Room very small toilet old fashioned rooms being painted next to ours smell of paint bar expensive dinning area very nice

D McEnhill said...

70%
50%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th March 2019

Room very small bathroom old fashioned hotel being painted in the rooms and hall so could smell paint

Ann Marie Downes said...

70%
20%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st March 2019

Great staff and good food. Only downside are rooms which are overpriced for size, fittings and condition.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th February 2019

We stayed at this hotel as we were given a gift voucher for Christmas. We chose this hotel and opted for a room upgrade as I had read reviews that the standard bedrooms were dated. We stayed in the Wakefield Turner Suite. It was lovely and definately worth paying a bit extra. We were supposed to have a bottle of wine in the room as part of the voucher but this was not the case. The man in reception sorted this quickly, although he did ask for my presference (Rose) and they brought us white. Dinner allowance is not adequate. The allowance is £15pp. Ridiculous really, it is not possible to get a two course meal for this price so we had to pay extra. A bit sneaky of the hotel I feel. Breakfast was nice. It was provided until 10.30am. We went down at 10am and there was still enough food left. Juice had ran a bit low but the waitress provided some. All staff we spoke to were pleasant and attentive. Would stay again.

Peter Nicol said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th December 2018

The main public areas of the hotel have been refurbished but have still kept their charm. The food was excellent as was the service. Friendly faces on reception and although we were early the rooms were ready for us. Once the rooms have been refurbished I am sure it will be 10 out of 10 all the way.

sheena fosbury said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 20th October 2018

Hotel was nice enough, lounge and restaurant both very nice. Breakfast chaotic, had to ask 3 times before we got our tea, although I appreciate there had been a wedding on the night before, some staff wandering about like they didn’t know what they were doing. Has potential though.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2018

Hotel was good, Staff were excellent, Quality of Food was excellent, Grounds were excellent, Rooms were good but Hotel is in the process of refurbishment (does not detract from the experience). Excellent value for money.

debbie mbride said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd September 2018

Had a lovely weekend, hotel currently being renovated, reception, bar and restaurant all look amazing. En-suite wet room looked great bedroom had still to be done but was ok. Food was great. Will be back can’t wait to see the place finished. Seems sad to have to mark down for rooms that are clearly getting renovated soon

Janice Teece said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th September 2018

Rooms a bit dated but bar and restaurant were lovely staff were very friendly and helpfull

julie robson said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th September 2018

Rooms a bit dated but clean and tidy staff very friendly and restaurant and bar area was lovely obviously just been refurbished will definitely return

stephen walsh said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th September 2018

hotel good food good nice price

Marian Barker said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th September 2018

A lovely little break. My only criticism being that the double bed was on the small side.

Catherine Heron said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st August 2018

Lovely stay and comfortable, clean room. Staff although very busy were attentive and friendly. Food and service very good. One small point, tables in the lounge areas were very marked and not wiped. Coasters or beer mats would help. A small observation on a delightful stay.

A guest said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 31st August 2018

Had a lovely stay, rooms clean and tidy. Staff polite and attentive. The only down side was the £15 dinner allowance which didn't cover dinner each evening, not very good if you are on a budget break. The food was excellent but a little over priced.

Diane Hutchison said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st September 2018

We found the room to be a little dated but clean, also the bed was a little soft for our liking (just personal preference). The food was good, and service from the very pleasant staff was excellent.

Neil Campbell said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st September 2018

Superb break food excellent an overall enjoyable experience. Staff are friendly and attentive highly recommend for a short break.

A guest said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th August 2018

Lovely friendly staff, Great tasting food nothing too much trouble for the staff, Comfortable rooms, ideal base to explore more of Scotland will definitely return