Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Buckatree Hall Hotel, Telford

The Wrekin, Telford, TF65AL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Jan Jones said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th October 2021

A lovely overnight stay at Buckatree Hall: A comfortable room ( though the bed was rather soft for us) a good shower, very good evening meal and very good breakfast. The weather didn't allow for using the balcony but nice to have.The dining room was well spaced out and we felt secure. Altogether excellent value. We are National Trust members and found two lovely houses to visit within a few miles, so well placed. The only problem we had was the Sat Nav trying to take us up a one way road and a nasty road accident blocking the alternative road so we arrived later than we wanted. A pint and a pot of tea in the cosy bar soon soothed frazzled nerves!

pat smith said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2021

we have had a very good time at this hotel our first time with this company will be using again if a great offer is available

Lynn Skelly said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th October 2021

Great country hide out. Very relaxing. But towns are easily accessed. Great for walkers Walking areas on doorstep of hotel. Pleasant attentive staff Food really good and plentiful Offer good all inclusive deals Lovely clean rrooms

Mary Crowner said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 28th September 2021

We had an excellent two days. We had an issue which was resolved immediately. I thought that the most outstanding positive about this hotel was it’s really friendly staff from the manager to the waitress. They made it such a lovely experience.

William Bangs said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 17th September 2021

The hotel was a little jaded however the rooms were very clean. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The food was good although the menu was limited.

sue barrett said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 4th September 2021

After reading many comments on here and trip advisor we wondered what were we letting ourselves into. Things were not as bad as people had said. I agree it is slightly outdated but our room was clean, the surroundings of the hotel is peaceful. The receptionist was very helpful when we explained I couldn’t eat late at night as the only time available was after 8pm. She managed to get a table for 7.15. The evening meal and breakfast was lovely. Due to staff shortage some staff were doing extra hours but were always polite and helpful.

Karen McDermott said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Me and my husband spent 2 nights at buckatree Hotel for our 10th wedding anniversary. The hotel was in the most beautiful surroundings, the scenery was amazing, we we even spotted a family of deer hoping around a few times. On checking in the reception staff were very friendly and informative. We booked our evening meal and breakfast slot. We was also given an information booklet about places to visit around the area, which was great.

Kevin Waldock said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Fabulous.

Ken Fletcher said...

57%
60%
40%
70%

Stayed 2nd September 2021

Rooms. we booked the four poster room after staying previously a couple of months ago in a balcony room. we were very disappointed this time, the room was noisy, with humming from the kitchen all night, and residents? banging around. The room was not the upgrade in quality we had hope for and paid for. Service Reception was excellent. However room service was poor. We were told that we would be getting maid service in the room now that Covid restrictions are eased, but all we got was towel swap and a bin emptied. The bed was left un made, the bathroom /toilet had not been cleaned. Half of breakfast staff on the second day had a don't give a monkey's attitude, and we were told to wait for our tea/ coffee order. we had waited 15 mins already and were enquiring where it was. they appeared short staffed and were running round like headless chickens going backwards. Food on the first day the breakfast was barely warm. even before i realised my meal was cold, i asked for fresh fried egg as they had run out, and the eggs straight out of the kitchen were stone cold. The second day the breakfast was slightly better, but not much. Evening meals were wonderful. Overall most disappointed and wont be as keen to go back for a third visit.

Sandra Fanning said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th August 2021

Lovely stay. Room clean and spacious. Food good. Staff friendly and helpful.

Wendy Morrison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th August 2021

Really enjoyed the two night break which we booked as a treat for my husbands mum who will be 80 in December. Every member of staff was helpful and friendly. Both rooms were excellent the evening meals and breakfast was superb. We loved the location and our dog was made very welcome in fact every aspect of our break was 100%

Michelle Booth said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th August 2021

Lovely hotel and great value for money, food excellent and staff friendly and helpful. Very nice bar area which was nice to sit and chill after a busy day or lovely meal. Would recommend the Sabrina stay which includes a river cruise.

Susan Holland said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 27th August 2021

Lovely food and comfortable room with a balcony

A guest said...

54%
50%
40%
70%

Stayed 21st August 2021

Not a very welcoming arrival and certainly no goodbyes or how was your stay when we left. The room didn’t look particularly clean and we had to ask for the chair to be cleaned as there were g stalks left on it and hair. No sanitiser in room as stated. The staff were polite when we spoke to them but not over friendly and certainly not happy looking. The evening meal was lovely however the breakfast was dried up and had obviously been sitting out for quite awhile and we breakfasted at 8.45. They had even ran out of some items. Unfortunately I wouldn’t recommend and won’t be visiting again.

Vincent WELDON said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 20th August 2021

What a treat of a weekend we had at The Buckatree...not perfect by any means, but memorable in a positive way from the Friday night receptionist - quick witted but professional to Sunday morning exit, missing the post breakfast queue and settling the bar bill in moments with a different receptionist but still that good front of house standard. The hotel is in a great location halfway up The Wrekin - when the rains not falling and the clouds not descending the views are fabulous - sadly Saturday was a pig with cloud and rain set in so we didn't get a chance to enjoy it as we'd have liked...but more on that later. Part of our two night deal (less than £200 even with the four poster bed) was dinner in the restaurant on our first night, with a carafe of house wine thrown in...we both opted for steak and chose red...no carafe was provided, just a very tasty bottle of Tempranillo which washed down the sirloins rather well...we shared both a starter and a dessert (the deal allows for two courses each and we stretched out our evening accordingly)...the ambience in the room was good, the staff were friendly and responsive...all in all a very positive experience. We retired to the bar for a post dinner nightcap - decent local pint for me (Wrekin Havock) and a decent gin for my lady... negative when we went in on Saturday evening was that they'd run out of that particular essence, only having ay Sapphire (partner was a bit perturbed to be offered lemonade as a mixer - then frustrated getting through the tonic choices to get past the Mediterranean or elderflower offerings...I'm a simple soul - more Havock Wreaked). The restaurant couldn't accommodate us on Saturday - didn't look too full when we passed but they were also catering for a busy celebration night party for sixty guests or so - which was a little bit of a pain as the night wore on - the disco continued to midnight and our room was immediately above the dance floor)... So, the weather having put paid to our Saturday walking plan we drove in to Shrewsbury - what a delight that was, I'd never been before - I'll certainly go back again when the weathers a bit better to continue the exploration... Breakfast at the Buckatree wasn't too bad - not a massive choice of cereal, and I'm sure some folk will question why in these times of Covid there were large uncovered bowls of to dip in to rather than single packets but each to their own (I was less amenable to the provision of shower and hair lotions in sachets rather than bottles or dispensers - sachets are a sod to open when your hands are wet and slippy)..the cooked offering wasn't bad (same choices each day) , sausages were done well, bacon wasn't crisped, beans weren't dried out... Overall the hotel offered a good base for a weekend exploration - we will return to the area, but maybe try a different hotel next time

Barrie Holme said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th August 2021

We were greeted at reception by a nice man who booked us in then told us were to go and we were told what times were avalible for evening meal

lesley grey said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th August 2021

Hotel was clean and welcoming. quality of the food was excellent. convenient to get to Shewsbury and other tourist destinations locally. Would recommend

Margaret Russell said...

84%
60%
90%
100%

Stayed 9th August 2021

No complaints really, our room was cold on first night. A heater was supplied but after changing it once we found wall socket was faulty. Moved heater to another socket all fine. Reported socket to reception and socket mended when we got back from day out. All staff friendly and helpfull. Food very good and plenty.

Diane Riley said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th August 2021

Lovely hotel - great staff - good food. Good location- no issues

Diane Riley said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th August 2021

Lovely hotel - great staff - good food. Good location- no issues

Amanda Burke said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th August 2021

Just had a lovely 2 day "package" break at Buckatree Hall Hotel. Package included an allowance towards evening meal on first night plus wine as well as a boat trip in Shrewsbury. We were very impressed with the standard of service at the hotel and the only negative was that the wifi and tv signal in our room was very poor and tv kept going off. We had an unexpected fire alarm during the second night but it was quickly established that it was a false alarm and when we got up in the morning the hotel had posted a note under every bedroom door explaining what had occurred and the steps they were taking to establish the cause, which we thought was very prompt and professional. The hotel is situated off a leafy lane (be aware there is a one way road system that has recently been introduced which our older sat nav system didn't pick up on) and both Telford and Shrewsbury are around 20 minute drive away. After our boat trip we spent a lovely day out exploring the beautify town of Shrewsbury then popped into Telford in the evening for something to eat. All in all a lovely break.

Ann Soulsby said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th August 2021

Very enjoyable break. Very large bathroom. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

William O'Connell said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th August 2021

Enjoyable stay with friendly staff. Made us feel welcome.

A guest said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2021

Definitely value for money Hotel was very good. Very clean and excellent service. Food in the restaurant was also excellent Highly recommend it to others

Deborah Smith said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th August 2021

We had a fantastic break at The Buckatree Hotel.Lovely bedroom with balcony and a great view of the lake and countryside. Our second trip to this hotel in the last month.Food good and staff very friendly and welcoming. Good service from Harry one evening on very busy night in the restaurant. Can't wait to return.