Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

DoubleTree by Hilton Glasgow Westerwood Spa & Golf Resort, Cumbernauld

St Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld, G680EW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

Donald McCulloch said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 19th May 2022

Spa was excellent only disappointment was the dinner at night ordered steak pie and it looked like it had been bought from a shop not home made. Breakfast was excellent

S Mckellar said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th April 2022

Both my partner and I were impressed and delighted with our recent stay at this wonderful hotel.

A guest said...

64%
90%
60%
40%

Stayed 8th April 2022

Evening menu very disappointing. Soup tasted watered down, was expecting hearty bowl of leek & potato not puréed. As Hubby is Coeliac they made him mashed pots. Puréed again & tasted powdered. This hotel states 4 star, well they certainly don’t serve 4 star food. Won’t be back sorry x

Glen McGowan said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd April 2022

Great stay from check in to check out! Lovely spa experience great pool used before checking in and after checking out. From room service for lunch to dinner and then breakfast food and service was excellent.

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th March 2022

Have used westerwood a few times always great value for money Service and facilities are fantastic Good food too Thank you

S Nugent said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th March 2022

Hi first o the staff and food were great just felt hotel bit dated and in need of an update. Also pool area full of children not what i was expecting hoping for quiet spa to have relaxing time.

GRAHAM WALKER said...

74%
80%
100%
40%

Stayed 12th March 2022

Excellent hotel and spa experience, with top notch staff let down by disappointing food. For example afternoon tea was expensive with poor quality sandwiches and patisserie, though scones were excellent. Dinner let down by a very expensive and underwhelming cheese board comprised of 2 cheeses one of which was a blue cheese my wife had already indicated she could not eat. Breakfast was poorest o with machine only self service teas and coffees. Hot buffet was very limited with only scrambled eggs and a similarly limited hot food selection available. Cold buffet was also very limited, with no fruit and only limited cereals on offer. Expected so much more from a Hilton Hotel.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th March 2022

When my friend and I arrived at 230pm, our room was ready which was a bonus. The lady at reception was so lovely and friendly. It’s a lovely touch getting a choc cookie when checking in. They have a fire near the reception which was lovely sitting next to it with a drink. Our room was lovely, we got a twin room. The bed is extremely comfy! We had the dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The service was quick and everyone was so friendly. The food was delicious, it was busy that we couldn’t get our table booked in until 745pm. That give us time to use the leisure facilities. The steam room wasn’t working but the sauna, pool, jacuzzi was and it was great. I did use the heated beds which was fab but definitely think they need new ones as the mosaics keep falling off. Hope they fix them before they get worse. They still worked thou. The changing room and showers is 3 stars rather than a 4 stars Hilton hotel which it’s meant to be. Hope they refurbish that soon. The relaxation room was fantastic, wee added bonus is that they have blankets on the beds now which is a nice touch. We were able to get robes on the fri but on Saturday when we used the leisure facilities again we weren’t allowed robes as it was only for people that were having treatments. Slightly disappointed. The breakfast in the morning was nice, buffet breakfast with loads to choose from, fruit, pastries, yogurts, make ur own pancakes and cooked breakfast. Down side of the cooked breakfast there was no haggis, black pudding or potato scones but I did have bacon, sausage, beans, mushrooms and browns. It’s a great hotel but I would say it’s more 3 star than 4 but the offer we got was a great price. It’s value for money

Colin Spence said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th March 2022

Staff and food amazing. Room needs TLC .

A guest said...

10%
10%
10%
10%

Stayed 1st March 2022

Well where do I start ? We stayed as part of a 5 day break for my husbands 60th birthday. 4 Hotels over 6days --- all myhotelbreakbreak.com. Cannot fault the rest but the Hilton was absolutely awful!!! It started as we were checking in & there was a problem with the computer staff member appeared very flustered then eventually announced she was feeling unwell & got her colleague to take over . that was fine it happens!! But no one explained or apologised ? Hotel extremely dark & tired .our room had no mirror or socket to dry hair ? Went for a drink and thought the bar was just some kind of sitting area -- it was dull , shabby & totally lacked any atmosphere. At dinner we had to ask to be moved as we were sat next to a scorching hot radiator! Meal was miniscule & consisted mostly of lettuce!! Couldn't even eat dessert it was so dry & overcooked . Breakfast was unedible as everything on plate was stone cold ! By this time we were passed it & just wanted out of the place ! --- not a nice experience at all & was so disappointing as my children had paid for the night away for my husbands birthday. ??

A guest said...

77%
100%
80%
50%

Stayed 6th February 2022

The hotel was lovely as we expected being a Hilton hotel the only comment we had as a family would say we were on a package with food breakfast fine plenty to choose.The evening meal didn’t have a very good selection we struggled to find food we liked

Julie Smither said...

47%
50%
10%
80%

Stayed 15th February 2022

hotel was nice had to wait a few hours for the room to be cleaned then found some men and womens underwear in two separate parts in room wasn't a nice find .Did report it

Heather Ferrier said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 13th February 2022

I have a very missed review. We arrived at half 1 knowing that the room may not be ready. It wasn’t but we were prepared to go for a swim. Came back from swim at 3 at our check in, to be told room still not ready. We were asked to sit in bar until ready. We ordered a few drinks and the girl behind bar Morgan was very helpful. She apologised and told me she would continue to check on our room. Morgan was on her own in bar but went out her way to help us. The room was eventually ready at 4, Morgan gave us complimentary drink vouchers. Our room was nice. Dinner was a valentines menu which we were told we couldn’t order from initially. It was a very selective menu. This was disappointing as we hadn’t booked a valentines break. Whilst eating dinner we could see other tables had been given full menu which was unfair. I also asked for a large wine and was given a small and told that was the size. I queried this as it was a different measure from bar. Breakfast was great and again we had a very attentive staff member Elaine Team manager who couldn’t do enough for us. We explained what had happened and she said we should have full menu and just to ask as we were there for a second night. Pool and spa area very run down. I have stayed at this hotel numerous times. The showers weren’t working in pool area and we were told they had been like that for over a week. There was also no towels! Asked to wait while they contacted laundrette. At dinner we were given valentines menu when we asked for full menu we were told that wasn’t available we explain about other tables being offered menu and that we had spoken to Elaine. We eventually were given full menu. Young staff standing about in twos chatting. Very poor service at night. I am saddened as I always rated this hotel but standards as very low.

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th February 2022

Hotel lovely but very dated and in need of refurbishment. No in spa area therefore you could not shower. Water temperature in both shower and bath in the room was hand hot - not good especially since you could not shower after swimming. Reported to staff who said there was no maintenance on that evening but we didn’t need to move room but if we wanted we could use another room for a shower/bathroom!! We really should have insisted on moving room.

Ann McCabe said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 24th January 2022

Great value stay. Were upgraded to a king size guest room which was lovely and quiet Lovely clean and disinfected room. Heater in room was off on arrival so it did take some time for room to warm up. Evening meal was very good and staff were attentive, friendly and efficient. Both of us had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was served buffet style and was poor - tepid, dried up food and wet plates. Have to make own tea and coffee from a machine as well as making your own toast and pancakes

JOHN GRAY said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th January 2022

Enjoyed a 2 day break at the hotel.I found the staff very helpful and accommodating. We had our elderly lab with us and the staff were very dog friendly.The room was spacious and clean and we were reassured by the door sticker confirming a deep clean prior to our arrival.Impressed by the covid standards throughout.The meals were very good only downside being that we found the restaurant cool and dark not really adding to any ambiance.Otherwise will be back and would recommend this hotel .

A guest said...

64%
70%
50%
70%

Stayed 2nd December 2021

Initial purpose of stay on 2nd Dec was to enjoy a spa day experience with treatments & a fizz lunch. However decided to book overnight to enjoy. The service at the spa was faultless, Gemma and her team were excellent, treatments great and lady in The Club house area for lunch was fantastic. So attentive, friendly, anything you asked for was not a bother. Unfortunately didn't get her name (her name badge advised she was in training). 10/10 for spa day experience even with the sauna being out of use on the day. Upon check-in later that day the welcome was warm & friendly, enjoyed the complimentary cookie supplied. Twin room was clean, tidy, cosy on arrival for being a cold day outside. Having only 1 armchair available it would have been nice for both guests sharing twin room to be able to sit in a comfortable chair but made do with the high back dresser chair. Unfortunately waiting 1hr 40 mins for an ice bucket with glasses to be sent to room (including two phone calls and a visit in person to reception) was disappointing. Furthermore the dinner service feel some areas could be improved. Jug of water dumped on table along with waiting further 10 mins for actual drinks to be delivered. Having only been sat at table for a few seconds to be approached for dinner order felt rushed. For one guest who's starter had not been finished, visibly having cutlery in hand was asked by server if could clear plates. On one occasion (amongst others) visibly saw at least 4 staff members congregate at dumb waiter station and main restaurant desk appearing to be chit chatting. This wasn't encouraging to see given delay in delivery of ice bucket to room along with drinks to dinner table noted earlier. Impression given was there was sufficient numbers of staff on duty to deal with these requests. Dinner selection was good, service ok, having worked in hospitality, basic server experience could be improved. After dinner drinks in the bar lounge area, stood at bar waiting to be served up to 8 minutes when could clearly hear Bar member generally chit chatting to colleague in cellar area. Ordering two gins had to ask for gin glasses to be used rather than a small water glass. Furthermore, whilst accepting the hotel bar prices, not being able to garnish a standard gin drink (Pink gin / Seville gin) with any form of garnish was not great. Beds overall comfortable, bath panel was needing attention as some of the panel had deteriorated. No towel rail which was odd. (Room 211) Upon checkout asked by Tracey if enjoyed stay, advised was ok mentioned ice bucket scenario (Tracey had dealt with request previous evening) along with some other minor niggle points. Not much of a response given or feedback as to what could be improved. In all probability would not be inclined to stay at hotel again.

John Mccloy said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st December 2021

Had a lovely break at the Double Tree Westerwood Hotel from the 1st to the 3rd of December. Room great, staff very friendly and professional. The food was really good so I would recommend this hotel definitely. The only down side is the cost of drink, a gin and tonic was £7.20 and my 250 glass of wine was almost £9. Apart from that everything was great and I’ll be back soon.

E Hodge said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th November 2021

Lovely stay in a fantastic room with excellent facilities, menu choices for dinner lacked Beef and restaurant was freezing.

Barbara Harrigan said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2021

Friendly and well equipped hotel. Pool and Gym facilities excellent and the Spa is a bonus. All staff make you feel very welcome and good choice of food and plentiful. Good base location for exploring.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2021

Hotel was 1st class. Staff were all very attentive & polite. Food was excellent. Rooms were of a very high standard. Would thoroughly recommended this hotel.

Christina Dalton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2021

Staff is very helpful pleasant and friendly

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2021

Great value overnight stay, we stayed in an executive room that was lovely and spacious. Shower wasn't spotless, a spray of Dettol Mould & Mildew wouldn't have gone amiss but I am very fussy about toilets! Terrific meal at night and couldn't fault breakfast in the morning. Staff were all friendly and very helpful.

Pamela Bowie said...

54%
70%
70%
20%

Stayed 14th October 2021

I have stayed in many double trees but this one just didn’t seem to be as good. Spa was extremely busy and very limited evening menu in the restaurant.

Emma Rattray said...

84%
90%
70%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2021

Stayed for 1 night and was generally impressed with the hotel. We had a spa treatment booked which was great. Room was really big, slightly outdated in terms of decor but was warm and very comfortable. Room also had a fridge which was great to keep some of our liquids cool. Staff were all really friendly and the receptionist was able to change our room with no issue (I had incorrectly booked a twin instead of a double). Dinner was lovely and so was breakfast the following day. Breakfast is all help yourself, even teas and coffees so is lacking slightly in personal service. But that may be due to how things are at the moment in terms of the pandemic.