Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

DoubleTree by Hilton Glasgow Westerwood Spa & Golf Resort, Cumbernauld

St Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld, G680EW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

JOHN GRAY said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th January 2022

Enjoyed a 2 day break at the hotel.I found the staff very helpful and accommodating. We had our elderly lab with us and the staff were very dog friendly.The room was spacious and clean and we were reassured by the door sticker confirming a deep clean prior to our arrival.Impressed by the covid standards throughout.The meals were very good only downside being that we found the restaurant cool and dark not really adding to any ambiance.Otherwise will be back and would recommend this hotel .

A guest said...

64%
70%
50%
70%

Stayed 2nd December 2021

Initial purpose of stay on 2nd Dec was to enjoy a spa day experience with treatments & a fizz lunch. However decided to book overnight to enjoy. The service at the spa was faultless, Gemma and her team were excellent, treatments great and lady in The Club house area for lunch was fantastic. So attentive, friendly, anything you asked for was not a bother. Unfortunately didn't get her name (her name badge advised she was in training). 10/10 for spa day experience even with the sauna being out of use on the day. Upon check-in later that day the welcome was warm & friendly, enjoyed the complimentary cookie supplied. Twin room was clean, tidy, cosy on arrival for being a cold day outside. Having only 1 armchair available it would have been nice for both guests sharing twin room to be able to sit in a comfortable chair but made do with the high back dresser chair. Unfortunately waiting 1hr 40 mins for an ice bucket with glasses to be sent to room (including two phone calls and a visit in person to reception) was disappointing. Furthermore the dinner service feel some areas could be improved. Jug of water dumped on table along with waiting further 10 mins for actual drinks to be delivered. Having only been sat at table for a few seconds to be approached for dinner order felt rushed. For one guest who's starter had not been finished, visibly having cutlery in hand was asked by server if could clear plates. On one occasion (amongst others) visibly saw at least 4 staff members congregate at dumb waiter station and main restaurant desk appearing to be chit chatting. This wasn't encouraging to see given delay in delivery of ice bucket to room along with drinks to dinner table noted earlier. Impression given was there was sufficient numbers of staff on duty to deal with these requests. Dinner selection was good, service ok, having worked in hospitality, basic server experience could be improved. After dinner drinks in the bar lounge area, stood at bar waiting to be served up to 8 minutes when could clearly hear Bar member generally chit chatting to colleague in cellar area. Ordering two gins had to ask for gin glasses to be used rather than a small water glass. Furthermore, whilst accepting the hotel bar prices, not being able to garnish a standard gin drink (Pink gin / Seville gin) with any form of garnish was not great. Beds overall comfortable, bath panel was needing attention as some of the panel had deteriorated. No towel rail which was odd. (Room 211) Upon checkout asked by Tracey if enjoyed stay, advised was ok mentioned ice bucket scenario (Tracey had dealt with request previous evening) along with some other minor niggle points. Not much of a response given or feedback as to what could be improved. In all probability would not be inclined to stay at hotel again.

John Mccloy said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st December 2021

Had a lovely break at the Double Tree Westerwood Hotel from the 1st to the 3rd of December. Room great, staff very friendly and professional. The food was really good so I would recommend this hotel definitely. The only down side is the cost of drink, a gin and tonic was £7.20 and my 250 glass of wine was almost £9. Apart from that everything was great and I’ll be back soon.

E Hodge said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th November 2021

Lovely stay in a fantastic room with excellent facilities, menu choices for dinner lacked Beef and restaurant was freezing.

E Hodge said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th November 2021

Lovely stay in a fantastic room with excellent facilities, menu choices for dinner lacked Beef and restaurant was freezing.

Barbara Harrigan said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd November 2021

Friendly and well equipped hotel. Pool and Gym facilities excellent and the Spa is a bonus. All staff make you feel very welcome and good choice of food and plentiful. Good base location for exploring.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2021

Hotel was 1st class. Staff were all very attentive & polite. Food was excellent. Rooms were of a very high standard. Would thoroughly recommended this hotel.

Christina Dalton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th October 2021

Staff is very helpful pleasant and friendly

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2021

Great value overnight stay, we stayed in an executive room that was lovely and spacious. Shower wasn't spotless, a spray of Dettol Mould & Mildew wouldn't have gone amiss but I am very fussy about toilets! Terrific meal at night and couldn't fault breakfast in the morning. Staff were all friendly and very helpful.

Pamela Bowie said...

54%
70%
70%
20%

Stayed 14th October 2021

I have stayed in many double trees but this one just didn’t seem to be as good. Spa was extremely busy and very limited evening menu in the restaurant.

Emma Rattray said...

84%
90%
70%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2021

Stayed for 1 night and was generally impressed with the hotel. We had a spa treatment booked which was great. Room was really big, slightly outdated in terms of decor but was warm and very comfortable. Room also had a fridge which was great to keep some of our liquids cool. Staff were all really friendly and the receptionist was able to change our room with no issue (I had incorrectly booked a twin instead of a double). Dinner was lovely and so was breakfast the following day. Breakfast is all help yourself, even teas and coffees so is lacking slightly in personal service. But that may be due to how things are at the moment in terms of the pandemic.

A guest said...

54%
60%
60%
40%

Stayed 30th September 2021

staff were friendly, some of the drinks were a bit on the steep side especially for a coffee The pool area was very poor and dated, around the seating area beside the pool looked like it had not been cleaned all year and dirt sprayed up the walls and windows morning breakfast was lovely

Karen Berry said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th September 2021

A very enjoyable stay again. This was our fourth time staying here. Great food and good service. Staf lovely and friendly.

Margaret Halliday said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th September 2021

Hote was very nice. And staff were very nice

James Lang said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th September 2021

Excellent, relaxing, enjoyable trip.

Claire McCord said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 13th September 2021

Slight mix up with our booking at check in, which was sorted, but took some time. We were charged the full amount despite having a voucher, which was corrected at check out. Pool area was okay, windows needed a good clean as well as the glass doors on the sauna and steam room - just let the area down a bit. Food was okay, didn't think the menu was great. Staff were pleasant and attentive, especially at dinner. Room was nice, spacious and clean. Would go back ier was still available.

Rebecca Geddes said...

84%
100%
90%
60%

Stayed 16th September 2021

The stay was fab. Rooms were great, service was great and I need to give a special shout out to Sandra who done my spa treatments, really lovely to speak to but also very much enjoyed my treatments and felt really relaxed. The dinner service was a bit slow but I believe this was due to new starts, I’ve been before and it’s usually quite speedy so I’m sure the newbies will be the same eventually! I’d of preferred a bigger selection on the set menu for the deal as I’m a bit of a fussy eater but apart from that, I enjoyed my stay and looking to rebook for Christmas ?

rae wislon said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th September 2021

We had booked for 4, got two queen rooms Staff shortages , under extreme pressure however, staff were very helpful and considerate. Restricted menu , no complaints of what we all got, booking for breakfast and again abs no complaints, if this was service and delivery of spa package on restricted staffing well done to the whole team

rae wislon said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th September 2021

We had booked for 4, got two queen rooms Staff shortages , under extreme pressure however, staff were very helpful and considerate. Restricted menu , no complaints of what we all got, booking for breakfast and again abs no complaints, if this was service and delivery of spa package on restricted staffing well done to the whole team

Laura Stewart said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

I was pleasantly surprised at my hotel break. When we arrived at 130pm the lady on the desk was really nice and we received a lovely cookie. Our room was actually ready even thou check in wasn't til 3pm. The room was lovely and it's great having a separate bath and shower. We had a bottle of wine in our deal and that was in our room ready for us. We used the leisure facilities which was fab! It was busy but we were able to use everything, the relaxing room is a lovely touch. Dinner at night, service was a little slow but once we spoke to a waitress our drinks and food came pretty quick. The steak was delicious! Our tails were very refreshing, got the drumstick one. The was a young girl at the bar called Charlotte and she was fabulous and she remembered our order, served other customers and train a new start. The bed is one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in! Breakfast was great as it was a buffet and the service was more efficient! Great relaxing night away, definitely be back!

Tracey Muir said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st August 2021

A fabulous hotel, with friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. The room was clean, spacious and quiet. The food was delicious, with a great choice of menu. The scenery was spectacular, and had a fabulous walk around the golf course. The spa was clean, and relaxing with professional, friendly and helpful staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel and spa to others.

Jacq Coyle Dow said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 31st August 2021

Such a lovely stay. The room was spacious and spotless. The lounge area was comfy and the pool was big enough to get a good swim in. Dinner was delicious(note to kitchen, please serve a chutney or a butter with your ham hock terrine) but the highlight for us were the staff. Every single person of staff we spoke to was fantastic. Friendly, professional and nothing was too much trouble. First class service and will go back for sure! x

ruth boland said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 31st August 2021

Lovely hotel and we will definitely be back. Food was amazing!

Andrea Campbell said...

67%
80%
40%
80%

Stayed 28th August 2021

The hotel was extremly busy wedding etc and they had very inexperienced staff on duty they didnt clean tables left glasses etc the tables for displays etc were dusty all in all poor standard of house keeping ashtray in outside seating area was over flowing from the time we arrived to the time we left and as for breakfast the latest time we could eat was 7.30 am even though the resturant was empty poor show all round

Helen Kelly said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 24th August 2021

Food was not as good as last time and breakfast not the same staff were nice and friendly spa and pool good rooms nice