Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

DoubleTree by Hilton Glasgow Westerwood Spa & Golf Resort, Cumbernauld

St Andrews Drive, Cumbernauld, G680EW, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

A guest said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 21st July 2021

We had a great time, my only complaint was there were only 2 staff on at the bar and twice we had to wait, once for 20 minutes and the other about half an hour. They were extremely busy, it was so hot, there were customers being served from inside at the bar, the restaurant and outside as well. All the staff were friendly and efficient.

Christopher Reilly said...

30%
70%
20%
0%

Stayed 21st July 2021

I was married at the Westerood and it was a beautiful occasion and everything was fantastic so it was a huge disappointment to return on our anniversary and see how this once fantastic hotel has fallen into aect mediocrity. It's clear since the Hilton group has invested very little into the hotel in either upgrades or improvements. The outdoor seating area is very tired with wonky chairs and tables which could do with replacing or at the very least a lick of paint. The rooms them are outdated and have not changed in the last 10 years or so but were clear but really could be doing with some mod cons like air conditioning. The pool and leisure facilities were great but again very tired and just need some tlc. Finally the food and service was awful The food itself was poor when it finally did arrive and was what was actually ordered, the staff themselves I felt sorry for as it was basically just kids running from table to table with no leadership or direction. Sadly based on my recent stay I would not book again until the Hilton group make some serious investment in both the hotel and the staff which is a same as the hotel and location have serious potential to be fantastic.

Aileen Gallagher said...

80%
80%
100%
60%

Stayed 19th July 2021

Lovely hotel, staff excellent

Deirdre Bell said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th July 2021

First time back since lockdown eased. Previously visited several times a year.Greeted by familiar staff Susan who has attended to us many times.Wine preordered and chilling when we arrived. Check in in easy and allocated one of refurbbed rooms.Lovely double shower Room hot even with windows open on a hot night. Had to prebook times for pool and meals but wasn't an issue.Service at dinner and breakfast quick and efficient Good situation on 2 nd floor near lift. Felt like wed never been away

Gillian Boyd said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th July 2021

Can't recommend this hotel enough! We stayed for 2 nights, and everything was perfect. Can't wait to go again.

Claire Gallagher said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th July 2021

Absolutely fabulous from start to finish. Cannot fault anything. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food fab. Spa and pool excellent. Will definitely be returning.

Neil MACLEOD said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 4th July 2021

Brilliant break - often stay here and it was just as good as ever. Rooms very clean and spacious. Enjoyed our night en route to the lake district. Great stopping off break..

A guest said...

60%
50%
60%
70%

Stayed 26th June 2021

It was lovely to be back at WW after being a frequent visitors over the years. Sadly the bedrooms are in need of an update. Furniture old and dark with many chips and paint work def needs refreshing. Reception manager was also rather rude and seemed uninterested in our check in. The rest of the hotel, restaurant, spa and staff etc were better.

GAIL MACDONALD said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th June 2021

Stayed 2 nights with my son and grandaughter 9 years old....Very nice hotel, lovely staff, though they were very stretched on our first night for drinks and dinner so we had a bit of a wait. Much improved on 2nd night. Food lovely. Breakfast good! Enjoyed a few pool and jacuzzi sessions. My son also used the steam room and sauna. All in all, a lovely couple of days and good value. Would definitely return!

Lesley Anne Mcfarlane said...

37%
70%
10%
30%

Stayed 29th June 2021

We arrive at the Westerwood at 4pm and enjoyed a bottle of wine on the terrace, service was slow and communication between staff was not great. Dinner was at 8pm and our order was taken at 8:30pm, when our drinks arrive. The fire alarm went off at 9:20 - by this point we still had not received our main course. When arriving back at our table, the tables around us got served there desserts. When ask another drinks order we said to the staff we hadn’t received our main, the main finally arrived. While finishing up we were rushed to order or dessert or loose it basically. We were finishing up our drinks when the manager Caitlin came over and told us it ‘was time to leave’ - no apology or explanation. Breakfast again-service rushed, they gave us an 0945 slot. Told at 10am breakfast was finished and weren’t able to order any more food - my friend was still eating her toast, when they started to clear our plates and again asked to leave. The only positive about the experience was meeting up with my friends in which I haven’t seen in a while, due to our shifts as nurses. I will not return to the Westerwood due to the service and attitudes of the staff.

GRAHAM MCROBERTS said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd June 2021

Had a lovely stay at The Westerwood.All the staff were very pleasant & very helpful. Hotel is lovely, dinner & breakfast very nice

Janice Jack said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th June 2021

Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Our Spa experience was second to none and we will definitely be returning. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Jackie Canning said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th June 2021

Excellent night away Lovely hotel and staff

Jackie Canning said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th June 2021

Excellent night away Lovely hotel and staff

Fiona Harkins said...

37%
10%
70%
30%

Stayed 17th June 2021

Booked this for my daughter and her boyfriend as a belated birthday present. On arrival, the hotel upgraded them as a surprise. This was a brilliant gesture. Reception staff were extremely brilliant. The disappointment was the dinner. No bottle of wine with the dinner (was part of the deal as I asked for rose when booking the time). My daughter had the salad with halloumi. I was supposed to be chargrilled but it was burnt and tasted awful so all she ate was the salad. Breakfast was a disappointment to. They were asked if the knew how breakfast worked and the said no. The person left and did not explain so all my daughter had was toast as it wasn’t explained that She could order vegetarian stuff. On whole the hotel was great but the food let’s it down badly

S Riddell said...

57%
90%
60%
20%

Stayed 14th June 2021

Great room. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Food wasn’t the best quality, had to send steak back twice. Had tails which were also poor.

Helen Holton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2021

Great overnight dinner lovely amazing spa treatments would definitely recommend

John Mccloy said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 26th May 2021

Had a great time at the hotel, room, food and staff were all first class. My only complaint was that it was the same menu both days and I believe it is only changed seasonally. Any other time we came, the menu was different each day which I prefer. Score 9

Mrs Forrest said...

77%
100%
100%
30%

Stayed 13th May 2021

The staff were lovely. The hotel very nice. The food very very disappointed. I don't know if it was a reduced menu due to covid restriction. So I would not return.

Debbiee Carrigann said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th May 2021

Absolutely stunning hotel, rooms are lovely and very clean the hotel has a spa part which is beautiful too and the food is so nice aswell will defo be back

Brian Hutchison said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th May 2021

Really enjoyed our stay. Great deal. Good food friendly staff.

Nicole Graham said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st May 2021

Beds comfortable Shower wasn't clean bits of mould and flooded when in shower Food was amazing chicken and leek pie/ fish and chips Only down side we couldn't have a wine with dinner not even outside

Nicole Graham said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st May 2021

Beds comfortable Shower wasn't clean bits of mould and flooded when in shower Food was amazing chicken and leek pie/ fish and chips Only down side we couldn't have a wine with dinner not even outside

Margaret Caldwell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th April 2021

My son had a great overnight stay with his wife and daughter

A guest said...

60%
60%
100%
20%

Stayed 14th November 2020

Having stayed at this hotel numerous times we were extremely disappointed this time. While we appreciate the restrictions due to Covid the choice and quality of the food was poor. Food was over cooked and had better pub grub. The bar and lounge area closed at 6pm meaning you couldn't we even sit and relax for a short time after our meal. We could not fault the staff who were excellent.