Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Elizabeth Walker said...

70%
90%
60%
60%

Stayed 11th June 2019

Considering the hotel is being upgraded our stay was most enjoyable. Some of the staff did not however understand English very well and this made it difficult at times but they very polite. Our room looked on to the car park at the back but was very comfortable. We were fortunate to get a space in the car park as in total there is only about spaces. I would defiantly go bank at a later date

Sandra Edmunds said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th June 2019

Hotel has spectacular views. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and there was a great choice on the menu to suit all tastes. It was in a great position for exploring the area. Ten minute walk from train station and ferry terminal. Will definitely return to this hotel.

doreen mcgowan said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th May 2019

Very enjoyable stay.staff excellent.food of very high standard.only complaint is parking which is not really the hotels fault.would definitely stay here again.

loretta willson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th May 2019

We had a lovely stay at The Oban Bay Hotel The room was lovely very comfortable The food was good and staff were very efficient

loretta willson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th May 2019

We had a lovely stay at The Oban Bay Hotel The room was lovely very comfortable The food was good and staff were very efficient

A guest said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th May 2019

Nice Hotel, food very good. Parking the only problem we had.

Lindsay Ferguson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th April 2019

Would highly recommend this hotel. Comfortable, warm, very friendly staff and very good food. We will definitely be back!

Alison Thomson said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 1st April 2019

The hotel should not have been open to the public. It had opened it's doors too early. We understood that it was opening after a refurbishment. It is undergoing a major refurbishment and it will not be complete until next year. A member of staff likened it to Fawlty Towers and that was an accurate description. The lounges and dining room were nice. In our room the shower door was not fixed at the bottom and didn't close properly. In the hallway the carpets were thread bare. The most disappointing bit was the food in the dining room. The kitchen was only partially operational. It took us over an hour to get our breakfast. They lost our order then it took us reordering it twice. We decided not to have a cooked breakfast the second morning. The evening meals were worse. They took a long time to come. The food was nice but it was lukewarm or cold. People were sending food back then the staff couldn't remember who had had their meals and who were still waiting. On the second evening I ended up having lukewarm soup and lovely sticky toffee pudding for my meal. My salmon came from the kitchen cold twice so I gave up on it. We had been in the dining room for more than an hour and a half. The one thing we couldn't fault was the staff. They were so apologetic about everything. People were getting very angry but the staff remained so polite. Hopefully they have got the kitchen issues sorted out since our return.

A guest said...

64%
30%
90%
70%

Stayed 4th April 2019

Unfortunately this hotel was not ready to be reopened. The refurbishment has still a long way to go and, in fact, outside stairs were dangerous. Workmen we spoke to were aghast that it had been opened. The walk to the lifts carrying cases was very long and had 3 sets of stairs to negotiate. Most guests were very dissatisfied and unfortunately the delightful and most helpful staff were the ones who got their not too kind words. Even when refurbished I would not recommend this hotel. To keep your good name I would recommend you take it off your list.

Alexander Ingram said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2019

Very very good hotel with great food and great service very friendly and helpful staff we will go back again soon

Elaine Stewart said...

27%
0%
60%
20%

Stayed 31st March 2019

Just back from this hotel, not the best 2 nights. Hotel is like a building site, lots of things started and nothing finished. First room offered was damp, carpet badly worn, furniture peeling, and bed like a sponge! Not impressed. 2nd room slightly better, but far from 4* Shower looked like it is ready to fall through the floor, worn carpet and generally very tired! Seems to be problems with the kitchen too, unable to boil an egg within 40 minutes and even then it was not cooked. Advised cooked on a camp stove! Food served on a stone cold plate, so cold within 2/3 minutes. Some of the staff are really good and trying so hard. Thanks for this Chris in the bar and Daniel in the dining room. More 2* but even then I've been in better Won't be rushing back, sorry.

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th November 2018

Outstanding accommodation for the price. Room very comfortable and the dinners/breakfasts were excellent. Staff were friendly and welcoming. We will go back again.

Pauline Connor said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 31st October 2018

We have been to the oban bay hotel on a few occasions now and love returning. Its such a nice hotel with lovely friendly helpful staff who all make you feel very welcome. We enjoy looking out over the bay in the consevatory and like the hotel as it is dog friendly.

Jim Best said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 27th June 2018

Fantastic break in Oban. The hotel was great in that the room was very good and very clean and in a great location.The downside was service at breakfast as it was a nightmare. We came down to breakfast and were seen to our table and waited and waited about 25 mins before our order was taken. There was a very nice young man walking about with a hand held gismo who was taking orders from guests who had just sat down and i only got his attention by waving my arms. 2nd morning same drill. Evening dinner was slightly better as we only waited 15 mins. Now onto the bar!!! The bar gets tilled up about 10.20pm and any drinks are then charged to your room and fine if you had been previously notified. When approaching the bar at 10.30 the lady in charge of the bar was already tilling up and not very accomodating , in fact quite rude with the guests as she stated she was tilling up and would "never get out of here" (reminded me of Hotel California) But the best was still to come whilst banging down the tumblers to serve me a man appeared at my side waiting to be served. i took my drinks outside to sit with my wife and a couple of minutes later the man came out furious as he had called in when passing by for a pint of guinness which was poured but then poured down the sink as he was not a guest with a room card. He had cash but it was refused.........Some way to treat a tourist on holiday and gain a good reputation for your Hotel.........Rant over as other than that the Hotel was good value.

A guest said...

60%
50%
70%
60%

Stayed 26th May 2018

Had a very enjoyable time, thought the room was very tired and dark could be better decor , shower cubicle was very small, would go back again though.

thomas burns said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th May 2018

well priced break in a good location.very nice restaurant.

seanagh maclean-hughes said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th April 2018

Hotel was prefect.... food was great and the breakfast beautiful view sitting out side with my coffee ...and sitting in the hot tub ...staff was good ..cannot fault my stay will return

sharon stamper said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th April 2018

Friendly staff, beautiful location and always clean and tidy Food lovely

sharon stamper said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th April 2018

Friendly staff, beautiful location and always clean and tidy Food lovely

GAIL GREENFIELD said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th April 2018

Nice room, dinner very good. Staff very helpful. Only issue was ordering at breakfast, normally cereals/fruit juice are on a table to help yourself but we had to ask for them, which is a bit different. Very good, value for money break.

Lorraine Ross said...

80%
80%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 27th April 2018

Wash hand basin would not hold water. Shower would not cope with two people having a shower ( one after the other) cereal plates too small not enough room to get milk in. Other than that Staff very helpful rooms well equipped and comfortable. Also check in time should be earlier. Enjoyed our stay. Eight out of ten.

Shaun Tyrer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th April 2018

Excellent hotel with very comfortable and well prepared rooms. Superb views of Oban Bay and the associated activities. Staff very welcoming and extremely helpful. Check in\out straightforward. Dinner menu varied and the food very good. Parking is limited but plenty of free parking available with 2 minute walk. Easy walking distance to Oban centre and its associated attractions.

Elizabeth Ferguson said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 27th April 2018

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff were very helpful

Lawrence Adamson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th April 2018

My wife & I stayed at this ideally positioned hotel on H/B basis with lovely views over the bay, The accommodation was warm clean & well equipped with comfortable beds. The staff very friendly & attentive with waiter service, serving delicious hot wholesome food, I can honestly advise that we found absolutely nothing negative about our stay, even our wee ? dog (Leo) had a great time as they even provided his own bowl! Highly recommended for a relaxing breakfast.

Brian Burns said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th April 2018

Hotel was nice & clean and staff friendly. Only negative was the hot tub was out of action.