Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Richard Moss said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd January 2014

Old part of hotel needs modernisation. But staff, food & service was great. Really good value for money

Marion Taylor said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2013

We visited Oban Bay Hotel about 3 years ago and I felt it was better then. This year room was small and we booked in at 3 and my understanding was rooms were allocated by arrival so was dissappointed. Shower area not mould free and broken tile grout on floor. But is was good value for the money. Also was told at booking hot tub was out of order but not notified it was fixed so dissappointed that I had not brought costume.

William Tait said...

50%
70%
40%
40%

Stayed 23rd December 2013

Food service was a bit erratic,waited 20 minutes for a cooked breakfast which never arrived. Xmas Lunch was a bit of a let down, 2 small slices of roast beef and an inedible potato. Buffet at night was not at all what was expected, too much fancy food and nothing to get ones teeth into.

Laura Hillhouse said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th December 2013

Staff were extremely helpful and even though there were christmas parties on we still had great service. Food was amazing for deal we got on dinner, bed and breakfast. Rooms needed updated and lamb slightly over cooked overall excellent overnight stay would come back

Catherine Gallacher said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th December 2013

Have stayed at Oban Bay on several occasions and have always been very satisfied with rooms, staff and food. This time was no exception, there were six odf us and we each had a lovely room and found hotel staff super - nothing was too much trouble. Good value for money and will certainly be visiting again.

Eleanor Kellock said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2013

Lovely relaxed hotel with ideal location.Food very good but dining room has lack of atmosphere,I would suggest tablecloths and subdued lighting with a candle on the table would enhance guests evening dining experience. Staff very pleasant in manner, always eager to assist. Bedrooms very clean and cosy but the mattress we had was very uncomfortable with the springs protruding,infact from 2am onwards spend most of the night awake ,attempting to find a comfortable position in bed.

Linda Gray said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 23rd November 2013

Great value stay Although the hotel's public areas are a bit 'tired and worn' it is spotlessly clean and bedrooms perfectly comfortable. Dinner and breakfast was included in our rate, food was tasty, nicely presented and adequate choice. A bit pricey if you wanted to choose from the a l carte menu but the inclusive menu was lovely anyway so no need. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Looking forward to another great value 'twixtmas' break!

margaret mcvitie-connelly said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st November 2013

What a fantastic weekend very relaxing hotel the food was fabulous and the staff are so pleasant and nothing is a bother I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone thanks we had a great time

Allen Mackenzie said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd October 2013

Staff were excellent and friendly, food was again excellent, the rooms were tidy enough but small details will get most complaints like broken toilet roll holders and shower shelves. The shower cubicle needs a proper clean around the edges and re-siliconed. We were also dissapointed that the hot tub was out of order. This does nir put us iff by any means and we will return, we reallt enjoyed the whole trip. It is meant as constructive comment. Many thanks

Mrs Connor said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st October 2013

Really enjoyed our few days and spa treatments. Was a bit upset to find the hot tub out of order. Staff were very helpful.

lynsey Hughes said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th October 2013

My second visit to this hotel this year. I love the Crerar chain as its ecellent value for money. A little disappointed that the hot tub was out of order but hopefully the newly appointed manager will iron out the few problems it has. Note to new manager, the glass doors were badly smeared for the duration of our visit, granted this is a pet hate of mine which really grinds me, but if someone on reception could give a a quick wipe every hour it would certain look far better.

Margaret Key said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th October 2013

Enjoyed our stay, food great as was service. Would recommend hotel to friends & family without hesitation

kathleen storrie said...

74%
40%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2013

have visited several times before on this visit however, i think the rooms need to be considered for an update as they are looking tired. our room was cold all be it there was a small wall heater. The shape of the ceiling would not suit someone tall as several times i just about hit my head against it. The shower cubicle very small and was also leaking and my wife on the second night slipped and fell as the water was all over floor. On a positive note, the staff are very efficient and food is lovely

Mrs Freeman said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2013

Lovely stay here. Friendly staff provided good service and food was excellent. No view for us from bedroom which is why we scored 8, however bedroom was clean and well maintained for us during our stay.

JENNIFER BELL said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th October 2013

It was an enjoyable stay would book again

Robert Dixon said...

64%
50%
80%
60%

Stayed 30th September 2013

Good value but bedrooms and public rooms are a bit tired looking.

james mcgill said...

70%
30%
80%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2013

Whilst we enjoyed our stay at the Oban Bay and the staff were very friendly and efficient we felt that the Hotel was in need of refurbishment. We would also like to say the food was of high standard.

Angela McCulloch said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2013

Lovely hotel with good amenities, very friendly staff and great food

ALASDAIR INGRAM said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 27th September 2013

Although the bedroom /bathroom was a bit dated it did not diminish our enjoyment of the stay. It aws value for money

colin watson said...

70%
60%
50%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2013

nice hotel, room pretty basic but clean, breakfast and dinner was fantastic but service can be chaotic at times - not the staff's fault just a lack or structure or organisation which could be easily remedied.

Marion Miller said...

30%
50%
30%
10%

Stayed 16th September 2013

We didn't really enjoy our stay at the hotel. The bedroom was comfortable enough and clean. The service in the dining room was poor, although the girls seemed to be doing most of the work, we had to wait about 10 minutes to be served some of the time. We didn't enjoy the food, potatoes were hard and not mashed properly, they ran out of butter and orange juice on two of the mornings. Breakfast was too greasy and we couldn't eat it. Found the attitude of one young man quite abrupt although another did ask if we wanted something else for breakfast when my husband complained. I don't think we will be visiting the hotel again.

N MacDonald said...

77%
80%
60%
90%

Stayed 13th September 2013

all staff very pleasant but service in dining room especially breakfast very slow due to not enough waiters /waitresses. after dinner coffee and drinks at bar chaotic as only one barman struggling to cope. we would still go back due to excellent food lovely refurbishment and overall good value.

Pauline ferula said...

30%
10%
30%
50%

Stayed 6th September 2013

The bedroom was run down. I took photos of the toilet seat which was all chipped and the wall next to the toilet roll holder was all marked. I had to ask for new toilet paper as it was all marked. When in the restaurant I asked for a jug of water 2 times and did not receive any.

katherine hall said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 6th September 2013

Good hotel, rooms adequate, food excellent, service spot on. Parking could be better, not enough on hotel site meaning you have to park on main road which can be very busy especially at peak holiday weekends. Would recommend, probably use again.

kristian catlow said...

50%
40%
60%
50%

Stayed 3rd September 2013

For what we paid I wasn't impressed. When we arrived found out about the parking I.e you had to book and pay