Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Redworth Hall Hotel, Redworth

, Redworth, DL56NL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

paul collins said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 17th November 2017

Lovely hotel and the food is absolutely amazing had s top night!

Michelle Molloy said...

40%
80%
40%
0%

Stayed 7th November 2017

I paid extra to have a deluxe room and I'm so glad I did, as this was the only good thing about the whole stay, The spa is in serious need of refurbishment, so tatty and worn that there is no real relaxing feel to any of it and the supposed 3 course evening meal became rather expensive if you choset courses that carry a supplemen, which myself and my husband did.i.e. £9 extra for each steak. The food is of a shocking standard, my actual desert was inedible and my husband's winter berries were hard. I am also dissapointed that our complimentary robes were not in our rooms but had to be collected from the spa, therefore you have to get changed in the changing rooms instead of in your room Spent a night last month at Maften hall and it was so much better, not sure I'll ever return to Redworth Hall

Lauren Fitzpatrick said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 29th October 2017

Room and hotel in general were a little dated, and could do with a spruce up. The stay however was lovely. Very good value for money what was included.

sarah thomas said...

27%
50%
0%
30%

Stayed 27th October 2017

This is a complaint from my husband for my family birthday celebration: Well where to begin ? I booked a two night break for my wife and myself to celebrate my wife’s birthday The first night just the two of us followed by the second night with our children and respective partners On arrival my wife and I checked in and went to our room(205) As we unpacked there was a nonstop howling from one of the adjacent rooms After listening to this for about ten minutes and with genuine concern for the dog I returned to reception and explained the situation Your receptionist Emma was very sorry and helpful , moved us to another room and sent someone to check the dog was ok So we repacked and moved rooms (12) My wife tried to book us both in for a massage in your leisure facil to be emailed back that there was no availability that day or the next . I would of thought a hotel such as yourself would have kept vacant slots for your residents The new room looked lovely except there were empty wine bottles and glasses on the dresser outside which were still there at 11pm ( also I would not of even mentioned this but with the rest of our experience I thought I’d better ) There were large cobwebs on the pipes near the ceiling. But it is a large old room Also there were used cotton buds on the floor by the bathroom bin and peanuts tered under the left side of the bed. So at 7 pm we went for our first evening meal . I was very surprised to see the menu had not changed since our last visit in February My wife ordered the soup and I ordered the game terrine as last time I ate it here it was beautiful This time however it was a very poor reflection of before. Two thumbnail pieces of game . Possibly duck but I couldn’t tell In an unseasoned chicken mouse I never mentioned this to my wife as it was her birthday meal To be fair the main course of beef fillet and of venison were both excellent Then to dessert , I ordered the tart Tatin As last time I came it was caramelised apple topped with puff pastry baked then turned out on to the plate . It looked and tasted amazing Imagine my disappointment this time to be served what looked like a puff pastry lid cooked separately topped with cold tinned apples and toffee sauce When the waitress a young red haired girl came to ask if everything was ok . I told her is wasn’t . Her response was to clear the plates and tell me she would tell the chef No offer of an alternative We paid for our supplements and left We retired to the bar for a few drinks I ordered two Bloody Marys . Both bar staff said they did not know how to make them and got somebody else to We sat down and tried them to say they were poor would be an understatement For some reason they tasted sour and very citrus. You could not taste tomato at all At this point we cut our losses and went to our room The next day we got up and went for breakfast. Which to be fair was nice but the orange juice had not been replenished and the choices of cheese and continental meats were not on offer as stated on the menu I thought they may have just ran out After breakfast we went sightseeing and returned to meet our family around 3pm Paid for 3 more double rooms even though there were only 5 people but this was not a problem We met at 730 for our evening meal When being seated I asked the small short haired waitress if we could also have a copy of the bar menu ( I had phoned over a week beforehand to check if this was feasible as one of our party is a bit of a fussy eater And was told by your receptionist that this was not a problem as we were allocated £25 per head to spend on food how ever we decided) The waitress told me I couldn’t have the bar menu or was restaurant menu only ! When I explained I had already phoned beforehand Her response was quite abruptly to say alright I’ll get you one Our starters arrived two portions of natchos Were burned black and I do mean black I understand you need to put them under the salamander, but these were cremated and insipid. The other starters were fine So on to the mains My wife ordered sirloin medium rare and myself sirloin blue With pepper and Dian sauce My steak arrived looked great but was ice cold in the middle . As I’m sure you know a blue steak should be brought to room temperature before being sealed My wife’s medium rare steak was medium She said not to fuss about it but then tried her mushroom and tomato which were stone cold . Two Dian sauces arrived not a Dian and pepper as requested. My pepper sauce did arrive in time but was left on the table when my steak was returned to the kitchen also the berland sausage and mash came without any sauce When my steak was returned it was cooked fine . I asked for another pepper sauce as the one left on the table was cold . For some sauce for the sausage and more sauce for the feather blade The waitress told me if we wanted more sauces we would have to pay for the

sarah thomas said...

27%
50%
0%
30%

Stayed 26th October 2017

What follows is a complaint from my husband for my family birthday celebration:: Well where to begin ? I booked a two night break for my wife and myself to celebrate my wife’s birthday The first night just the two of us followed by the second night with our children and respective partners On arrival my wife and I checked in and went to our room(205) As we unpacked there was a nonstop howling from one of the adjacent rooms After listening to this for about ten minutes and with genuine concern for the dog I returned to reception and explained the situation Your receptionist Emma was very sorry and helpful , moved us to another room and sent someone to check the dog was ok So we repacked and moved rooms (12) My wife tried to book us both in for a massage in your leisure facil to be emailed back that there was no availability that day or the next . I would of thought a hotel such as yourself would have kept vacant slots for your residents The new room looked lovely except there were empty wine bottles and glasses on the dresser outside which were still there at 11pm ( also I would not of even mentioned this but with the rest of our experience I thought I’d better ) There were large cobwebs on the pipes near the ceiling. But it is a large old room Also there were used cotton buds on the floor by the bathroom bin and peanuts tered under the left side of the bed. So at 7 pm we went for our first evening meal . I was very surprised to see the menu had not changed since our last visit in February My wife ordered the soup and I ordered the game terrine as last time I ate it here it was beautiful This time however it was a very poor reflection of before. Two thumbnail pieces of game . Possibly duck but I couldn’t tell In an unseasoned chicken mouse I never mentioned this to my wife as it was her birthday meal To be fair the main course of beef fillet and of venison were both excellent Then to dessert , I ordered the tart Tatin As last time I came it was caramelised apple topped with puff pastry baked then turned out on to the plate . It looked and tasted amazing Imagine my disappointment this time to be served what looked like a puff pastry lid cooked separately topped with cold tinned apples and toffee sauce When the waitress a young red haired girl came to ask if everything was ok . I told her is wasn’t . Her response was to clear the plates and tell me she would tell the chef No offer of an alternative We paid for our supplements and left We retired to the bar for a few drinks I ordered two Bloody Marys . Both bar staff said they did not know how to make them and got somebody else to We sat down and tried them to say they were poor would be an understatement For some reason they tasted sour and very citrus. You could not taste tomato at all At this point we cut our losses and went to our room The next day we got up and went for breakfast. Which to be fair was nice but the orange juice had not been replenished and the choices of cheese and continental meats were not on offer as stated on the menu I thought they may have just ran out After breakfast we went sightseeing and returned to meet our family around 3pm Paid for 3 more double rooms even though there were only 5 people but this was not a problem We met at 730 for our evening meal When being seated I asked the small short haired waitress if we could also have a copy of the bar menu ( I had phoned over a week beforehand to check if this was feasible as one of our party is a bit of a fussy eater And was told by your receptionist that this was not a problem as we were allocated £25 per head to spend on food how ever we decided) The waitress told me I couldn’t have the bar menu or was restaurant menu only ! When I explained I had already phoned beforehand Her response was quite abruptly to say alright I’ll get you one Our starters arrived two portions of natchos Were burned black and I do mean black I understand you need to put them under the salamander, but these were cremated and insipid. The other starters were fine So on to the mains My wife ordered sirloin medium rare and myself sirloin blue With pepper and Dian sauce My steak arrived looked great but was ice cold in the middle . As I’m sure you know a blue steak should be brought to room temperature before being sealed My wife’s medium rare steak was medium She said not to fuss about it but then tried her mushroom and tomato which were stone cold . Two Dian sauces arrived not a Dian and pepper as requested. My pepper sauce did arrive in time but was left on the table when my steak was returned to the kitchen also the berland sausage and mash came without any sauce When my steak was returned it was cooked fine . I asked for another pepper sauce as the one left on the table was cold . For some sauce for the sausage and more sauce for the feather blade The waitress told me if we wanted more sauces we would have to pa

Christine Homan said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th October 2017

All really good, room, service, staff, and food ... only down fall and very off putting was the amount of flies in the restaurant and bar areas?...

Anne Kenny said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd October 2017

A little bit dated, room temperature hard to control but we had a lovely stay, thank you

john mckeown said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd October 2017

Outstanding hotel, outstanding food, outstanding value for money?

A guest said...

64%
70%
90%
30%

Stayed 21st October 2017

The staff were fantastic,as was the hotel and spa. BUT my wife and i were in room 107 it was her birthday treat from myself, one of the curtains was hanging down, also a lot of damp and black on the curtains. Not ideal for people with asthma or bad chest. Which my brother in law has, and stayed in room 112 where the curtains were not much better.We had evening meal which was pathetic . We ate in a little room at the back of the restaurant . The meal was included in the deal , but should get top quality food the same as everyone in the main restaurant

Louise Hartley said...

74%
100%
80%
40%

Stayed 22nd October 2017

Another enjoyable time. Staff in spa very helpful, room very comfortable and warm. The only issue was my first choice main course wasn't available and my second choice was very bland. We were last at the hotel in February and was shocked to see the menu was exactly the same maybe time for a change.

Stephen Blakesley said...

47%
50%
50%
40%

Stayed 20th October 2017

Both myself and my partner were looking forward to this birthday weekend away. From the start the check in system was not properly explained and important information about the room card key and the folder was not passed to us. This meant that when you wanted to place the cost of a drink onto your room and you did not have the card the room key came with you had to go to reception to be provided with a replacement. If the importance had been made clear at the check in, time would have been saved both from our and the hotel's viewpoint. The rooms were difficult to find because the signage was poor. In the end we did find our room but met many other guests who were lost. The room itself was not clean and had been so for a long time. The shower head had not been cleaned for weeks. The window in the bedroom was locked open and it took two members of staff and myself to work out what to do. This was a failure of the house staff to ensure that the room was ready for use as we arrived well after the earliest check-in time. The food in the evening was quite good but not as nice as other hotels we have been to. The breakfast was very average and in fact the cooked options were tasteless. The spa and pool were quite good but the lockers were in a very poor state of repair with a number of fellow men users putting their female partners clothes into their lockers as the tokens given for their use did not work. Again whilst the pool and other areas of the spa were good it was let down by a lack of cleanliness. It was tired. In summation we will not return to such a hotel which needs a major overall to bring it up to date.

julie oxley said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2017

lovely overnight stay, gorgeous food and tails, will certainly return

A guest said...

67%
60%
80%
60%

Stayed 20th October 2017

Booked a last minute stay for Friday night at the hotel. It's in lovely grounds and a nice hotel. The room was quite dated but the bed was comfy and had everything we needed for one night. The bathroom was a huge disappointment as it had a very strong smell of urine which I can only figure was the shower curtain which needed replacing - we did therefore not use the bath or shower and waited until we go at home. I did report this to reception at check out. The 3 course meal included was average with the best part the dessert. Breakfast the next morning was lovely with a huge choice of cooked and continental options. We didn't make use of the spa as were short on time due to arriving later than expected.

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2017

We had a lovely overnight stay. Facil great (spa and room). Both evening meal and breakfast nicely prepared. Staff extremely pleasant.

Natalie Breeze said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th October 2017

Came here for my sister in-laws 21st birthday. It was fabulous, the rooms were standard twin, pleasantly decorated with everything we needed. Beds clean n comfy. 3 course meal was beautiful. Spa was great, enjoyed every minute. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Was a lovely weekend away, can't wait to stay again.

Frederick Thomas said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 13th October 2017

Very nice place. Friendly staff and lovely grounds.

JULIE ASTON said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 12th October 2017

Beautiful hotel, perfect setting. Food lovely and good value for money, very busy hotel so expect to wait for each course of your dinner, however this is fine for us, we enjoy a leisurely meal, however some people not happy about the wait. Pool facil very nice. Would have no issues staying here again.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th October 2017

Lovely stay at the hotel room was good and the spa facil very good restaurant and food very good

Kelly Murphy said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th October 2017

Wonderful hotel lovely service xxx

Cath Gibson said...

57%
50%
40%
80%

Stayed 7th October 2017

Nice hotel let down badly but the spa ! This was supposed to be an anniversary treat and we wanted to relax and be pampered unfortunately this was not to be . I emailed the hotel to request a booking to the spa - have still not had a reply ! Tried to ring the hotel could not find contact number anywhere on the website , didn't want to send another email as the last one I sent did not get acknowledged. Googled the number and explained the situation , was put through to the spa - no reply and left a message with my request and contact details . Did not get a reply , rang again and had same issue had to leave messages on answer machine and again did not get a reply. We arrived an hour earlier then the check in time and again explained the situation and was advised to go straight to the spa where I again explained the situation , I was advised that 'we would have been booked up anyway ' and no apologise about not replying to my messages !! Shocking customer service in my opinion. We did go into the spa and it was awful - more like a leisure centre , pool was packed as was the jacuzzi steam room and sauna !! Children were also in the sauna which I thought was not allowed ?After an hour we gave up and went to get changed , the ladies changing rooms were disgusting! Wet towels and robes lying around the place and a bag full of rubbish left lying about ! I fully accept that the hotel cannot be held responsible for other people's dirty habits but surely they check the changing rooms ?? My husband also said the men's changing rooms smelt of mound ! Evening meal was lovely although we were shown to our table and left for 25 mins before anybody came to take our drinks order and meal order !! When i asked about this I was told they were short staffed !! What a disappointing stay and to be honest I would think twice before going back , there are other places for the same price that can offer much more . This cost us £139 for 1 night which I don't think is particularly cheap .

A guest said...

67%
30%
70%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2017

Disappointed with our bedroom, wallpaper hanging off, radiator hanging off the wall, rips in curtains & shower head broken. Definately needs a face lift. However, food in restaurant was beautiful.

Sharon Taylor said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th September 2017

Excellent value for money. The rooms, food, service was all of excellent quality and a high standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly do so again

amy soulsby said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th September 2017

Highly recommend very good deal we got worth the miney

STEPHANIE BEWS said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th September 2017

Another lovely stay at Redworth Hall. Reception staff very polite and helpful. Quick check in. Stayed in deluxe spa room last time which was lovely but upgraded to superior Deluxe room for this stay which was in main house and overlooked the lovely grounds at front of hotel. Leisure centre staff very helpful and pleasant and facil were great and everywhere very clean. Lovely evening meal and breakfast lovely the following morning. We had a late check out so made use of spa facil before we checked out . Would highly recommend.

Pamela Murray said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th September 2017

Really pleased with the deal. Room was lovely, meal and breakfast also very nice. We were the youngest people here that weekend as three coach trips in however service still very good even though we're very busy.