Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Gables Hotel, Gretna

1 Annan Road, Gretna, DG165DQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Sarah REYNOLDS said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th May 2019

Fabulous Stay at the Cables everything was excellent. The food was delicious ?. The rooms were great and the beds were comfy. The staff were all lovely. Would definitely return.

james tait said...

77%
90%
80%
60%

Stayed 14th May 2019

Very good hotel on the outskirts of gretna.

william mckeand said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th May 2019

once again a good two night stay at the gables food good staff good whats not to like look forward to my next visit

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
N/A

Stayed 9th May 2019

Excellent service and food very good

Heather Gordon said... Hotel has replied

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 4th May 2019

The room was not as advertised. ie: jacuzzi bath inoperable. Shower pressure was very poor. WC required multiple pushes o handle to operate. Emptying of bath water came up shower drain and was not a pleasant smell. Damaged coat hangers left sharp nails protruding and I slightly cut my arm on this. The reason I booked this room was an upgrade on the double room as it had a Jacuzzi .

Hotel reply...

Hello, We have 5 4-poster bedrooms and 4 of them are the decor on the website and room 8 has different decor. The bedrooms are the same size and have all the same amenities other than the colours of the decor and the 4-poster bed itself. The start button of the jacuzzi had been pushed down, therefore requiring the bath panel to be removed so it could be reattached. This is now back in operation. I have asked housekeeping to check the coat hangers and replace any broken ones.

Stewart Warburton said... Hotel has replied

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th May 2019

Helpful staff but a lot of doors to squeeze through if you have wheelchair

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review. We understand about the doors, unfortunately over the years the hotel has been extended, a lot, and due to this we need the doors for regulations between the buildings.

Elizabeth Eilbeck said... Hotel has replied

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th May 2019

What a lovely hotel the food was excellent and the price was a bargain I will be back

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to you returning again in the near future. We've got the same offer running until the end of August if you can squeeze some time in for a night away!

Lorraine French said... Hotel has replied

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th May 2019

Absolutely loved our stay it was our wedding anniversary we had a bottle of fiz in our room the hotel is beautiful . Definitely stay again very soon .

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your amazing feedback. We look forward to you returning again soon!

Angela McGoran said... Hotel has replied

47%
60%
30%
50%

Stayed 4th May 2019

Very disappointed in the standards of this hotel. Could see staff exiting a side door for ‘smoking breaks’. Thus being from the evening dinning room! Staff were very dismissive and uninterested the matter was raised. We will definitely not be returning!!!

Hotel reply...

Sorry to read this. The staff rest area is at the side of the hotel which is between the restaurant and the kitchen. I will raise this issue with our operations manager to see where we can improve this. We usually get good review regarding our staff and it is something we pride ourselves on so we will look at who was on shift during your stay and speak with them directly.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd May 2019

Lovely hotel staff are brilliant, food excellent. Hotel is clean but certain area could do with a little updating eg bedrooms

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you thought our staff and food were excellent. We will certainly pass on your comments regarding the bedrooms to our owners.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

37%
40%
60%
10%

Stayed 20th April 2019

Hotel and grounds very tired looking.Room pretty basic. Meal on 1st night.."special chicken pie"..pastry uncooked..veg.not cooked.. asked to change.. then 1st fire alarm went off..had to evacuate hotel. False alarm..happened further 3 times during meal!! Guests from previous night said it had gone off then also. Went off again at midnight..woken up to evacuate again...next morning at breakfast false alarm again. Staff said engineer supposed to be on call..but no one turned up.. Very stressfull Easter Weekend. Manager no where in sight.. and staff did not seem to be trained as no one took head count.! Breakfast cold , tea and coffee in urns .both just lukrwarm.. No apology forthecoming on check out. Would not stay at The Gables again..and would nor recommend. In my opinion this hotel needs huge cash injection to bring it up to a reasonable standard.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read this. Usually we get some very good reviews regarding our hotel, specially from MyHotelBreak members, with many of them returning to us again. The fire alarms did go off and unfortunately each time we did have to investigate the reasons behind it going off. Each time was a false alarm however I am sure you can appreciate we couldn't ignore them in case at any particular point it indeed wasn't a false alarm. We did end up with a fault and this has been fixed and rectified and was an isolated incident. I appreciate this completely tainted your views on us as a hotel and I note you mentioned you wouldn't return to us again however if you would like to give us another try please feel free to email myself on claire.hodgson@gables-hotel-gretna.co.uk and I will ensure you are looked after for your return visit.

Janette Black said... Hotel has replied

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th April 2019

Very friendly hotel. Staff were excellent. This is a hotel which I have visited a number of times. Ideal location and would certainly return to.

Hotel reply...

Hello. Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is really nice to read you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return soon.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

17%
10%
30%
10%

Stayed 3rd April 2019

For the evening meal I had the chicken and veg pie-or should I say peas, veg, peas, chicken peas pie swimming in watery gravy . At breakfast both the porridge and beans were cold We stayed in room 27-during the night - unable to close window- so room cold. Reported to reception on way out , on returning still not fixed Went to reception who did give us another room 20 on same floor. could not get a joiner till next day but did not leave a note in room ot explain what was happening Room 20 was cleaner, more modern tv , two chairs ( not one ) even 2 ( not 1 ) plastic cups in bathroom which was a lot cleaner On leaving tried to charge us for the included meal on first night

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your review. We did have a broken window latch in room 27 as mentioned. We did try to get a joiner in to fix/replace the part but couldn’t get anyone. My understanding is that we were still waiting for a couple of joiners to get back to us when you returned to the hotel so hadn’t left a note at this point. The bedrooms are all different sizes and as such some of the bedrooms only have 1 vanity seat, not two seats. We had a problem with our computers last week and unfortunately the dinner allowance element behind the scenes didn’t work and some people were asked for payment on check-out. Although I believe this was rectified pretty quickly. Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your meals. We usually get fabulous feedback about our food so it is disappointing when we haven’t met your expectations.

Margaret Docherty said... Hotel has replied

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th March 2019

We enjoyed our stay very much and have booked again for the first weekend in May

Hotel reply...

Hello, thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to your return in May!

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th March 2019

An enjoyable value-for-money 4-night DB&B stay at Gables Hotel, Gretna. A good base for cross-Border exploration, our room was clean & comfortable, the staff friendly, and breakfast and dinner of decent quality. This was a repeat stay, and would return in future.

margaret harron said... Hotel has replied

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th March 2019

Had a very pleasent 2 night stay at The Gables Hotel

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope you return to us again soon.

Lorraine Hills said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th March 2019

Our overall stay was faultless. The room, the staff and service , the food were all very good.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope you return to us again soon.

Katharine Mair said... Hotel has replied

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th February 2019

Beautiful hotel, first class staff who were very helpful and food was large portions and excellent. Will definitely be back.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope you return to us again soon.

MOIRA GEORGE said... Hotel has replied

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed our break for the second time in this hotel. Staff and food first class.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope you return to us again soon.

william mckeand said... Hotel has replied

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th February 2019

stayed once again at the gables and not let down once again good room good staff good food good wine so no complaints looking forward to next visit

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope you return to us again soon.

julie coulter said...

54%
50%
60%
50%

Stayed 16th February 2019

Room was ok,bit tired though. More attention to detail required with cleaning as found quite a lot of dust under radiator. Had ordered a bottle of rose wine for our room which wasnt even chilled,went to bar to get an ice bucket,no one there so had to go to reception and apparently according to member of staff"she had other things to do". Meal was ok but not great. Sadly i dont think i will be back.

Lindsay Rochester said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 2nd February 2019

room was little dated and noise room carried through. often hearing shower and toilet flushing. neighbouring rooms were noisy especially around 11pm food was lush and bed comfortable

Margaret Omand said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th January 2019

Another enjoyable stay at this lovely hotel. Cosy rooms and good food

Aileen robertson said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th January 2019

As always staff very helpful,food amazing we really enjoyed our stay .Only on Saturday afternoon heating in room and bathroom not working we did ask at reception and this was very quickly dealt with but unfortunately on Sunday morning room was cold so we didn’t shower ,did report to staff .Would it stop us returning No,

Marie Murphy said...

64%
50%
70%
70%

Stayed 26th January 2019

Bed in the room was very soft and the toilet ran for ages afterwards rooms are a bit dated and need upgrading, food for breakfast was lovely and all the staff were great.