Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Gables Hotel, Gretna

1 Annan Road, Gretna, DG165DQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Ross Badger said...

34%
30%
40%
30%

Stayed 13th March 2020

Found my experience staying at the hotel quite disappointing. There was a few issues one being my dinner which was very bland and tasteless which wasnt taken off the bill as it was included within the deal so I was charged for a meal that i didnt actually eat because it was within myhotelbreak deal which is unfair. Other issues was the room that had cobwebs/dust on the lights and the radiator had large clumps of dust hanging from the sides. There was also a jelly sweet on the floor next to the bed which showed the room hadnt been cleaned to a good standard. When all of the above was reported i was told nothing they could do regarding food being on the bill as it was myhotelbreak offer and that they would inform housekeeping of the room, got impression they werent bothered of the issues.

A guest said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 13th February 2020

Clean room, friendly staff. Evening meal was ok but breakfast could be better with more choice - presumably trying to save costs. Still good value overall.

Lisa Petre said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st February 2020

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, would definitely recommend and look forward to returning sometime soon

Colin Atkinson said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 17th February 2020

Hotel and staff were very good.

Finlay Badger said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th January 2020

Stayed here before so booked the Alisa suite this time and I was not disappointed, the service and food were excellent.

Alan Bartlett said...

90%
90%
80%
100%

Stayed 11th January 2020

We had a pleasant stay at the Gables Hotel. We found ourselves at an unexpected loose end on the weekend and trying to decide what to do/where to go we decided to go the Gretna and the Gables for the weekend. I had recalled they had a number of different offers on and we had stayed there before and had had a really good time. We went for the dinner bed and breakfast offer which was very good value for money. The room was spacious with all the usual facilities and the bed was very comfortable. We got the impression that the hotel wasn't too busy which is not surprising given the time of the year so we didn't mind the fact we had to look for someone to serve us a drink in the bar in the afternoon. Dinner was served in one of the smaller dining rooms which again, as it wasn't very busy was a good idea as the atmosphere was better than if everyone had been spread out in a large, mainly empty restaurant. However, I was surprised to say the least that when I asked about ordering a dessert at just after 8.30 (on a Saturday evening) we were told matter of factly that the kitchen was closed. So obviously no chance of coffees and liquors either. When we mentioned this at reception when checking out the following morning we were just told that last orders in the restaurant is 8.30 Not only is this rather early it would have been nice in that case if someone had told us that as soon as we arrived in the restaurant or at least during the course of our meal. Otherwise a very nice stay and an enjoyable weekend.

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th September 2019

A lovely stay at the Gables hotel, we stayed for dinner bed and breakfast when the food and setting was fantastic. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again and if I had to recommend an improvement it would be the bedrooms had dated decor.

Linda McCulloch said...

70%
80%
70%
60%

Stayed 29th August 2019

Rooms were nicely decorated, bathrooms & room clean. Overall it represented good value for money for what we paid, however, the food was a bit unexciting. Breakfast was ok. The hotel could make improvements on things that don't cost money, eg heating your plates and making sure there is enough tea at breakfast (instead of having to wait when the one there runs out). I appreciate it is a 3 star hotel and your can't expect 5 star treatment but I hope these comments are helpful.

Denis Feeney said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd August 2019

Hotel was great lovely large room and clean..Lovely surroundings.girl Chloe was lovely who works in bar

A guest said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 21st August 2019

Had a lovely stay at the Gables and this is our 2nd visit through myhotelbreak.com. Our room had a king size bed which was very comfortable. This time when we visited there was a wedding reception on. I know this is to be expected due to the proximity of Gretna Green and didn't have a problem until the evening While I understand that there will be some noise expected the fact that there were children running around and shouting in the corridors until 2am wasn't really acceptable. This isn t really a reflection on the hotel just on guests who have no consideration for others. Our evening meal in the restaurant was very nice and the staff at the Gables are very pleasant. My breakfast however was disappointing. When I went to the buffet for the cooked breakfast I noticed all the fried eggs were covered in black pepper. I'm allergic to it and asked if I could have one cooked without the pepper. This was agreed and I assumed the chef would just quickly cook me one and the waitress would bring it over. However I waited for ages and it appears the chef expected me to wait until he cooked a whole new batch of eggs without pepper. By this time more guests had arrived for breakfast and by the time the new eggs arrived there was a huge queue at the buffet and I still didn't get my egg!! I didn't think when I requested the egg without pepper that I would have to hang around the hot buffet until the chef cooked a whole new tray of eggs. Disappointing end to the stay.

Claire Thomas said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th August 2019

Spent the night here to start of my 50th birthday celebrations and wasn't disappointed, staff friendly, rooms immaculate and food delicious added bonus of a bottle of prosecco and chocolates in our room Thanks Gabels Hotel

Hazel Leggatt said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th August 2019

Very friendly welcome, reception staff friendly, helpful and informative. Hotel slightly dated but clean and comfortable. We had a dinner allowance for our first night and were slightly disappointed that both the restaurant and lounge brved the same menu. Good selection at breakfast and again staff friendly and helpful. Only 2 power sockets in bedroom so an extension cable is recommended.

Donald Harwood said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 30th July 2019

Good bed, pleasant stay. Popular with weddings resulting in depleted gantry and beers

RAYMOND REEVES said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 27th July 2019

This was our third stay at this hotel and it doesn’t disappoint. Pity about the weather!! Just a small issue with the restaurant service, food was good but there is a lack of leadership although it was busy on this particular evening the small staff seemed under pressure and it appeared that there was no person at the helm to organise the some minor issues, given this it is very good value and very clean.

Mrs Davidson said...

54%
40%
60%
60%

Stayed 26th July 2019

The hotel was nice but rooms could be doing with a little updating as they are looking really tired. We had a lovely time with family as it was my daughters 21st birthday, the staff were helpful and food was nice. It was just a pity about the chef as he obviously has a chip on his shoulder and is in no way accommodating. My brother who can only have a soft died due to illness was told at breakfast and dinner that there was nothing that he could do when we asked for something that he could eat. It was too much bother to make scrambled egg at breakfast (as there wasn’t any) and mashed potatoes at dinner(as again no mash potatoes) even though they had already been made aware of this. It definitely put a damper on our celebrations and I have to say we would definitely not return.

Arlene Moran said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 20th July 2019

Food and service not as good as on previous stays especially breakfast

Charles Spalding said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 20th July 2019

Average hotel, would not fancy staying again ,dinner average,breakfast not very good buffet, ,poorly presented,and not very hot,yet we were some of the first down.Having to be checked out by 10oclock doesn’t help the overall situation.

Margo Wallace said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2019

Warm welcome. Spacious room with even more spacious bathroom. Pity there was no at the washbasin and not a lot at the shower. Hopefully this problem will be fixed, having spoken to the Reception staff. Excellent evening meal and breakfast. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Frances Lane said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th July 2019

Twin room and en-suite, clean and tidy. The room could benefit from an additional light above second bed. Dinner was lovely and served on hot plates (always a winner). The sticky toffee pudding was best I've had! Breakfast was fine tho with cold plates food didn't stay hot for long. The staff were very friendly and all made us welcome.

Irene Hewitson said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 15th July 2019

we were really pleased with our stay at the gables hotel after reading reviews on other web sites.We were in room 30 lovely and clean ,looked as if it had been recently decorated .tea coffee in room even biscuits a nice touch .The bathroom was also spotless and nice and fresh toiletries and towels were exactly what we needed.We were booked in for dinner bed and breakfast for 1 night and b&b for 1 night dinner was great husband said best sticky toffee pudding he's ever tasted, we enjoyed it so much we had dinner the second night as well we opted to eat in the bar that night again you could not fault anything. Any staff we dealt with from receptionists restaurant staff to bar staff were pleasant and very helpful.We hope to return to the gables in the future ,only 2 wee minor points the heat in the corridor outside room 30 needs to be cooler way too hot and we would prefer not to be in room 30 only because the window is next to the outside door where people went out to stand and smoke ,felt you had to close the curtains for privacy.

isabella graham said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 14th July 2019

First o you have to remember what you paid. We stayed two nights, first night with dinner and breakfast each morning for £123 (for Two), so good price. Hotel at one time has been lovely but, now looking a bit tired. No issues with rooms as bed was comfy and clean. Dinner was good and plentiful ,breakfast each morning was hot and plenty variety. My biggest gripe, ( I did report this) was very bad flush on toilet. Staff very nice and helpful. I would book again.

Michelle Connor said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 13th July 2019

Hotel was great except the breakfast stops on a Sunday at 9.30 on the dot and check out is 10.00am, far too early for the weekend when we have been working all week

A guest said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 10th July 2019

Food for evening meal was ok but not changed enough for 4 night stay. Soup of day lasted 2 days, pie of day was same kind of pie for 4 nights. Overheard someone on one night asking if she could have potatoes with her meal instead of chips - lady was told yes you can but it will be charged as extra. Think more flexibility is needed when ordering meals. Breakfast was good as far as variety of cooked items but continental spread was very limited to just cereal,toast and yoghurt. Another negative was bar was very pricey.

Linda Mcmullen said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th July 2019

Had a fab day at the Gables once again. Beautiful sunshine meant we could sit outside all day. Hotel is so quiet at night which means we have always had a fab sleep. Great deal through myhotelbreak.com ?

Malcolm Mcgregor said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 11th July 2019

We enjoyed our stay at the Gables with friendly staff and comfortable room and big bathroom. My Sister and Brother-in-Law came down to surprise us as we were celebrating our 30th Anniversary and made the night more relaxed. The Hotel is situated very close to town centre and easy walking distance. The food at dinner was good but the breakfast was a bit disappointing that's why we only gave it a 7. There was not much choice and they ran out of eggs so a bit disappointing we couldn't get fried eggs. Would we stay there again? Probably.