Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Christina Reid said...

80%
100%
90%
50%

Stayed 14th June 2019

We had a lovely time at hotel & we saw all the refurbishment work that had been done. Staff were all very pleasant & helpful. One small thing was our meal on first night. Starters & desserts were very good. Scallops, excellent & the strawberries & sticky toffee pudding superb. Both main course were most disappointing. Lamb was very tough, even with a steak knife & chicken was wet & definitely not roasted. For that reason we ate out the second night. This would not stop us going back but we would be more careful choosing our main course. Can't go wrong with fish & chips.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th June 2019

Excellent hotel we have been a few times and its good value for your money

Linda Mullen said...

60%
80%
80%
20%

Stayed 2nd June 2019

Hotel was nice enough, little bit dated in parts. Room was nice, but very hot and no air con, too windy to have window open all night. Biggest let down was the food, really disappointing. “Artisan” bread was literally 6 slices of ordinary brown and white bread cut in half. Starter was ok, though my husbands duck salad looked like packet duck and not freshly cooked. The batter on my fish was soggy, and the fish very ‘fishy’ which generally means it’s old. The chips were soft and reminded me of school dinners. My husband’s steak was fatty throughout, and the ‘peppercorn’ sauce was more like a standard gravy. Breakfast was not much better, though I’ve had worse. Bacon very fatty, poached eggs a little overdone and tomato not cooked.

Mari Gibson said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th May 2019

Great staff & hotel...3rd visit & will certainly be back

Margaret Nicol said...

80%
80%
70%
90%

Stayed 28th May 2019

This was at least the fourth time we had visited the Hotel and it has lost nothing of its attraction!

Joan McDonald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd May 2019

Best short break ever! Hotel was fantastic in every aspect. All staff were lovely, friendly & helpful. Great location & beautiful food. Thanks to My Hotel Break. com.

nikki clyde said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th May 2019

Stunning scenery, lovely hotel, staff were very welcoming, leisure facilities were great, food was awesome, will be back very soon. You won’t be disappointed

stewart sharp said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th May 2019

There were used toiletries in the shower on check in, which made us question if it had been cleaned properly. On day 2, room was serviced but used towels were not replaced and used toiletries not replaced. Reception did rectify when reported but not the standard I would have expected.

Lesley Weaver said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th May 2019

Third time and was excellent as usual. Staf lovely. Really felt like I had a holiday.

Margaret Graham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd May 2019

Repeat customers who once again had a very relaxed two night weekend. Staff as always were very hard working and professional. Food very tasty and well presented. Thank you again

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 30th April 2019

This was our first visit here and I am pleased to say we will be back. The rooms were clean comfortable and were a descent size, the location is great and the food was excellent.

ALAN MUIR said...

80%
90%
70%
80%

Stayed 10th April 2019

Very nice hotel with comfortable & good size rooms. Leisure facilities are very good too. Dinner was well presented & food tasty. Breakfast service bit mixed. Ok first day but second day I got my cooked to order hot breakfast within 2 mins of ordering it - hadn’t even had time to get my cereal! Nice bar area but disappointing selection draft beer - especially no Scottish ones!!

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th April 2019

Good relaxing break. Attentive and friendly staff

Alison Kennedy said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th April 2019

Our first myhotelbreak.com trip and it was the best deal we’ve had from anywhere. Carnoustie Golf hotel, spotless, lovely rooms, beds comfy and the black out curtains and insulated windows made for a good nights sleep. There was definitely no voucher sbery and all staff treated us so well. Food was excellent, lovely 3 course meal from the a la carte, and our wine at the table was included in price. Stunning location, right on the beach with the 2 golf courses too. All of which you had great views of from the restaurant. Had a wonderful morning walk too. The spa looked good, although we never got round to using. Hoping to be back in the summer when it’s warmer.

A Turner said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th April 2019

We had our break at Carnoustie Golf and Spa Hotel for a 80th birthday and my mum and dads 54th anniversary. The hotel was ver accommodating as we asked for flowers in their room. Staff could not of been more helpful with anything you needed. Rooms were lovely and fresh and clean. We had a meal first night and it was very nice the next day an afternoon tea it had so much we were very full indeed so no need for a full dinner that night ended up with room service and a sandwich service was very quick. Breakfast was great also made to order so lovely and fresh and hot. All in fantastic stay and well recommended.?

Patricia McLeish said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th April 2019

We had a great 2 night break. Our Superior double room had stunning views over the golf course. Food and service great. We will definitely be back.

Scott Irvine said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd March 2019

Fantastic hotel, staff excellent, food excellent. When we arrived we were lucky enough to find we received an upgrade. That was the 6th time I’ve stayed at this hotel and the standards are the same all the time. I’ll definitely be going back.

Lesley Sutherland said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th March 2019

My husband and I love staying at this hotel. Nicely situated good views and great food

Linda Miller said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th March 2019

Excellent service. Lovely room and great food. Reception staff extremely helpful and friendly.

Duncan Mackay said...

65%
70%
N/A
60%

Stayed 12th March 2019

We recently stayed at this hotel on a B&B deal with dinner on the first night. Reception was nice and staff welcoming. We had a room on the 3rd floor with stunning views overlooking the Championship Golf Course. The room was very spacious and comfortable, with the exception of the bed which we both found to be quite uncomfortable - the pillows and the mattress were quite hard and springs could be felt through the mattress. We had just checked in and were relaxing on the bed enjoying a bottle of champagne when another resident entered our room with a key! He was as perplexed and embarrassed as we were. He said he had left the room in the morning and all his belongings were still in it at that time, so why it was cleared of his belongings by staff and then given to us I don’t know. It was very awkward and unsettling. We had dinner in the hotel that night and the food was good, nothing special but tasty enough. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection. The bar area had a somewhat strange layout with not really enough tables for the space available and number of guests. We chose to eat out and have a drink elsewhere on our second night, whereas had the bar area been more accommodating we would rather have enjoyed a drink there. When checking out we were charged for our evening meal on the first night, even though it was part of our deal, but that was resolved after we questioned it. All those wee niggly things in themselves are not a big deal (apart from a stranger walking into our room - that was a big deal), but when added together they just take some of the shine off the experience. All in all it was a nice break in a great location, but we’re unlikely to return.

G Richmond said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th March 2019

Very enjoyable stay dinner and breakfast very good as was room and service

jane connolly said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 10th March 2019

Overall hotel was very clean and comfortable, wonderful to have ice machine on every level. Amazing staff especially housekeeping, they were all so cheerful despite heavy turnover of rooms. The Standard room was spacious, well laid out with roomy bathroom with bath and shower, all spotlessly clean. Only drawback with our room (209) was it faced car park not fairways so no view although not a major problem in winter as dark early anyway. We dined at hotel first evening but whole experience was disappointing, very little atmosphere in either dining room or bar are/lounge. We experienced some issues with the food, firstly we dined at 8pm by which time a number of both starter and mains had run out but still offered on menu. We suspected owing to the hotel being at full capacity, much of the food had already run out even though another sitting was at 9pm. Secondly a starter of langoustine and scallop was presented as 2 tiny scallops and an even smaller prawn for £10, this was later deducted from our off bill when we commented on the portions size and lack of langoustine! Lastly other problem was a pork dish described as pork loin which was in fact just a pork chop. Another disappointment was the spa facility which only opened between 9-5pm. This neither permitting a pre-breakfast or early evening swim / relaxing use of steam/sauna prior to dining, very disappointing as the pool and sauna looked very inviting. Unlikely to return.

David Gourdie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th March 2019

Absolutely fantastic! Ticked all the boxes! So good, I'm even going back next week with my good lady for a 2 night stay.

Helen Clapperton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

booked a last minute deal hotel was fab staff lovely + food great will definitely be back

DEREK MASON said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2019

Throughly enjoyed ourselves at this hotel, very good leisure facilities swimming pool sauna , steam room & jacuzzi. Very pleasant staff who are always looking to help you to ensure your stay is a good one. Will look forward to returning to this hotel in the not so distant future.