Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

A guest said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st September 2019

Hotel ok as usual the drinks expensive. Food and staff excellent I was expecting a bit more upmarket hotel for the price. Room clean and tidy but missing the wow factor.

Stuart Smyth said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th August 2019

Excellent hotel and staff very friendly Food good

T Mcgregor said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 26th August 2019

An exceptionally good visit; comfortable room overlooking the first tee and thankfully easily accessible of two post-op oldies; great breakfasts and dinners in the bright glass-walled dining room- main course one of the best ever; staff friendly and helpful at all times; and the sun shone warmly throughout!

Lorraine Todd said...

54%
50%
60%
50%

Stayed 25th August 2019

Hotel staff lovely . but service very slow .. Spa was very nice but fighting with members in pool with my disabled mum was nothe very nice ..no very nice white bread at breakfast mum can't take seeds

Annette Little said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2019

Will definitely return for another short break. We had lovely rooms with a view of golf course. Rooms spotless, bathroom gorgeous, good tea & coffee supplies in room. Breakfast was great with plenty choice and Calders Bistro had a good choice for evening meal. Leisure facilities also very good. Staff lovely, friendly and always ready to help nothing was too much bother. We had a great time

Kimberley Anderson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2019

Great night stay here, would recommend and will be back

isabel kennedy said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2019

Lovely hotel with very friendly and professional staff, food great and accomodation spacious and well equipped.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2019

Lovely stay at a very friendly hotel. The hotel and all amenities were of a good standard except the window leaked quite badly due to a large downpour of rain. A whole bath towel was sodden at the window ledge. Food was nice and the DB&B package excellent value. Nice to be able to be next to beach and location had lots to do in the area

C Bonnar said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th August 2019

Very nice hotel, large spacious room, All staff very welcoming and friendly. Even had great service on the Saturday afternoon although there was a large wedding on. Evening meal and breakfast very good standard. Real value for money hotel with excellent gym( a little small but very well equipped with modern apparatus. Spa and pool also very good standard. Large pool maybe requiring some attention but overall great place to stay and will certainly be returning again

Margaret Mackintosh said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th August 2019

Great hotel and facilities, very welcoming, staff helpfull and friendly

J Pratt said...

100%
100%
100%
N/A

Stayed 2nd August 2019

Fabulous Hotel in a fantastic location overlooking the Carnoustie championship golf course. All the staff were very attentive. Leisure facilities were great. Changing rooms were spotlessly clean as was the hotel. Would certainly recommend.

janice Hutchison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2019

Fantastic hotel set in beautiful surroundings.

janice Hutchison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2019

Fantastic hotel set in beautiful surroundings.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st July 2019

Overnight stay in a golf view room. Lovely room overlooking 18th green. Staff were all polite and helpful. Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Food was good and staff showed knowledge of gluten intolerance which was very helpful. Used the pool which was very refreshing.

PAUL GREIG said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 22nd July 2019

Very friendly staff, Andrew in the restaurant was superb. The Rookery at Carnoustie Links was outstanding. Good value for money on the deal we had. Sadly not much to do at hotel or in surrounding areas. Arrived Monday to find the spa was fully booked for 3days which was extremely disappointing!!

S Mckellar said...

70%
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 13th July 2019

Having had the good fortune to receive two separate myhotelbreak.com vouchers we decided to use them over two consecutive days at Carnoustie Golf Hotel. We have stayed at this property before and, for all but one bizarre check-out scenario, had no reason to NOT wish to return here (lovely surroundings, nice rooms, excellent gym and spa area, adequate breakfast and eating facilities). At check in we were informed that our first evening would be in a Junior Suite room, but the second evening was a standard double (I had thought BOTH evenings would have been standard double as stated on the gift voucher and assumed we had been allocated a Junior Suite as a complimentary upgrade?). I enquired what I could do to remain in the Junior Suite for the second evening and it was agreed that at monetary sum of £30 was required; extremely reasonable in my opinion. So off to a good start I thought. The room we entered had not been cleaned and we were reallocated another one; very good front of house work done by Holly at reception. Both evenings we had legitimate cause to complain about our dinner; both evenings we were less than impressed. It saddened me that this was the case; based primarily on previous experiences and cost of dining. Breakfast format had also changed from our previous stays, but there were no issues. The gym and pool area are tip top with just minor repair work required (as voiced by Club Members we met during our stay). At check out I was holding on to my previous experience, hoping for no repeat of what happened then. Unfortunately the same scenario was played out where my £30 agreed upgrade payment suddenly became £128 (I’m sure that’s the figure I was quoted; without any explanation I have to add). On questioning this it became £30 again. I don’t understand but can only assume there may have been a problem with the reservations system or restaurant billing. This, overall, brings me to would I wish to stay here again and would I recommend The Carnoustie Golf Hotel. YES, I would return. I would choose not to eat in the restaurant for evening meal; there are plenty other places locally located that I would choose. YES, I would recommend; on the basis that you ensure you know exactly how much your stay is costing and what kind of value this represents to stay and eat at this hotel.

RACHEL PATERSON said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th July 2019

We had a lovely time but was really upset that I had to pay extra for a room with a walk in shower as I have recently had hip surgery and can’t have a shower over bath, surely this is discrimination against disabled people. I had to upgrade and pay twenty pounds extra per night. My husband and I book a lot with my hotel break so I expected better. The staff were really lovely.

Jim Mcdonald said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th July 2019

This is our 3rd time of staying here and as usual staff very helpful and friendly food in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast has always been to a very good quality,Rooms are always spotless and great view from rooms onto course if you have booked one lol,Must say about outside coming into hotel and patio area outside a lot of weeds coming through slabs and potted plants all looking dead not seen it like this before and not a good first impression walking into what is a lovely hotel but will definitely be back soon ?

John mcluckie said...

70%
20%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th July 2019

Beautiful hotel staff very friendly and fun and nothing to much for them, meals (menu has a good variety) from breakfast ? to dinner will return again as we had a great time away plus our room overlooking the golf course which was very nice ?.

Kathleen Shields said...

54%
60%
40%
60%

Stayed 9th July 2019

This is a 4.5* hotel, we were disappointed by the lack of atmosphere in the hotel, the only member of staff that actually had a conversation and tried to Make our stay better was Sarah the receptionist we first met, she quickly tried to amend some setbacks which we had regarding our room lamp not working , faulty handle , wine not in room as stated, she even gave us an upgrade to a better room with a fantastic view of the 18th hole, we felt we could not complain about the shower tray plug was blocked and took ages to empty and the spotlight reading lamp didn’t work as she’d given us the upgrade free which she’d told us would be £20 if we’d requested it , however on check out her colleague tried to charge us £10. We used the spa pool, jacuzzi , steam and sauna , which was brilliant , lovely comfy loungers to lie on with available towels to use! We booked dinner for 8pm , menu looked good waiters and waitresses barely communicated or interacted with the customers and there were a few couples talking to each other but it was quiet and had no atmosphere .even the barman exchanged few words, we felt a bit uncomfortable . Soup for first course was great came with bread, my partner had the beast burger which was amazing , I had the chicken with Mediterranean veg , I was disappointed with it the breast of chicken had a large piece of skin and there was a huge bone and gristle on the chicken the veg was hard and I didn’t like the sauce , no waiter/waitress came to do a check till clearing the plates , she did try to rectify it by taking the meal off the bill but it was a voucher so it was prepaid , I’m the end we got “3 beers and a tea free” dessert came out sticky toffee pudding x 2 mine looked like someone had taken a corner off it fo I sent it back the waitress said the chef said it was where the grease proof paper had been . I was not convinced ! They did replace it and it was delicious. On retiring to Our room which was big , had a comfy bed tea and coffee and biscuits . Next morning breakfast was served till 10oclock we went down at 9.30 am to find we were in a queue, we were told by the manager they were waiting on tables being cleared , there were 6 other parties of people waiting before and after us which we thought was ridiculous, I went to reception to say we wouldn’t be checked out at 11am as they requested as we were in a queue for a table , she said she would speak to someone , about 10 minutes passed and the manager came to say a table was ready , he didn’t give eye contact or conversation apart from sorry for the wait . It wasn’t particularly busy and there were a few staff on including the manager who was clearing tables . There was a continental help yourself table and a waitress brought tea/toast and took the order for breakfast , we didn’t get her name , but she was a bit more interactive with us and asked questions and checked if we were ok. Breakfast was good, we were able to pack up and check out. We did pass on our comments to the receptionist and told her we’d be writing a review. She then tried to charge us for the upgrade as previously mentioned . Don’t think we’ll be going back any time soon !!!!

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th July 2019

Hotel was exactly as advertised, staffs were excellent and helpful, and the food was great. Excellent choice for a short break. We recommend this hotel for a short break or a holiday.

Veronica Nolan said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th July 2019

Had a lovely stay @ this hotel. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the green. Which was just lovely. The bed was was very comfortable and staff were very helpful! The hotel setting is beautiful and dinner in the hotel and the new golf club restaurant were lovely! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

A guest said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 28th June 2019

We were here over the weekend Everything was fine on Friday lovely room with a lovely view Unfortunately on Saturday there was a wedding on and as usual with only one bar it was taken over with the wedding party Also very noisy in the lounge

David Crawford said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 28th June 2019

Nice hotel, great room with a balcony, could have done with air conditioning, staff very helpful and friendly, very relaxing time.

A guest said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th June 2019

Lovely hotel, only complaint/comment was that as the room overlooked the practice putting grren we were disturbed around 0530 each morning by the grass cutters and rolling machines! Not really within the control of the hotel but worth bearing in mind with the lighter mornings. WiFi seemed a bit 'hit-and-miss' across three devices, which was surprising, but didn't really affect our enjoyment. Spa treatment was also amazing.