Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Ellys Abercrombie said...

30%
20%
20%
50%

Stayed 11th May 2021

Our mini break, in a paid for upgraded room, for my husbands 60th birthday was a catalogue of errors, omissions and poor service to include badly cleaned and set up rooms, lack of info and communication and billing mistakes, certainly not 4 star standard

Margaret Elaine Colton said...

85%
70%
N/A
100%

Stayed 8th May 2021

Reception staff not very friendly

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th May 2021

Check in quick and efficient. Reception provided a map of the local area. Had a lovely stay, room spacious, over looking the golf course with sun streaming in in the afternoon/evening. Breakfast hot, dinner delicious. Thank you.

D Angus said...

57%
30%
60%
80%

Stayed 30th April 2021

Hotel was ok for the most part. Disappointed on arrival to find "evidence" of the previous guest left in our bath suggesting the cleaning wasn't as thorough as it should be - especially at the current time. The pre arrival information was also incorrect as it gave incorrect hours for room service leaving us unable to order what we wanted within the time stated on the info. The same information email contained covid related info so it is up to date. The phone on our room was broken as was the security chain on the window. That's a concern if you have kids staying. Dinner was fine. Didn't use the leisure facilities. All in all - pretty disappointed to be honest.

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th November 2020

Excellent hotel and staff

Karin Speed said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st October 2020

Very nice hotel Staff great and friendly Nice views from room Food great too Room doors need freshen up

Karin Speed said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st October 2020

Very nice hotel Staff great and friendly Nice views from room Food great too Room doors need freshen up

Gordon Miller said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th October 2020

Another enjoyable small break at a great hotel

A guest said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 26th October 2020

Friendly and efficient service from staff. Hotel is in a great location and was very comfortable. Would return.

A guest said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2020

Enjoyable stay and excellent service

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st October 2020

We love this hotel, comfortable and lovely staff. The location suits us as close to train station and easy driving to nice locations.

Helen Coates said...

77%
40%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th October 2020

Nice hotel with warm and friendly staff. Restaurant was lovely and food was great. However disappointed with room, for a suite the decor was outdated with chopped furniture and the bathroom is advertised as ‘luxurious’, it is anything but, small and needing an urgent upgrade. Overall won’t stay again.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2020

We had a lovely room and had paid for upgrade. Staff in restaurant and food very good. Downside was that the room was very noisy as big tables of people drinking outside despite bad weather and social distancing, door to bar banged constantly. Due to restrictions we were back in our room around 9, noise was disruptive before and after dinner.

C Bonnar said...

84%
90%
70%
90%

Stayed 16th October 2020

Very safe with very good Covid19 preventive measures in place. Was very comfortable apart from the rare senseless idiots who are endangering the other guests.

andrew jeffrey said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2020

In general the hotel was great. Sadly we weren't informed before arrival that the swimming pool was not available for use which was disappointing

Bob Peters said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2020

Very enjoyable stay. Staff very helpful and friendly during this difficult period. Hotel was cleaned thoroughly and no issues. Looking forward to visiting again in the future.

andrew jeffrey said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2020

In general the hotel was great. Sadly we weren't informed before arrival that the swimming pool was not available for use which was disappointing

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th October 2020

Brilliant hotel from staff to accommodation views over golf course amazing food 1st class Great place to relax

A guest said...

80%
100%
100%
40%

Stayed 11th October 2020

Rooms lovely, staff very friendly and helpful only let down was food. Breakfast eggs cold as was first nights dinner. Very disappointed as last time we stayed here food was excellent

Craig Blair said...

67%
20%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th October 2020

Good hotel, good location, well organised in the present Covid-19 cirstances, attentive staff. Breakfast particularly fine with good choice and freshly served.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd October 2020

this is a great hotel right on the golf course, the staff are great and go the extra mile,only down side bar area dissapointing for a four star hotel very drap

Stuart Coventry said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th September 2020

First class stay

DEREK MASON said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2020

This was a welcome break for our anniversary and having stayed here a few times there was no hesitation in returning even in the present climate. The hotel took all the precautions required to ensure staff and guests were safe , the staff were very friendly and also helpful that even with all restrictions they made sure your stay was a good one. Unfortunately with the virus there was limited leisure facilities but that did not spoil our stay. We will certainly return but hopefully in happier times.

margaret hamilton said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2020

We had a great stay. Everything was first class.Food and rooms were excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. A special mention must go to Cheryl who was our waitress on the Saturday Night. We will hopefully return soon.

gemma johnson said...

50%
50%
40%
60%

Stayed 27th September 2020

Was thoroughly looking forwards to our night away having stayed at Carnoustie previously. However, I was extremely disappointed with most aspects of our stay. And although I understand that certain adjustments need to be made due to covid - I found the hotel and staff to be very unorganised. When we arrived our room was clean and tidy, although the bed wasn’t even a full sized double bed. When I’m paying to spend a night away I expect to have a good nights sleep, however the bed was extremely uncomfortable and small and neither myself or my partner were able to sleep much overnight. This clearly isn’t the case in all rooms as we were staying with friends who had a much bigger and more modernised room, with a bed almost double the size of ours. So I guess we were just very unlucky with the room we were allocated. One of the reasons we booked the hotel was that we were informed that the leisure facilities were up and running again. However on arrival we learnt that this couldn’t have been further from the truth. Yes the pool was open and sectioned our for each party to ensure social distancing. But the changing facilities are all closed so we were expected to strip from our clothes at the side of the pool before entering. And when leaving we either had to put our clothes back on over soaking wet swimwear, or humiliatingly try to remove our swimsuits and get dressed with nothing but a towel to maintain our dignity. There needs to be another way to manage this, as I found the entire experience absolutely unacceptable. We stayed on the DBB package and although I understand that the restaurant was unusually busy for a Sunday evening, I found the service to be very chaotic. We had a number of different servers, no one seemed to know who was doing what. We ordered our drinks twice and were already eating our starters before someone brought them over. My partner ordered a steak with fries and for some reason was served these separately and had already ate most of his steak before his fries even came out. We asked three different people if we could order dessert and still waited over 20 minutes for one of them to come back. The food (when it eventually arrived) was all very good and tasty, however we found it difficult to enjoy when everything was so unorganised. Having stayed here before I was extremely disappointed with how much the hotel has changed, and unfortunately would not recommend for anyone else to stay here again!