Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Fraser MacDonald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2014

On arrival at the hotel, we discovered that Classic Britain's 'Best Available Room' wasn't actually the 'Best Available Room'. However, the friendly staff at the hotel offered us the opportunity to upgrade our room to a suite, albeit for an extra cost. Therefore, the majority of this review is based on the suite that we were allocated. Nevertheless, the dinner, bed and breakfast deal we booked through Classic Britain was excellent value. We have stayed at the hotel before and always enjoy staying in Carnoustie. The staff are very friendly and the service at dinner, breakfast and in the bar was excellent. We had dinner in the Dalhousie Restaurant and the choice and quality of the food was a very high standard. The leisure facilities are excellent, we used the facilities after a very enjoyable breakfast and after we had checked out of our room. This was no problem and we found the staff here, again, very friendly. Finally, our suite was magnificent, with a balcony offering outstanding views over the Championship Course. Internally, the suite was extremely spacious and comfortable and was well worth paying the extra money for!

John Anderson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st March 2014

Stayed from Friday to Sunday, had a lovely weekend. All the staff were vey friendly and helpful, food excellent, had a lovely room overlooking the golf course, parts of the hotel a bit tired, needing a bit of work done.

Linda Ross said...

80%
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 15th March 2014

The hotel is in much need of a facelift. Decor and furniture are very dated. Good points - helpful staff, clean bedroom and bathroom, good food. Breakfast was the best I've had in a long time.

Alfred Rhead said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th March 2014

excellent hotel

Sharon Lunny said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th March 2014

Some of the hotel is looking a bit tired now, however the service and food makes up for this

Dawn roberts said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th February 2014

The location of this hotel is great as it sits on edge of the golf course.Public areas were good but corridors and bedrooms could do with updating although they are very clean and well maintained.Spa and pool was very good.Staff were excellent.I could not fault them.Food was excellent.I think one of the best hotel restaurants I have been to.Altogether I would recommend this hotel as it was also great value for money.

Graham Edmondson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th February 2014

Excellent value and friendly staff

J Begg said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd February 2014

Excellent hotel with friendly staff and great location

Anne Hale said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th February 2014

Nice break good value for money.

Jennifer Ritchie said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 28th February 2014

I visited with my 80 year old mum with as a birthday treat and though she can manage a few steps, she was in a wheelchair for much of the time. This lead to the only issue that I had with the hotel, in that it was very, very difficult to negotiate the fire doors within the corridor whilst pushing (or pulling) the wheelchair and avoiding the doors closing on my mum. IT was also very difficult getting into the room as it was a very narrow entrance and I had to be very mindful of reversing in and preventing the door closing and hitting my mum. Other than that, we had a lovely stay.

Andrew Graham said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th February 2014

Very enjoyable break

Lorna Brown said...

77%
50%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th February 2014

Had a lovely stay, every one of the staff were brilliant, hotel however needs a little TLC, seats in bedrooms were worn and stained. Food was excellent and the value for money was good.

john easton said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th January 2014

My husband & I had a great weekend. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable. Food good. Leisure facilities good also. Staff polite & courteous very welcoming. No complaints.

Norman Denwette said...

50%
30%
40%
80%

Stayed 24th February 2014

Enjoyed our return visit BUT the bedrooms DO need refurbished.

Glynis Gibbs said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th February 2014

We had a really good time. Good time and room with a great view.

Mrs dalrymple said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th February 2014

The staff and the food are the main assets for this hotel. It has recently changed hands and staff are no longer allowed to wear name badges which is a shame. we found Lucy on reception and Cameron in the dining room very helpful. The bedrooms are to a good standard along with the leisure facilities. The public areas, bar and stairs could be doing with a make over as they are rather tired looking and the outside of the hotel need painted. I enjoyed my staff as the atmosphere in the hotel is very friendly and relaxed.

Keith fenton said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 4th March 2014

pleasant pool. Bar area also pleasant

Steven Connor said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th February 2014

all staff were lovely without exception food was excellent rooms were very comfortable if a little dated would stay again

Christine McGregor said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th January 2014

A very good hotel; comfortable, well designed bedroom with sea view; breakfast and dinner menus offer imaginative variety; food well-cooked, appetising and attentively served; swimming pool a plus but very crowded and changing rooms flooded on both visits. External naming of the hotel could be improved or did we miss it in the rain?

robert stevenson said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 10th January 2014

very enjoyable as all ways

RICHARD MALLOY said...

60%
30%
70%
80%

Stayed 28th December 2013

Having been to this hotel a couple of years ago I could see that it is now needing a refurb especially the bathrooms the food was ver good and the staff were very friendly

GERALD CONDRON said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th December 2013

Twixmas 2 night DBB stay.True that some areas of the hotel ready for a wee spruce up but bedrooms/bathrooms were clean and of a good size. Leisure facilities again clean and fully functioning. Quality of food throught the stay was truly excellent and exceeded expectations. Service provided by all staff was on the whole very good. Overall, a very enjoyable stay for our party of 9 and superb value for money.

corrie mcarthur said...

27%
40%
30%
10%

Stayed 27th December 2013

very disappointing for a 4* hotel:(

Kelly Jackson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2013

Lovely hotel and helpful staff

John Henderson said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 27th December 2013

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa is an excellent hotel. The room we had was fit for purpose. Adequate size, clean & comfortable. All members of staff we met were very pleasant & a credit to the hotel. Only one minus point I would make. The dinner menu is a little restricted. Having said that, the breakfast is second to none.