Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

J Anderson said...

50%
80%
50%
20%

Stayed 8th August 2013

Certainly not a 4star dining experience! 1st night waited 1/2 hr for starter and then another 1/2 hour for mains (burnt potatoes, dried up rice). Asked to speak to Restaurant Manager about the hold up at mains stage - he left promising to find out what the hold up was but, never had the courtesy to return with explanation. 2nd evening dined in bar - slight improvement. Chose mussels for mains, - had to ask for dish for shell waste, and wasn't provided with either a towelette or finger bowl! Breakfast buffet choice very poor, have had better in budget hotels! Only saving grace was the bedroom overlooking the fairways although bathroom was a bit tired! I won't be returning or recommending this hotel to friends and family.

Colin Crawford said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 31st July 2013

The spa facilities were a bit run down (tiles off the wall)but still functional. Generally a good visit.

Elizabeth Cameron said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th July 2013

my stay here was first class the receptionist was very nice and really helpful and the food was excellent

Linda Macgregor said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Carnoustie on a lovely sunny week-end.Our room had a sea view and was very clean and comfortable.Dinner on both evenings was excellent, from a menu with plenty to choose from, and breakfast is cooked to order.We booked the "romantic break"and had a bottle of bubbly to enjoy too, which was chilled and waiting for us!We would certainly go to this hotel again, and recommend it to others.

Christine Campbell said...

64%
90%
0%
100%

Stayed 15th July 2013

The hotel was excellent. Staff were very pleasant and friendly and polite. Only complaint was that a cooked breakfast took over 20 minutes on our first morning there!And when it did arrive it was cold! Thankfully our complaint was dealt with efficiently!

RONA TOSH said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th July 2013

very friendly staff especially Sean who welcomed us as nobody was on reception at the time. He took us into the bar and gave us a drink on the house.

JAN IRWIN said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 5th July 2013

We had very good stay at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa staff very friendly , helpful always with a smile on their faces rooms clean and tidy.

Helen Gordon said...

84%
100%
50%
100%

Stayed 1st July 2013

Had a great stay at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel with a great view over the golf course. My only small moan was that the service at dinner in the evening was a bit slow but would not put me of returning.

Mrs E Malcolm said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th June 2013

Stayed here for 1 night DBB on Saturday 8 June 2013. I had booked a suite and was not disappointed. The room was very large, well equipped and had great views over the golf course. Our dinner on the Saturday night was lovely, however I was slightly disappointed with the cooked breakfast on the Sunday morning as it was not a buffet breakfast. The reception staff were helpful and friendly but some of the waiting staff were rather unprofessional. The only other slight criticism is that some of the public seating areas in the bar and hallways are very shabby and need replaced, however this did not spoil our stay and overall I would recommend this hotel.

Mrs Kelly said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 31st May 2013

Lovely stay at Carnoustie golf hotel.

Mr Tom Robertson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th May 2013

My wife and I were looking for a three day relax away from it all. The Carnoustie Golf & Spa provided this for us, the hotel facilities staff& room excellent. The surroundings helped greatly with lovely countryside and beach beach promenade on the immediate doorstep. Although my wife and myself are not golfers , having the 1st tee and the 18th green of a championship course outside the dining room and lounge was an added bonus and we could watch all the action from our own 19th hole. All this is nothing withiot the staff of whom you can be proud, we would use this hotel again.

Colin Buchanan said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th May 2013

Very nice hotel

Anne Wilson said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th May 2013

Myself husband daughter & son in law had lovely stay at this hotel.

Sheila Richards said...

57%
40%
80%
50%

Stayed 15th May 2013

Stayed here several times but the bedroom we had this time(which was an upgrade that we paid extra for) is in need of some refurbishment. Furniture is tatty.

Steven Carson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th May 2013

We had an enjoyable stay and used the pool and sauna and steam room. Didn't give 10 for the bedroom because the bathroom was a bit of a let down with our towel warmer broken and welcome chocs not in a box but on a plate?? The food, well dinner was very good but I think a supplement of 8.95 for steak is a bit on the heavy side. Breakfast was a bit of a let down with overcooked sausage and small portions that said I think all the portions were a bit stingy. Service was at times a bit slow and sometimes a smile was hard to come by. Would we return here? Yes we would but yet again on a special offer- never at full price.

David Leask said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th May 2013

A very enjoyable stay with excellent service, great food and a nice room. Highly recommended.

Jonny McCulloch said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th May 2013

had a fab time there, staff were great, rooms were good and food was brill. Thanks

Allison Hewitt said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th May 2013

Wonderfully relaxing short break

W Clark said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th May 2013

We had a wonderful stay

micheline laurie said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd May 2013

we had a wonderfull stay everything was fabulous staff were very helpfull at all times and extremely pleasant

Archie McSporran said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 1st May 2013

Hotel looks tired now. We have stayed there on a few occasions and it has really gone downhill. The bar in particular needs a complete overhaul especially the couches and chairs which are really shabby.

Gillian Prentice said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th April 2013

Fantastic hotel. Great accommodation and food, wonderful views and lots to do.

Barry McDermott said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 26th April 2013

Stayed in van de velde suite, nice but could do with a bit of a spruce up. We found some crackers in one of the cupboards, presumably from previous guests. Did not eat dinner in restaurant as arrived late on Friday and couldn't get booked in on Saturday til after 9pm, as we had a small child this didn't suit, so ordered room service (which is what food review based on), breakfast was ok, not a lot of choice for vegetarians wanting a cooked breakfast, unless you just had eggs (perhaps introduce some vegetarian sausages or similar)

Mrs Lindsay said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th April 2013

Fabulous weekend and the staff were very helpful - the checkin and checkout was effortless - well done Carnoustie.

Mrs Meechan said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 13th April 2013

very pleasant and enjoyable stay