Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Moyra McAlister said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th May 2018

The hotel is in a great location being beside both the beach and the golf course. The reception and lounge area were nicely furnished and very comfortable. We sat out on the terrace for drinks and the bar staff were all very friendly and attentive, in particular Graham who always had a smile on his face. Our bedroom was very well appointed, spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. We had a delicious meal in the restauant at night and, again, the staff were very efficient.

Stewart Little said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th May 2018

With friends we had three very enjoyable nights at the Carnoustie golf hotel. The room, overlooking the golf course,was very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff throughout the hotel were helpful and friendly. The food was very good. Breakfasts had the usual bacon, sausage etc but smoked haddock, kippers and waffles with bacon and maple syrup were really nice. Dinners again were most enjoyable. We had very nice lamb rump, venison loin, mussels, scallops, and fish and chips. All served with skill. We had some good walks in the area and greatly enjoyed our visit. I had a conversation with the manager to,say how much we had enjoyed our visit.

wendy foubister said...

57%
70%
50%
50%

Stayed 6th May 2018

The Hotel was lovely, very nice and clean, the rooms were spacious and bright although our view was not good in one of our rooms due to a Grandstand being bang in front of our window, so the extra for golf view was really disappointing! Some of the Staff were great although some were polite, a smile wouldn't have helped! The Spa was lovely too but again no cheery friendly staff other than the Spa Receptionist. Food at Dinner was a bit of a disaster, however the Restaurant Manager did compensate us, breakfast was superb!

Alison Graham said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 21st April 2018

Paid the extra and stayed in the tom Watson suite which was well worth it for the extra space. Staff very friendly and helpful. Had evening meal which was ok. The beetroot panacotta starter unfortunately was extremely rubbery. Main course of salmon was lovely as was the Cajun burger.Advised the waitress to throw the plate out as husbands dessert plate which was black in color had two massive chips out of each corner and very visible! Went to the pool area which was lovely to chill out. Hot tub temperature was extremely hot to the point of unable to stay in it more than a couple of minutes. We have our own at home so are aware of correct temperatures. Overall, would go back as the price paid was fantastic for the room. This was our second time staying but first time on this deal.

Natalie Gray said...

70%
80%
60%
70%

Stayed 21st April 2018

Nice setting. Room was nice and clean. We were given the key to our room but it didn’t work porter has to bring up a replacement. Leisure facilities were nice a few maintenance issues and changing rooms a bit tired. Dinner was nice and staff friendly. Nice breakfast. Receptionist was not very welcoming and seemed disinterested at check in and check out ( same receptionist ) she didn’t even ask if we had a nice time or if everything had been ok. I told her the standard light in the room was not working she simply sighed and wrote it down. No eye contact! Generally a nice stay

Iain MacDonald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th April 2018

This was our first visit to the hotel. We could not fault this hotel and we will certainly return.

Alison Dakers said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2018

We had an excellent stay of two nights in this beautiful hotel. The staff, food and rooms were of a superb standard.

Iain MacLeod said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th March 2018

Nice relaxing break (apart from the noise of quite a lot of building and maintenance work being carried out)

Denham Kirkpatrick said...

77%
80%
60%
90%

Stayed 23rd March 2018

Great view from the room of the first tee and the eighteenth green. Spotless beautiful new bathroom. Only downside of the room was the bed, a double and not a king size. We felt that some of the waiting staff were a bit inexperienced and that the bar lacked a bit of atmosphere. Could do with some music. Reception was excellent. Food was excellent on all counts, both at dinner and breakfast. Wine was extremely overpriced, bar prices were expensive other than you were happy to drink beer. Really enjoyed our stay though, would definitely go back. Hotel in a beautiful setting.

Louise Marshall said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd March 2018

Totally relaxing, comfortable room, great Leisure facilities, scrummy breakfast, superb value for money break. As golfers, particularly enjoyed the views of 1st tee / 18th green (although with such fabulous views, shame windows weren't clean albeit appreciate weather and sea spray provide a constant challenge!).

Gordon Haddow said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd March 2018

The booking was for a superior room with a view of the course not the putting green, a bottle of wine in our room on arrival not £6 off a £24 bottle of wine or a cheap bottle of Shz / Chardonnay food was fantastic the fried breakfast is of poor quality enjoyed our stay but more expensive than required for bar prices

Carol Yuill said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd March 2018

Excellent stay at the Carnoustie hotel. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and professional.

G McDougal said...

95%
100%
N/A
90%

Stayed 15th March 2018

this was a fantastic hotel the staff were very helpful and friendly which made it really nice the food was good and the choice especially at breakfast was good as we only stayed such a short time we do intend to return

Maureen King said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th March 2018

We had a lovely two night stay. We had a lovely room facing onto the golf course. We had dinner on both nights and food was good. All staff were very pleasant.

L Cochrane said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th March 2018

Disappointed with my room view of the car park. The 'Spa' was also extremely disappointing. Pool area is in need of an upgrade and Jacuzzi jets were not working. Wish I had of used my voucher for another hotel and not wasted it. However food and service was excellent and could not fault.

colin fraser said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd March 2018

Excellent from start to finish

Anne Cunningham said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th February 2018

Hotel was lovely.... We had a Junior Suite but it was a double bed rather than king size - I’d have classed the room as a Family room as it was a bed settee..... The room was a good size so a king size bed would have looked better.... The staff were all very nice...food and choice of food good.... Would go back again....

Shirley Collins said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th February 2018

Another excellent stay at this hotel, friendly helpful staff and lovely room. The only drawback is the condition of the changing facil in the health club, very dated and uncomfortable with only one (very ineffectual) working hairdryer.

Susan Prentice said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th February 2018

Lovely short stay at Carnoustie Golf Hotel. Up to its usual high standards.

Ian Robertson said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th February 2018

Lovely hotel and rooms well decorated (recently refurbished). Food was good and staff were very helpful. Only downside was an unexpected supplements for Friday (£10) and Saturday (£20) night stays per room . This added £90 to the cost of our stay and had not been referred to or explained in the myHotelbreak's booking information sent to me.

Ian Robertson said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th February 2018

Lovely hotel and rooms well decorated (recently refurbished). Food was good and staff were very helpful. Only downside was an unexpected supplements for Friday (£10) and Saturday (£20) night stays per room . This added £90 to the cost of our stay and had not been referred to or explained in the myHotelbreak's booking information sent to me.

Fred Philip said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th February 2018

Lovely hotel with great facil.

Heather Hoy said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th February 2018

We stayed here for my partners Birthday, the room we asked for was a golf view one and that's what we got ,the room was lovely couldn't fault it in any way,the staff even left a happy birthday message for him which was really nice. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us, The food was excellent The staff was excellent and made our stay very enjoyable. I would give 10 out of 10 for everything We would definetlay stay here again

Scott Taylor said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 11th February 2018

Hotel excellent. However we booked so we could relax and use the facil. The spa and pool were closed 1 out of 2 days we were there. My 2 sons were refused entry to gym due to age but nothing in web site or in the hotel to say this. My sons were bires as we expected a driving range to be on site but none available. Service of staff was however first class especially in the restaurant. Enjoyed it but dampened by lack of facil for my children. Food was ok just felt chicken was dry and breakfast was average.

Anne Morton said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd February 2018

Really lovely hotel with lovely staff