Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Margaret Phillips said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2017

Hotel was lovely and relaxing, staff were excellent and nothing a problem from check in to check out, room was nice but would have loved a golf view. Will definitely be back before xmas.

Robert Scott said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th August 2017

Lovely hotel with an excellent view, worth the upgrade to get a view of the course if you appreciate golf. In the main a most enjoyable stay, rooms were clean and reasonably well maintained. Little closer detail to the presentation would be recommended, windows were dirty (you've just got to love seagulls), especially when paying extra for the view and shower drain needed cleaned properly as shower was slow to drain. Staff couldn't have been friendlier. Food was good though breakfast hot buffet could have been better with food being refreshed quicker avoiding things from being overdone.

Pauline Armstrong said...

64%
90%
70%
30%

Stayed 20th July 2017

My partner and I booked two nights b&b with dinner on one night with wine on arrival. Room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Bar area was perhaps too small for size of the hotel and would benefit from more relaxation space. Staff were helpful but lacked basic customer service skills at times. I will start with a positive about our dining experiences ......... breakfast was very good and we enjoyed the extensive choice of food available ....... evening meal was, quite simply a disaster I'm afraid ......... lentil soup was bland, haggis spring rolls very small and barely warm, partners salmon and accompanying vegetables were very strange (aubergine and potato laced heavily with a liquorice flavour! )and looked and tasted disgusting. My "morrocan chicken and couscous" was again barely warm, tasted nothing like morrocan chicken and the flat bread was stone cold ........ I sent mine back (partner was too embarrassed, not to mention gry(!) to send his back) My meal was returned 5-10 minutes later ........... still cold! Oh dear, it gets worse ........my lemon tart and orange sorbet ........ thinnest crust pastry I have ever seen smeared with an even thinner jelly-like substance and a minute blob of orange sorbet, it was poorly presented and only ate the sorbet. On the plus side (!) my partner's ice cream was plentiful and tasty but again ...... zero presentation. Neither I nor my partner are what you'd call "picky" diners but this meal is by far the worse we have ever been served in a restaurant, truthfully. Other reviewers give glowing accounts of their meals which baffles us a bit, so, maybe the chef had called in sick on our evening?!!!! Overall, we would stay again at the Carnoustie Hotel but definitely on a b&b basis, our evening dining experience totally ruined our special break.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th July 2017

Love this hotel. Excellent staff, food and facil. Golf view refurbished room a must. Very good price through myhotelbreak. Included in deal a voucher for a bottle of red or white wine which we had with dinner on the first night.

Margaret Ellam said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th July 2017

Had a really lovely two nights at Carnoustie. The Hotel was lovely and the staff were probably the nicest I have ever come across. Very friendly, polite and helpful. Couldn't fault them at all. We had dinner on the Sunday night and it was exceptional. Don't lose this chef or your servers. Breakfast on both mornings was lovely (although I would have been very happy if French Toast had been on the menu ??). Our room was very clean and comfortable and the maids were very helpful and polite too. We couldn't figure out how to work the shower and the Manager came up to the room to help us and explain the intricacies ?. All in all we had a lovely time and the weather was fabulous too. Thank you Carnoustie Golf Hotel. We will be back ??

A Murdoch said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th July 2017

a very good break at a good hotel

A guest said...

80%
N/A
80%
80%

Stayed 2nd July 2017

Refurbished room was very nice unfortunately first night spent in room desperately awaiting refurb. Building work outside this room woke us at 6.50 so not the relaxing break we were looking for. Thankfully moved rooms second night. Would have been perfect if had this second room both nights.

A guest said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 26th June 2017

Very good. My friends and I enjoyed a lovely break. All the staff were extremely polite and attentive. My only criticism was for one meal. 2of us chose the "special" off the dinner menu which was chicken with haggis. Both of us agreed that there was very little haggis and not very special. We did comment to the waitress and could only hope that she would pass on the complaint.

MARIA MELVILLE said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th June 2017

Had a wonderful time at the Carnoustie golf and spa hotel, staff were lovely, food excellent and room was very nice, would definitely return.

A guest said...

80%
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 25th June 2017

As in all establishments, some aspects were excellent, others not so. Likewise with staff, some very good but others lacking in "people" skills. The food, overall, was adequate but not outstanding and slightly less than expected in such an establishment. To upgrade for a "golf course" view was £20 per night which seems a bit excessive.

Andrew Ramsay said...

40%
40%
40%
40%

Stayed 14th June 2017

Pretty poor stay. Worse than average food, rooms were clean but in need of renovation, carpets being fitted in our hallway for 2 days. Not well managed. Won't be back.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th June 2017

fabulous hotel had great overnight stay . food and accommodation was excellent look forward to returning.

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th June 2017

Had a lovely stay at the hotel. Our room was very comfortable & clean, staff excellent. My only minor complaint was not enough option with the buffet at breakfast. Otherwise no complaints

Alex King said... Hotel has replied

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 14th May 2017

lovely staff very nice hotel ..food was reasonable window in room was very dirty and spoiled the view

Hotel reply...

Thanks for the comments and glad you enjoyed your stay, We would of been more than happy to clean the window for you so you could enjoy the amazing views we have at the hotel.

Jane Phee said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 12th April 2017

Another enjoyable stay at the hotel. Glad to see it's being up dated although new furniture would be nice in the rooms as well. Menu could be changed. Breakfast is first class.

Hazel Black said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 13th March 2017

On arrival we were checked in by a receptionist who didn't explain aything about the hotel and seemed to be uninterested. The other receptionist was very helpful as was all the other staff in the hotel. The room was excellent with a comfortable bed. Dinner was very good and the breakfast was great with plenty of choice Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and will be back.

A guest said...

40%
40%
40%
40%

Stayed 10th March 2017

Dated and shabby. Disappointing hotel after reading a great write up on my hotel break website. Menu very old fashioned, staff very pleasant but over stretched.

C Haddow said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th March 2017

Had a one night stay on a dinner,bed &breakfast break. Went to check in at 3pm but room wasn't ready so had to hang about till 4pm till it was available. Large room with sea view, tea/coffee facil, complimentary toiletries. Dinner in the bistro was very good, plenty choice, staff very friendly and efficient. Breakfast plenty to choose from. Overall had a good stay parts of the hotel is dated but upgrading is being carried out. Didn't use the spa facil so can't comment on them but would be glad to return in the future.

Shirley Perrie said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th February 2017

Lovely hotel. The meal we had in the restaurant Was lovely and the staff very attentive. Reception staff were very courteous and helpful also. Cannot fault our weekend ever the weather was kind.

Gerry Farrell said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 17th February 2017

Nice hotel, good facil and good food.

karen mclaren said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th February 2017

Had a great stay, comfortable bed, spa was excellent and breakfast too

Susan Clark said...

67%
50%
90%
60%

Stayed 3rd February 2017

This hotel is not as beautiful as it looks on the website so you are immediately disappointed. The staff were all very nice, room was average, breakfast good. There is nothing at all to do in the area, one decent Indian that's it. I will not go back.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th February 2017

A FUN CELEBRATORY OVERNIGHT STAY.

Michael Horsfall said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th February 2017

Very efficient check-in. Room was as anticipated and very clean. Dinner was first-class! Beds were much too soft for our liking! Breakfast also of a high standard. Altogether - a nice break.

christine Jenkins said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th February 2017

We had a lovely night away with our friends at the Carnoustie golf hotel & spa