Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Lilian Mair said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 14th October 2019

Hotel was really busy this time with a very large queue for breakfast. We had to wait for 20 mins till table became free. When we did get seated we were short of a cup and saucer and I asked a young waiter if he could bring me one and he replied ask someone else as I am busy. Didn't think this was good. Overall I love this hotel and visit it often but I felt this time they were lacking a little bit of detail to attention. Wont put me off going back.

William McKinney said...

34%
20%
50%
30%

Stayed 11th October 2019

We booked a weekend getaway for our Silver Wedding. We chose a junior suite as it was a special occasion. The first room allocated had a damp smell that they tried to hide by opening the windows. The second room was tried looking. Stained carpet. Mismatched furniture. Excellent location but in need of updating. The breakfast on the first morning was good. The second morning the quantities were halved. Maybe because it was busier because of a wedding party.

A guest said...

70%
100%
100%
10%

Stayed 10th October 2019

Room was spacious, clean and we had a great view of the golf course. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The spa and leisure facilities were great. Our only dissapointment was the food. It was cold, tasteless and looked like reheats. Such a shame as the stay was enjoyable apart from that.

A guest said...

84%
100%
100%
50%

Stayed 6th October 2019

Excellent two night break at this wonderful hotel

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th October 2019

My friend and I as always enjoyed a very relaxing break. The staff were exceptionally pleasant especially in the reception area. Food and service in dining was good. Only fair to comment that the dining room carpet was stained and certainly not of a standard you expect of a four star hotel. Very poor.

Morag Mackay said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th October 2019

would have liked to be able to book a king sized bed without having to have a suite

Jean Donnelly said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 4th October 2019

Enjoyed a weekend break at the hotel, with dinner and a bottle of wine included on the first night of the stay. The selection of food available on the set menu was not to our taste so instead we opted for the £20pp allowance and ordered from the bistro menu. Great variety of both hot and cold foods available at breakfast. Our room overlooked the golf course and although the décor in the room and corridors was a little tired, the hotel provided us with a very comfortable stay. The staff in particular were very friendly and welcoming.

Liz Coutts said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd September 2019

We have stayed many times at the Carnoustie golf hotel & spa. As ever we were very well looked after by all staff. Our room was on first floor overlooking the 1st tee and eighteen green, which we were delighted with. Our only gripe would be lack of chest of drawers in room, as not much space for clothes. We enjoyed the glorious weather and walks around the course whilst celeb and golfer spotting for the Dunhill Cup which was due to take place later in week. Thanks to all for excellent service.

Margaret Hill said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd September 2019

Had a lovely time away with my husband for 2 night room and food were great staff very friendly would definitely be back

A guest said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st September 2019

Hotel ok as usual the drinks expensive. Food and staff excellent I was expecting a bit more upmarket hotel for the price. Room clean and tidy but missing the wow factor.

Stuart Smyth said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th August 2019

Excellent hotel and staff very friendly Food good

T Mcgregor said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 26th August 2019

An exceptionally good visit; comfortable room overlooking the first tee and thankfully easily accessible of two post-op oldies; great breakfasts and dinners in the bright glass-walled dining room- main course one of the best ever; staff friendly and helpful at all times; and the sun shone warmly throughout!

Lorraine Todd said...

54%
50%
60%
50%

Stayed 25th August 2019

Hotel staff lovely . but service very slow .. Spa was very nice but fighting with members in pool with my disabled mum was nothe very nice ..no very nice white bread at breakfast mum can't take seeds

Annette Little said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2019

Will definitely return for another short break. We had lovely rooms with a view of golf course. Rooms spotless, bathroom gorgeous, good tea & coffee supplies in room. Breakfast was great with plenty choice and Calders Bistro had a good choice for evening meal. Leisure facilities also very good. Staff lovely, friendly and always ready to help nothing was too much bother. We had a great time

Kimberley Anderson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2019

Great night stay here, would recommend and will be back

isabel kennedy said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2019

Lovely hotel with very friendly and professional staff, food great and accomodation spacious and well equipped.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th August 2019

Lovely stay at a very friendly hotel. The hotel and all amenities were of a good standard except the window leaked quite badly due to a large downpour of rain. A whole bath towel was sodden at the window ledge. Food was nice and the DB&B package excellent value. Nice to be able to be next to beach and location had lots to do in the area

C Bonnar said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th August 2019

Very nice hotel, large spacious room, All staff very welcoming and friendly. Even had great service on the Saturday afternoon although there was a large wedding on. Evening meal and breakfast very good standard. Real value for money hotel with excellent gym( a little small but very well equipped with modern apparatus. Spa and pool also very good standard. Large pool maybe requiring some attention but overall great place to stay and will certainly be returning again

Margaret Mackintosh said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th August 2019

Great hotel and facilities, very welcoming, staff helpfull and friendly

J Pratt said...

100%
100%
100%
N/A

Stayed 2nd August 2019

Fabulous Hotel in a fantastic location overlooking the Carnoustie championship golf course. All the staff were very attentive. Leisure facilities were great. Changing rooms were spotlessly clean as was the hotel. Would certainly recommend.

janice Hutchison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2019

Fantastic hotel set in beautiful surroundings.

janice Hutchison said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2019

Fantastic hotel set in beautiful surroundings.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st July 2019

Overnight stay in a golf view room. Lovely room overlooking 18th green. Staff were all polite and helpful. Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Food was good and staff showed knowledge of gluten intolerance which was very helpful. Used the pool which was very refreshing.

PAUL GREIG said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 22nd July 2019

Very friendly staff, Andrew in the restaurant was superb. The Rookery at Carnoustie Links was outstanding. Good value for money on the deal we had. Sadly not much to do at hotel or in surrounding areas. Arrived Monday to find the spa was fully booked for 3days which was extremely disappointing!!

S Mckellar said...

70%
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 13th July 2019

Having had the good fortune to receive two separate myhotelbreak.com vouchers we decided to use them over two consecutive days at Carnoustie Golf Hotel. We have stayed at this property before and, for all but one bizarre check-out scenario, had no reason to NOT wish to return here (lovely surroundings, nice rooms, excellent gym and spa area, adequate breakfast and eating facilities). At check in we were informed that our first evening would be in a Junior Suite room, but the second evening was a standard double (I had thought BOTH evenings would have been standard double as stated on the gift voucher and assumed we had been allocated a Junior Suite as a complimentary upgrade?). I enquired what I could do to remain in the Junior Suite for the second evening and it was agreed that at monetary sum of £30 was required; extremely reasonable in my opinion. So off to a good start I thought. The room we entered had not been cleaned and we were reallocated another one; very good front of house work done by Holly at reception. Both evenings we had legitimate cause to complain about our dinner; both evenings we were less than impressed. It saddened me that this was the case; based primarily on previous experiences and cost of dining. Breakfast format had also changed from our previous stays, but there were no issues. The gym and pool area are tip top with just minor repair work required (as voiced by Club Members we met during our stay). At check out I was holding on to my previous experience, hoping for no repeat of what happened then. Unfortunately the same scenario was played out where my £30 agreed upgrade payment suddenly became £128 (I’m sure that’s the figure I was quoted; without any explanation I have to add). On questioning this it became £30 again. I don’t understand but can only assume there may have been a problem with the reservations system or restaurant billing. This, overall, brings me to would I wish to stay here again and would I recommend The Carnoustie Golf Hotel. YES, I would return. I would choose not to eat in the restaurant for evening meal; there are plenty other places locally located that I would choose. YES, I would recommend; on the basis that you ensure you know exactly how much your stay is costing and what kind of value this represents to stay and eat at this hotel.