Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Angus Hotel, Blairgowrie

Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie, PH106NQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

Fiona Crozier said...

40%
50%
40%
30%

Stayed 12th November 2019

Awful, I thought id treat my daughter and the deal came up on myhotelbreak, looked at the website pics and it looked nice, we were on the 2 night, afternoon tea, and dinner, breakfast both mornings deal. It was only £139 and thought we would see what it was like, booking online I requested a twin room, we were given a double with the view of the river, and thought oh well the view makes up for the oversight. we went down for the afternoon lunch, the food was ok but the coffee was awful, the wine I have to say was delicious. then we decided to go work it off at the leisure facilities. Was a complete mystery tour getting there, my daughter reminisced thinking it was the stairwell from her school days, quite dirty entry style, the changing rooms were no better, very cold although there was a hairdryer and a few lockers. The pool steps were taped off as the tiles were coming away and there was a green mould around the top of the concrete edge, not very deep at all, the jacuzzi was just as dirty and very tired, not stimulating for any muscles, the sauna fitted 3 people comfortable but was glad my daughter is a size 8. went back to the room as we had dinner booked for 7pm to find we had no from the shower!, the receptionist came and fiddled with it then we had a maintenance man do the same but neither had any joy, we packed and moved to a twin room without a view but at least the shower gave out all be it a trickle ( not a power shower) but no time for that as we had to rush down for dinner which was not great. but the couples on the tables either side of us made it a great giggle of an evening, we went back to room and eventually showered. we stayed in and watched a film it had been an eventful day we slept well the beds were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was nothing special, and I certainly don't think the gfruit in the bowl was meant to fizz like that, I stayed clear!! I would not recommend im afraid, and I wont be back sorry.

David McArthur said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th November 2019

Enjoyable stay. Staff friendly and helpful.Deal was value for money.Good location for touring about.Will go back.

A guest said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th November 2019

We had two rooms booked one of which had s very musty smell the other had only lukewarm water to the bath and shower despite having a sign above the tap advising very not enough to have a bath the food and service were good

Gordon Moir said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th November 2019

Nice hotel. Very pleasant staff. Was there for tribute night unfortunately the act did not come up to our expectations

Moira Gourdie said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 9th November 2019

Very enjoyable break, room rather dated but very clean and comfortable. Staff were very polite, helpful and professional. Will definitely stay again.

A guest said...

47%
40%
50%
50%

Stayed 31st October 2019

Shower rubbish Two single beds pushed together for a double bed Room not cleaned on second day and no fresh towels Apart from that we would return but not to that run down room

A guest said...

30%
50%
10%
30%

Stayed 27th October 2019

A very tired hotel witfriendly and unhelpful staff. Our room had a view of the air ventilation unit along with the noise that goes with that. No other room was available because the hotel was fully booked with bus parties so everything revolved around them. We weren’t allowed to sit in the main dining room for dinner again because it was set for the bus parties. Food was very poor, staf seemed stressed and overworked. Definitely will not go again or recommend to anyone else.

Pat McBain said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 26th October 2019

When we arrived we had not been booked in by the hotel. We had to wait nearly 2 hours for them to clean the last available room in the hotel and the flat across the road which was a staff flat. The next day when we went for breakfast we had another wait as we were not down on the list of guests. Overall our stay was good just a bit of a bumpy start

Margaret McConnochie said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 22nd October 2019

Staff very helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Lunch was like a high tea, unual and very nice. Dinner a little disappointing, my meal could have been warmer and my husband ordered the battered fish. The batter was not edible for him although fish inside was nice. Entertainment at night was a plus.

Angela Foulds said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2019

Loved this hotel. Across from a beautify square where the trees are lit with led lights at night. It is in the heart of the town surrounded with pubs and restaurants. The Wetherspoons has recently been refurbished and is lovely...2 mins walk across the sparkly square. The hotel itself is much bigger than expected and is on 3 levels. If you are going at the weekend, get there early as there are only about 16 car parking spaces. We went out for the day to Glenshee, Braemar and Pitlochry on the Friday and lost our space when we returned around 5pm. Also perfectly sited for exploring Glenshee and Perthshire. It is only about 30 miles to Aberdeenshire so a quick drive to Aviemore, Glenshee and Braemar is worth the drive. I was in a premium room overlooking the river and bridge. Gorgeous views. The room had clearly been refurbished with new bathroom. Plenty wardrobe space with hangers and plenty drawers fit for a weeks stay. It was very clean too. I had the sparkly tea on arrival which was lovely. They also happily changed my prosecco to a rose wine. In fact, the staff couldn't do enough for us and were all very attentive. The evening meals were lovely and the buffet style cooked breakfast was fantastic with the usual on the menu as well as haggis, tomatoes and gorgeous mushrooms and plenty serials, fruit, yoghurt etc to choose from with fresh toast and a pot of coffee/tea brought to your table. There was entertainment on the Friday night, none on the Thursday. The atmosphere in general was great. My only complaint was the bed. I could feel every spring but the staff happily gave me a duvet to lie on. I would go back here in a flash. Great staff. Well worth the money I paid.

A guest said...

37%
30%
40%
40%

Stayed 20th October 2019

Poor insulation heard taps running people moving about heard entertainment in lounge on Monday night on till 10 30 squeky floors ask for high floor and away from lounge and bar area

Marjory Mcconnachie said...

50%
40%
50%
60%

Stayed 21st October 2019

A very very busy hotel with coach tours and not enough experienced staff,room had an extra bed which we didn't need,the bed was a bit lumpy,the window screen was ripped,shower was a bit useless but most o our TV did not work!! after reporting it 3 times finally a duty manager (think she was Spanish) got things moving and eventually sped a TV from another room but made us almost 2hrs late for dinner,far too late for us to eat we both suffered most of the night.We did enjoy our afternoon tea though,just the right amount. The cleaning standards were poor,very dusty in the bar at table 61end,this area has not been cleaned in a very long time I did point it out to a barman but nothing was done looked the same next day,the blinds were also very dusty,and only the basics were done in our room bed made and items used replaced. I witnessed a manager using a public place as her office and seemed to be having words with a young girl and again I could hear her in the back office at reception having words with the same girl,surely somewhere more private could have been found,poor girl. I have since sent an email but have had no response so far. The hotel is in a great spot right in the center of Blairgowrie very handy for the shops and a lovely Weatherspoon just up the road with drinks much less than the hotel.

John Rafferty said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2019

Excellent hotel. Prompt service from staff in bar and restaurant. Room was warm and clean king size bed a bonus. Will be returning for another visit in the near future. Was unsure about taking my dog but they have an area in the bar for dogs. Not all hotels have this and will bring my dog next visit.

denis ward said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2019

hotel very clean quite, good location and plenty other food and drink nearby ,staff very polite service good as was the breakfast would stay again typical hotel prices for drinks.

A guest said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 18th October 2019

Booked in dbb basis for 3 course meal but told we had to pay for dessert Bedrooms need facelift

George Ian Caldwell said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th October 2019

Excellent short break (Sat/Sun) and Elvis Tribute night was amazing!! We asked to change room to a quieter one and was immediately transferred to a lovely room overlooking the river at no extra cost. Thank you to Reception for quick response. Can't wait to go back again.

alex kerr said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2019

Had a great 2 night stay at the angus. Hotel was spotless food was lovely and staff were fantastic. Especially Kenny top bloke. Will definitely be staying again soon thanks

tracy harkins said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th October 2019

Had an amazing weekend from start to finish . Clean ,fresh ,and staff were very helpful, food amazing the only thing that could have made it better was a bigger double bed . Would definitely recommend and will be back .

Tricia Reid said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2019

What a lovely hotel,quietly grand in decor,room was huge as was en suite bathroom,beds weren't too comfy and pillows were a nightmare,typical hotel pillows,little bit of hollow fibre,most uncomfortable!will take my own next time! Room was spotlessly clean Afternoon tea was amazing,very tasty and fresh(all credit to the chef)and dinner was also very good,all staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful,breakfast didn't disappoint either,all food was hot and fresh,constantly replenished,never felt rushed in the dining room,will definitely go back

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2019

We really enjoyed our stay at the Angus Hotel. The deal we received was excellent value for money, with a delicious afternoon tea, evening meal and breakfast included, which were all to a high standard. Staff were friendly and leisure facilities were clean and easy accessible. We will definitely be returning.

Jane Miller said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2019

Had a really enjoyable girly break with friends here, rooms were a little dated but clean & tidy, rubbish view from my window but my friends had a great view of the river, food was delicious!

helen GRAY said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 15th October 2019

We were in room 18 , net curtain all ripped needing replaced , condensation in-between glass in Windows needs sorted , otherwise room comfortable . Swimming pool and spa great for hotel being fully booked it only had few people using in afternoon. Will definitely return .

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2019

Great value for money in a warm and friendly environment! Been lots of times and will most certainly be back.

Jacky Thompson said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th October 2019

Lovely wee overnight stay, great value for money

ann mckie said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 16th October 2019

The hotel was lovely. It was well located. Staff nice. We stayed for two nights, but entertainment only on the one night. We had a lovely stay, and would definitely go back.