Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Angus Hotel, Blairgowrie

Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie, PH106NQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

william logan said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 21st February 2020

Party of three stayed from Friday 21st to Monday 24th February we each had a single room which was clean and spacious in good locations with comfortable beds. The standard of food at breakfast and dinner was good and well cooked with a decent choice although service at the Tribute night dinner was slow in starting and crumble dessert would have benefited from the addition of some sugar Chicken main course was delicious and piping hot. Entertainment was provided by 70/ 80s singer who was far too loud dance floor too small and we much preferred previous lay out of round tables new lay out too much like a school dinner hall to get imum people in . Need more bar staff when function suite so busy and £7 for a small bottle of Prosecco is outrageous . Staff in Reception, lounge bar and room cleaners excellent . Swimming Pool, Sauna and Hot Tub facilities for this class of hotel really good . As previously mentioned new seating arrangement in Function Suite puts us off from returning .

A guest said...

67%
30%
80%
90%

Stayed 13th February 2020

Had the potential to be a really good stay- price amazing, food great, staff friendly but rooms were tiny hotel "smelled" in some corridors and a party going on next door till the wee small hours with hotel staff unable to stop it did marr the experience

Lorna Hainey said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 11th February 2020

We had a fantastic 3 nights at the Angus hotel the food was great the staff very friendly and helpful enjoyed the pool area too will definitely be back

KIM MCMILLAN said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 9th February 2020

The staff were friendly and helpful and the room and food were good. My children particularly enjoyed the pool and the location was good. Only criticism would be the wifi did not work in the room.

Janet Rennie said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 7th February 2020

We were at the Angus hotel Blairgowrie for an 80th birthday weekend and had a wonderful time. Thought it was great value for money with decent quality environment, good quality food, good entertainment & comfortable spa area. Our party will certainly be returning. Thank you for the birthday girl saying she had her best birthday. Janet Rennie

X Ccarol Hindman Smith said...

60%
60%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 10th February 2020

Reception staff great . Bar staff not very attentive waited an hour for main course. Breakfast cold.

Nicola Ramsay Hazlett said...

50%
10%
70%
70%

Stayed 7th February 2020

Arrived late due to work commitments and had problems parking , no spaces in any of the hotel car parks . Were given room 75 which was up the lift along a corridor down a few steps and along a long hallway . As soon as we reached the door to the final corridor the heat and smell of chlorine hit us . This continued into our small but compact room . We had to open the windows immediately. Obviously the heat and chlorine smell was coming from below us - the leisure facilities. We had to keep the windows wide all weekend because the fan we had only circulated the hot air . Ate in the bar on Friday pleasant friendly staff and enjoyed our bar meal although we were told there was no slimline tonic after our first drink . Hotel was very busy due to tribute weekend and hen parties and at times quite noisy . Breakfast was fine when we eventually were seated very minimal staff around . Only scrambled eggs available. Evening entertainment was extremely busy and we were squashed into tables of 10 - a bit like eating on a plane . We asked to eat in the bar because I can get panicky in very busy places , which the manager was happy to accommodate . Didn’t stay for the tribute it was very loud and that was from the bar rather than the function suite . Lots of people left and relocated to the bar/lounge area due to this . Checkout was very busy with disputes over payments . Would return to the hotel but obviously not a tribute weekend and in a different room .

Mandy Doran said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 31st January 2020

Really enjoyed our stay. Room was clean, and had everything we needed for a couple of nights away. We loved the pool, spa bath, sauna - though the changing rooms and especially lockers need upgrading. Service was very hit and miss, and the only disappointing part of our stay. The room next door to us ordered room service, we returned to our room at 10pm and passed their tray on the floor of corridor with left over food. The tray was still there when we checked out the next morning at 11am. Left over food should never be left around like that for over 12 hrs, it's disgusting. On mentioning it to staff when we went for breakfast around 9am, we were told it was OK they knew it was there and housekeeping would pick it up 'later'. Although this didn't spoil our break, I do find this unacceptable, and it makes me think twice about returning.

angelo biello said...

10%
20%
0%
10%

Stayed 5th February 2020

Really disappointed with the hotel short on staff breakfast also disappointing had to pick through to get half decent food especially the bacon no fried eggs on breakfast menu either and what staff their was when asked about it reply was management did not allow fried eggs at breakfast also confusion at night regarding what we where entilited to I.e up to £17.50 a head or 2 courses all in all very disappointing experience

Marshall Douglas said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th February 2020

Great overnight here, staff were very nice and helpful ( Especially the Receptionist), room a wee bit dated but spotless, spa was very good as was the food. def recommend and will be back.

Tracey Gilmartin said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st January 2020

Staff welcoming and attentive. Lovely stay as always. One of our favourite hotels and will be back soon.

A guest said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 17th January 2020

Meals were cold at the self service on the Friday night. Squashed up at the evening table on Saturday night at the Cabaret ..

Thomas Mcneill said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th January 2020

Had a lovely overnight stay at Angus Hotel. Friendly staff, room nice and clean. Comfy bed. Food was very nice also, with quite a variety of dishes available. Our room was above function room, though a bit of noise from the music being played, we didn't mind. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend break. Swimming pool, sauna and spa was a bonus.

Mrs Foster said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th January 2020

It's all change at the Angus now, apart from sleeping everything happens in the Function room. Breakfast and dinner are both buffet. Dinner to me was always in a dining room with waiter service, and to crown it all no eggs at breakfast apart from scrambled. If you don't like scrambled eggs the attitude appears to be tough. This hotel is now geared mostly for coach parties.

A guest said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2019

Lovely stay for our Christmas at the Angus hotel. The only issue was the door handle on the bedroom door wouldn’t always lock and was quite loose. Food was great and nice relaxing time in the sauna and jacuzzi. Great value for money with everything we had included, canny beat it!

A Murdoch said...

57%
70%
20%
80%

Stayed 28th December 2019

Having used this hotel with yourselves in the past , we were very disappointed with the level of service . Tribute Night guests seemingly get priority treatment and to finish off - the piped music was left on in the hotel until I tried to report it by phone (without success) eventually dressed and went looking for night porter who found switch at 3 am !!!! Reported to management in the morning who seemed unconcerned with our complaint!!!

A guest said...

75%
70%
N/A
80%

Stayed 27th December 2019

Stayed on 27.12.19 in room 18. Nice warm room and food was good. We have been twice before and will go again. However, didn't get to sleep until 1.30am because of the noise next door so tried to find paperwork for a number to phone reception to complain but no information in the room. So had to suffer the noise for 1and 1/2 hours.

john murphy said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th December 2019

I paid for a room upgrade but i did not think it worth the extra money.

Paul Stewart said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th December 2019

Nice room, lovely meals, friendly staff

A guest said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 13th December 2019

Staff were so nice and very friendly, couldnt do enough for you. The walk to find the pool was a bit of a maze though.

karen fenwick said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th December 2019

Very enjoyable stay. Brilliant value, food was good. Only down was no curtains or blinds on bathroom window which faced out onto the street!! Apart from that it was excellent value and I would definitely book again

james rankin said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd December 2019

stayed on 3-12-19 to 5-12-19 really enjoyed the break breakfast good high tea great and evening meal good staff brilliant service from waiters / waitresses and mar on reception she was very helpful room was nice n warm a bit of road noise as we were at front of hotel plenty for the bath leisure facilities average jaccuzzi a bit colder than it should be but overall we would stay again

Celia Young said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd December 2019

great couple of days away from the door, having meals made for you and resting up. room was fine but window could do with replacing with double glazing as a bit noisy and drafty

Robert Forrest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th November 2019

Nice, helpful check in staff. Nice bar area with polite cheerful staff with competitive prices. Our room though was ' noisey ' as the old walls were paper thin ad you can hear all from adjoining rooms and corridor. Good sized, comfy room with a good walk-in shower. Food was excellent from evening meal to cooked breakfast. I would visit again but only if on a good deal.

Norman Macsween said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 29th November 2019

Wonderful hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Really good food and superb show. Will definately be back.